skip to main content

registration renewal e-reminder address change specialty plates temporary permits vehicle-transit vehicle transfer notification title check

Title Litigation

Disclaimer

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) provides the following information on title litigation as a public service. TxDMV believes this information to be accurate and reliable but we cannot promise it is always up-to-date and correct. TxDMV assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors in the information or for the use of the information provided. TxDMV is not providing this information as legal advice to address the circumstances of your case. The contents of this page are not rules or binding guidance of the TxDMV and cannot be used as such in a court or any other dispute with TxDMV. When in doubt about a specific case or requirement, you should consult with a lawyer.

Frequently Asked Questions

My application for title was denied, what are my options?

Answer: You may file an application for bonded title under Texas Transportation Code §501.053 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.501.htm#501.053 or request a hearing on the refusal to issue title with the Tax Assessor Collector in the county where you reside under Texas Transportation Code §501.052.

Bonded Title: You will need to submit a completed Bonded Title Statement of Fact Form, copy of applicant's current driver license or government-issued photo identification and a $15 fee, in person (check, cash or money order) or by mail (check or money order) to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center to determine eligibility.

Tax Assessor Collector Hearing: The legal requirements for requesting a Tax Assessor Collector Hearing are set out in Texas Transportation Code §501.052 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.501.htm#501.052. Please contact the Tax Assessor Collector in the county where you reside for specific details and requirements concerning the hearing process.

My application for title was denied and I was told that I needed to obtain a court order before I could get title? What do I do?

Answer: You may file an application for bonded title under Texas Transportation Code §501.053 or request a hearing on the refusal to issue title with the Tax Assessor Collector in the county where you reside under Texas Transportation Code §501.052 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.501.htm#501.052

Bonded Title: You will need to submit a completed Bonded Title Statement of Fact Form, copy of applicant's current driver license or government-issued photo identification and a $15 fee, in person (check, cash or money order) or by mail (check or money order) to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center to determine eligibility.

Tax Assessor Collector Hearing: The legal requirements for requesting a Tax Assessor Collector Hearing are set out in Texas Transportation Code §501.052 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.501.htm#501.052. Please contact the Tax Assessor Collector in the county where you reside for specific details and requirements concerning the hearing process.

I just got a letter stating that the TxDMV has issued a “Notice of Determination for a Bonded Title or Tax Assessor-Collector Hearing for a Motor Vehicle.” What does this mean?

Answer: The TxDMV issues a Notice of Determination for a Bonded Title or Tax Assessor-Collector Hearing for a motor vehicle when an application for title is rejected. You received the letter from the TxDMV because you are listed as a lien holder or current owner on the title record on the vehicle for which an application for title was made and rejected. An Applicant whose title application has been rejected may apply for a bonded title under Texas Transportation Code §501.053 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.501.htm#501.053 or request a hearing on the TxDMV’s refusal to issue title before the Tax-Assessor Collector in the applicant’s county of residence under Texas Transportation Code §501.052 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TN/htm/TN.501.htm#501.052.

What do we need to do?

A bonded title will not issue on a vehicle with a lien shown on the title unless the company issuing a bond presents a release of lien document or certifies that all liens have been satisfied. If you are still concerned and wish to prevent a title transfer, you may wish to talk to an attorney or pursue litigation.

Copyright © 2020 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731