skip to main content

registration renewal e-reminder address change specialty plates temporary permits vehicle-transit vehicle transfer notification title check

Temporary Permits

TxDMV issues temporary permits for private or commercial vehicles subject to Texas registration laws, but not authorized to travel on Texas highways due to the lack of registration or lack of reciprocity with the state or country in which the vehicle is registered.

TxDMV offers the following temporary permit types:

temp-permits72-Hour, 144-Hour, One-Trip and 30-Day Permits



vehicle-transitTransit Permit - if you buy a car or truck and the seller keeps the Texas license plates, the Transit Permit allows you to legally drive the vehicle home or to your local county tax office.

72 & 144-Hour Permits

TxDMV issues a 72- or 144-Hour Permit for the movement of a laden truck, truck-tractor, trailer, semitrailer, or a motor bus on the highways of Texas.

Purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit

You may purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit in the following ways:

Fees and Payment Information
  • 72-Hour Permit - $25
  • 144-Hour Permit - $50

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express if purchasing the permit online or at a county tax office that accepts them. A service charge may be included.
  • Certified check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Cash

Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.

You may purchase permits in advance of a proposed trip and several permits may be obtained at one time with the times of validity to run in chain-like fashion, having one permit become effective immediately upon the expiration of the preceding one.

Eligible Use

A 72-or 144-Hour Permit may only be issued to commercial vehicles and buses owned by residents of the United States, Mexico, or Canada.

These permits may be used to:

  • Operate an unregistered commercial vehicle or bus in Texas.
  • Engage in intrastate operations in Texas with out-of-state licensed commercial vehicles.

Texas residents may use these permits to operate:

  • An unregistered commercial vehicle or bus in Texas.
  • A Texas registered commercial vehicle with a heavier gross weight than registered. The heavier load may operate for only the period that the permit is valid, unless the owner purchases additional permits.
  • A vehicle registered with either Farm or Soil Conservation license plates when the vehicle is operating over the maximum weight allowed by law.

icon importantTimed Permits may not be issued to:

  • Any vehicle that has been issued a salvage or nonrepairable certificate of title
  • Any vehicle that has been apprehended

Vehicles operating with a 72- or 144-Hour Permit may operate at the maximum weight allowed under Texas registration laws.

A 72- or 144-Hour Permit is valid only in Texas.

Insurance Requirements

Applicants must show proof of liability insurance that meets the Texas minimum liability limits of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Insurance is not required for trailers and semitrailers. An insurance company authorized to write insurance in Texas must provide the coverage.

Vehicle Inspection

A vehicle displaying a 72- or 144-Hour Permit must pass the Texas Safety Inspection prior to being operated on the highways. If the vehicle displays current out-of-state license plates or the vehicle is mobile drilling or servicing equipment used in the production of gas or crude petroleum oil, a Texas Safety Inspection is not required.

Vehicles Registered in Combination

The following instructions apply when 72- or 144-Hour Permits are issued to trucks or truck-tractors with a gross weight in excess of 10,000 lbs. and semitrailers with gross weights in excess of 6,000 lbs. and the combined gross weight is greater than 18,000 lbs.:

  • A truck or truck-tractor displaying a 72- or 144-Hour Permit may not pull a semitrailer displaying a Token Trailer license plate. Token Trailer license plates are valid only when displayed on semitrailers pulled by vehicles registered with Combination, Forestry, Apportioned, or Seasonal Permit license plates for the combined gross weight of all the vehicles used in the combination. Therefore, if a pulling unit displays such a permit, each semitrailer operated in combination must also display a permit or trailer registration.
  • If a truck or truck-tractor displaying a Combination license plate pulls a semitrailer displaying a 72- or 144-Hour Permit, the pulling unit should be registered for the combined gross weight of all the vehicles in the combination. If the vehicle is not registered for a sufficient combined gross weight then the owner may increase the weight at the county, or may purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit for the pulling unit. The permit qualifies the combination for the maximum gross weight permitted under the registration laws.
  • A vehicle displaying Truck license plates cannot legally pull a semitrailer displaying a Token Trailer license plate. The semitrailer would need to display a 72- or 144-Hour Permit. This allows the owner to legally operate the combination without exchanging registration.
  • An out-of-state licensed power unit can legally pull a semitrailer displaying a Texas Token Trailer license plate. The power unit must be registered for a combined gross weight of the truck, trailer, and the load. The out-of-state vehicle must display a 72- or 144-Hour Permit on the pulling unit.
  • A properly licensed out-of-state power unit operating in Texas under the International Registration Plan may operate interstate or intrastate in Texas while pulling a semitrailer displaying a Texas Token Trailer license plate or a 72- or 144-Hour Permit. The out-of-state power unit must be registered for the combined gross weight of the truck, trailer, and the load.

