

Application for Nonprofit Organization Specialty License Plate

Instructions

Any nonprofit organization requesting the creation of a new specialty license plate through the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) must complete this form. Do not use this form if creation of a new specialty license plate is requested through My Plates. Refer to page 2 for detailed instructions and required supporting documents. For questions, contact the TxDMV Special Plates Unit at (512) 374-5010.

Submit the completed application and supporting documents by email to specialtyplates@txdmv.gov or by mail to:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Specialty Plates Unit

4000 Jackson Avenue Austin, TX 78731							
Nonprofit Organization	Information						
Proposed specialty license plan	te name (limited to 25 characte	ers)					
Organization name			Organization website				
Total Texas membership			Estimated number of plates to be sold in first year				
Has this plate been proposed	or offered in other states? If so	, which state	s?				
Organization's mission and the	e marketing strategy for this spe	ecialty licens	e plate:				
Sponsoring State Agency	Information						
Texas state agency name and	division to administer proceeds	::					
Proceeds will support:							
Are there any qualifications to	be met for an individual to obt	ain the plate	? Note: Quali	fications may rest	rict the num	nber of purchasers.	
Yes □ No □							
If yes, please explain:							
Applicant Contact Inforn	nation						
First Name	Last Name	Last Name		Title	Title		
Address		City	ty		State	Zip	
Phone Number	Email	,					
Signature			Date				

Application for Nonprofit Organization Specialty License Plate

Instructions and Required Documentation

- 1. **Visit TxDMV's website** at <u>www.txdmv.gov</u>. The License Plates web page has information for sponsoring organizations, a *Proposing a Specialty License Plate* brochure, and over 400 existing specialty license plate designs.
- 2. **Select a sponsoring state agency.** Applicants may request sponsorship of the license plate from a state agency or the TxDMV.
 - a) If a state agency agrees to sponsor the plate, a share of proceeds from plate sales can be directed to a nonprofit organization as long as a sponsoring state agency agrees to receive and appropriate the funds. A list of Texas state agencies can be found online at www.texas.gov.
 - State law requires a \$30 annual specialty plate fee, of which \$22 must be distributed to the sponsoring state agency and appropriated to the nonprofit organization. TxDMV will retain the remaining \$8 for administrative costs.
 - b) The TxDMV may sponsor the plate if no state agency agrees to sponsor the plate. If the TxDMV agrees to sponsor, the proceeds will go to the TxDMV Fund.

3. Submit the following documentation with your application:

- a) Formal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) certification on IRS letterhead of your organization's nonprofit status.
- b) An electronic file of the plate's design created with Adobe Photoshop software (saved in psd format). Submit raster or vector images with layers intact (not flattened) to allow for editing by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice during the manufacturing process.

4. Submit the following documentation, only if applicable:

- a) A logo agreement is required to accompany the application. The agreement must be obtained from TxDMV.
- b) A letter from the executive director of the sponsoring state agency indicating the agency is willing to receive and appropriate revenue from plate sales; use of the plate revenue will not violate a state statute or constitutional provision; and accounting codes from the Texas State Comptroller's Uniform Statewide Accounting System will be provided as needed for programming of TxDMV's automated systems.

Application Process

Following receipt of your completed application, the TxDMV will:

- Review your plate design to ensure it meets specifications and it is not similar to an existing plate design.
- If approved, provide a prototype plate for your review.
- Present your specialty license plate to the public for comment and to the TxDMV Board for their approval at a public meeting.

If the TxDMV Board approves your plate, the TxDMV will:

- Require an \$8,000 deposit. The deposit is refunded after 800 sets of plates are ordered or renewed.
- Display your plate on the TxDMV website. Accept plate orders through local county tax assessor-collector's offices and online.
- Distribute the funds from new orders and renewals of the specialty license plate through TxDMV automated systems.