skip to main content

COVID-19 / Coronavirus Emergency Information

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) is monitoring the impacts of the Covid-19/Coronavirus closely and working with state officials, county tax assessor-collectors and others to maintain or restore services in affected areas.

All TxDMV offices will be closed to the public for in-person transactions as of the close of business on March 18. Services and support will continue to be provided by mail, email, and phone while in-person services are unavailable.

For additional information regarding updates, tax assessor office closures, title and registration service, and FAQ’s select the tabs below.

Updates


Important Information Regarding Vehicle Registration, Vehicle Titling, and Disabled Parking Placard Requirements

In an effort to reduce the need for in-person transactions, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) worked with Governor Greg Abbott and our stakeholders to temporarily waive certain requirements for vehicle registration, vehicle titling and disabled parking placards.

On March 13, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott issued a proclamation, declaring a state of disaster for all counties in Texas due to the threat of COVID-19. Governor Abbott also issued a statement on March 16, 2020, granting a temporary extension to obtain initial registration, renewal of registration, vehicle titling, and renewal of a permanent disabled parking placard. Governor Abbott also granted a temporary extension for an individual with an expired 30-day temporary permit to obtain another permit or Texas registration.

The temporary waiver applies to vehicle owners in all Texas counties as set forth in the above-referenced proclamation and statement. This temporary waiver is in effect until 60 days after TxDMV notifies the public that normal vehicle registration, vehicle titling and related services have resumed. The 60-day period will be the same for all counties.

The purpose of the waiver is to prevent customers from having to physically visit a county tax assessor-collector office to obtain initial registration, to obtain a 30-day temporary permit, to transfer title; or to renew registration or a permanent disabled parking placard. Customers may continue to renew their registration online at www.TxDMV.gov. At this time, TxDMV continues to fill online registration sticker requests and process all other online services.

TxDMV has informed law enforcement agencies and the offices of the county tax assessor-collectors of the temporary waiver. As soon as new information is available, we will provide further updates via social media and at https://www.txdmv.gov/covid-19.


Movement of Oversize/Overweight Loads in Texas Disaster Areas

TxDMV is not imposing COVID-19 related restrictions on travel for vehicles/loads moving with an Oversize/Overweight Permit. However, all permittees need to check local shelter-in-place/stay-at-home orders prior to movement to ensure the travel meets the definition of “essential” for those areas.

Commercial Vehicle registration requirements to travel in and through the state of Texas are temporarily suspended by order of Texas Governor Greg Abbott. This is to make it faster and easier for operators of commercial vehicles to provide COVID-19 disaster relief assistance.

These suspensions apply to the transportation of supplies, medical equipment, and similar materials that are necessary for preparing for, responding to, and mitigating the spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19)

A commercial motor vehicle qualifies for the temporary suspension of International Registration Plan (IRP) requirements if the vehicle is registered in one of the 48 contiguous states and is not currently registered under IRP. The suspension covers the vehicle registration requirements for operators of commercial motor vehicles that are providing assistance to any state pursuant to the disaster declarations for those states.

Additionally, the requirements to obtain a 72-/144-hour temporary registration permit also are suspended for those commercial motor vehicles that are not eligible for IRP registration.

These suspensions do not apply to safety and insurance requirements.

No action on your part is required to qualify for the temporary waivers. Instead print and keep the following documentation in the cab of the vehicle, the Governor’s Proclamation and the TxDMV’s Suspension of Size and Weight Requirements. Both are found here: https://www.txdmv.gov/motor-carriers

These suspensions remain in effect until terminated by Governor Abbott or until the March 13, 2020 disaster declaration is lifted or expires.


Disaster Proclamations

import

COVID-19/Coronavirus Relief Information

Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a declaration of disaster temporarily suspending size and weight restrictions and oversize/overweight permitting requirements for vehicles and loads associated with activities needed to respond to COVID-19/Coronavirus. Please utilize both waivers when using this suspension.

Governor Abbott's Disaster Proclamation

Suspension of Size and Weight Requirements

import

Federal Disaster Relief Permit for the Transport of Relief Supplies

A Federal Disaster Relief Permit is available in the Texas Permitting and Routing Optimization System (TxPROS) for the transport of divisible commodities consisting of emergency relief supplies related to the COVID-19 emergency. This $0 cost Permit is only available during national emergencies or major disasters declared by the President of the United States. A copy of the President’s declaration must be carried with the permit.

