TxDMV Number

Motor carriers operating INTRAstate commercial motor vehicles on a road or highway in Texas must register their operations with the TxDMV’s Motor Carrier Division. For INTRAstate operations please ensure you register with USDOT as INTRAstate not INTERstate.

You must register as a motor carrier when you:

  • Operate a vehicle (or combination of vehicles) with a gross weight, registered weight or gross-weight rating exceeding 26,000 pounds
  • Transport hazardous materials in a quantity that requires placarding
  • Operate a farm vehicle with a gross weight, registered weight or gross weight rating of 48,000 pounds or more
  • Operate a vehicle designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver
  • Operate a commercial school bus
  • Transport household goods for compensation, regardless of vehicle weight

Motor carrier registration (TxDMV Number) is available for seven calendar days, 90 days, one year or two years. A motor carrier certificate of registration is non-transferable between carriers registered as a sole proprietor.

* Passenger carriers may not perform these functions online.

For questions or assistance with using MCCS, please contact the TxDMV at (800) 299-1700.

NOTE: Before you begin you must have a valid USDOT Number for INTRAstate operations, not INTERstate

First time Users

To apply for operating authority in Texas go to www.txdmv.gov/elinc to sign up to register.

Once your application has been received and reviewed you will receive an email with further instructions. Review takes 24-48 business hours.

When your application is approved, you will receive an email with your Unique Identifier Number (UIN) that you must give to your insurance company to file your required insurance online. Have your insurance provider file the required insurance for your certificate.

After your insurance company has filed the required insurance, you will receive another email requesting that you login to MCCS to pay the required fees to complete your application process. After fees have been paid, MCCS will convert your UIN to your TxDMV Certificate number.

Processing Time

Once your insurance company files Form E for your amount and you have paid your fees to TxDMV, MCCS will convert your temporary UIN to an active TxDMV Certificate Number.

Initial application submission review takes 24-48 business hours. For any carrier that has had a previous authority/certificate or has been linked in any way with another authority/certificate, the review times is an additional 7 business days.

To check the status of your TxDMV Certificate application, call us at (800) 299-1700, options 3-4-3.

An application that contains any misrepresentation, misstatement or omission of required information will not be processed until all requirements are fulfilled.

Cab Cards

Once you are assigned a permanent certificate number, you may print your cab cards and certificate.

A current copy of the insurance Cab Card must be available in the commercial vehicle at all times.

A copy of the insurance cab card, or an electronic copy that identifies the vehicle being operated shall be made available for presentation to law enforcement at all times.

Replace a Vehicle

You are not required to pay vehicle fees when you substitute a vehicle a for a current/existing vehicle. You may do this online through MCCS.

  Login to MCCS

 


 

Add Vehicles or Renew Your Certificate of Registration

Renewal notices are sent to the current mailing address or email address on file. The notices are sent approximately 60 days prior to the expiration.

You may add vehicles or renew your registration through MCCS.

 

  Login to MCCS

 

Payment is required at time of registration.

  • $10 per vehicle for one year registration
  • $20 per vehicle for two year registration

If you do not receive the renewal notice, you are still responsible for renewing your registration before its expiration date. Note: 7-day and 90-day certificates of registration cannot be renewed.

Note: 7-day and 90-day certificates of registration cannot be renewed.

Motor carrier registration fees (excluding household goods movers)

Fee Type 7-Day 90-Day Annual Biennial
Application * $5 $25 $100 $100
Vehicle $10 per vehicle $10 per vehicle $10 per vehicle $20 per vehicle
Insurance Filing (Form E) $100 $100 $100 $100

Motor carrier registration fees for household goods movers are as follows:

Fee Type Annual Biennial
Application $100 $100
Vehicle $10 per vehicle $20 per vehicle
Insurance Filing (Form E) $100 $100
Insurance Filing (Forms H & I) $100 $100

Fees are payable to:

  • MasterCard, Visa, Discover and American Express (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

All fees are nonrefundable.

* One-time fee provided registration remains current/active as originally set up.

Insurance Requirements

Required insurance minimums must be met and insurance must remain active in MCCS while Motor Carrier is operating within the State of Texas.

