
Military Packet to 
Title and Register Your Vehicle 

To transfer your vehicle to Texas follow the steps outlined below. Forms and instructions to follow: 

Step 1. Obtain insurance meeting the state's minimum requirements. 

Step 2. Obtain a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued by a vehicle inspection station confirming the VIN, if a commercial or 
emissions inspection is required. If not required, self-certify the vehicle identification number on the Application for Texas Title and/or 
Registration (Form 130-U). 

Step 3. Provide proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) along with a copy of your current 
government issued photo identification. 

Step 4. Complete an Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U), enclosed. 

Step 5. If you are applying for a Texas title and registration you will need: 
a. The current title or Manufacturer Certificate of Origin (if a new unregistered vehicle)
b. To check the 'Title and Registration' box on the Form 130-U.

If you are applying for registration purposes only (no title will be issued) you will need: 
a. Your current out of state registration receipt, and

b. To check the 'Registration Purposes Only' box on the Form 130-U.

Step 6. Because we all enjoy the Texas roads and scenery, each vehicle registered in Texas pays fees. 

Fees 
Fees will include: 

• New resident tax $90.00 or 6.25% sales tax
• Registration fee for passenger car or truck (6,000 lbs. and less) $50.75
• Title application fee $28.00 or $33.00 (varies by county)
• Local county fees up to $31.50 (varies by county)
• DPS electronic insurance verification fee $1.00
• Process and handling fee $4.75
• State portion of the vehicle inspection fees $2.75 - $30.75 (varies by county, inspection type, vehicle type, and vehicle use)

Since fees vary by county, be sure to check with your county for specific amounts. County tax office information is available 
online at www.txdmv.gov/tax-assessor-collectors/county-tax-offices/. 

Taxes 
If you are a Texas resident and have not previously paid Texas sales tax on the vehicle, you will pay either a 
6.25% sales tax or the difference of the full sales tax previously paid to another state. For used vehicles the value of the 
vehicle will be determined at the county and is based on the Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) of the vehicle or sales 
price (whichever is higher). An SPV calculator is available on our home page at www.TxDMV.gov. More information can be 
obtained by calling the State Comptroller's office at (800) 252-1382 or by visiting www.comptroller.texas.gov. 

More Important Information 
To allow someone to register and title on your behalf, you can provide a Limited Power of Attorney for Eligible 
Motor Vehicle Transactions (Form VTR-271), enclosed, in addition to the required paperwork. 
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Insurance 
Texas law requires the following minimum amounts of coverage on your vehicle: 

• $30,000 bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
• $60,000 bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, with a $30,000 limit for one person
• $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

"No fault" insurance is not considered valid proof of financial responsibility in Texas. However, proof of financial 
responsibility from out of state or out of country is acceptable if the insurance company is licensed to do business in Texas 
and reflects the above minimum amounts. 

Safety Inspections 
Commercial vehicles registered in Texas must pass an annual safety inspection. Some counties also have emissions testing 
requirements. Please check with your county for requirements. 

Texas approved inspection stations conduct vehicle inspections and VIN verifications. Many mechanics, repair facilities, 
and full-service stations are approved to perform the inspections. Look for the state inspection sign at their place of 
business. For more information, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at (512) 424-7293 or visit their 
website at www.dps.texas.gov. You will need to present valid proof of liability insurance in order to receive your VIR. 

Importing Vehicles 
Your vehicle must meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) established by the National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration. Information on the safety standards can be found at https://icsw.nhtsa.gov/cars/rules/import/. More 
information concerning duty or other customs matters is available from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection, https:// 
www.cbp.gov/. Military personnel are not required to complete a Law Enforcement Identification Number Inspection 
(Form VTR-68-A). 

A certified English translation of any document printed in any language other than English must be provided. 

To title and register your vehicle the following is required: To register your vehicle the following is required: 

VIR (if applicable)   VIR (if applicable)  
Proof of Insurance Proof of Insurance 
  

Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings 
Statement (LES)  Statement (LES) 

A copy of your current government issued photo I.D. A copy of your current government issued photo I.D. 

Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 
130-U) 130-U)
The current title (or MCO if a new unregistered vehicle)

The current out of state registration
If importing from another country: USDOT Form HS-7, 
and US Customs, Form CBP 7501 (or other acceptable Fees 
evidence) 

Fees 
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☐ Title & Registration     ☐  Title Only     ☐  Registration Purposes Only     ☐  Nontitle Registration 

☐ Vehicle Description     ☐  Add/Remove Lien    ☐  Other:                                                                                          .

