Smith County East Texas Crushers Auto Theft Task Force


1517 W. Fronts St. Suite 360 Tyler, Texas 75702


The East Texas Auto Theft Task Force consists of a cooperative effort among the following agencies: Smith County District Attorney's Office, Tyler Police Department, Smith County Sheriff's Office, Rusk County Sheriff's Office, Upshur County Sheriff's Office and the Texas Department of Public Safety. Task Force investigators conduct vehicle theft and vehicle burglary investigations and arrest offenders. They respond to requests for assistance and investigate tips from local law enforcement, Texas DMV, local tax offices, and the public. They conduct Public Awareness presentations for the public, as well as train patrol officers in proper techniques of identifying and recovering stolen vehicles.