skip to main content

I'm a Texas resident and currently out of state with my vehicle. How do I renew my registration if I am not in Texas?

Answer: You can renew your registration by “self-certifying” as the vehicle owner, that you are entitled to renew your Texas registration, but you and your vehicle are currently out-of-state and you are unable to complete the required Texas vehicle inspection. This is common with active duty military who are on assignment outside of Texas.

You can renew your registration and waive the Texas vehicle inspection requirement either online or by mail.

  1. Online: by self-certifying you are out-of-state (pre-requisites apply)
  2. By mail: submit the following to your local county tax office in Texas if you are not eligible to renew online:
    • Renewal notice, vehicle identification number or plate number
    • Copy of owner's current driver license or government-issued photo identification
    • Copy of proof of current vehicle insurance
    • Written statement indicating the vehicle is out-of-state
    • Fees: Contact your local county tax office for exact amount and payment methods

To ensure you do not receive a ticket or have to pay penalty fees, you will need to have your vehicle inspected within 3 days after returning to Texas. Also, we recommend you keep the inspection report in your vehicle to prove you have completed it if you are stopped by law enforcement.

I'm new to Texas. How do I title/register my vehicle and get my driver's license?

Answer: Welcome to our great state! There are 4 steps to title and register your vehicle in Texas as a new Texas resident. The steps must be followed in the order listed:

  • Step 1: Obtain Texas vehicle insurance
    • Some out of state insurance policies may be acceptable. We recommend you contact your insurance agent for assistance
  • Step 2: Obtain a Texas vehicle inspection at any state inspection station within your new county of residence
    • Proof of vehicle insurance will be required at the time of inspection
    <li">Step 3: Apply for a Texas title and/or registration in person at your local county tax office. Take the following with you:
  • Step 4: Apply for a Texas driver license through the Texas Department of Public Safety
    • Information for new residents is available on their website

Be sure to register your vehicle within 30-days of moving to Texas; otherwise, penalty fees may apply.

How do I check the status of my registration renewal?

Answer: You can check the status of your registration renewal through our online renewal tracking tool Dude Where's My Sticker if you completed your renewal online. The tracker will tell you WHEN IT WAS MAILED to you, not when you should receive it. If the registration renewal was submitted:

  • By mail: Please allow up to two weeks for delivery by the US Postal Service. If has been more than 2 weeks since the mailing date on the online tracking tool and you have not received your registration, you can contact your local county tax office.
  • Online: You will receive a confirmation email after you complete the online renewal process that will serve as your proof of registration until the sticker arrives. Be sure to keep the confirmation in your vehicle in case you are stopped by law enforcement. You may contact your local county tax office if you do not receive your renewal and it has been 2 weeks since the mailing date or if you need more information.

What is the difference between the owner on record and the renewal recipient?

Answer: The owner on record is a person that is responsible for the vehicle, owns and receives all correspondence.

A renewal recipient is someone who may be able to renew the vehicle registration only and if different from the owner on record will receive only the renewal notice.

A common example when the owner on record is different from the renewal recipient is when the owner on record is the parent and the renewal recipient is their child who is in college and lives at another address.

How do I update my address?

Answer: To change the address on your vehicle record, a completed Address Change Form will need to be submitted in person to your local county tax office or mailed in to the address listed on the form. Please note, the Title Document field on the form is not required.

The online option does not change the address for the owner on record, only the renewal recipient. This means if the owner of the vehicle in our vehicle registration system does not have the same address as the renewal recipient, the registration renewal notice and the registration sticker will be sent to the renewal recipient address and all other correspondence will be mailed to the owner's address on record.

A common example of this situation is the vehicle owner is the parent and the renewal recipient is their child who is in college and lives at another address. Any toll violations or notifications to the owner will be sent to the address on file for the owner, not the renewal recipient.

If you want to change the renewal recipient address, click here.

How do I get a copy of my Texas title?

Answer: If your Texas title is lost or never received, a replacement title can be obtained in person or by mail through a Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center. A replacement is referred to as a Certified Copy of Title. Keep in mind, Texas cannot issue a replacement title for another state.

To obtain a replacement title, submit the following in person or by mail to a Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center:

Regional Service Center locations are listed on page 2 of the application. Requests submitted by mail must be sent to the Wichita Falls Regional Service Center address.

I purchased a vehicle more than 30 days ago from a dealer. Where are my plates and title?

Answer: A Texas dealer is responsible for processing title and registration on behalf of their customer within 30 days of the date of purchase or 45 days if seller financed (they provide the financing).

If it has been 30 days and you have not received your title and/or registration, you can file a dealer complaint against the dealer.

Our Enforcement Division investigates complaints against licensed dealers. You may submit a dealer complaint online. Once you have submitted the complaint you will receive a reply email with a case number. You will need the case number to track your complaint status. Complaints are assigned to an investigator in the order received. Please allow up to 3 weeks for the complaint to be assigned to an investigator. The investigator will reach out to you for more information, if needed.

If the buyer's temporary tag expires before the complaint is settled, we recommend you purchase a 30 day temporary permit to put on your vehicle at your local county tax office or Regional Service Center.

How do I renew my vehicle registration?

Answer: Texans have several options available to renew their registration.

  • Step 1: Obtain a Texas vehicle inspection at any state inspection station within the owner's/renewal recipient's county of residence, no earlier than 90 days prior to the registration expiration
    • Proof of vehicle insurance will be required at time of inspection
    • Visit our website to find out when to inspect
  • Step 2: Renew the vehicle registration one of three ways:
  • NOTE: You will need to go in person to your county tax office if:
    • You received a citation for expired registration (a 20% registration penalty fee applies)
    • Your registration is expired (online renewal is allowed up to 6 months after expiration)
    • There is a hold on your registration due to certain unpaid fines, fees, or taxes

    • ONLINE OPTION:
    • We recommend waiting at least 24 hours after obtaining a passing inspection to renew online
      • Click here to renew online
      • A payment confirmation receipt email will be sent immediately to you if the online renewal is successful
      • Approximately 3 business days later, a second email will be sent to you advising you if the renewal was approved
      • If approved, the email will include a receipt that may be used as temporary proof of registration, while the sticker is in the mail process which may take up to 2 weeks to receive. Keep this in your vehicle in case you are stopped by law enforcement.

    • COUNTY TAX OFFICE OPTION:
    • Submit the following in person or by mail to the owner's/renewal recipient's local county tax office:

    • GROCERY STORE OR OTHER APPROVED LOCATIONS OPTION (varies by county):
    • The same items are required as if you were renewing in person at the county tax office; however, you must have the Renewal Notice or the Inspection and Registration Notice to renew at one of these locations.

What is needed for someone to renew the registration on behalf of the owner?

Answer: The owner(s) on record will need to provide the person renewing on their behalf the following items to take to the local county tax office:

  • Written authorization (this can be a simple note)
    • Some county tax offices have a required authorization form that must be completed by you. We recommend calling your local county tax office to see if one is required.
  • Their current government issued photo identification.
  • Proof of your current insurance (copy)
  • Proof of current Texas vehicle inspection (copy)
  • Fees: Contact your local county tax office for exact fee amount and payment methods

I never received the renewal notice. Do I need the renewal notice to renew my registration?

Answer: You do not need the renewal notice to renew the vehicle registration when renewing online, in person or by mail through the local county tax office. They are only required if you want to renew at a grocery store.

How do I get a temporary permit?

Answer: Temporary permits can be obtained in person through your local county tax office or Regional Service Center.

What kind of temporary permit do I need?

Answer: The most common reasons for a temporary permit are when a customer purchased a vehicle with expired registration, there are no plates on the vehicle, or the customer is waiting to receive their license plates. A Temporary Permit allows temporary operation of a vehicle without registration and must be purchased in person. It cannot be used in place of regular registration.

To obtain a temporary permit, submit the following in person to your local county tax office or Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center:

72-hr and 144-hr permits are only available for commercial vehicles being used in Texas. These types of permits may be obtained online.

Although a Texas vehicle inspection is not a requirement to purchase a permit, it is required to operate the vehicle on public roads. The only exception is for vehicles with a one-trip permit. A Texas inspection can be obtained at any state inspection station within your county of residence.

I moved out of Texas. What do I do with my license plates?

Answer: We are sorry to hear that you left Texas, but hope that you are settling into your new home. Your Texas license plates are yours to keep. Consider them a souvenir from our great state and something to remember us by. Should you choose to recycle your old Texas plates, cut them into pieces and place them in the recycle bin. This will prevent fraudulent use of the plates.

I lost or misplaced my registration receipt. How do I get another?

Answer: If your registration receipt was lost or misplaced, you can get a duplicate receipt either in person or by mail. You will need to submit the following to request a duplicate receipt:

  • Completed Request for Information Form
  • Copy of applicant's current driver license or government-issued photo identification
  • $2.00 Fee:
    • If you are submitting to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles you can pay by check or money order payable to TxDMV (cash accepted in person, not in the mail)
    • If you are submitting to the county tax office, you will need to contact your local county tax office for their acceptable payment methods
  • By mail: Mail to the address on the form. NOTE: this is a valid address even though there is no street name, and you may overnight your request to that address to expedite mail time
  • In person: Visit your local county tax office or a Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center
  • Commercial vehicles are required to have the receipt in the vehicles at all times. However, for all other vehicles, it is recommended the registration receipt be retained in the vehicle, as it serves as proof of registration.