Presidential Emergency Declaration for COVID-19

import

Governor Abbott Issues Executive Order Mandating 14-Day Quarantine For Travelers Arriving From CA, LA, WA, Atlanta, Chicago, Detroit, and Miami

The Governor has issued a proclamation regarding his prior Executive Order mandating a self-quarantine for individuals arriving from the New York Tri-State Area and New Orleans, Louisiana.

Governor's Quarantine Proclamation for Travelers From Other States

Tax Assessor Office Closures

 

As of April 8, the following Tax Assessor-Collector offices are closed or operating under revised schedules:

  • Anderson County - closed, drive thru is open
  • Andrews County - closed to the public. Open 8-4, working phones, emails, mail and has a dropbox
  • Angelina County - Office completely closed until at least May 1. Lufkin issued stay at home order.
  • Aransas County - closed to the public for in-person transactions until further notice. Services and support will continue to be provided by mail, e-mail and telephone Monday through Friday while lobby is closed.
  • Archer County - closed to the public, employees are still working and will answer phone calls.
  • Armstrong County - office closed, accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email and phone calls. They have a drop box available for customer use
  • Atascosa County - has a drive-thru and is open from 8 AM to 5 PM. The lobby is closed to the public. The county is working transactions by mail.
  • Austin County - closed
  • Bailey County - completely closed but monitoring phone calls
  • Bandera County - Closed to the public but a lockbox for customers to drop work in is available. This is a week to week review.
  • Bastrop County - closed, Drive-Thru is available in Bastrop, Smithville, and Elgin offices. Drop boxes are available at all locations. Mail all tax and vehicle transactions- PO Box 579, Bastrop, TX 78602.
  • Baylor County - Lobby is closed to all customers. Employees are working split shifts handling mail and phone calls.
  • Bell County - closed. No drop box or drive thru. Will be in offices on Tuesdays and Thursdays to handle mail.
  • Bexar County - Lobby is closed to the general public. 24 hour Drop Boxes are available at all four locations. The Southside Office Drive Thru at 3505 Pleasanton Rd. is open Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday (8:00-4:45) and Wednesday (8:00-6:30). No title transfers will be processed at the drive-thru.
  • Blanco County - Office is closed to the public. Employees have been consolidated to the main office and are working mail, phone calls, and email. We have a drop box at the back door of the North Annex building. Substation is closed.
  • Bosque County - open
  • Bowie County - Main office accepting dealer drop off only. Substation in Texarkana drive thru open
  • Brazos County - completely closed.
  • Brazoria County - Pearland West and Sweeny locations are closed. All other locations are open for normal business hours. They are working with a skeleton crew, so staff is limited.
  • Brewster County - Brewster TAC is completely closed for two weeks due to possible exposure.
  • Briscoe County - closed, accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls.
  • Brooks County - Assisting customers by telephone, mail.
  • Brown County - open, business as usual.
  • Burleson County - closed to public, still here as of now answering phone calls. We have a drop box on 1st floor of courthouse and still doing dealer titles. We are doing mail in, drop off and internet renewals. No drive-thru.
  • Burnet County - closed completely
  • Caldwell County - main office closed to public, staff is working webDEALER and mail. Substation is closed completely.
  • Callahan County - closed to the public. No dropbox available
  • Cameron County - Brownsville main office, Harlingen, Port Isabel and Los Fresnos substations only assisting customers thru their drive thru as well as telephone, mail, emails. Remaining substations closed: Los Fresnos, San Benito, and La Feria.
  • Camp County - closed to public access. Accepting Dealer and Business drop offs, and mail.
  • Carson County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls
  • Cass County - closed to the public. Appointment only for boats/special cases
  • Castro County - The courthouse is closed. Tax assessor is working mail-in and internet transactions only.
  • Chambers County - closed until March 23. Effective March 23 the Anahuac office will offer drive thru service, 9 AM-4 PM Monday-Friday. Winnie and Mount Belvieu locations will remain closed until further notice.
  • Cherokee County - closed to public. Working mail and phones. Jacksonville substation has drop box.
  • Childress County - open for appointments only, Monday through Friday 8-4, and closed for lunch 12-1.
  • Cochran County - closed
  • Clay County - Beginning Monday April 6 Clay County will only be open 9-12 on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays. They will be answering phones, returning emails, and processing any mail that they have received.
  • Coke County - closed to the public. No dropbox.
  • Coleman County - open, business as usual.
  • Collin County - closed to the public. Assisting customers via phone, mail, email, drop-offs, and scheduled appointments in each of our locations.
  • Colorado County - open to the public
  • Comal County - office is closed to public, employees are working mail and calls. Substations are closed completely.
  • Comanche County - closed to the public. Still open regular hours, however only accepting dealers by appointment.