  

11. Empty Weight  12.  Carrying Capacity  (if any)  

☐  Not Actual ☐    ☐  Exceeds Mechanical Limits  Exempt

:                                                                                              )
:                                                             )  

  ☐   

17. Additional Applicant First Name (if applicable)   Middle Name  Last Name  Suffix (if any)  

 

4. Renewal Notice Mailing  Address (if different)  City  State  Zip  2
 

0. Previous Owner  Name (or  Entity Name)  City  State  21.  Dealer GDN (if applicable)  22. Unit No. (if applicable)  

3. Renewal Recipient First  Name (or  Entity Name) (if different)  Middle Name  Last Name  Suffix (if any)  

32.  Certified/eTitle  Lienholder ID Number  (if any)  33.  First Lien Date  (if any)  
)   

                                                                                        
r                                                                        . 
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$  (                             )  
 
$  (                             )  
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Application for Texas Title and/or Registration 
Applying for (please check  one):  

For a  corrected title  or registration, check reason:  

10.  This is the Actual Mileage unless the  mileage is:  

13. Applicant Type  

 

15.  ID Type

27. Registration Renewal eReminder  28. Communication Impediment?   

30.  Multiple (Additional) Liens  31.  Electronic Title Request  

MOTOR  VEHICLE TAX STATEMENT  35. Check only if applicable:  

36. Trade-In (if any)   
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1. Vehicle Identification Number 2. Year 3. Make 4. Body Style 

TAX OFFICE USE ONLY 
County: 
Doc #: 
☐ SPV ☐ Appraisal Value $ 

5. Model 6. Major Color 7. Minor Color 

8. Texas License Plate No. 9. Odometer Reading (no tenths) 

14. Applicant Photo ID Number or FEIN/EIN 
☐ Individual ☐ Business ☐ Government ☐ Trust ☐ Non-Profit

 ☐   
☐   
☐ 

U.S. Driver License/ID Card (issued by ☐  NATO ID  U.S. Dept. of State ID 
Passport (issued by  ☐  U.S. Military ID U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security ID 
U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services/DOJ ID Other Military Status of Forces Photo ID 

16. Applicant First Name (or Entity Name) Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any) 

18. Applicant Mailing Address City State Zip 19. Applicant County of Residence 

2

2

25. Applicant Phone Number (optional) 26. Email (optional) 
☐ Yes (Provide Email in #26) ☐ Yes (Attach Form VTR-216) 

29. Vehicle Location Address (if different) City State Zip 

☐  Yes (Attach Form VTR-267) ☐  Yes (Cannot check #30

34. First Lienholder Name (if any) Mailing Address City State Zip 

☐ 
☐   I

I hold Motor Vehicle Retailer (Rental) Permit No. and will satisfy the minimum tax liability (V.A.T.S., Tax Code §152.046[c]) 
 am a dealer or lessor and qualify to take the Fair Market Value Deduction (V.A.T.S., Tax Code, §152.002[c]). GDN or Lessor Numbe

Year Make Vehicle Identification Number 37. Additional Trade-In(s)  
☐ Yes☐ es (Complete) 

SALES AND  USE TAX COMPUTATION  
(a) Sales Price bate has been deducted) ☐  $90 New Resident Tax – (Previous State)
(b) Less Trade-in Amount, described in Box 36 above ☐

 

 
☐ 
☐ 

$5 Even Trade Tax 
(c) For Dealers/Lessors/Rental ONLY – Fair Market Value $10 Gift Tax – Attach Comptroller Form 14-317 

Deduction, described in Box 36 above $65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee 
(d) Taxable Amount (Item a minus Item b or Item c) ☐ 2.5% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1996 and Older > 14,000 lbs
(e) 6.25% Tax on Taxable Amount (Multiply Item d by .0625) ☐ 1

 

 % Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1997 and Newer > 14,000 lb
(f) Late Tax Payment Penalty  ☐   5% or   ☐   10%  ☐ Exemption claimed under the Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Law because: 
(g) Tax Paid to STATE) 
(h) AMOUNT OF TAX AND PENALTY DUE ☐ $28 or $33 Application Fee for Texas Title 

(Item e plus Item f minus Item g) (Contact your county tax assessor-collector for the correct fee.) 