    Why am I being charged twice for the inspection?

    Answer: Texas inspection fees are collected in two steps, but rest assured, you are not being charged twice for an inspection. The inspection station receives their portion of the fee at the time of inspection. The state collects its portion of the fee at the time of registration.

    Inspections are verified electronically, so your inspection station cannot charge you more than their portion of the fee. The remaining state's portion of the fee is collected by your county tax office at the time of your renewal.

    My vehicle was salvaged. What do I need to do to get it on the road again?

    Answer: When a vehicle is considered salvage, there are several steps to get it rebuilt and back on the road. The steps must be followed in the order listed:

    Step 1:Apply for a Salvage Vehicle Title by mailing the following to the address on the form:

    You should receive the Salvage Vehicle Title within 3 weeks.

    Step 2:Make any necessary repairs and have the vehicle inspected at any state inspection station within your county of residence. A new inspection is required, regardless if the repairs were made.

    Step 3:Apply for title and/or registration by submitting the following in person to the applicant's local county tax office:

    I renewed my registration and never received the sticker. How do I get another one?

    Answer: If the registration sticker was lost or never received, submit the following in person or by mail to your local county tax office:

    • Completed Replacement Plates/Sticker Application if submitting by mail or the vehicle information (vehicle identification number or license plate number) if submitting in person
    • Copy of owner's current driver license or government-issued photo identification
    • $6.50 replacement fee (check or money order) payable to the county tax office. Cash is accepted in person. We recommend you contact your local county tax office for all payment methods. Under certain circumstances the county may waive the replacement fee.

    How do I obtain disabled placards/plates?

    Answer: You can apply for plates and/or parking placards for persons with disabilities in person or by mail at your local county tax office in your county of residence. You will need to provide the following:

    How do I let the DMV know I no longer own a vehicle?

    Answer: To protect yourself from liability, you should complete a vehicle transfer notification within 30 days from the date of sale. You may still submit a vehicle transfer notification after the 30 days from the date of sale, but it does not guarantee release from liability. Keep in mind the information on the motor vehicle record will remain the same until the new owner transfers the title into their name.

    You can submit the vehicle transfer notification using one of these options:

    I'm in the military and Texas is my home of record. How do I title/register my vehicle?

    Answer: Thank you for contacting us and for your service and sacrifice for our country.

    The good news is as a Texas resident serving in the U.S. armed forces, regardless of where you are stationed, you can title and/or register your vehicle in Texas by mail to your local Texas county tax office. Be sure to complete your title/registration transfer within 60-days, if you purchased a vehicle and it is not already titled in your name in any state or country; otherwise, penalty fees may apply.

    To apply for title and/or registration while the vehicle is out-of-state, submit the following by mail to the your (applicant's) local county tax office in Texas:

    To ensure you do not receive a ticket or have to pay penalty fees, you will need to have your vehicle inspected within 3 days after returning to Texas. Also, we recommend you keep the inspection report in your vehicle to prove you have completed it if you are stopped by law enforcement.

    Additional notes:

    • If the vehicle is in Texas
      • Application should be submitted in person to the applicant's local county tax office
      • Copy of current proof of inspection from any state inspection station within the applicant's Texas county of residence is required
    • If you (applicant) are allowing someone to sign on your behalf, they need a
      • Power of Attorney Form
      • Copy of your driver license or government-issued photo identification along with their identification when they go to the county tax office
      • If the vehicle was imported from another country, foreign title or registration evidence is required. If the evidence is in another language, it must be translated to English and notarized.
      • Import documentation, such as Form HS-7 is required from U.S. Customs

    I just purchased a Trailer. How do I title/register my Trailer?

    Answer: There are specific requirements for titling and registering trailers in Texas and it can seem a bit complicated. Registration is always required for a trailer, but the need for a title is based on the trailer weight. If the trailer is over 4,000 pounds gross weight (empty plus carrying capacity) it must be titled, but if it is 4,000 pounds gross weight (empty plus carrying capacity) or less, titling is optional. If the trailer was previously titled, it must continue to be titled.

    There are exceptions for Farm Trailers:

    • Title is required if it is over 34,000 pounds gross weight or was previously titled
    • Title is optional if it is 34,000 pounds gross weight or less
    • Registration is optional if the farm trailer is 4,000 pounds gross weight or less
    • Farm trailers are exempt from inspection

    You will need to take the following to the applicant's local county tax office in order to title/register the trailer:

    • Evidence of ownership – Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, title, bill of sale, or out-of-state registration receipt
    • Completed Title and/or Registration Application
      • Check the Non-titled box if the trailer will not be titled
    • Completed Trailer Verification Statement of Fact
      • Only required if the trailer is being titled and is:
        • A new travel trailer or park model trailer
        • Any travel trailer or park model trailer last titled/registered out-of-state
        • Any homemade trailer being titled for the first time/li>
    • Weight Certificate, if applicable
      • Required for all out-of-state trailers, unless the empty weight is shown on the out-of-state title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin
    • Applicant's current driver license or government-issued photo identification
    • Proof of current inspection, if applicable
      • Inspection is required for trailers over 7,500 pounds gross weight (farm trailers exempt)
      • Inspect your trailer at any state inspection station within your county of residence. Look for stations with a TL or TLMC endorsement remark. We recommend contacting the inspection station to confirm they still conduct trailer inspections
      • Click here to view inspection criteria for trailers. Proof of insurance for the vehicle pulling the trailer will be required at time of inspection
    • Fees: Contact your local county tax office for the exact fee amount and payment methods

    Titled trailers require a vehicle identification number. If the trailer does not have a vehicle identification number (common for homemade trailers):

    What are my options if I bought a vehicle without a title?

    Answer: If you are unable to obtain the proper documents to complete a vehicle title transfer, there are still three options available to apply for a Texas title. They are:

    Bonded title process: You will need to submit a completed Bonded Title Statement of Fact Form, copy of applicant's current driver license or government-issued photo identification and a $15 fee, in person (check, cash or money order) or by mail (check or money order) to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center to determine eligibility.

    Court order: You can petition a county or district court to award ownership. We recommend you seek legal advice from a private attorney, if needed

    Tax Collector Hearing: This is a limited service. Contact your local county tax office to see if they offer this option and for the requirements.

    I bought a vehicle from an individual (private party). What do I do now?

    Answer: Congratulations on your purchase! Be sure to complete your title transfer within 30-days from the date of sale; otherwise, penalty fees may apply.

    To apply for title and registration, submit the following in person to your local county tax office:

    What do I need to transfer ownership from a deceased owner?

    Answer: The evidence required for transferring ownership depends on whether the deceased owner's estate is probated. When the estate goes through probate, the court will name an Executor/Executrix or Administrator and provide Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration as proof of ownership. If the estate is not probated, an Heirship Affidavit is required.

    In either scenario, to apply for title and/or registration, here are the documents the applicant will need to submit in person to their local county tax office:

    • Title, if available
    • Evidence the loan is paid in full (original release of lien), if applicable
    • Completed Title and/or Registration Application
    • Appropriate authority to transfer ownership
      • Estate is probated: Provide the original or certified copy of Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration
      • Estate is not probated: Provide completed Heirship Affidavit (all signatures must be notarized)
    • Completed Gift Affidavit
      • Required when the vehicle is inherited between eligible parties
      • Requires notarization, unless signed in front of a county tax office employee
      • The recipient or donor must submit the application in person
      • Refer to page 2 for additional instructions
    • Applicant's current driver license or government-issued photo identification
    • Proof of current vehicle insurance (required if applying for registration)
    • Proof of current vehicle inspection (required if the registration is expired and you would like to register the vehicle)
    • Fees: Contact your local county tax office for exact fee amount and payment methods

    COVID-19 / Coronavirus Emergency Information

    The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) continues to monitor the impacts of the COVID-19/Coronavirus closely and is working with state officials, county tax assessor-collectors, and others to maintain or restore services in affected areas.

    When in-person services are unavailable, services and support continue to be provided by mail, email, and phone.

    For the most current information regarding TxDMV status, tax assessor office closures, title and registration services, and answers to frequently-asked-questions (FAQs), select the tabs below

    Updates


    Update: May 24, 2020

    The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) will reopen some of its regional service centers beginning Tuesday, May 26, 2020, with new office health and safety procedures in place. Customers will be served by appointment only. Click here to set an appointment.

    THE TEMPORARY WAIVER OF VEHICLE TITLE AND REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

    Office Locations and Opening Dates

    • Abilene – May 26
    • Amarillo – May 26
    • Austin – May 26
    • Beaumont – May 26
    • Corpus Christi – May 26
    • Dallas – May 26
    • El Paso – May 26
    • Fort Worth – May 26
    • Houston – May 26
    • Longview – May 26
    • Lubbock – May 26
    • Midland-Odessa – May 26
    • Pharr – May 29
    • San Antonio – May 26
    • Waco – May 26
    • Wichita Falls – May 26

    This announcement does not apply to driver license or ID services provided by the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS), or services provided by local county tax offices. For information on or assistance with these services, please contact TxDPS or your local county tax office.

