

Application for Classroom Teacher and Retired Classroom Teacher License Plates

County Use Only				
License No	_			
Mo/Yr of Exp				
Date Issued _				

Instructions

Submit the completed application and payment in the form of a personal check, money order or cashier's check, with proof of eligibility to your local county tax assessor-collector's office. **Do not mail cash**. The specialty plate fee for a classroom teacher is \$10 annually, and the annual registration fee must be paid. The specialty plate fee for a retired classroom teacher is \$5 annually, and the annual registration fee must be paid. License plates may be personalized for an additional \$40 fee per year; make your choice on page two. Fees are not refundable.

When the specialty plates are issued, additional fees may be collected to establish a single expiration date for both the specialty plate and the vehicle registration. If the vehicle is not titled in your name, attach a statement stating you have legal right of possession and control of this vehicle. If you recently submitted an application for title, attach a copy of the title application receipt (VTR-500 RTS). If the vehicle is leased, attach a copy of the lease agreement.

If you order by mail, contact your county tax assessor-collector's office in three weeks to verify your plate is ready. Contact your county tax assessor-collector if you have any questions.

Plate Eligibility

You must submit proof you are either a certified classroom teacher with at least 15 years of documented service records teaching public school students, or a retired classroom teacher formerly employed as a classroom teacher with at least 20 years of service teaching public school students, a retiree of the **Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS)** and are considered a teacher as defined by Education Code, Section 5.001. TRS members must have a certifying officer of the organization sign below if they do not provide a copy of their certification with this application.

Applicant Information						
First Name	Middle Name	Last Name			Suffix	
Address		City		State	ZIP	
Email			Phone Number			
Vehicle Information						
Vehicle Identification Number		Year	Make		Body Style	
Vehicle Type Passenger car	Truck	☐ Motorcycle/Moped		Trailer		
Certification — State law makes f	alsifying information a third-	degree felony.				
I certify I meet the eligibility requirements listed on this application and am providing proof to that effect.						
Signature						
Signature						
Teacher Retirement System of Texas Certification — State law makes falsifying information a third-degree felony.						
Name and Title of TRS Certifying Officer						
ignature of TRS Certifying Officer Date						

Application for Classroom Teachers and Retired Classroom Teachers License Plates

Personalize Your Plate – If you would like to personalize your specialty plate, there will be a \$40 fee per year in addition to

- Show personalizations exactly as you want them to appear on your license plate(s). You may list more than one option in the event the personalization you have chosen is already issued.
- A selection that has been issued, is deemed offensive, or conflicts with the regular license plate numbering system cannot be approved.
- Enter your desired personalized letters, numbers, and/or symbols in the blocks below. The available symbols include: a period, a dash, a blank space, a Texas silhouette (use an asterisk "*" to indicate), a heart (use an at "@" to indicate), and a star (use an ampersand "&" to indicate).
- Passenger car, truck, and trailer plates are limited to six (6) characters total, including punctuation characters.
- Motorcycle and moped plates are limited to four (4) characters total, including punctuation characters.
- You are not required to use all the blocks provided.
- The International Symbol of Access "L" counts as two (2) characters and will be located at the beginning of the plate number. If you are disabled and applying for personalized specialty plates, the plate may consist of only three (3) characters (or two [2] if it is a motorcycle/moped). Use a percent sign "%" to indicate.

Personalization fee will not be refunded once the application is submitted.

1 st Choice	2 nd Choice	3 rd Choice

International Symbol of Access

To display the International Symbol of Access on your license plate, attach a signed *Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate* (Form VTR-214) to this application to show your eligibility. The International Symbol of Access is only available on motor vehicles that have a gross vehicle weight of 18,000 lbs. or less. Contact your county tax assessor-collector's office for more information.