38. Check only if applicable:  

 

    CERTIFICATION – State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony   
   

 
I certify all statements in this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I am eligible for title and/or registration (as applicable). I also certify 
(check if applicable): ☐ I have physically inspected the vehicle described and verified the vehicle identification number above. The vehicle is unrecovered stolen, and I am 
unable to verify the vehicle identification number above. ☐ I am applying for a corrected title and the original Texas Certificate of Title is lost or destroyed. 

☐ 
 

Printed Name(s) (Same as Signature(s)) Date 

Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date 

Printed Name(s) (Same as Signature(s)) Date 

Signature(s) of Seller(s), Donor(s), or 

 

Trader(s) 

 
 

Signature of Applicant/Owner 

 
 

Signature(s) of Additional Applicant(s)/Owner(s) 

 
 

  
Form 130-U Rev 01/25 
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at 

 
www.TxDMV.gov 
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Application for Texas Title and/or Registration 
General Instructions  

                     
                    

               
      

        
          

     
  

With a few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information the department collects about you. The Texas Government 
Code entitles you to receive and review the information and to request that the department correct any information about you that is 
incorrect. Please contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles at 1-888-368-4689 or 512-465-3000 for details. 
This form must be completed and submitted to a county tax assessor-collector's office accompanied by any required application fee, 
supporting documents, registration fee, if applicable, and any motor vehicle tax due. An application form may be reproduced or faxed. A 
completed form must contain the original signature of the buyer. The seller's signature may be reproduced or faxed. All title applications 
must include one of the government-issued photo IDs listed in Box 15.  Detailed instructions for completing this form are located in the 
Detailed Instructions for Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form VTR-130-UIF). 

AVAILABLE HELP  
• For  assistance in completing this  form,  contact  your county  tax  assessor-collector. 
• For  information about motor vehicle sales  and use tax or emission fees,  contact the  Texas Comptroller of Public  Accounts,  Tax 

Assistance  Section, at 1-800-252-1382 toll  free nationwide or call 512-463-4600. 
• For  title or registration  information, contact your county  tax assessor-collector or the  Texas Department of Motor  Vehicles  at  

1-888-368-4689 or 512-465-3000. 
 

Additional Details  
Title Only: License plates and registration insignia previously issued for this  motor vehicle must be surrendered in accordance with 
Transportation Code §501.0275, if applicable, unless this  vehicle  displays a license plate  under an applicable status of forces agreement.  
The following types of vehicles are not eligible for Title Only: construction machinery (unconventional vehicles), water well  drilling units,  
machinery used exclusively for drilling water wells, construction machinery not designed to transport persons or property, implements of  
husbandry, farm equipment (including combines), golf carts, slow moving  vehicles, or any vehicle with a suspended or revoked title.  
Registration Purposes Only: Do not surrender an original out of state title with this application. A Texas title will NOT  be issued for a  
vehicle applying for Registration Purposes Only. The receipt issued upon filing this application will serve as the registration receipt and 
proof of application  for Registration Purposes Only.  
• Foreign Vehicles: Foreign vehicles applying for Registration Purposes Only must attach DOT Form HS-7 or U.S. Customs Form  CF-7501 to 

indicate the vehicle is: 1) over 25 years old, or 2) complies  with  Federal  Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, or 3) is being imported in  the
United States  for a temporary period by a nonresident or a member of the armed forces  of a foreign country on assignment in the U.S., 
and does not conform to the Federal Motor Vehicle  Standards and cannot be sold in the  U.S. 

Nontitle Registration:  Certain trailers,  farm equipment, construction  machinery,  oil well servicing machinery,  water well drilling units, etc.  
are either  exempt from,  or not eligible for title,  but  are eligible for,  or required to,  obtain registration  or a specialty plate in order to operate  
on the highway.   Applicants should mark this box only when applicable.   Note: A lien cannot be recorded on this type of application.  

   
 Notice 

• The sales and use tax must be paid to the county tax assessor-collector within 30 days from the date of purchase or entry of the vehicle
 

   
into Texas.

• A $2.50  transfer fee is paid to transfer current registration to the new owner in addition to the title application fee and other applicable
 fee s. If t he registrat ion is not current,  full regist ration fees are due unless applying for T itle Only.      

• A 6.25 percent mo tor vehicle sales and us e tax is imp osed on the sale s price (less t rade-in  allowance) of  motor ve hicles for use i n Texas
or a motor v ehicle purchase d outside of th e state and later brought into this s tate by a Texas resident.

       • Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) applies to private-party sales of most used motor vehicles purchased or brought into Texas. The tax is
     computed on the greater of the sales price or 80 percent of the SPV on the day of title application.          