  • Concho County - closed to the public.
  • Cooke County - closed to the public but will be in office processing forms
  • Coryell County - closed to the public, staff is processing mail.
  • Cottle County - closed, available by phone, fax, mail, or email
  • Crane County - closed
  • Crockett County - closed to the public. Open 8:30 - 4:00, Friday close 12:00. Working phones, emails, mail
  • Crosby County - closed
  • Dallam County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email and phone calls. They are working a drive up window as well
  • Dallas County - closed, will assist via email/phone
  • Dawson County - closed, drop box is available
  • Deaf Smith County - closed, accepting mail-in, internet renewals & phone calls
  • Delta County - Closed. Working out of a window on side of courthouse
  • Denton County - closed
  • Dewitt County - closed to public, drive-thru is open.
  • Dickens County - Completely closed Friday April 3. Hopes to reopen Monday April 6.
  • Dimmit County - closed, they are accepting phone calls
  • Donley County - completely closed
  • Duval County - open to the public with limited contact
  • Eastland County - closed to the public. No dropbox
  • Ector County - closed
  • Edwards County - closed to the public. Accepting mail-in,internet renewals, email & phone calls. Drop off box located in foyer of Annex building.
  • Ellis County - closed, processing mail at all substations.
  • El Paso County - El Paso County is closed to the public. They have no drop box. They will have only enough staff to handle mail, dealer transactions, title runner transactions, and internet renewals. However, all of their full service deputy offices are still open.
  • Erath County - closed, drop box is available
  • Falls County - closed, staff is processing mail.
  • Fannin County - closed to the public. Drop box available for dealers, processing mail, emails, and taking phone calls.
  • Fayette County - closed to public, employees working mail and dealer drop offs
  • Fisher County - open, business as usual.
  • Floyd County - closed effective April 7. They will be in on Tuesday morning running weekly reports and working any mail that might have come in, but will remain closed to the public during that time. They do a drop box, but it is not secure. It is just a box outside their office that someone in the courthouse will pick up contents of on a daily basis.
  • Foard County - closed to the public: Since this is the Sherriff’s office they will be answering calls.
  • Fort Bend County - closed to the public. Staff will be processing mail, emails, and answering phone calls. They have a drop box at all of their offices.
  • Franklin County - closed, will re-evaluate in seven days
  • Freestone County - closed. Accepting drop box submissions and mail.
  • Frio County - closed for 2 weeks from Monday, March 30th until April 13th.
  • Gaines County - taking appointments for dealers and people who need to do title work.
  • Galveston County - closed to the public. They have a limited staff in the main office only working mail, webDEALER and webAGENT.
  • Garza County - closed
  • Gillespie County - closed to the public, employees working mail, and with dealers.
  • Glasscock County - closed
  • Gonzales County - drive-thru window is open, building is closed.
  • Gray County - closed to the public Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday; Monday & Friday from 8:00 AM – 1:00 PM. Open to the public Monday and Thursday 1:00 PM – 5:30 PM.
  • Grayson County - closed to the public. Drop box available for customers and dealers, processing mail.
  • Gregg County - closed to the public, dealer drop off only
  • Grimes County - closed, conducting business via telephone and email.
  • Guadalupe County - main office and substation are closed to the public. Employees are working drop box and mail.
  • Hale County - open with limited access, accepting phone calls, emails, and faxes
  • Hall County - completely closed
  • Hamilton County - closed to the public for in-person transactions until further notice. Will continue normal business by phone, mail, West porch window, email and appointment Monday-Friday 8-4:30 office # (254)386-1230
  • Hansford County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email and phone calls.
  • Hardeman County - Closed to public, but answering phones, emails and processing mail.
  • Hardin County - closed to the public. The office is available thru the drive thru, by phone, online and regular mail
  • Harris County - All Harris County Tax Offices are closed. Harris County will be processing webDEALER transactions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays only. They will be issuing dealer inventory at the Distribution Center on Wednesdays from the hours of 9:00 am-2:30 pm only. All dealers are able to pick up plate inventory, 130Us, POAs and dealer reassignments as needed.
  • Harrison County - closed to the public, dealer drop off during designated hours only
  • Hartley County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email and phone calls.
  • Haskell County - closed to public, but answering phones, emails and processing mail.
  • Hays County - Lobbies and drive-thru window closed to the public, Employees working mail.
  • Hemphill County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls
  • Henderson County - Athens office closed to the public. Seven Points and Chandler offices are closed. Accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email and phone calls. A drop box is available for customer use.