    Please read the following information carefully as specific procedures must be followed for you to obtain the services that you need:

    Office Procedures

    • All available in-person services are by appointment only. Title services and motor vehicle dealers are not eligible to make appointments.
    • Only one person is allowed in the office per appointment, unless a caregiver is needed.
    • Cash, checks, and money orders are acceptable as payment. Credit and debit cards are not accepted.
    • Social distancing and hygiene practices will be observed.
    • Please complete all necessary forms before arriving for your appointment.
    • Appointments are scheduled in 15-minute increments, with the first appointment at 8 a.m. and the last appointment at 4:30 p.m. Missed appointments must be rescheduled.

    Available In-Person Services

    • Replacement title.
    • Bonded Title Notice of Determination.
    • Title history.
    • Temporary permits.
    • Assigned/reassigned numbers.
    • Registration Refund Authorizations.
    • Investigating and resolving Texas title errors.

    Not Available for In-Person Services

    • IRP/Apportion transactions.
    • Transactions from dealers and title services/runners.
    • Note: These transactions may be processed by mail, fax, or as drop-offs only.

    Scheduling Appointments

    For more information on Regional Service Centers, please see https://www.txdmv.gov/regional-service-centers.

    To obtain forms to download, print, and complete before your appointment, please see https://www.txdmv.gov/forms.

      Update: April 29, 2020

      • The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is not included in the list of Phase 1 businesses to reopen on Friday, May 7, 2020. Our regional offices remain closed to the public at this time. We continue to provide services by phone, postal mail, and email until further notice.
      • Operations at county tax offices, through which most motorists conduct registration and title transactions, will vary from county to county.
      • Please continue to refer to www.TxDMV.gov/covid-19 for information on accessing our services, answers to our most common questions, and information on county tax office status.
      • To be informed of the latest developments related to COVID-19 and TxDMV services, please subscribe to our mailing list: https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • Please Note: The Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) is the agency that issues driver licenses, not the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Please see https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/covid-19.htm for the latest from TxDPS about their operations during the pandemic.

      Important Information Regarding Vehicle Registration, Vehicle Titling, and Disabled Parking Placard Requirements

      In an effort to reduce the need for in-person transactions, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) worked with Governor Greg Abbott and our stakeholders to temporarily waive certain requirements for vehicle registration, vehicle titling and disabled parking placards.

      On March 13, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott issued a proclamation, declaring a state of disaster for all counties in Texas due to the threat of COVID-19. Governor Abbott also issued a statement on March 16, 2020, granting a temporary extension to obtain initial registration, renewal of registration, vehicle titling, and renewal of a permanent disabled parking placard. Governor Abbott also granted a temporary extension for an individual with an expired 30-day temporary permit to obtain another permit or Texas registration.

      The temporary waiver applies to vehicle owners in all Texas counties as set forth in the above-referenced proclamation and statement. This temporary waiver is in effect until 60 days after TxDMV notifies the public that normal vehicle registration, vehicle titling and related services have resumed. The 60-day period will be the same for all counties.

      The purpose of the waiver is to prevent customers from having to physically visit a county tax assessor-collector office to obtain initial registration, to obtain a 30-day temporary permit, to transfer title; or to renew registration or a permanent disabled parking placard. Customers may continue to renew their registration online at www.TxDMV.gov. At this time, TxDMV continues to fill online registration sticker requests and process all other online services.

      TxDMV has informed law enforcement agencies and the offices of the county tax assessor-collectors of the temporary waiver. As soon as new information is available, we will provide further updates via social media and at https://www.txdmv.gov/covid-19.


      Movement of Oversize/Overweight Loads in Texas Disaster Areas

      TxDMV is not imposing COVID-19 related restrictions on travel for vehicles/loads moving with an Oversize/Overweight Permit. However, all permittees need to check local shelter-in-place/stay-at-home orders prior to movement to ensure the travel meets the definition of “essential” for those areas.

      Commercial Vehicle registration requirements to travel in and through the state of Texas are temporarily suspended by order of Texas Governor Greg Abbott. This is to make it faster and easier for operators of commercial vehicles to provide COVID-19 disaster relief assistance.

      These suspensions apply to the transportation of supplies, medical equipment, and similar materials that are necessary for preparing for, responding to, and mitigating the spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19)

      A commercial motor vehicle qualifies for the temporary suspension of International Registration Plan (IRP) requirements if the vehicle is registered in one of the 48 contiguous states and is not currently registered under IRP. The suspension covers the vehicle registration requirements for operators of commercial motor vehicles that are providing assistance to any state pursuant to the disaster declarations for those states.

      Additionally, the requirements to obtain a 72-/144-hour temporary registration permit also are suspended for those commercial motor vehicles that are not eligible for IRP registration.

      These suspensions do not apply to safety and insurance requirements.

      No action on your part is required to qualify for the temporary waivers. Instead print and keep the following documentation in the cab of the vehicle, the Governor’s Proclamation and the TxDMV’s Suspension of Size and Weight Requirements. Both are found here: https://www.txdmv.gov/motor-carriers

      These suspensions remain in effect until terminated by Governor Abbott or until the March 13, 2020 disaster declaration is lifted or expires.


      Disaster Proclamations

      import

      COVID-19/Coronavirus Relief Information

      Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a declaration of disaster temporarily suspending size and weight restrictions and oversize/overweight permitting requirements for vehicles and loads associated with activities needed to respond to COVID-19/Coronavirus. Please utilize both waivers when using this suspension.

      Governor Abbott's Disaster Proclamation

      Suspension of Size and Weight Requirements

      import

      Federal Disaster Relief Permit for the Transport of Relief Supplies

      A Federal Disaster Relief Permit is available in the Texas Permitting and Routing Optimization System (TxPROS) for the transport of divisible commodities consisting of emergency relief supplies related to the COVID-19 emergency. This $0 cost Permit is only available during national emergencies or major disasters declared by the President of the United States. A copy of the President’s declaration must be carried with the permit.

      Presidential Emergency Declaration for COVID-19

    Tax Assessor Office Closures

    As of June 1, the following Tax Assessor-Collector main offices are closed or operating under revised schedules.

    County Tax Assessor-Collectors
    Some county tax offices are now open, while others remain closed to the public but continue to process certain transactions. Although county tax offices provide services on behalf of TxDMV, operational decisions are made independently at the county level. We are maintaining a list of county tax office closures below but you may wish to contact your county tax office directly for the current status of their offices and services.

