

# Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Smart Series

## **Smart Bus Operators**

Tips for Compliant Operations as a Texas Intrastate Motor Carrier that Transports Passengers

Do you operate any of the following vehicles?

- Shuttle Bus
- Large Limousine
- Motor Coach Bus

- Party Bus
- School Bus

Does your vehicle transport more than 15 passengers (including the driver?)

Are you for hire?

Please read the information below if you answered YES to these questions.

#### Overview

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) is committed to serving, protecting, and advancing the citizens and industries we serve. This includes informing the Texas-based motor carrier industry on how to stay compliant with intrastate motor carrier regulations.

Intrastate motor carriers that control, operate, or direct the operation of one or more vehicles that transport 15 passengers, including the driver, must have proper operating authority granted by the department (TxDMV Certificate Number), adequate commercial liability insurance on file with the state, and complete records that verify the motor carrier's operations. The information outlined below will provide guidance on staying compliant while operating in Texas.

### Registration Requirements

#### When is Registration Required?

- Operation of a vehicle or combination (truck and trailer) with a gross weight, registered weight or gross weight rating exceeding 26,000 pounds;
- Operation of a vehicle designed to transport more than 15 passengers (including the driver);
- Operation of a commercial school bus:



### How to Register

- Obtain a valid <u>USDOT number</u> from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) at: <a href="https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration">https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration</a> or 1(800)832-5660.
- Apply for a TxDMV Certificate number online at: <a href="www.txdmv.gov/elinc">www.txdmv.gov/elinc</a>. This process requires submission of documents online. Call 1(800)299-1700 (option 3 and 4) if you require assistance.
- The information provided to both FMCSA and TxDMV must match in order to complete the application process.

### Insurance Requirements

Texas law requires all intrastate motor carriers to file and maintain evidence of insurance with the department in order to maintain active operating authority. Evidence of insurance is provided online by your insurance provider, however, it is your responsibility to ensure that the insurance filing remains in effect in order to maintain an active TxDMV number.

### **Automobile Insurance Requirements**

Description		Minimum Insurance
Commercial School Bus Operators	For-hire school buses operating within the boundaries of a municipality and transporting preprimary, primary or secondary school students on a route between the students' residence and a public, private or parochial school or day-care facility	\$500,000
Bus Operators	Vehicles designed or used to transport > 15 passengers (including driver) but < 26 passengers (not including driver)	\$500,000
	Vehicles designed or used to transport 26+ passengers (not including driver)	\$5,000,000

### **Record Requirements**

All intrastate motor carriers are required to prepare and maintain complete and accurate records that verify their operations for a period of not less than two years at their principal place of business. Driver's time cards and logs may be retained for a period of no less than six months.

#### **Record Contents:**

- Operational logs, insurance certificates, documents to verify the carrier's operations, and proof of registration fee payments;
- Records of services performed;
- All certificate of title documents, weight tickets, permits for oversize or overweight vehicles and loads, dispatch records, or any other document that would verify the operations of the vehicle to determine the actual weight, insurance coverage, size, and/or capacity of the vehicle; and
- The original certificate of registration and registration listing, if applicable.

Supporting documents are critical to verify the services being provided in order for the department to determine compliance.



For motor carrier registration purposes only, if the is vehicle used to transport passengers and is operated by an entity whose primary function is not to transport passengers (i.e. – hotel shuttles, daycare center, nursing home shuttles), you are not required to register with the TxDMV.

Please contact us at the address listed below for any additional information or questions.

### Contact Us

### **TxDMV Enforcement Division**

P.O. Box 26515
Austin, Texas 78755-0515
512-465-4205
888-368-4689
www.TxDMV.gov
Enforcement@TxDM.gov

Please see other topics in the Smart Series to help you make the best decision possible. The department is always interested in new ideas or tips that will make this tool more useful for consumers. If you have a suggestion on how to make this topic more helpful for consumers, or if you have an idea for a topic, please send your suggestion to: Enforcement@TxDMV.gov.