• New Texas residents are subject to a $90 use tax on a vehicle brought into this state that was previously registered to the new resident       
 in anothe r state or foreign co untr y. This is in  lieu  of the  6.25 percent use tax imp osed on a Texas residen t.    

• A $10 gift tax is d ue when a person receives a motor v ehicle as a gif t from an imm ediate family member, guardian, or a decedent's
 e state. A ve hicle donated to, or given by, a non-profit serv ice organization qualifying under IRC  501(c)(3) is a lso taxed as a gift. Both  

donor and  recipient must sign the Comp troller's joint affidavit, Affidavit of Motor Veh icle G ift Transfer (Form 14-317). The  affidavit a nd
the title application must  be submitted in person  by e ither the  donor or recipien t.   

• A transactio n in which a moto r vehicle is transferred to another person without payment of consideration and one that does not qualify
         as a gift described above is a sale and will be subject to tax calculated on the vehicle's standard presumptive value.

     • A late penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax will be charged if the tax or surcharge is paid from 1 to 30 calendar days late. If more than 30               
calendar days late, the penalty will be 10 percent of the tax; minimum penalty is $1.   

• In  addition t o the late t ax payment penalty, T exas Transpor tation Code prov ides for an escalating delinque nt tran sfer pen alty of u p to  
$250 for  failure to apply for title w ithin 30 days from the  date of titl e assignment. Submi t this application along with proper evidence of
ownership and appropriate v alid pr oof of financial responsib ility su ch as a liability insurance card or policy.

• All  new residents applying  for a Te xas  title and registr atio n for a motor  vehicle m ust file at a  cou nty tax assessor -collector’s of fice within
30 days of establishing re sidency. Texas law requires that all ve hicles previously  registe red and  titled or registered in a nothe r state or  
country must have the vehicle identification number verifi ed before such vehicles may  be register ed in Texas.  The verificat ion may occur 
through an emissions in spec tion p erformed by a state appointed i nspe ction station ,  or thr ough se lf-certification by the  appl icant on  this

        form.
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Limited Power of Attorney
 
for Eligible Motor Vehicle Transactions
 

Information 
All sections  of this form  must be properly completed in order for this  document  to be  accepted.  Original signatures  are  
required, only black or blue ink are  acceptable,  and no  alterations are allowed  on this  form.  
 

This completed and signed  form grants  the grantee,  with full power  of substitution,  full power and authority  to perform  
every act necessary  and proper  to purchase,  transfer,  and assign the legal title to  the  motor  vehicle described on behalf  
of the grantor.   “Full power of substitution”  means that whoever is given  this power of attorney  may delegate that 
power by putting another  person in his  or her place  by a substitute power  of attorney.  
 

This power of attorney cannot be used in  a dealer transaction  to complete a title assignment on a  motor vehicle subject  
      

      
      

 
 

 

    
     

to federal odometer disclosure. In compliance with federal law, the secure Power of Attorney for Transfer of 
Ownership to a Motor Vehicle (Form VTR-271-A) must be used when use of a power of attorney is permitted by the 
applicable regulations for a vehicle subject to federal odometer disclosure. 

If a power of attorney is used to apply for title, initial registration, or a certified copy of title, the grantor (person signing 
this form) and the grantee (person signing the application) must include a photocopy of their photo identification as 
required by state law.

 
 Vehicle Information 

      

Vehicle Identification Number Year Make Body Style Model 

License Plate State and Number (if any) Title/Document Number (if unknown, leave blank) 

Grantor 

 

Information 

 

 

    
  

 

   

      

 

 
 

     

 

     

 

    

First Name (or Entity Name) Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any) 

Address 

City County State Zip 

 
Grantee 

 

Information 

 
    

 

    

First Name (or Entity Name) Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any) 

Address 

City County State Zip 

 

 
  

Certification 

 

– 

 

State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony 

 
I, 

 

the grantor of the county and state 

 

as listed above, 

 

owner of the motor vehicle 

 

described above, 

 

certify that I 

 

do make, constitute, 

 

and appoint 

 
the grantee 

 

of the county and state 

 

as listed above, 

 

or to anyone the grantee may substitute, my true and lawful attorney, for me and in my 

 
name, place, 

 

and 

 

stead to title, and to allow my attorney the authority to substitute as it pertains to the motor vehicle described above. 

 

   
      

Signature

 

 of Grantor 

 

Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date 

VTR-271 Rev 11/20 Form available online at www.TxDMV.gov Page 1 of 1 
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