    Anderson County [Open, Business as Usual] Andrews County [Open, Business as Usual] Angelina County [Open, Closed to Public] Aransas County [Open, Business as Usual] Archer County [Open, Closed to Public] Armstrong County [Open, Closed to Public] Atascosa County [Open, Closed to Public] Austin County [Open, Business as Usual] Bailey County [Open, Business as Usual] Bandera County [Open, Business as Usual] Bastrop County [Open, Closed to Public] Baylor County [Open, Business as Usual] Bee County [Open, Business as Usual] Bell County [Open, Business as Usual] Bexar County [Open, Closed to Public] Blanco County [Open, Closed to Public] Borden County [Open/Business as Usual] Bosque County [Open, Closed to Public] Bowie County [Open, Closed to Public] Brazoria County [Open/Business as Usual] Brazos County [Open, Closed to Public] Brewster County [Open, Business as Usual] Briscoe County [Open, Business as Usual] Brooks County [Open/Closed to Public] Brown County [Open, Closed to Public] Burleson County [Open, Closed to Public] Burnet County [Open, Business as Usual] Caldwell County [Open, Closed to Public] Calhoun County [Open, Business as Usual] Callahan County [Open, Closed to Public] Cameron County [Open, Closed to Public] Camp County [Open, Closed to Public] Carson County [Open, Business as Usual] Cass County [Open, Business as Usual] Castro County [Open, Closed to Public] Chambers County [Open, Business as Usual] Cherokee County [Open, Business as Usual] Childress County [Open, Business as Usual] Clay County [Open, Business as Usual] Cochran County [Open, Business as Usual] Coke County [Open, Closed to Public] Coleman County [Open, Business as Usual] Collin County [Open, Business as Usual] Collingsworth County [Open, Closed to Public] Colorado County [Open, Business as Usual] Comal County [Open, Closed to Public] Comanche County [Open, Closed to Public] Concho County [Open, Closed to Public] Cooke County [Open, Business as Usual] Coryell County [Open, Business as Usual] Cottle County [Open, Closed to Public] Crane County [Open, Closed to Public] Crockett County [Open, Closed to Public] Crosby County [Open, Business as Usual] Culberson County [Open, Closed to Public] Dallam County [Open, Closed to Public] Dallas County [Open, Closed to Public] Dawson County [Open, Business as Usual] Deafsmith County [Open, Closed to Public] Delta County [Open, Closed to Public] Denton County [Open, Business as Usual] Dewitt County [Open, Closed to Public] Dickens County [Open, Business as Usual] Dimmit County [Open, Closed to Public] Donley County [Open, Closed to Public] Duval County [Open, Closed to Public] Eastland County [Open, Closed to Public] Ector County [Open, Business as Usual] Edwards County [Open, Business as Usual] El Paso County [Open, Closed to Public] Ellis County [Open, Closed to Public] Erath County [Open, Business as Usual] Falls County [Open, Closed to Public] Fannin County [Open, Closed to Public] Fayette County [Open, Business as Usual] Fisher County [Open, Business as Usual] Floyd County [Open, Closed to Public] Foard County [Open, Closed to Public] Fort Bend County [Open, Business as Usual] Franklin County [Open, Business as Usual] Freestone County [Open, Business as Usual] Frio County [Open, Closed to Public] Gaines County [Open, Business as Usual] Galveston County [Open, Business as Usual] Garza County [Open, Closed to Public] Gillespie County [Open, Closed to Public] Glasscock County [Open, Business as Usual] Goliad County [Open, Closed to Public] Gonzales County [Open, Closed to Public] Gray County [Open, Closed to Public] Grayson County [Open, Closed to Public] Gregg County [Open, Business as Usual] Grimes County [Open, Business as Usual] Guadalupe County [Open, Closed to Public] Hale County [Open, Business as Usual] Hall County [Open, Business as Usual] Hamilton County [Open, Closed to Public] Hansford County [Open, Closed to Public] Hardeman County [Open, Business as Usual] Hardin County [Open, Closed to Public] Harris County [Open, Closed to Public] Harrison County [Open, Business as Usual] Hartley County [Open, Closed to Public] Haskell County [Open, Closed to Public] Hays County [Open, Closed to Public] Hemphill County [Open, Closed to Public] Henderson County [Open, Business as Usual] Hidalgo County [Open, Business as Usual] Hill County [Open, Closed to Public] Hockley County [Open, Business as Usual] Hood County [Open, Business as Usual] Hopkins County [Open, Closed to Public] Houston County [Open, Closed to Public] Howard County [Open, Closed to Public] Hudspeth County [Open/Business as Usual] Hunt County [Open, Closed to Public] Hutchinson County [Open, Closed to Public] Irion County [Open, Closed to Public] Jack County [Open, Closed to Public] Jackson County [Open, Business as Usual] Jasper County [Open, Closed to Public] Jeff Davis County [Open, Closed to Public] Jefferson County [Open, Closed to Public] Jim Hogg County [Open/Business as Usual] Jim Wells County [Open, Business as Usual] Johnson County [Open, Business as Usual] Jones County [Open, Closed to Public] Karnes County [Open, Business as Usual] Kaufman County [Open, Closed to Public] Kendall County [Open, Business as Usual] Kenedy County [Open/Closed to Public] Kent County [Open/Business as Usual] Kerr County [Open, Business as Usual] Kimble County [Open/Business as Usual] King County [Completely Closed] Kinney County [Open, Closed to Public] Kleberg County [Open, Closed to Public] Knox County [Open, Closed to Public] La Salle County [Open, Business as Usual] Lamar County [Open, Closed to Public] Lamb County [Open, Business as Usual] Lampasas County [Open, Closed to Public] Lavaca County [Open, Closed to Public] Lee County [Open, Closed to Public] Leon County [Open, Business as Usual] Liberty County [Open, Closed to Public] Limestone County [Open, Business as Usual] Lipscomb County [Open, Closed to Public] Live Oak County [Open, Closed to Public] Llano County [Open, Closed to Public] Loving County [Open, Closed to Public] Lubbock County [Open, Business as Usual] Lynn County [Open, Closed to Public] Madison County [Open, Business as Usual] Marion County [Open, Closed to Public] Martin County [Open/Closed to Public] Mason County [Open, Business as Usual] Matagorda County [Open, Business as Usual] Maverick County [Open, Business as Usual] McCulloch County [Open, Closed to Public] McLennan County [Open, Business as Usual] McMullen County [Open/Business as Usual] Medina County [Open, Closed to Public] Menard County [Open, Closed to Public] Midland County [Open, Business as Usual] Milam County [Open, Closed to Public] Mills County [Open, Business as Usual] Mitchell County [Open, Closed to Public] Montague County [Open, Business as Usual] Montgomery County [Open, Business as Usual] Moore County [Open, Closed to Public] Morris County [Open, Business as Usual] Motley County [Open, Business as Usual] Nacogdoches Cnty[Open, Business as Usual] Navarro County [Open, Closed to Public] Newton County [Open, Closed to Public] Nolan County [Open, Closed to Public] Nueces County [Open, Closed to Public] Ochiltree County [Open, Closed to Public] Oldham County [Open, Closed to Public] Orange County [Open, Closed to Public] Palo Pinto County [Open, Business as Usual] Panola County [Open, Closed to Public] Parker County [Open, Business as Usual] Parmer County [Open, Closed to Public] Pecos County [Open, Business as Usual] Polk County [Open, Business as Usual] Potter County [Open, Closed to Public] Presidio County [Open, Business as Usual] Rains County [Open, Business as Usual] Randall County [Open, Business as Usual] Reagan County [Open, Closed to Public] Real County [Open, Business as Usual] Red River County [Open, Closed to Public] Reeves County [Open, Closed to Public] Refugio County [Open, Closed to Public] Roberts County [Open, Business as Usual] Roberston County [Open, Business as Usual] Rockwall County [Open, Business as Usual] Runnels County [Open, Closed to Public] Rusk County [Open, Business as Usual] Sabine County [Open, Closed to Public] San Augustine County [Open, Closed to Public] San Jacinto County [Open/Business as Usual] San Patricio County [Open, Closed to Public] San Saba County [Open, Business as Usual] Schleicher County [Open, Closed to Public] Scurry County [Open, Business as Usual] Shackelford County [Open, Business as Usual] Shelby County [Open, Closed to Public] Sherman County [Open, Closed to Public] Smith County [Open, Business as Usual] Somervell County [Open, Business as Usual] Starr County [Open/Business as Usual] Stephens County [Open, Closed to Public] Sterling County [Open, Closed to Public] Stonewall County [Open, Closed to Public] Sutton County [Open, Business as Usual] Swisher County [Open, Closed to Public] Tarrant County [Open, Business as Usual] Taylor County [Open, Business as Usual] Terrell County [Open/Business as Usual] Terry County [Open, Closed to Public] Throckmorton County [Open, Closed to Public] Titus County [Open, Business as Usual] Tom Green County [Open, Closed to Public] Travis County [Open, Closed to Public] Trinity County [Open, Business as Usual] Tyler County [Open, Closed to Public] Upshur County [Open, Business as Usual] Upton County [Open, Business as Usual] Uvalde County [Open, Business as Usual] Val Verde County [Open, Business as Usual] Van Zandt County [Open, Business as Usual] Victoria County [Open, Closed to Public] Walker County [Open, Business as Usual] Waller County [Open, Closed to Public] Ward County [Open/Business as Usual] Washington County [Open, Closed to Public] Webb County [Open, Closed to Public] Wharton County [Open, Business as Usual] Wheeler County [Open, Closed to Public] Wichita County [Open, Business as Usual] Wilbarger County [Open, Closed to Public] Willacy County [Open, Business as Usual] Williamson County [Open, Business as Usual] Wilson County [Open, Closed to Public] Winkler County [Completely Closed] Wise County [Open, Business as Usual] Wood County [Open, Closed to Public] Yoakum County [Open, Business as Usual] Young County [Open, Business as Usual] Zapata County [Open, Business as Usual] Zavala County [Open, Closed to Public]

    Title and Registration Services

    On May 26, 2020, some Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Centers (RSCs) will begin providing certain in-person services by appointment only, operating at 25% of office capacity. Appointments will only be available for same-day or next-day service.

    Available In-Person Services

    • Replacement title.
    • Bonded Title Notice of Determination.
    • Title history.
    • Temporary permits.
    • Assigned/reassigned numbers.
    • Registration Refund Authorizations.
    • Investigating and resolving Texas title errors.

    Not Available for In-Person Services

    • IRP/Apportion transactions.
    • Transactions from dealers and title services/runners.
    • Note: These transactions may be processed by mail, fax, or as drop-offs only.

    To schedule a same-day or next-day appointment, please visit www.TxDMV.gov/appointment.

    We will continue to provide service online, by mail, phone, email and drop-offs. Please allow up to 2 weeks for mailing and processing time for transactions not conducted at a regional office.

    Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.

    PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THESE PROCESSES OR HOW TO COMPLETE THE FORMS.

    ONLINE SERVICES:

    MAIL, EMAIL, AND PHONE SERVICES:

    The following transaction are available by mail:

    (Please allow up to 2 weeks for mailing and processing time. Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.)

     

    Certified Copy of Texas Title (Replacement of Lost Title)

    A Certified Copy of Texas Title replaces the original Texas Certificate of Title and any previously issued Certified Copy of Texas Title. The applicant (person signing this application) must be the owner or lienholder on the department’s motor vehicle record, or an authorized agent of the owner/lienholder. Submit this completed application and all required documents by mail to a TxDMV Regional Service Center.

    Follow all the instructions on the Application for a Certified Copy of Title (Form VTR-34). Page 2 of the application contains the mailing address of all 16 Regional Service Centers (RSCs). Please ensure you include the $2.00 payment.

    For additional information on the certified copy of title process, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle/get-a-copy-of-your-title

    Bonded Title Rejection Letters

    If you receive incomplete or incorrect evidence of ownership or have lost the evidence of ownership and cannot contact the seller for the necessary documentation, you may have the option of using the bonded title procedure to transfer of ownership.