  • Hidalgo County - county tax offices are observing the following schedule: Hidalgo County TAC office Covid-19 schedule. Edinburg is the main office. They will close to the public on their assigned closed week yet they will be working internally handling mail, email, and telephones.
  • Hill County - closed, accepting drop box and mail submissions.
  • Hockley County - will be closed starting March 23
  • Hood County - closed
  • Hopkins County - building is closed, but staff is processing regular mail and processing motor vehicle transactions using their drop box. Our phones lines are open. Our hours of operation have not changed. They are still 8am-4:30pm. Monday-Friday.
  • Houston County - closed to the public. Staff is in the office answering phones.
  • Howard County - closed to the public. Working phones, email, mail and have a dropbox
  • Hunt County - The Greenville Branch is open. They are processing mail and taking phone calls. They are not open to the public.
  • Hutchinson County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls. (Main office - Stinnett, Borger substation, Fritch substation)
  • Irion County - closed to the public. Working phones, email and have a dropbox
  • Jack County - Closed. Employees will be in the office on Tuesdays from 11-1 to return any calls and emails and process any mail that has come in.
  • Jasper County - closed to the Public effective March 25, but will have a drop box and the hours will remain the same until further notice.
  • Jeff Davis County - closed to the public, but they do have a drop box they process transactions from.
  • Jefferson County - Main office is closed to the public, with the exception of dealers with appointments and approvals through elected officials. Drop off work is allowed and mail in applications are allowed until further notice. Midcounty Substation is closed and is going over to Jefferson county to assist.
  • Jim Hogg County - Open, assisting customers by walk up exterior window.
  • Jim Wells County - closed to be the public. They are answering phones/emails/processing mail.
  • Johnson County - closed to the public. Mail, drop off, and dealers by appt at main office.
  • Jones County - closed to the public
  • Karnes County - closed
  • Kaufman County - closed to the public. Processing mail, Kaufman County dealer transactions by appointments and answering phone calls.
  • Kendall County - open
  • Kenedy County - closed
  • Kerr County - closed to the public but employees are working.
  • Kimble County - closed to the public. They are accepting online and mail in transactions only.
  • King County - closed to the public, employees are still working and will answer phone calls.
  • Kinney County - closed, has a drop box and they are accepting phone calls
  • Knox County - closed
  • La Salle County - The tax office will observe the following schedule for the entire month of April. Open to the public, regular hours, on Tuesdays and Thursdays. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday half of the staff will be working in the office and the rest from home, but they will be closed to the public.
  • Lamar County - closed, drive thru is open
  • Lamb County - closed, setting up by appointment if needed, but asking people to use webssite (www.texas.gov) and mail. Doing local dealers by drop off
  • Lampasas County - Open to do title transfers only through the door (customers are not going into the office)
  • Lavaca County - office closed to the public, employees working drive thru and drop box
  • Lee County - office closed to the public, employees working drop box and mail. Staff working drive thru at substation.
  • Leon County - closed, accepting drop box and mail submissions.
  • Liberty County - closed to public, open for drop-offs, mail, email. Closes at 4:30
  • Limestone County - closed to in-person transactions, but will remain open to assist customers via mail, phone, and email
  • Lipscomb County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls.
  • Live Oak County - windows are closed to the public until further notice. Staff is in the office answering phones, faxes, mail, online renewals, dealer title drop offs and also has a drop box.
  • Llano County - All offices closed to the public. Employees working Monday-Thursday, 8 AM-4 PM, working drop box, answering calls and mail.
  • Loving County - closed to the public. Working phones, email and mail.
  • Lubbock County - main office and two substations (Slaton and City Bank) are closed. Drop box is available.
  • Lynn County - closed to the public but will remain in the office doing mail, email and answering phones.
  • Madison County - closed, drop box is available
  • Marion County - closed to public. Drop off and online only, drop box located in front of office. Staff working calls and mail. Skeleton crew
  • Martin County - closed. Mail, phones and e-mails will be handled by the elected officials as they come in and out of the office through April 3rd.
  • Mason County - closed to the public, employees working calls and mail
  • Matagorda County - The Matagorda County Tax office is closed to the public until further notice. However, our office will remain staffed and available to assist the public through online services, via US mail, or by telephone from 8 AM - 4 PM, Monday through Friday. A drop box for motor vehicle registration renewals and property tax payments will be located in the hallway just outside the tax office. A receipt and registration sticker wi11 be returned via US mail if applicable.
  • Maverick County - closed
  • McCulloch County - closed to the public, staff working drive thru
