

## Application for Deaf Driver Awareness License Plate

County	Use	Only	

License No
Mo/Yr of Exp

Date Issued

Instructions

Submit the completed application; payment in the form of a personal check, money order, or cashier's check; and any required attachments to your local county tax assessor-collector's office. **Do not mail cash**. The plate fee is \$8 in addition to the annual registration fee. License plates may be personalized for an additional \$40 fee per year; make your choice on page 2. Fees are not refundable.

When the specialty plates are issued, additional fees may be collected to establish a single expiration date for both the specialty plate and the vehicle registration.

If you order by mail, contact your county tax assessor-collector's office in three weeks to verify your plate is ready. Contact your county tax assessor-collector if you have any questions.

## **Eligibility Requirements**

To qualify, you must meet one of the following requirements:

- You have a hearing impairment of such severity you must depend on visual methods to communicate.
- You rely on residual hearing, and possibly depend on visual methods to communicate.

This application must be accompanied by a written statement from a physician who is licensed to practice medicine in this state or a state adjacent to this state or who is authorized by applicable law to practice medicine in a hospital or other health facility of the Department of Veterans Affairs. The vehicle must have a Texas title and registration in your name. If the vehicle is not titled in your name, attach a statement stating you have legal right of possession and control of this vehicle. If you recently submitted an application for title, attach a copy of the title application receipt (VTR-500 RTS). If the vehicle is leased, attach a copy of the lease agreement.

Applicant Information									
First Name	Middle Name	Last Name			Suffix				
Address		City		State	ZIP				
Email			Phone Number						
Vehicle Information									
Vehicle Identification Number	Year	Make							
Body Style Empty Weight (lbs.)			Current TX License Plate (if any)						
Vehicle Type  Passenger car  Truck (up to 18,000 lbs.)  Motorcycle/Moped (M)  Trailer (T)									
Disability Statement: This section must be completed by a licensed physician.									
Name of Licensed Physician		Professional License Number							
l certify	is deaf or hard of hearing.								
Printed Name									
Signature of Licensed Medical Professional			Date						

## **Application for Deaf Driver Awareness License Plate**

Personalize Your Plate - If you would like to personalize your specialty plate, there will be a \$40 fee per year in addition to the • Show personalizations exactly as you want them to appear on your license plate(s). You may list more than one option in the event the personalization you have chosen is already issued. A personalization that has been issued, is deemed offensive, or conflicts with the regular license plate numbering system cannot be ٠ approved. • Enter your desired personalized letters, numbers, and/or symbols in the blocks below. The available symbols include: a period, a dash, a blank space, a Texas silhouette (use an asterisk "\*" to indicate), a heart (use an at "@" to indicate), and a star (use an ampersand "&" to indicate). Passenger car, truck, and trailer plates are limited to five (5) characters total, including punctuation characters. ٠ Motorcycle and moped plates are limited to four (4) characters total, including punctuation characters. ٠ You are not required to use all the blocks provided. • The International Symbol of Access " 📥 " counts as two (2) characters and will be located at the beginning of the plate number. ٠ If you are disabled and applying for personalized specialty plates, the plate may consist of only three (3) characters (or two [2] if it is a motorcycle/moped). Use a percent "%" to indicate. Personalization fee will not be refunded once the application is submitted. 3<sup>rd</sup> Choice 1<sup>st</sup> Choice 2<sup>nd</sup> Choice International Symbol of Access To display the International Symbol of Access on your license plate, attach a signed Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (Form VTR-214) to this application to show your eligibility. Contact your county tax assessor-collector's office for more information.