For Our Troops

US flag

We appreciate your service to our country and are proud to be able to provide special services to military personnel, veterans, and their families.

We have grouped information, forms and links together based on what your needs are, for example, requirements for new residents, the process for transferring your vehicle, determining inspection requirements, applying for military plates, etc.

If you are a Non-resident serving in Texas, you are allowed, but not required, to register your vehicle with your local county tax office.

If you have any questions or would like additional help with your motor vehicle needs, call 1-888-DMV-GOTX or email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

 

Welcome to
Texas!

Welcome to Texas!

We understand being in the military creates special situations when being relocated from one state to another, or from one country to another. Hopefully the tips and guidance we have gathered for you will help to eliminate some of your stress, or even make your relocation a breeze when it comes to your vehicle.

If you are temporarily stationed in Texas, you may keep your vehicle registration from your home state. You are required to keep your registration current.

If you find Texas as irresistible as we do and plan to make it your permanent home, then you need to register your vehicle here. As a new resident, you have 30 days to apply for a Texas title or registration along with obtaining insurance meeting the minimum amount of insurance coverage required by the State of Texas, and a Texas safety inspection and Vehicle Inspection Certificate. If you would like to apply for a Texas driver license the Texas Department of Public Safety issues driver licenses.

The Process

The Process for Transferring Your Vehicle to Texas
  • Step 1 - Complete and submit a VIN Self-Certification form (Form VTR-270) or you obtain a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued by a vehicle inspection station.
  • Step 2 - Obtain insurance on the vehicle that meets the state’s minimum requirements. You will be required to furnish the declarations page for registration purposes.
  • Step 3 - Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) along with a copy of your current government issued identification.
  • Step 4 - An Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U).
  • Step 5 - If you are applying for registration only (no title will be issued), you will need your current out of state registration receipt and to mark the “Registration Purposes Only” box on Form 130-U.

If you are applying for registration purposes only (no title will be issued) you will also need:

    1. Your current out of state registration, and
    2. An Application for Registration Purposes Only form (Form VTR-272).
  • Step 6 - Because we all enjoy the Texas roads and scenery, each vehicle registered in Texas pays fees unless you are exempt by law.
Fees
Description Estimate
New Resident Tax (if applicable) $90.00
Registration fee for passenger car or truck (6,000 lbs and less) $51.75 (includes $1 Department of Public Safety insurance fee)
Title application fee (varies by county) $28.00 or $33.00
Local fee (varies by county) Up to $31.50  (varies by county)
Processing and Handling fee $4.75
State portion of the vehicle inspection fee Up to $30.75 (varies by county, vehicle type, and vehicle use)

Since counties vary in their fees and their fees may change, be sure to check with your county for specific amounts.

Taxes

If you are a Texas resident and have not previously paid a Texas sales tax on the vehicle, you will pay either a 6.25% sales tax or the difference between the full amount of taxes less any taxes previously paid to another state. For used vehicles the value of the vehicle will be determined at the county and is based on the Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) of the vehicle. A SPV calculator is available on our home page for your reference. Information can be obtained by calling (800) 252-1382 or by visiting www.window.state.tx.us.

Please refer to our Military Packet for more information.

Military Packet

Insurance, Inspections
& Importing

Insurance

Texas law requires the following minimum amounts of coverage for your vehicle:

  • $30,000 bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $60,000 bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, with a $30,000 limit for one person
  • $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

"No fault" insurance is not valid proof of financial responsibility in Texas. However, proof of financial responsibility from out of state or out of country is acceptable if the insurance company is licensed to do business in Texas and reflects the above minimum amounts.

Annual Vehicle Safety Inspection

Every vehicle registered in Texas and operated on a public roadway (unless exempted by law) must pass an annual safety inspection. The vehicle must have current, passing inspection prior to registration. You will need to present valid proof of liability insurance in order to receive your vehicle inspection report. Some counties also have emissions testing requirements. Please check with your county for requirements.

Texas approved inspection stations conduct vehicle inspections and VIN verifications. Many mechanics, repair facilities, and full-service stations are approved to perform the inspections. Look for the state inspection sign at their place of business.

Contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at (512) 424-7293 or visit their website, for more information regarding vehicle inspections.