  • McLennan County - closed, accepting drop box and mail submissions
  • Medina County - closed to the public. The office employees are working through correspondence and phone calls with the public.
  • Menard County - open, with TAC only staff on site.
  • Midland County - closed to the public. Hours 8-3, working phones, email and has a dropbox.
  • Milam County - closed, processing mail Tuesday and Thursday.
  • Mills County - open by appointment only
  • Mitchell County - closed to the public. Open 9 - 3:45, working phones, email, has a dropbox.
  • Montague County - closed to public, but answering phones, emails and processing mail.
  • Montgomery County - not processing face-to-face transactions; staff is in the Conroe office to process online, mail, drop offs, webDEALER, webAGENT, and answer calls/emails.
  • Moore County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls. They have drive-up access available.
  • Morris County - closed, letting people slide it under door. Drive thru is open
  • Motley County - closed, a drop box is available.
  • Nacogdoches County - closed to the public. Accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email and phone calls.
  • Navarro County - closed, accepting drop box by appointment, drive thru is open, processing mail.
  • Newton County - closed to the public. Staff is in the office answering phones, mail, emails. If you need assistance contact 409-379-4241 (Newton) 409-746-2994 (Deweyville).
  • Nolan County - office is closed to the public. They will be processing all mail registrations and dealership title work.
  • Nueces County - closed to the public, has drop box. Port Aransas and Bishop substations are closed, no personnel available
  • Ochiltree County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls. They have a drop box available.
  • Oldham County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls
  • Orange County - open to the public only for Title Transfers (3 customers at a time). Registration renewals can be done by online, mail-in and we have a drop box outside the door at our Orange and Vidor offices. Our clerks, staffed at half our normal level, are processing on-line renewals, mail-in and drop box renewals and answering phone calls.
  • Palo Pinto County - closed to the public. Accepting Mail, phone calls and drop off
  • Parker County - closed to the public, accepting Mail, phone calls and drop off
  • Parmer County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls
  • Panola County - closed beginning March 23. Drop box service is available
  • Pecos County - closed to the public. Working phones, email and has a dropbox.
  • Polk County - effective Monday, March 23, 2020, all Polk County offices will be closed to the public. Substations (Corrigan & Onalaska) will remain closed until further notice. Our main office (in Livingston) will continue operating, answering phones and conducting regular business through other avenues. Our dealers, financial institutions and customers have the option to utilize our drop box that's located at our Livingston location.
  • Potter County - modified work hours to 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM; will only accept mail in & internet transactions. No drop box or drive up window.
  • Presidio County - closed
  • Randall County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls. (They have a drive-up at the Amarillo substation; they will close from 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM for lunch at the main office and substation.)
  • Rains County - Closed to the public, people can slid paperwork under the door
  • Reagan County - closed to the public. Working phones, email
  • Real County - closed to the public only. Service to the customers will be by mail, online, or phones.
  • Red River County - closed to public but fully staffed using drop box, mail and e-mail.
  • Reeves County - closed to walk-in customers. They have a drive-thru that customers can use.
  • Refugio County - closed to the public, using drop box.
  • Roberts County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls
  • Robertson County - closed, drop box in door, processing mail
  • Rockwall County - completely closed to the public, no drop offs. They’re only processing mail in transactions and taking phone calls at this time. They are working half-staff in office.
  • Rusk County - The office in Overton is closed to in-person transactions. Staff is taking calls and processing payments over the phone and has a mail slot that people can use to drop off payments or drop and wait on them to process. The office in Kilgore is closed completely the rest of this week and at least until April 8.
  • Sabine County - closed to the public. However, we are in office working from 8-4 (no lunch) answering phones and processing mail. We have a drop box setup and all necessary forms in the lobby. We also have a drop box located in front of our inside door for renewals and other transactions to be placed, we will process these transactions, and get them mailed out in a timely manner. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, if you have any questions please give us a call at 409-787-2257, fax 409-787-4753, or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
  • San Patricio County - closed to the public. Answering phones and email.
  • San Saba County - closed to the public, employees working drive thru
  • San Jacinto - open to the public, with a limit to their lobby
  • Schleicher County - open, business as usual.
  • Scurry County - closed
