

## **Licensed Vehicle Storage Facility Lien Procedures**

Special Note: Effective September 1, 2021

Vehicle Storage Facility (VSF) obtains possession in conjunction with a non-consent private property or law enforcement tow.

VSF takes possession of a vehicle from a Self-Service Storage Facility (SSF). \*Additional conditions required, see #7-9 below.

First Notice: VSF notifies owner and <u>any applicable</u> lienholder(s) by certified mail, return receipt, or electronic certified mail (or newspaper publication, if applicable). First Notice must be made within 5 days of obtaining possession (if registered in Texas) or within 14 days (if registered out of state).

Law enforcement sends notice within 10 days, if applicable.

10 days pass

VSF notifies law enforcement the vehicle has been abandoned not earlier than the 11<sup>th</sup> day after First Notice if notification is required by law enforcement.

14 days pass

Second Notice: VSF notifies the owner(s) and <u>any applicable</u> lienholder(s) not earlier than the 15<sup>th</sup> day and before the 21<sup>st</sup> day after First Notice.

## Application includes:

- 1) Form 130-U
- 2) Form VTR-265-VSF
- 3) Title and/or Registration Verification
- 4) Proof of Notifications (Mailing or Publication)
  Note: Proof of Delivery Is Not Required
  Note: NMVTIS Report Required if Publication Is Made
- 5) Liability Insurance
- 6) Out of State Vehicles (if applicable):
  - a. Texas Vehicle Inspection Report
- b. Weight Certificate (Commercial Vehicle) If transferred from an SSF:
- Copy of signed rental agreement between the SSF and tenant authorizing the transfer of vehicle to a licensed VSF
- Proof of Notice of Claim sent to tenant by SSF (verified mail or email).
- 9) Completed *Self-Service Storage Facility Lien Foreclosure* (Form VTR-265-SSF)

30 days pass

Vehicle can be sold at public sale to the highest bidder if the charges remain unpaid.

Purchaser files title application with county tax assessor-collector.

Vehicle may be sold at public sale on or after the 31<sup>st</sup> day after the Second Notice or Law Enforcement Notice (if required), whichever is later.

Detailed explanation of procedures and requirements can be found in the TxDMV Motor Vehicle Title Manual or on page 2 of Form VTR-265-VSF.