  Description Minimum Insurance
Transporters of Hazardous Materials (that require placarding) Hazardous substances, as defined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §171.8,
transported in cargo tanks, portable tanks or hopper-type vehicles, with capacities in
excess of 3,500 water gallons; or any quantity of Division 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3 materials,
any quantity of Division 2.3, Hazard Zone A, or Division 6.1, Packing Group I, Hazard Zone A material; in bulk Division 2.1 or 2.2; or highway route controlled quantities of a Class 7 material, as defined in 49 CFR §173.403
$5,000,000
Oil listed in 49 CFR §172.101: hazardous waste, hazardous materials and hazardous substances as defined in 49 CFR §171.8 and listed in 49 CFR §172.101, but not mentioned in paragraphs (a) or (b) of this subsection and petroleum products that are lubricants or fuels $1,000,000
Foreign Carriers Domiciled outside of the U.S.A. and transporting cargo other than cargo listed above $750,000
Household Goods Movers Household goods carriers with a gross weight, registered weight or gross weight rating less than 26,000 pounds $300,000
Commercial School Bus Operators For-hire school buses operating within the boundaries of a municipality and transporting preprimary, primary or secondary school students on a route between the students' residence and a public, private or parochial school $500,000
Bus Operators Vehicles designed or used to transport > 15 passengers (including driver) but < 26 passengers (not including driver) $500,000
Vehicles designed or used to transport > 26 passengers (not including driver) $5,000,000
All Others Private or for-hire motor carriers with a gross weight, registered weight or gross weight rating in excess of 26,000 pounds $500,000

Cargo Insurance Requirements for Household Goods Carriers

Description Insurance
Loss of or damage to total cargo carried on any one motor vehicle $5,000
Aggregate loss of or damage to multiple shipper cargo carried on any one motor vehicle $10,000

Your insurance policy shall be kept in full force and effect as long as you continue operations. Texas requires all intrastate motor carriers to register with the department and file evidence of insurance or financial responsibility. Failure to maintain continuous evidence of insurance on a TxDMV certificate number could subject you to possible administrative penalties or administrative sanctions.

Your insurance policy shall provide that the insurance company will give MCD electronic notice 30 days prior to policy cancellation or expiration. Proof of insurance and/or cancellations must be submitted by your insurance company as follows:

  1. Proof of liability insurance must be filed on a Form E
  2. Proof of cargo insurance must be filed on a Form H & I
  3. Liability cancellation must be filed on a Form K.

Note: Forms E, H & I and Form K are provided by your insurance company and must be filed electronically by the appropriate insurance company underwriter.

Evidence of liability insurance is provided online by your insurance provider; however, it is your responsibility to ensure that the insurance filing remains in effect in order to maintain an “Active” TxDMV number.

Self-insured motor carriers must file with the TxDMV an "Application for Qualification as a Self-Insurer" containing a true and accurate statement of the motor carrier's financial condition and other evidence that establishes its ability to satisfy obligations for bodily injury and property damage liability without affecting the stability or permanency of its business. To obtain an application or for additional qualifying criteria, call (800) 299-1700.

TxDMV may accept United States Department of Transportation evidence of the motor carrier's qualifications as a self-insured.

 


Drug-Testing Certification

All motor carriers registered with TxDMV must certify as part of the application process that they are in compliance with federal drug-testing requirements.

Motor carriers that belong to a drug-testing consortium must also provide the names of the persons operating the consortium.

Motor carriers must report a valid, positive controlled substance test result to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the manner required by the DPS, when performed as part of the carrier's drug-testing program on an employee of the carrier who holds a Texas commercial driver's license.

For further information about this requirement, call DPS at (512) 424-2052.

Online, using MCCS, you have the ability to:

  • Update the cargo type
  • Update the motor carrier name, address and/or legal agent for service of process
  • Update the drug-testing consortium status
  • Cancel your Certificate of Registration
  • Update the principal officers or titles within a corporation
  • Re-register a revoked/cancelled certificate of registration number

You must contact TxDMV Motor Carrier Division to request the following:

  • File a corporate conversion: Registered corporations must have the conversion approved by the Texas Secretary of State before contacting the TxDMV.
  • Request your PIN
  • Request a Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) conversion - This conversion identifies a motor carrier as having current registration within the National Registration System (NRS) under the Unified Carrier Registration System.