  • Shackelford County - closed to the public. They are conducting business via telephone and mail.
  • Shelby County - closed March 23 - April 3
  • Sherman County - courthouse is closed completely; however, upon text request, the tax assessor will process a dealer transaction for one local dealership.
  • Smith County - all Substations closed. Noonday, Lindale and Troup. Main office is open for Mail and Dealer/Lienholder transactions
  • Somerville County - closed, accepting forms by drop box and mail
  • Starr County - Main office and Roma substation open to the public. Victoria substation closed.
  • Stephens County - closed, TAC is monitoring the phones, no staff in office.
  • Sterling County - closed
  • Stonewall County - Open to the public 10-2
  • Sutton County - closed to the public, no drop box available
  • Swisher County - accepting mail-in, internet renewals, email & phone calls.
  • Tarrant County - closed to the public. Mail, phone and drop off, Drop off at main office only, M-F 8-5
  • Taylor County - closed to the public. Open 0800-1200, however only accepting dealers by appointment.
  • Terrell County - closed
  • Terry County - Terry County is answering phones, working email and mail. They are working with customers who come to the door. No Dropbox.
  • Throckmorton County - closed to public, but answering phones, email and processing mail.
  • Titus County - only allowing one customer in the office at a time
  • Tom Green County - closed to the public. Still open regular hours, however only accepting dealers by appointment.
  • Travis County - Tax Office lobbies closed. Effective April 13 drive thru services are closed.
  • Trinity County - closed to public, open for drop-offs, mail, email. Closes at 5:00
  • Tyler County - closed to the public, rotating 1/2 staff, and closed for lunch 12-1 pm. We are answering phones. We have a drop box at front door outside for daily collection at our temporary location, 203 W Charlton St, Woodville, Texas (Adult Probation Office), and also the night drop is available at our permanent office that is closed for remodel, 1001 W Bluff St., Woodville, Texas until further notice. These boxes are being collected daily.
  • Upshur County - The lobby of the Gilmer tax office is closed to the general public until further notice. Only customers transferring titles will be allowed inside. All other business must be conducted through the drive-thru window. Temporary hours: 8 AM to 12 noon, Monday - Friday. No boats processed at this time. All substations closed.
  • Upton County - closed to the public. Working phones, emails, mail
  • Uvalde County - closed to the public. The County is asking for people to mail in transactions.
  • Val Verde County - closed to the public but has the mail or drop box transactions
  • Van Zandt County - closed to public, Canton office assisting by phone
  • Victoria County - closed to face-to-face contact. Has secure drop box. Answering phones for customers.
  • Walker County - The Walker County Annex is closed to the public until further notice. County offices remain open by drop box, online, and phone. Vehicle registration (936) 436-4950
  • Waller County - open 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM and has a drop box if the customer does not want to come into the office.
  • Ward County - open from 9 a.m. to 12 noon until further notice.
  • Washington County - closed processing mail.
  • Webb County - closed to the public. Staff will work 8-5 handling mail drop off, email, and telephone. At 4:00 pm, calls are routed to a Closed Greeting.
  • Wharton County - closed. They have a drop box, and will be working dealers with a drop off point by appointment.
  • Wheeler County - This office is closed; they will schedule an appointment if a customer calls in for assistance and meet the customer at the Wheeler Main Office location. (Shamrock substation is closed.)
  • Wichita County - completely closed
  • Willacy County - Assisting customer by telephone, mail, drop off box.
  • Willbarger County - closed to public, but answering phones, email and processing mail.
  • Williamson County - Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office is closed to the public during the COVID-19 Pandemic. The Tax Assessor-Collector’s office is closed to walk-in customers during this time. As a commitment to Williamson County residents, our staff remains on site at the main office in Georgetown to conduct business by answering your questions or concerns regarding vehicle titling and registration procedures. Our drop boxes will be checked daily. Drop box transactions, including dealer transactions will be processed after 24 hours. Phone calls, mail, and emails will also be answered during this time. Note: Please no cash in the drop-boxes or mail. Thank you for your patience.
  • Wilson County - office is closed to the public as well as the drive-thru. They are servicing their customers by phone, mail, online and with a drop box.
  • Winkler County - open 9 - 1, after 1:00 working phones and email.
  • Wise County - closed to the public. Main office processing mail, phones and dealer drop off
  • Wood County - Main office closed to public. Mineola and Winnsboro subs open. Hawkins closed.
  • Yoakum County - Plains office is closed for walk in. Denver City is operating drive thru only. Limited staff will be available for phones, internet and mail.
  • Young County - closed
  • Zapata County - Handling telephone, email, mail. Drop off box in place. (operation subject to change.)
  • Zavala County - closed to the public. A drop box is provided for the customers.

