

Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority/ Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Intermediate Motor Vehicle Burglary and Theft Investigator Training



Licensed peace officers only

Montgomery County Sheriff's Office Training Academy
112 Academy Drive
Conroe, TX 77301
August 12-15, 2019

RegABTPA@txdmv.gov 512-465-1485

Full Name:	
PID (assigned by TCOLE):	
Rank/ Position:	
Primary Contact Phone #:	
E-mail:	
Agency:	
Agency Phone #:	
Address:	
City, State, Zip:	
Supervisor name/contact #:	

There is no charge for this class. Attendees are responsible for their own travel costs. Only individuals currently serving as auto theft investigators and licensed as a Peace Officer in Texas may attend the training. Officers who successfully complete the training will be eligible for **32 TCOLE credit hours**. Completion of this class may also qualify investigators for access to National Insurance Crime Bureau (**NICB**) managed databases and information. Along with other requirement needed to be met, the class may also provide eligibility for licensed peace officers to complete 68-A and other VIN inspections under Transportation Code, §501.0321 and Texas Administrative Code Title 43, Part 10, Rule §217.144.

Space is limited. There is a maximum of 40 attendees per session. Once we have reached the maximum limit we will maintain a waiting list and inform you via email if a spot opens.

Required Qualification. Within 10 business days of registering, a letter of recommendation to attend the training must be submitted to ABTPA. The letter must state that the attendee is an auto theft investigator working for an auto theft unit (or will be if one is in the process of being created). Any one of the following must submit the letter:

- ➤ ABTPA funded Taskforce Commander
- > Police or Sheriff specialized motor vehicle burglary or theft unit supervisor
- > Chief of Police or Sheriff indicating that a specialized Motor Vehicle Burglary or Theft unit within the department is being created
- DPS unit supervisor for DPS investigators

If ABTPA does not receive the letter of recommendation within 10 business days, the registration will be cancelled.

Please e-mail this completed registration form and letters of recommendation to: RegABTPA@txdmv.gov

ABTPA will contact registrants at the email address provided with confirmation of registration once we have received the letter of recommendation. Registration is not complete until ABTPA provides email confirmation. Other types of Texas Peace Officers and Peace Officers licensed by other states may be considered on a case by case basis if space is available.

First Day	
0800-0830	Registration and Opening Remarks
0830-1000	Legal Aspects of Motor Vehicle Burglary and Theft Investigations
1000-1100	17 Character VIN Id
1100-1200	Lunch
1200-1300	Utilizing the ISO Database (NICB)
1300-1700	Identification of Passenger Vehicles and Light Duty Trucks
	Second Day
0800-1000	Light Trailer Identification
1000- 1130	68 A Inspections and VIN Verifications
1130-1230	Lunch
1230-1400	Methods to Convert Stolen Vehicles into Economic Value
1400-1700	Methods to Sell Stolen Vehicles Using Fraudulent Documents
Third Day	
0800-1100	Motorcycle and All-Terrain Vehicle Identification
1130-1230	Lunch
1230-1430	Digital and Internet Resources for Law Enforcement
1430-1700	Automotive Technology and Cybersecurity
Final Day	
0800-1200	Practical Exercises
1200-1300	Lunch
1300-1700	Restoring Obliterated Identification Numbers by Chemical Means