One-Trip Permit

TxDMV issues a One-Trip Permit for the temporary movement of an unladen vehicle subject to Texas registration laws. A One-Trip Permit is valid for a period of 15 days from the effective date.

A One-Trip Permit is valid for one trip only between the point of origin and the point of destination and the intermediate point as shown on the receipt.

Purchase a One-Trip Permit

You may purchase a One-Trip Permit in the following ways:

Fee and Payment Information

A One-Trip Permit costs $5 and may be purchased prior to its effective date.

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express if purchasing the permit online or at a county tax office that accepts them. A service charge may be included.
  • Certified check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Cash

Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.

Eligible Use

One-Trip Permits may be issued for:

Vehicle or Trip Type Conditions
A bus for the transit of the vehicle only  The vehicle shall not at the time of transit be used for the transportation of property or passengers, unless it is operated for charter from another state
A charter bus from another state or country May carry property and passengers
A private bus May carry property and passengers
A commercial vehicle with a camper unit mounted thereon The camper unit may be of the permanent or slide-in type
A commercial vehicle that is not transporting any passengers or property Vehicle must be empty
A passenger car May carry property and passengers
An unladen truck or truck-tractor operating in combination with an unladen trailer or semitrailer If both vehicles are unregistered, two permits must be issued, one for each unit
Park Model trailers A house trailer-type vehicle that is 400 square feet or less measured at the largest horizontal projections
A motorcycle  
A trip in which the point of origin or the point of destination is in the State of Texas  

icon importantOne-Trip Permits may not be issued for:

  • Manufactured housing - A house trailer-type device that is 8 body feet or more in width or 40 body feet or more in length.
  • A charter bus based in Texas that is transporting passengers.
  • A commercial vehicle that is transporting the owner's household goods.
  • A boat trailer that is carrying a boat.
  • A laden luggage trailer or laden utility trailer.
  • A vehicle carrying a fixed load regardless of whether the vehicle is conventional or unconventional.
  • A vehicle that has been apprehended for operating unregistered.
  • A junked, salvage, or nonrepairable vehicle.
  • A trip that originates and terminates outside Texas.
Insurance Requirements

Applicants must show proof of liability insurance that meets the Texas minimum liability limits of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Insurance is not required for trailers and semitrailers. An insurance company authorized to write insurance in Texas must provide the coverage.

Vehicle Inspection

A vehicle displaying a current One-Trip Permit is exempt from displaying a current Texas Safety Inspection.

Permit Display

The permit must be displayed in the rear window of the vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a rear window, the operator must carry the permit and receipt in the vehicle any time the vehicle is in-transit.

30-Day Permit

TxDMV issues a 30-Day Permit for the temporary movement of a vehicle subject to Texas registration laws. A 30-Day Permit is valid for a period of 30 days from the effective date reflected on the permit.

No more than three 30-Day Permits will be issued per vehicle.

Purchase a 30-Day Permit

You may purchase a 30-Day Permit in the following ways:

Fee and Payment Information

A 30-Day Permit costs $25 and may be purchased prior to its effective date.

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express if purchasing the permit online or at a county tax office that accepts them. A service charge may be included.
  • Certified check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Cash

Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.

Eligible Use

The permit is available for passenger vehicles, motorcycles, private buses, trailers, and semitrailers with a gross weight not exceeding 10,000 lbs., and for light commercial vehicles not exceeding a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 lbs. A commercial vehicle exceeding a gross weight of 10,000 lbs. is eligible for the permit if operating unladen.

icon important30-Day Permits may not be issued for:

  • Vehicles that have been apprehended in Texas for operating unregistered or with expired license plates. In such instances, the owner must purchase registration and pay a penalty equal to 20% of the applicable fee.
  • Junked, salvage, or nonrepairable vehicles.
  • A vehicle that has been apprehended for operating unregistered.
Insurance Requirements

Applicants must show proof of liability insurance that meets the Texas minimum liability limits of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Insurance is not required for trailers and semitrailers. An insurance company authorized to write insurance in Texas must provide the coverage.

Permit Display

The permit must be displayed in the rear window of the vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a rear window, the operator must carry the permit and receipt in the vehicle any time the vehicle is in-transit.

Transit Permit

If you buy a car or truck and the seller keeps the Texas license plates, the Transit Permit allows you to legally drive the vehicle home or to your local county tax office.

vehicle-transit Print a Transit Permit

 

Only one Transit Permit may be issued per vehicle. Only passenger vehicles and light trucks are eligible.

The Transit Permit is valid for 5 days (maximum) from date of issuance; the start date is the day the permit is printed.

If the vehicle will travel out of state, please verify that this permit is valid for operation in that state. This permit may only authorize operation of the vehicle in Texas.

 

 

 

Copyright © 2016 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731