Title and Registration Services

As a result of COVID-19, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ (TxDMV) Regional Service Centers (RSCs) are closed to the public; however, we will continue to provide service online, by mail, phone and email. Please allow up to 2 weeks for mailing and processing time.

Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.

PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THESE PROCESSES OR HOW TO COMPLETE THE FORMS.

ONLINE SERVICES:

MAIL, EMAIL, AND PHONE SERVICES:

The following transaction are available by mail:

(Please allow up to 2 weeks for mailing and processing time. Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.)

 

Certified Copy of Texas Title (Replacement of Lost Title)

A Certified Copy of Texas Title replaces the original Texas Certificate of Title and any previously issued Certified Copy of Texas Title. The applicant (person signing this application) must be the owner or lienholder on the department’s motor vehicle record, or an authorized agent of the owner/lienholder. Submit this completed application and all required documents by mail to a TxDMV Regional Service Center.

Follow all the instructions on the Application for a Certified Copy of Title (Form VTR-34). Page 2 of the application contains the mailing address of all 16 Regional Service Centers (RSCs). Please ensure you include the $2.00 payment.

For additional information on the certified copy of title process, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle/get-a-copy-of-your-title

Bonded Title Rejection Letters

If you receive incomplete or incorrect evidence of ownership or have lost the evidence of ownership and cannot contact the seller for the necessary documentation, you may have the option of using the bonded title procedure to transfer of ownership.

Follow the instructions on the Bonded Title Application or Tax Collector Hearing Statement of Fact (Form VTR-130-SOF).Please be sure to include your email address and phone number to expedite any clarifications our staff may have. Mail the application to your local TxDMV Regional Service Center. Please ensure you include the $15.00 payment.

For additional information on the bonded title process, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/bondedtitle

Vehicle Transfer Notification

When a Texas-titled vehicle is sold or traded in, the seller needs to notify TxDMV. By completing a Vehicle Transfer Notification, you are notifying TxDMV that you have sold a vehicle. When you submit the form, a remark will be added to the vehicle record which shows the date you sold the vehicle. This can protect you if the buyer fails to promptly transfer the title.

Please complete your vehicle transfer notification online at: https://webdealer.txdmv.gov/title/publicVehicleTransfer.do

Customers needing confirmation of a Vehicle Transfer Notification may contact us by phone or email. Customers who require documentation for the purposes of toll or parking violations will be emailed a confirmation letter or they may obtain a copy by processing a title history by completing a Vehicle Records Request (see below).