    Follow the instructions on the Bonded Title Application or Tax Collector Hearing Statement of Fact (Form VTR-130-SOF).Please be sure to include your email address and phone number to expedite any clarifications our staff may have. Mail the application to your local TxDMV Regional Service Center. Please ensure you include the $15.00 payment.

    For additional information on the bonded title process, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/bondedtitle

    Vehicle Transfer Notification

    When a Texas-titled vehicle is sold or traded in, the seller needs to notify TxDMV. By completing a Vehicle Transfer Notification, you are notifying TxDMV that you have sold a vehicle. When you submit the form, a remark will be added to the vehicle record which shows the date you sold the vehicle. This can protect you if the buyer fails to promptly transfer the title.

    Please complete your vehicle transfer notification online at: https://webdealer.txdmv.gov/title/publicVehicleTransfer.do

    Customers needing confirmation of a Vehicle Transfer Notification may contact us by phone or email. Customers who require documentation for the purposes of toll or parking violations will be emailed a confirmation letter or they may obtain a copy by processing a title history by completing a Vehicle Records Request (see below).

    Vehicle Records Requests

    Follow the instructions on the Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information (Form VTR-275). Be sure to mark an applicable use on Page 2. Mail the application, applicable fee, and other required documents to the address provide on the form or your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

    For additional information on obtaining records information, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/open-records

    All Other Transactions

    If you require assistance with the following transactions, please contact your local TxDMV RSC by email or phone for processing:

    • Dealer Closure Letters
    • Refund Authorizations
    • NAFTA Permits
    • Assigned Numbers
    • Machinery Plate Authorization
    • Registration Fee Credit Voucher
    • Any other inquiries or services

     


    TxDMV Regional Service Center Contact Information

    OfficePhoneEmail
    ABILENE
    4210 N. Clack St., Abilene, TX 79601
    Open May 26
    (325) 674-1000 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    AMARILLO
    5715 Canyon Dr., Building H, Amarillo, TX 79110
    Open May 26
    (806) 467-3600 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    AUSTIN
    1001 E. Parmer Ln., Ste. A, Austin, TX 78753
    Open May 26
    (512) 719-6900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    BEAUMONT
    8550 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, TX 77708
    Open May 26
    (409) 895-3200 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    CORPUS CHRISTI
    602 N. Staples St., Ste. 130, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
    Open May 26
    (361) 808-3900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    DALLAS
    1925 E. Beltline Rd., Ste. 100, Carrollton, TX 75006
    Open May 26
    (972) 478-5200 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    EL PASO
    1227 Lee Trevino, Ste. 100, El Paso, TX 79907
    Open May 26
    (915) 594-6000 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    FORT WORTH
    2425 Gravel Dr., Fort Worth, TX 76118
    Open May 26
    (817) 285-1500 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    HOUSTON
    2110 East Governors Cir., Houston, TX 77092
    Open May 26
    (713) 316-6100 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    LONGVIEW
    4549 W. Loop 281, Longview, TX 75604
    Open May 26
    (903) 237-2800 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    LUBBOCK
    135 Slaton Rd., Lubbock, TX 79404
    Open May 26
    (806) 748-2900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    ODESSA
    3901 East Highway 80, Odessa, TX 79761
    Open May 26
    (432) 276-4400 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    PHARR
    600 West Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577
    Open May 29
    (956) 784-6700 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    SAN ANTONIO
    15150 Nacogdoches Rd., Ste. 100, San Antonio, TX 78247
    Open May 26
    (210) 731-2130 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    WACO
    2203 Austin Ave., Waco, TX 76701
    Open May 26
    (254) 296-2700 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    WICHITA FALLS
    1601-A Southwest Pkwy., Wichita Falls, TX 76302
    Open May 26
    (940) 235-4800 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

     

     

    FAQs

    • My registration is expired, what should I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor collector offices. You may choose to take no action during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • If you have already obtained a passing vehicle inspection, you may renew your registration online at https://renew.txdmv.gov/.
    • My vehicle is due for an inspection, what should I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having crowds in public spaces. You will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • If you are able to obtain a passing vehicle inspection, you may renew your registration online at https://renew.txdmv.gov/.
    • I am in Texas. Do I still need to get an inspection before I can renew my registration online?
      • Yes. You will not be able to complete your online registration transaction without passing a vehicle inspection. The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having crowds in public spaces. You may choose to take no action during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
    • When will your offices reopen?
      • On May 26, 2020, some Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Centers (RSCs) will begin providing certain in-person services by appointment only, operating at 25% of office capacity. Appointments will only be available for same-day or next-day service.
      • Decisions regarding the reopening of county tax offices and Texas Department of Public Safety driver license offices are made by the respective agencies. For the status of those offices, please contact the agency in question.
    • What about my driver license?
      • The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues driver licenses. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is unable to provide guidance on DPS policies. For information on driver license policies, please visit the DPS website: https://www.dps.texas.gov/
    • I bought a vehicle and need to transfer title, and/or apply for initial registration. What do I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor-collector offices. No action is required during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to complete the titling process without penalty. No penalties will be assessed for the period associated with the waiver. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
    • My county is closed. Can I go to another county to process my title transfer?
      • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor-collector offices. No action is required during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to complete the titling process without penalty. No penalties will be assessed for the period associated with the waiver. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • If you choose to continue with your title transfer, contact the desired county to ensure the county is open and to determine what options they have available to apply for title. This may include submitting the transaction by mail versus in person.
    • I need to obtain a vehicle identification number inspection (68-A) performed by law enforcement to obtain title to my vehicle, but offices are closed. What do I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid large crowds. The waiver for title requirements prevents the need to obtain a 68-A during this time. In addition, the department has extended the period in which a previously completed 68-A can be accepted. The 30-calendar day period has been extended to be consistent with the waiver to apply for title in a specified timeframe. A properly completed 68-A is acceptable until 60 days after the department announces that normal operations have resumed regardless of the inspection date. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.

    icon note Hurricane Harvey Emergency Information

    The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) is monitoring the impacts of Hurricane Harvey closely and working with state officials, county tax assessor-collectors and others to maintain or restore services in affected areas.

    Motor Carrier
    Permitting

    Movement of Oversize/Overweight Loads in Texas Disaster Areas

    Permit Waiver for motor carriers transporting oversize and/or overweight loads for Hurricane Harvey disaster relief efforts:

    Permit Waiver per Gov. Greg Abbott’s Declaration of Disaster

    Are you moving an oversize and/or overweight non-divisible load associated with activities related to the disaster and for which the TxDMV would normally issue a permit?

    If yes, you are not required to obtain a permit at this time. Instead print the Governor’s waiver and carry it in your vehicle. The declaration is found here:
    Gov. Greg Abbott’s Waiver

    View and print the TxDMV’s Waiver Notice and important restrictions here:
    TxDMV’s Waiver Notice

    If your load is overheight, you may use the “Bid Route” feature in the Texas Permitting and Routing Optimization System (TxPROS) at https://txpros.txdmv.gov/ to route loads safely. Enter your height only and leave all other fields blank to use this feature during the Hurricane emergency. For information on other restrictions go here: Permit Restrictions

    For a more accurate route than the bid route tool, contact us for routing assistance at 1-800-299-1700, option 2.

    The Governor’s declaration waives all permitting requirements, including curfews and normal escort requirements. Vehicles may travel at night up to 10-feet wide without an escort and with front and rear escorts if exceeding 10-feet wide.

    Apportioned Registration/
    Temp Permits

    Texas Governor Greg Abbott has suspended certain vehicle registration requirements related to Apportioned Registration, also known as the International Registration Plan (IRP), and Temporary Permits for operators of commercial motor vehicles involved in Hurricanes/Tropical Storms Harvey and Irma disaster relief in Texas and other states. The suspension covers:

    • International Registration Plan (IRP) vehicle registration under Transportation Code, Section 502.091 and 43 TAC 217.56 to the extent the vehicle is not already registered under IRP, as long as the motor vehicle is registered in one of the 48 contiguous states of the United States; and
    • 72-/144-hour temporary registration permits under Transportation Code, Section 502.094 and 43 TAC 217.40(b)(3), as long as the vehicle is registered in another state of the United States or a state of the United Mexican States.

    The suspension is needed to make it faster and easier for operators of commercial motor vehicles from Texas and other states to provide assistance to both Texas and Louisiana by temporarily waiving vehicle registration requirements to travel in and through the state of Texas. Although smaller passenger vehicles are granted free vehicle registration in Texas via registration reciprocity agreements with other states, commercial motor vehicles are not granted free vehicle registration under such agreements.

    Examples of disaster assistance include, but are not limited to, vehicles engaged in the transport of relief workers, food, water, clothing, equipment, materials, fuel, shelter, and other supplies to the impacted areas, as well as vehicles used to restore utilities and to remove debris from the impacted areas.

    The suspension only applies to the vehicle registration requirements for operators of commercial vehicles that are providing disaster assistance pursuant to the declarations referenced in Governor Abbott’s proclamation. The suspension does not apply to any other requirement, including any safety requirements. Also, operators are responsible and liable for safely routing their vehicles and obtaining current restrictions and information concerning hazardous road conditions prior to movement.

    Please see the storm you are responding to below for specific requirements related to the Governor’s suspension.

