County Use Only

v‘ Application for
( GOId Star License No

Texas Department License Plates Mo/Yr of Exp
()f Motor Vehicles Date Issued
Instructions

Submit the completed application and payment in the form of a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check, and proof of
eligibility to your local county tax assessor-collector’s office. Registration fees must be paid to establish a single expiration date
for both the specialty plate and the vehicle registration when your plates are issued; however, there is no specialty plate fee.
Plates may be personalized for an additional fee of $40; make your selection on page 2. The personalization fee is non-
refundable.

There is a limit of one Gold Star specialty plate per applicant.

The vehicle must have a title and registration in your name. If the vehicle is not titled in your name, attach a statement stating you
have legal right of possession and control of the vehicle. If you recently submitted an application for title, attach a copy of the title
application receipt (VTR-500-RTS). If the vehicle is leased, attach a copy of the lease agreement.

If you place your order by mail, please contact your county tax assessor-collector’s office in three weeks to verify your plates are
ready, or if you have any questions.

Plate Eligibility

You must submit proof of eligibility for the plate type you are requesting.

e  Gold Star Family: Proof that you are an immediate family member (parent, adoptive parent, foster parent, stepparent,
child, stepchild, adoptive child, foster child, or sibling) of a person who died while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces.

e  Gold Star Father: Proof that you are the father of a person who died while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces.
e  Gold Star Mother: Proof that you are the mother of a person who died while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces.
e Gold Star Spouse: Proof that you are the surviving spouse of a person who died while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces.

Applicant Information

First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix County
Address City State ZIP
Email Phone Number

Vehicle Information

Vehicle Identification Number Year Make

Vehicle Type

[ ] Passenger car [ ] Truck [ ] Motorcycle/Moped

Plate Type

[ ] Gold Star Family [ ] Gold Star Father [ ] Gold Star Mother [ ] Gold Star Spouse

Certification — State law makes falsifying information a third-degree felony.

| certify | am eligible for the specialty license plates selected above and am providing proof to that effect.

Signature Date

Form VTR-423 Rev 09/2023 Form available online at www.TxDMV.gov Page 1 of 2



http://www.txdmv.gov/

Application for Gold Star License Plates

Personalize Your Plate - If you would like to personalize your specialty plate, there will be a $40 fee per year in addition to
the annual registration fee.

e Show personalization exactly as you want them to appear on your license plate(s). You may list more than one option in
the event the personalization you have chosen is already issued.

o Aselection that has been issued, is deemed offensive, or conflicts with the regular license plate numbering system
cannot be approved.

e Enter your desired personalized letters, numbers, and/or symbols in the blocks below. The available symbols include:
a period, a dash, a blank space, a Texas silhouette (use an asterisk “*” to indicate), a heart (use an at “@” to indicate),
and a star (use an ampersand “&” to indicate).

e Passenger car and truck specialty plates are limited to five (5) characters total, including punctuation characters.

e  Motorcycle and moped specialty plates are limited to four (4) characters total, including punctuation characters.

e  You are not required to use all the blocks provided.

e The International Symbol of Access ”('5” counts as two (2) characters and will be located at the beginning of the plate
number. If you are disabled and applying for personalized specialty plates, use a percent sign “%”to indicate.

Personalization fee will not be refunded once the application is submitted.

1%t Choice 2" Choice 3" Choice

International Symbol of Access &,

To display the International Symbol of Access on your license plate, attach a signed Application for Persons with Disabilities
Parking Placard and/or License Plate (Form VTR-214) to this application to show your eligibility. Contact your county tax assessor-
collector’s office for more information.
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