Vehicle Records Requests

Follow the instructions on the Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information (Form VTR-275). Be sure to mark an applicable use on Page 2. Mail the application, applicable fee, and other required documents to the address provide on the form or your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

For additional information on obtaining records information, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/open-records

All Other Transactions

If you require assistance with the following transactions, please contact your local TxDMV RSC by email or phone for processing:

  • Dealer Closure Letters
  • Refund Authorizations
  • NAFTA Permits
  • Assigned Numbers
  • Machinery Plate Authorization
  • Registration Fee Credit Voucher
  • Any other inquiries or services

 


TxDMV Regional Service Center Contact Information

Note: Our Regional Service Centers are not open for in-person services until further notice. However, our staff is responding to all telephone, mail, and e-mail inquires.

OfficePhoneEmail
ABILENE
4210 N. Clack St., Abilene, TX 79601
(325) 674-1000 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
AMARILLO
5715 Canyon Dr., Building H, Amarillo, TX 79110
(806) 467-3600 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
AUSTIN
1001 E. Parmer Ln., Ste. A, Austin, TX 78753
(512) 719-6900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
BEAUMONT
8550 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, TX 77708
(409) 895-3200 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
CORPUS CHRISTI
602 N. Staples St., Ste. 130, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
(361) 808-3900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
DALLAS
1925 E. Beltline Rd., Ste. 100, Carrollton, TX 75006
(972) 478-5200 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
EL PASO
1227 Lee Trevino, Ste. 100, El Paso, TX 79907
(915) 594-6000 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
FORT WORTH
2425 Gravel Dr., Fort Worth, TX 76118
(817) 285-1500 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
HOUSTON
2110 East Governors Cir., Houston, TX 77092
(713) 316-6100 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
LONGVIEW
4549 W. Loop 281, Longview, TX 75604
(903) 237-2800 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
LUBBOCK
135 Slaton Rd., Lubbock, TX 79404
(806) 748-2900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
ODESSA
3901 East Highway 80, Odessa, TX 79761
(432) 276-4400 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
PHARR
600 West Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577
(956) 784-6700 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
SAN ANTONIO
15150 Nacogdoches Rd., Ste. 100, San Antonio, TX 78247
(210) 731-2130 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
WACO
2203 Austin Ave., Waco, TX 76701
(254) 296-2700 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
WICHITA FALLS
1601-A Southwest Pkwy., Wichita Falls, TX 76302
(940) 235-4800 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

 

FAQs

  • My registration is expired, what should I do?
    • The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor collector offices. You may choose to take no action during the waiver period. If you take no action, when the state of emergency has passed you will have 60 days to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process.
    • If you have already obtained a passing vehicle inspection, you may renew your registration online at https://renew.txdmv.gov/.
  • My vehicle is due for an inspection, what should I do?
    • The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having crowds in public spaces. When the state of emergency has passed you will have 60 days to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process.
    • If you are able to obtain a passing vehicle inspection, you may renew your registration online at https://renew.txdmv.gov/.
  • I am in Texas. Do I still need to get an inspection before I can renew my registration online?
    • Yes. You will not be able to complete your online registration transaction without passing a vehicle inspection. The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having crowds in public spaces. You may choose to take no action during the waiver period. If you take no action, when the state of emergency has passed you will have 60 days to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process.
  • What about my driver license?
    • The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues driver licenses. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is unable to provide guidance on DPS policies. For information on driver license policies, please visit the DPS website: https://www.dps.texas.gov/
  • I bought a vehicle and need to transfer title. What do I do?
    • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor-collector offices. No action is required during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department sends notice normal operations have resumed to complete the titling process without penalty. No penalties will be assessed for the period associated with the waiver.
  • My county is closed. Can I go to another county to process my title transfer?
    • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor-collector offices. No action is required during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department sends notice normal operations have resumed to complete the titling process without penalty. No penalties will be assessed for the period associated with the waiver.
    • If you choose to continue with your title transfer, contact the desired county to ensure the county is open and to determine what options they have available to apply for title. This may include submitting the transaction by mail versus in person.
  • I need to obtain a vehicle identification number inspection (68-A) performed by law enforcement to obtain title to my vehicle, but offices are closed. What do I do?
    • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid large crowds. The waiver for title requirements prevents the need to obtain a 68-A during this time. In addition, the department has extended the period in which a previously completed 68-A can be accepted. The 30-calendar day period has been extended to be consistent with the waiver to apply for title in a specified timeframe. A properly completed 68-A is acceptable until 60 days after the department provides notice normal operations have resumed regardless of the inspection date.

Copyright © 2020 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731