    Hurricane Harvey Disaster Relief
    These suspensions will expire 14 days after the expiration of Governor Abbott’s September 20, 2017, Disaster Declaration, as amended.

    No action on your part is required to qualify for these temporary suspensions.

    Hurricane Irma Disaster Relief
    These suspensions terminated on October 18, 2017.

    Additional Information
    Here are links that show waivers in other states and at the federal level for IRP and IFTA, as well as other useful information related to disaster relief:

    • Links that show International Registration Plan (IRP) waivers by other states:
    • Emergency Declarations, Waivers, Exemptions and Permits at the federal level as listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s site:
    • The International Fuel Tax Associations’ links to states that have IFTA waivers related to Hurricanes Harvey and Irma Relief.

    Flood Damaged Vehicles

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Q: What should I do if my car sustained flood damage in Hurricane Harvey?
    A: You should contact your insurance company as soon as possible.

    Q: Will my insurance cover flood damage?
    A: According to the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), if you have comprehensive auto coverage, you are covered for flood damage to your car. Visit tdi.texas.gov for more details on insurance coverage.

    Q: Will I need to provide my vehicle title to my insurance company? What if my title was lost or damaged in the flood?
    A: Your insurance provider may request the title for your vehicle. You can obtain a certified copy of title in person at any TxDMV Regional Service Center If you are unable to visit a TxDMV Regional Service Center, you can apply for a certified copy of title by mailing the Application for a Certified Copy of Title (Form VTR-34) to:

    Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
    1601-A Southwest Parkway
    Wichita Falls, TX 76302

    Note: The address the certified copy of title will be mailed to must be a deliverable address. Some addresses may not be deliverable in the aftermath of the storm.

    Q: How do I obtain a duplicate registration receipt for my vehicle?
    A: If you need a duplicate registration/inquiry receipt, you will need to complete a Request for Duplicate Registration/Inquiry Receipt for Hurricane Harvey Impacted Vehicles (Form VTR-275-HRV). You can submit the complete form and a photo copy of your government issued photo identification to any county tax assessor-collector’s office, Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Regional Service Center, or by mail to:.

    Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
    Vehicle Titles and Registration Division
    4000 Jackson Avenue
    Austin, TX 78731

    Q: How do I obtain my title if there is a lien on my vehicle?
    A: If you need a certified copy of title and there is a lien on the motor vehicle record, you will need to contact the lienholder to obtain a release of lien. Your insurance provider should let you know if you need to contact the lienholder.

    Q: What should I do if the loss of my vehicle due to flood damage is not covered by insurance?
    A: In the event the loss to your motor vehicle is not covered by insurance, there are additional steps for you to pursue. You have the option of applying for either a salvage title or a nonrepairable title, depending on the level of damage sustained. If the repair costs are more than the cash value of the vehicle immediately prior to the damage, but can be repaired, your vehicle can be considered a salvage vehicle. If your vehicle sustained significant damage and cannot be repaired, rebuilt, reconstructed, or made operable for use on a public highway, it is considered a nonrepairable motor vehicle.

    Q: How can I be sure whether I need to apply for a salvage vehicle or a nonrepairable title?
    A: In order to make this determination, you should obtain an appraisal of the repair cost. A salvage motor vehicle is a motor vehicle that has damage to or is missing a major component part to the extent that the cost of repairs exceeds the actual cash value of the motor vehicle immediately before the damage. A nonrepairable motor vehicle is a motor vehicle that is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only residual value of the vehicle is as a source of parts or scrap metal. To apply for a salvage or nonrepairable title, complete the Application for a Salvage or Nonrepairable Vehicle Title (Form VTR-441), and mail it to:

    Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Titles and Registration Division
    ATTN: Title Control Systems
    P.O. Box 26450
    Austin, Texas 78755-0450

    Q: Is it legal to sell a salvaged, nonrepairable or flood-damaged vehicle in Texas?
    A: Yes, as long as the title properly reflects this condition so that buyer is aware.

    Q: How can I avoid buying a salvage, nonrepairable or flood-damaged vehicle?
    A: Do a Title Check. The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is run through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS), a national consumer protection database that provides title information from states across the country. Whether you are buying from a local dealer, individual or eyeing a vehicle from an online auction website, it will help you to know what you are buying before you pay any money or sign any paperwork for the vehicle. A report from the NMVTIS database gives you the vehicle’s title history, which includes whether the vehicle was ever in the possession of a junk or salvage yard or declared a “total loss” by an insurance company.

    COVID-19 / Coronavirus Emergency Information

    The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) is monitoring the impacts of the Covid-19/Coronavirus closely and working with state officials, county tax assessor-collectors and others to maintain or restore services in affected areas.

    All TxDMV offices will be closed to the public for in-person transactions as of the close of business on March 18. Services and support will continue to be provided by mail, email, and phone while in-person services are unavailable.

    For additional information regarding updates, tax assessor office closures, title and registration service, and FAQ’s select the tabs below.

    Updates


    Update: April 29, 2020

    • The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is not included in the list of Phase 1 businesses to reopen on Friday, May 7, 2020. Our regional offices remain closed to the public at this time. We continue to provide services by phone, postal mail, and email until further notice.
    • Operations at county tax offices, through which most motorists conduct registration and title transactions, will vary from county to county.
    • Please continue to refer to www.TxDMV.gov/covid-19 for information on accessing our services, answers to our most common questions, and information on county tax office status.
    • To be informed of the latest developments related to COVID-19 and TxDMV services, please subscribe to our mailing list: https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
    • Please Note: The Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) is the agency that issues driver licenses, not the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Please see https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/covid-19.htm for the latest from TxDPS about their operations during the pandemic.

    Important Information Regarding Vehicle Registration, Vehicle Titling, and Disabled Parking Placard Requirements

    In an effort to reduce the need for in-person transactions, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) worked with Governor Greg Abbott and our stakeholders to temporarily waive certain requirements for vehicle registration, vehicle titling and disabled parking placards.

    On March 13, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott issued a proclamation, declaring a state of disaster for all counties in Texas due to the threat of COVID-19. Governor Abbott also issued a statement on March 16, 2020, granting a temporary extension to obtain initial registration, renewal of registration, vehicle titling, and renewal of a permanent disabled parking placard. Governor Abbott also granted a temporary extension for an individual with an expired 30-day temporary permit to obtain another permit or Texas registration.

    The temporary waiver applies to vehicle owners in all Texas counties as set forth in the above-referenced proclamation and statement. This temporary waiver is in effect until 60 days after TxDMV notifies the public that normal vehicle registration, vehicle titling and related services have resumed. The 60-day period will be the same for all counties.

    The purpose of the waiver is to prevent customers from having to physically visit a county tax assessor-collector office to obtain initial registration, to obtain a 30-day temporary permit, to transfer title; or to renew registration or a permanent disabled parking placard. Customers may continue to renew their registration online at www.TxDMV.gov. At this time, TxDMV continues to fill online registration sticker requests and process all other online services.

    TxDMV has informed law enforcement agencies and the offices of the county tax assessor-collectors of the temporary waiver. As soon as new information is available, we will provide further updates via social media and at https://www.txdmv.gov/covid-19.


    Movement of Oversize/Overweight Loads in Texas Disaster Areas

    TxDMV is not imposing COVID-19 related restrictions on travel for vehicles/loads moving with an Oversize/Overweight Permit. However, all permittees need to check local shelter-in-place/stay-at-home orders prior to movement to ensure the travel meets the definition of “essential” for those areas.

    Commercial Vehicle registration requirements to travel in and through the state of Texas are temporarily suspended by order of Texas Governor Greg Abbott. This is to make it faster and easier for operators of commercial vehicles to provide COVID-19 disaster relief assistance.

    These suspensions apply to the transportation of supplies, medical equipment, and similar materials that are necessary for preparing for, responding to, and mitigating the spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19)

    A commercial motor vehicle qualifies for the temporary suspension of International Registration Plan (IRP) requirements if the vehicle is registered in one of the 48 contiguous states and is not currently registered under IRP. The suspension covers the vehicle registration requirements for operators of commercial motor vehicles that are providing assistance to any state pursuant to the disaster declarations for those states.

    Additionally, the requirements to obtain a 72-/144-hour temporary registration permit also are suspended for those commercial motor vehicles that are not eligible for IRP registration.

    These suspensions do not apply to safety and insurance requirements.

    No action on your part is required to qualify for the temporary waivers. Instead print and keep the following documentation in the cab of the vehicle, the Governor’s Proclamation and the TxDMV’s Suspension of Size and Weight Requirements. Both are found here: https://www.txdmv.gov/motor-carriers

    These suspensions remain in effect until terminated by Governor Abbott or until the March 13, 2020 disaster declaration is lifted or expires.


    Disaster Proclamations

    import

    COVID-19/Coronavirus Relief Information

    Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a declaration of disaster temporarily suspending size and weight restrictions and oversize/overweight permitting requirements for vehicles and loads associated with activities needed to respond to COVID-19/Coronavirus. Please utilize both waivers when using this suspension.

