Waiver Support Scripts for Counties

1. What is the waiver?

ANSWER: On March 16, 2020, Governor Abbott issued a waiver of certain vehicle registration, titling and parking placard regulations in Texas to aid the state's efforts to combat the spread of COVID-19. These suspensions allowed Texans to avoid penalties for failure to timely title or register a vehicle or renew a parking placard. The waiver has been lifted and you had until 04/14/2021 to complete transactions. A driver operating a motor vehicle on a Texas public roadway with expired registration after April 14, 2021, is subject to citation by law enforcement and a late registration penalty.

2. I thought the fees were waived.

ANSWER: The waiver allowed motorists more time to conduct their transactions and did not impact the fee.

Do we get an additional 60 days past April 14th?

ANSWER: No. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles announced in December of 2020 that the temporary waivers issued by Governor Greg Abbott, regarding certain vehicle title and registration requirements, would end on April 14, 2021 providing Texas motorists with ample notice. This notice included more than 60 days to complete transactions. A driver operating a motor vehicle on a Texas public roadway with expired registration after April 14, 2021, is subject to citation by law enforcement and a late registration penalty.