

Application for Peace Officer Purple Heart

For Cour	nty Use Only
License No _	
	-

Instructions

Submit the completed application and payment in the form of a personal check, money order, or cashier's check, and proof of eligibility to your local county tax assessor-collector's office. **Do not mail cash**. The specialty plate fee is \$3 and there are no registration fees for one set. To order additional sets of plates, the annual registration fee must be paid to your local county tax assessor-collector. There is no specialty plate fee for additional sets.

License plates may be personalized for an additional \$40 fee per year; make your choice on page 2. The personalization fee will not be refunded once the application is submitted.

If you order by mail, contact your county assessor-collector's office in three weeks to verify your plate is ready. Contact your county tax assessor-collector if you have questions.

General Requirements

- Texas title and vehicle registration must be in your name.
- If the plate is to be registered to a vehicle that is not titled in your name, attach a statement to this application stating that you have legal right of possession and control of this vehicle at all times.
- If you recently filed an application for title, attach a copy of the title application receipt (VTR-500-RTS).
- Joint vehicle ownership between you and a spouse is permissible.
- Submit a separate application for additional vehicles to your local county tax assessor-collector's office with the annual registration fee.
- If the vehicle is leased, attach a copy of the lease agreement.
- Vehicle is for personal use only.

Plate Eligibility

You must provide proof in the form of a letter on agency letterhead signed by command staff of the agency that issued the award. The letter must specify you are a recipient of the Peace Officer Purple Heart Award or proof that you are the surviving spouse of a posthumous Peace Officer Purple Heart Award recipient.

that you are the surviving spouse of a postnumous reace officer purple heart Award recipient.							
Applicant Information							
First Name	Middle Name	Last Name		Suffix	County		
Address		City		State	ZIP		
		<u> </u>					
Email				Phone			
Vehicle Information							
Vehicle Identification Number	Current TX Plate	Year	Mak	e	Body Style		
Vehicle Type: Passenger	☐ Truck	☐ Motorcycle/Moped ☐ Trailer					
Certification – State law makes falsifying inf	ormation a third degree	felony.					
, the applicant listed above, meet the eligibility requirements as listed and am providing proof to that							
effect.							
Circui.							
Signature		Date					

Application for Peace Officer Purple Heart

Personalize Your Plate – If you would like to personalize your specialty plate, there will be a \$40 fee per year, in addition to the annual registration fee (if required).

- Show personalizations exactly as you want them to appear on your license plate(s). You may list more than one option in the event the personalization you have chosen has been issued.
- A personalization that has been issued, is deemed offensive, or conflicts with the regular license plate numbering system cannot be approved.
- Enter your desired personalized letters, numbers, and/or symbols in the blocks below. The available symbols include: a period, a dash, a blank space, a Texas silhouette (use an asterisk "*" to indicate), a heart (use an at "@" to indicate), and a star (use an ampersand "&" to indicate).
- Passenger car and truck plates are limited to six (6) characters total, including punctuation characters.
- Motorcycle/moped plates are limited to four (4) characters total, including punctuation characters.
- You are not required to use all the blocks provided.
- The International Symbol of Access " & "counts as two (2) characters and will be located at the beginning of the plate number. If you are disabled and applying for personalized specialty plates, use a percent "%" to indicate the International Symbol of Access.

Personalization fee will not be refunded once the application is submitted.

Vehicle 1 Vehicle 2	1 st Choice
Vehicle 2	Vehicle 1
	Vehicle 2

International Symbol of Access 💺

To display the International Symbol of Access on your license plate, attach a signed *Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate* (Form VTR-214) to this application to show your eligibility. Contact your county tax assessor-collector's office if you have questions.