    Governor Abbott's Disaster Proclamation

    Suspension of Size and Weight Requirements

    import

    Federal Disaster Relief Permit for the Transport of Relief Supplies

    A Federal Disaster Relief Permit is available in the Texas Permitting and Routing Optimization System (TxPROS) for the transport of divisible commodities consisting of emergency relief supplies related to the COVID-19 emergency. This $0 cost Permit is only available during national emergencies or major disasters declared by the President of the United States. A copy of the President’s declaration must be carried with the permit.

    Presidential Emergency Declaration for COVID-19

    import

    Governor Abbott Issues Executive Order Mandating 14-Day Quarantine For Travelers Arriving From CA, LA, WA, Atlanta, Chicago, Detroit, and Miami

    The Governor has issued a proclamation regarding his prior Executive Order mandating a self-quarantine for individuals arriving from the New York Tri-State Area and New Orleans, Louisiana.

    Governor's Quarantine Proclamation for Travelers From Other States

    Tax Assessor Office Closures

    As of May 22, the following Tax Assessor-Collector main offices are closed or operating under revised schedules.

    Anderson County [Open, Business as Usual] Andrews County [Open, Business as Usual] Angelina County [Open, Closed to Public] Aransas County [Open, Business as Usual] Archer County [Open, Closed to Public] Armstrong County [Open, Closed to Public] Atascosa County [Open, Closed to Public] Austin County [Open, Closed to Public] Bailey County [Open, Business as Usual] Bandera County [Open, Business as Usual] Bastrop County [Open, Closed to Public] Baylor County [Open, Business as Usual] Bee County [Open, Business as Usual] Bell County [Open, Business as Usual] Bexar County [Open, Closed to Public] Blanco County [Open, Closed to Public] Borden County [Open/Business as Usual] Bosque County [Open, Closed to Public] Bowie County [Open, Closed to Public] Brazoria County [Open/Business as Usual] Brazos County [Open, Closed to Public] Brewster County [Open, Business as Usual] Briscoe County [Open, Business as Usual] Brooks County [Open/Closed to Public] Brown County [Open, Closed to Public] Burleson County [Open, Closed to Public] Burnet County [Open, Closed to Public] Caldwell County [Open, Closed to Public] Calhoun County [Open, Business as Usual] Callahan County [Open, Closed to Public] Cameron County [Open, Closed to Public] Camp County [Open, Closed to Public] Carson County [Open, Business as Usual] Cass County [Open, Business as Usual] Castro County [Open, Closed to Public] Chambers County [Open, Closed to Public] Cherokee County [Open, Closed to Public] Childress County [Open, Business as Usual] Clay County [Open, Business as Usual] Cochran County [Open, Business as Usual] Coke County [Open, Closed to Public] Coleman County [Open, Business as Usual] Collin County [Open, Business as Usual] Collingsworth County [Open, Closed to Public] Colorado County [Open, Business as Usual] Comal County [Open, Closed to Public] Comanche County [Open, Closed to Public] Concho County [Open, Closed to Public] Cooke County [Open, Business as Usual] Coryell County [Open, Business as Usual] Cottle County [Open, Closed to Public] Crane County [Open, Closed to Public] Crockett County [Open, Closed to Public] Crosby County [Open, Business as Usual] Culberson County [Open, Closed to Public] Dallam County [Open, Closed to Public] Dallas County [Open, Closed to Public] Dawson County [Open, Business as Usual] Deafsmith County [Open, Closed to Public] Delta County [Open, Closed to Public] Denton County [Open, Closed to Public] Dewitt County [Open, Closed to Public] Dickens County [Open, Business as Usual] Dimmit County [Open, Closed to Public] Donley County [Open, Closed to Public] Duval County [Open, Closed to Public] Eastland County [Open, Closed to Public] Ector County [Open, Business as Usual] Edwards County [Open, Business as Usual] El Paso County [Open, Closed to Public] Ellis County [Open, Closed to Public] Erath County [Open, Business as Usual] Falls County [Open, Closed to Public] Fannin County [Open, Closed to Public] Fayette County [Open, Business as Usual] Fisher County [Open, Business as Usual] Floyd County [Open, Closed to Public] Foard County [Open, Closed to Public] Fort Bend County [Open, Business as Usual] Franklin County [Open, Business as Usual] Freestone County [Open, Business as Usual] Frio County [Open, Closed to Public] Gaines County [Open, Closed to Public] Galveston County [Open, Business as Usual] Garza County [Open, Closed to Public] Gillespie County [Open, Closed to Public] Glasscock County [Open, Business as Usual] Goliad County [Open, Closed to Public] Gonzales County [Open, Closed to Public] Gray County [Open, Closed to Public] Grayson County [Open, Closed to Public] Gregg County [Open, Business as Usual] Grimes County [Open, Business as Usual] Guadalupe County [Open, Closed to Public] Hale County [Open, Business as Usual] Hall County [Open, Business as Usual] Hamilton County [Open, Closed to Public] Hansford County [Open, Closed to Public] Hardeman County [Open, Business as Usual] Hardin County [Open, Closed to Public] Harris County [Open, Closed to Public] Harrison County [Open, Business as Usual] Hartley County [Open, Closed to Public] Haskell County [Open, Closed to Public] Hays County [Open, Closed to Public] Hemphill County [Open, Closed to Public] Henderson County [Open, Business as Usual] Hidalgo County [Open, Business as Usual] Hill County [Open, Closed to Public] Hockley County [Open, Business as Usual] Hood County [Open, Business as Usual] Hopkins County [Open, Closed to Public] Houston County [Open, Closed to Public] Howard County [Open, Closed to Public] Hudspeth County [Open/Business as Usual] Hunt County [Open, Closed to Public] Hutchinson County [Open, Closed to Public] Irion County [Open, Closed to Public] Jack County [Open, Closed to Public] Jackson County [Open, Business as Usual] Jasper County [Open, Closed to Public] Jeff Davis County [Open, Closed to Public] Jefferson County [Open, Closed to Public] Jim Hogg County [Open/Business as Usual] Jim Wells County [Open, Business as Usual] Johnson County [Open, Closed to Public] Jones County [Open, Closed to Public] Karnes County [Open, Business as Usual] Kaufman County [Open, Closed to Public] Kendall County [Open, Business as Usual] Kenedy County [Open/Closed to Public] Kent County [Open/Business as Usual] Kerr County [Open, Business as Usual] Kimble County [Open/Business as Usual] King County [Completely Closed] Kinney County [Open, Closed to Public] Kleberg County [Open, Closed to Public] Knox County [Open, Closed to Public] La Salle County [Open, Closed to Public] Lamar County [Open, Closed to Public] Lamb County [Open, Business as Usual] Lampasas County [Open, Closed to Public] Lavaca County [Open, Closed to Public] Lee County [Open, Closed to Public] Leon County [Open, Business as Usual] Liberty County [Open, Closed to Public] Limestone County [Open, Business as Usual] Lipscomb County [Open, Closed to Public] Live Oak County [Open, Closed to Public] Llano County [Open, Closed to Public] Loving County [Open, Closed to Public] Lubbock County [Open, Business as Usual] Lynn County [Open, Closed to Public] Madison County [Open, Business as Usual] Marion County [Open, Closed to Public] Martin County [Open/Closed to Public] Mason County [Open, Business as Usual] Matagorda County [Open, Business as Usual] Maverick County [Open, Business as Usual] McCulloch County [Open, Closed to Public] McLennan County [Open, Business as Usual] McMullen County [Open/Business as Usual] Medina County [Open, Closed to Public] Menard County [Open, Closed to Public] Midland County [Open, Business as Usual] Milam County [Open, Closed to Public] Mills County [Open, Business as Usual] Mitchell County [Open, Closed to Public] Montague County [Open, Business as Usual] Montgomery County [Open, Business as Usual] Moore County [Open, Closed to Public] Morris County [Open, Closed to Public] Motley County [Open, Business as Usual] Nacogdoches Cnty[Open, Business as Usual] Navarro County [Open, Closed to Public] Newton County [Open, Closed to Public] Nolan County [Open, Closed to Public] Nueces County [Open, Closed to Public] Ochiltree County [Open, Closed to Public] Oldham County [Open, Closed to Public] Orange County [Open, Closed to Public] Palo Pinto County [Open, Business as Usual] Panola County [Open, Closed to Public] Parker County [Open, Business as Usual] Parmer County [Open, Closed to Public] Pecos County [Open, Business as Usual] Polk County [Open, Closed to Public] Potter County [Open, Closed to Public] Presidio County [Open, Business as Usual] Rains County [Open, Business as Usual] Randall County [Open, Business as Usual] Reagan County [Open, Closed to Public] Real County [Open, Business as Usual] Red River County [Open, Closed to Public] Reeves County [Open, Closed to Public] Refugio County [Open, Closed to Public] Roberts County [Open, Business as Usual] Roberston County [Open, Business as Usual] Rockwall County [Open, Business as Usual] Runnels County [Open, Closed to Public] Rusk County [Open, Business as Usual] Sabine County [Open, Closed to Public] San Augustine County [Open, Closed to Public] San Jacinto County [Open/Business as Usual] San Patricio County [Open, Closed to Public] San Saba County [Open, Business as Usual] Schleicher County [Open, Closed to Public] Scurry County [Open, Business as Usual] Shackelford County [Open, Business as Usual] Shelby County [Open, Closed to Public] Sherman County [Open, Closed to Public] Smith County [Open, Business as Usual] Somervell County [Open, Business as Usual] Starr County [Open/Business as Usual] Stephens County [Open, Closed to Public] Sterling County [Open, Closed to Public] Stonewall County [Open, Closed to Public] Sutton County [Open, Business as Usual] Swisher County [Open, Closed to Public] Tarrant County [Open, Business as Usual] Taylor County [Open, Business as Usual] Terrell County [Open/Business as Usual] Terry County [Open, Closed to Public] Throckmorton County [Open, Closed to Public] Titus County [Open, Business as Usual] Tom Green County [Open, Closed to Public] Travis County [Open, Closed to Public] Trinity County [Open, Closed to Public] Tyler County [Open, Closed to Public] Upshur County [Open, Closed to Public] Upton County [Open, Business as Usual] Uvalde County [Open, Business as Usual] Val Verde County [Open, Business as Usual] Van Zandt County [Open, Business as Usual] Victoria County [Open, Closed to Public] Walker County [Open, Business as Usual] Waller County [Open, Closed to Public] Ward County [Open/Business as Usual] Washington County [Open, Closed to Public] Webb County [Open, Closed to Public] Wharton County [Open, Business as Usual] Wheeler County [Open, Closed to Public] Wichita County [Open, Closed to Public] Wilbarger County [Open, Closed to Public] Willacy County [Open, Business as Usual] Williamson County [Open, Closed to Public] Wilson County [Open, Closed to Public] Winkler County [Completely Closed] Wise County [Open, Business as Usual] Wood County [Open, Closed to Public] Yoakum County [Open, Business as Usual] Young County [Open, Business as Usual] Zapata County [Open, Business as Usual] Zavala County [Open, Closed to Public]

