

Application for Salvage or Nonrepairable Vehicle Title

Application Type								
Check one:			_					
☐ Salvage Vehicle Title (\$8.00	•	☐ Nonrepairable Vehicle Title (\$8.00 fee)						
If the vehicle was last titled in Texas and the Texas Certificate of Title was lost or destroyed AND there is no change in ownership:								
Certified Copy of Texas Title (Additional \$2.00 fee) (Note: See "Certified Copy of Texas Title" section on page 2 for any additional requirements.)								
(110 to 1 500 Contined Copy of Texas frac Section on page 2 for any additional requirements)								
Vehicle Information								
Vehicle Identification Number			Year	Make	Body Style	Model		
Title (0)			Considered Title C	No. 1	Linear Blate Che	1 1 N 1 ('f)		
Title/Document Number (if unknown, leave blank)			Surrendered Title State License Plate State and Number (if any)					
Odometer Reading (no tenths)	This is the Actual Mileage	e unless the milea	l ge is:					
		Not Actual		echanical Limit	S			
Type of Damage:								
□ Accident/Collision □ Flood Damage □ Other (specify)								
Applicant Information	1							
First Name (or Entity Name)		Middle Name		Last Name		Suffix (if any)		
Additional Applicant First Name (if app	olicable)	Middle Name		Last Name		Suffix (if any)		
Address		City		State		Zip		
Email (optional)			Phone Number (op	otional)				
1: l f								
Lien Information	Telephone Barr	L'arbalde New						
□ No lien	First Lien Date	Liennoider Nam	older Name					
☐ Carry forward existing lien☐ Record new lien☐	Address		City State Zip					
☐ Record new lien (on Salvage Vehicle Title Only)	Address		State Zip					
	<u>.</u>							
Last Titled Outside of	Texas – Only if	application i	is in the name	of an insura	nce company			
If the vehicle was last titled outside of								
□ Damage occurred in Texas □ Theft occurred in Texas □ Theft recovery occurred in Texas								
☐ The owner of the motor vehicle from whom the insurance company acquired ownership is a Texas resident.								
Certification – State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony								
I, the above listed applicant, hereby certify all statements in this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and								
belief.								
Signature of Applicant/Owner		Printed N	lame (Same as Sig	nature)		Date		
Signature of Additional Applicant/	'Owner (if any)	Printed N	lame (Same as Sig	nature)		Date		

Application for Salvage or Nonrepairable Vehicle Title

Instructions

Please submit this completed application with the applicable fee. The application fee for a Salvage or Nonrepairable Vehicle Title is \$8.00. The fee for a Certified Copy of Texas Title is an additional \$2.00 (see "Certified Copy of Title" section below for more details). Fees should be in the form of personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. **Do not send cash.** Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. **Fees are non-refundable.**

<u>Ownership Evidence</u>: The original title (or other acceptable evidence of ownership) properly assigned from the owner on record to the title applicant. No signatures are required on the original title if the applicant is the owner on record. If the original title (or other acceptable evidence of ownership) is lost, the applicant must apply for a Certified Copy of Title.

<u>Lien</u>: A new lien may be recorded, or an existing lien may be carried forward, on a Salvage Vehicle Title. Only an existing, recorded lien may be carried forward (a new lien may not be recorded) on a Nonrepairable Vehicle Title. A release of lien is required if an existing lien is recorded and should not be carried forward; otherwise, the lien will be carried forward.

Mail this application with fee to: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Titles and Registration Division, ATTN: Title Control Systems, P.O. Box 26450, Austin, Texas 78755-0450.

Applications may be submitted by EXPRESS MAIL to: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Titles and Registration Division, Attn: Title Control Systems, 4000 Jackson Ave., Austin, Texas 78731.

Certified Copy of Texas Title

If applying for a Certified Copy of Texas Title, the applicant(s) for the salvage or nonrepairable vehicle title must be the current owner(s) on record. The Certified Copy of Title option cannot be checked if there is a change in ownership, including adding or removing owner(s). The owner(s)/applicant(s) must provide a copy of their current government issued photo identification (ID).

- Individual(s) Applying: If a vehicle is in the name of an individual(s), the individual owner(s) must each sign this application and must provide a copy of <u>each</u> owner's government issued photo ID.
- Entity Applying: If the vehicle is in the name of an entity, an agent representing the entity must sign the application.

 Additional Requirements: Letter of signature authority on letterhead, printed business card (containing the agent's name), or employee ID connecting the signing agent to the entity (may be copies) and copy of the agent's government issued photo ID.
- Using Power(s) of Attorney: If a power of attorney (POA) is being used to sign on behalf of an individual or entity, the above requirements apply to the individual or entity appointed as attorney-in-fact in the power of attorney. An original or copy of the POA is required.

 Additional Requirements: If the POA appoints an individual, a copy of that individual's government issued photo ID. If the POA appoints an entity, a letter of signature authority on letterhead, printed business card (containing the agent's name), or employee ID connecting the signing agent to the entity (may be copies) and copy of the agent's government issued photo ID.

The following are the only acceptable forms of government issued photo ID when requesting a Certified Copy of Texas Title:

1) Driver license or state ID certificate issued by a state or territory of the U.S., 2) U.S. or foreign passport, 3) U.S. military ID, 4) North Atlantic Treaty Organization ID, 5) ID issued under a Status of Forces Agreement, 6) U.S. Department of Homeland Security ID, 7) U.S. Department of State ID, 8) U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services ID document, 9) License to carry a handgun issued by TxDPS. All forms of ID must be valid and cannot be expired more than 12 months.

Definitions

A "salvage motor vehicle" is a motor vehicle that:

- has damage to or is missing a major component part to the extent that the cost of repairs exceeds the actual cash value of the motor vehicle immediately before the damage. Cost of repair calculations may include parts and labor, but must exclude the cost of materials and labor for repainting the motor vehicle and sales tax on the total cost of repairs or
- comes into this state under an out of state salvage motor vehicle title or similar out of state ownership document.

A salvage motor vehicle does not include an out of state motor vehicle with a "rebuilt," "prior salvage," "salvaged," or similar notation, a nonrepairable motor vehicle, or a motor vehicle for which an insurance company has paid a claim for the cost of repairing hail damage or theft, unless the motor vehicle was damaged during the theft and before recovery to the extent that the cost of repair exceeds the actual cash value of the motor vehicle immediately before the damage.

A salvage motor vehicle may not be registered or operated on a public highway until the vehicle has been repaired/rebuilt and a certificate of title branded "Rebuilt Salvage" has been issued.

A "nonrepairable motor vehicle" is a motor vehicle that:

- is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only residual value of the vehicle is as a source of parts or scrap metal; or
- comes into this state under a title or other ownership document that indicates the vehicle is nonrepairable, junked, for parts or dismantling only, or a similar notation.

A nonrepairable motor vehicle may not be repaired, rebuilt, reconstructed, or made operable for use on a public highway.

Ap	Applicant Checklist					
	☐ Application type (salvage or nonrepairable) and type of damage		Original title or other acceptable ownership evidence			
	checked		submitted; otherwise, Certified Copy of Title is checked			
	Legal name of applicant and mailing address is provided		Title applicant has signed and dated the application			
	☐ Vehicle information is complete and accurate		Odometer reading (for vehicles subject to federal			
			odometer disclosure)			
	Application fee of \$8 (\$10 if Certified Copy of Title is required)		Additional documents (Release of Lien, court order, etc.)			