    Title and Registration Services

    As a result of COVID-19, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ (TxDMV) Regional Service Centers (RSCs) are closed to the public; however, we will continue to provide service online, by mail, phone and email. Please allow up to 2 weeks for mailing and processing time.

    Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.

    PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THESE PROCESSES OR HOW TO COMPLETE THE FORMS.

    ONLINE SERVICES:

    MAIL, EMAIL, AND PHONE SERVICES:

    The following transaction are available by mail:

    (Please allow up to 2 weeks for mailing and processing time. Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable.)

     

    Certified Copy of Texas Title (Replacement of Lost Title)

    A Certified Copy of Texas Title replaces the original Texas Certificate of Title and any previously issued Certified Copy of Texas Title. The applicant (person signing this application) must be the owner or lienholder on the department’s motor vehicle record, or an authorized agent of the owner/lienholder. Submit this completed application and all required documents by mail to a TxDMV Regional Service Center.

    Follow all the instructions on the Application for a Certified Copy of Title (Form VTR-34). Page 2 of the application contains the mailing address of all 16 Regional Service Centers (RSCs). Please ensure you include the $2.00 payment.

    For additional information on the certified copy of title process, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle/get-a-copy-of-your-title

    Bonded Title Rejection Letters

    If you receive incomplete or incorrect evidence of ownership or have lost the evidence of ownership and cannot contact the seller for the necessary documentation, you may have the option of using the bonded title procedure to transfer of ownership.

    Follow the instructions on the Bonded Title Application or Tax Collector Hearing Statement of Fact (Form VTR-130-SOF).Please be sure to include your email address and phone number to expedite any clarifications our staff may have. Mail the application to your local TxDMV Regional Service Center. Please ensure you include the $15.00 payment.

    For additional information on the bonded title process, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/bondedtitle

    Vehicle Transfer Notification

    When a Texas-titled vehicle is sold or traded in, the seller needs to notify TxDMV. By completing a Vehicle Transfer Notification, you are notifying TxDMV that you have sold a vehicle. When you submit the form, a remark will be added to the vehicle record which shows the date you sold the vehicle. This can protect you if the buyer fails to promptly transfer the title.

    Please complete your vehicle transfer notification online at: https://webdealer.txdmv.gov/title/publicVehicleTransfer.do

    Customers needing confirmation of a Vehicle Transfer Notification may contact us by phone or email. Customers who require documentation for the purposes of toll or parking violations will be emailed a confirmation letter or they may obtain a copy by processing a title history by completing a Vehicle Records Request (see below).

    Vehicle Records Requests

    Follow the instructions on the Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information (Form VTR-275). Be sure to mark an applicable use on Page 2. Mail the application, applicable fee, and other required documents to the address provide on the form or your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

    For additional information on obtaining records information, please visit: https://www.txdmv.gov/open-records

    All Other Transactions

    If you require assistance with the following transactions, please contact your local TxDMV RSC by email or phone for processing:

    • Dealer Closure Letters
    • Refund Authorizations
    • NAFTA Permits
    • Assigned Numbers
    • Machinery Plate Authorization
    • Registration Fee Credit Voucher
    • Any other inquiries or services

     


    TxDMV Regional Service Center Contact Information

    Note: Our Regional Service Centers are not open for in-person services until further notice. However, our staff is responding to all telephone, mail, and e-mail inquires.

    OfficePhoneEmail
    ABILENE
    4210 N. Clack St., Abilene, TX 79601
    (325) 674-1000 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    AMARILLO
    5715 Canyon Dr., Building H, Amarillo, TX 79110
    (806) 467-3600 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    AUSTIN
    1001 E. Parmer Ln., Ste. A, Austin, TX 78753
    (512) 719-6900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    BEAUMONT
    8550 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, TX 77708
    (409) 895-3200 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    CORPUS CHRISTI
    602 N. Staples St., Ste. 130, Corpus Christi, TX 78401
    (361) 808-3900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    DALLAS
    1925 E. Beltline Rd., Ste. 100, Carrollton, TX 75006
    (972) 478-5200 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    EL PASO
    1227 Lee Trevino, Ste. 100, El Paso, TX 79907
    (915) 594-6000 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    FORT WORTH
    2425 Gravel Dr., Fort Worth, TX 76118
    (817) 285-1500 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    HOUSTON
    2110 East Governors Cir., Houston, TX 77092
    (713) 316-6100 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    LONGVIEW
    4549 W. Loop 281, Longview, TX 75604
    (903) 237-2800 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    LUBBOCK
    135 Slaton Rd., Lubbock, TX 79404
    (806) 748-2900 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    ODESSA
    3901 East Highway 80, Odessa, TX 79761
    (432) 276-4400 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    PHARR
    600 West Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577
    (956) 784-6700 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    SAN ANTONIO
    15150 Nacogdoches Rd., Ste. 100, San Antonio, TX 78247
    (210) 731-2130 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    WACO
    2203 Austin Ave., Waco, TX 76701
    (254) 296-2700 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    WICHITA FALLS
    1601-A Southwest Pkwy., Wichita Falls, TX 76302
    (940) 235-4800 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

     

     

    FAQs

    • My registration is expired, what should I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor collector offices. You may choose to take no action during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • If you have already obtained a passing vehicle inspection, you may renew your registration online at https://renew.txdmv.gov/.
    • My vehicle is due for an inspection, what should I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having crowds in public spaces. You will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • If you are able to obtain a passing vehicle inspection, you may renew your registration online at https://renew.txdmv.gov/.
    • I am in Texas. Do I still need to get an inspection before I can renew my registration online?
      • Yes. You will not be able to complete your online registration transaction without passing a vehicle inspection. The Governor issued a waiver from the requirement to renew registration. The waiver was issued to avoid having crowds in public spaces. You may choose to take no action during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to have your vehicle inspected and complete the registration process. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
    • When will your offices reopen?
      • We will make an announcement when the date for reopening our Regional Service Centers has been determined. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • Decisions regarding the reopening of county tax offices and Texas Department of Public Safety driver license offices are made by the respective agencies. For the status of those offices, please contact the agency in question.
    • What about my driver license?
      • The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues driver licenses. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is unable to provide guidance on DPS policies. For information on driver license policies, please visit the DPS website: https://www.dps.texas.gov/
    • I bought a vehicle and need to transfer title, and/or apply for initial registration. What do I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor-collector offices. No action is required during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to complete the titling process without penalty. No penalties will be assessed for the period associated with the waiver. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
    • My county is closed. Can I go to another county to process my title transfer?
      • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid having large crowds in the county tax assessor-collector offices. No action is required during the waiver period. If you take no action, you will have 60 days from the date the department announces that normal operations have resumed to complete the titling process without penalty. No penalties will be assessed for the period associated with the waiver. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.
      • If you choose to continue with your title transfer, contact the desired county to ensure the county is open and to determine what options they have available to apply for title. This may include submitting the transaction by mail versus in person.
    • I need to obtain a vehicle identification number inspection (68-A) performed by law enforcement to obtain title to my vehicle, but offices are closed. What do I do?
      • The Governor issued a waiver for the requirement to apply for title within a specified timeframe and the associated delinquent transfer penalty to avoid large crowds. The waiver for title requirements prevents the need to obtain a 68-A during this time. In addition, the department has extended the period in which a previously completed 68-A can be accepted. The 30-calendar day period has been extended to be consistent with the waiver to apply for title in a specified timeframe. A properly completed 68-A is acceptable until 60 days after the department announces that normal operations have resumed regardless of the inspection date. To receive email notification of this announcement, please subscribe to our mailing list at https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDMV/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDMV_290.

    Copyright © 2020 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731