Importing a Vehicle

If you will be bringing in a vehicle purchased in another country, you are required to meet all federal and state importation requirements before you can title and/or register it in the state of Texas.

Your vehicle must meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. More information concerning duty or other Customs matters is available from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection.

Your vehicle must pass a Texas vehicle safety inspection and a visual verification of the vehicle identification number (VIN). You can have your vehicle inspected by any Texas approved Safety Inspection Station.

You must provide a certified English translation of any document printed in any language other than English.

Leaving
Texas

If you are a Texas resident serving out of the state, you can retain your Texas title and continue to renew your registration. If you have a Texas title you must keep the registration valid and up to date.

If your vehicle is out of state and you are unable to complete a Texas vehicle inspection in order to renew your registration, you will be able to self-certify that the vehicle is out of state and will be permitted to register.

You may renew your registration using self-certification online, by mail or in-person. Please contact your county tax office for more information about their requirements for out-of-state registration renewal.

If you renew your registration using the out-of-state self-certification option, a remark will be placed on your vehicle record indicating that an inspection is still due. Once you return to Texas, you must complete a vehicle inspection within three days of your arrival at your home, duty station or destination. It is very important that you keep the Vehicle Inspection Report issued after completing your inspection in case you are stopped by law enforcement before the remark is removed from your vehicle record, which takes about 48 hours. The remark will only be removed upon payment of the state's portion of the inspection fee and verification of a current, passing inspection.

Be sure to change the address at TxDMV for your registration to make sure there is no time delay. Thanks for visiting and thank you for serving our country.

Military
License Plates

DV BronzeStar

Are you or were you in the military? A disabled veteran? In the Texas Guard?

View license plates made just for you.

Thank you for your service.

 

The emblem art featured on Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ military license plates is sourced from Medals of America; www.medalsofamerica.com.

Military License Plate Brochure

Military DV License Plate Brochure

Military Specialty Plates Catalogue

 

 

International Symbol of Access (ISA)

If you’re a disabled veteran, you may have the International Symbol of Access (ISA) displayed on your military license plates; or choose to receive a disabled person placard for each vehicle with a Disabled Veteran plate. To do so, please complete and submit Form VTR-615 Application for Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards to obtain your disabled license plates or placards.
Note: the Disabled Veteran plates can no longer include both the ISA symbol and an emblem.

VTR-615 Application for Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards

Replacement Plates

If you order new military plates with a new design or an ISA to replace your existing military plates, a new plate number will be assigned. Disabled Veteran plate numbers will not change if an emblem or an ISA is added. When you receive your new plates, please surrender the old ones to your county tax assessor-collector so they may be destroyed or recycled.

Transfer of Plates

You may transfer your military plate to a new vehicle, but remember to inform your car dealer and/or county tax assessor-collector, so your vehicle’s registration record can be updated. You may be asked to clarify if the plate number is the designated “first set” or an additional set of plates, as registration fees differ.

Surviving Spouses

If you are a surviving spouse of a veteran, you may retain your spouse’s military plate unless it is a Disabled Veteran plate. You may also apply for a Surviving Spouse plate of your own. If you are the surviving spouse of a disabled veteran, you must pay $3 for the first set of plates. Additional sets are free, but annual registration fees and any additional fees will apply. If you would like an ISA displayed on your disabled surviving spouse license plate, you must provide proof of your disabled status by completing form VTR-214 Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate.

VTR-425 Surviving Spouse of a Veteran

VTR-214 Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate

Gold Star

If you are an immediate family member (defined as a parent, child, sibling, or spouse) of a person who died while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces, you may order a Gold Star license plate. Only one set of Gold Star plates may be issued per person.

VTR-423 Application for Gold Star License Plates

Parking Privileges and Fee Exemptions for Vehicles with Military License Plates

State law (Texas Transportation Code Section 681.008) allows for a vehicle with Disabled Veteran plates that is being operated by or for the disabled veteran to use any parking space or area that is designated specifically for persons with physical disabilities. It also allows for vehicles that display the following license plates to park free of charge at a parking meter operated by a governmental authority other than the federal government (in alphabetical order):

  • (Congressional) Medal of Honor
  • Air Force Cross Medal
  • Air and Air with Valor Medals
  • Airman's Medal
  • Army Distinguished Service Cross Medal
  • Bronze Star and Bronze Star with Valor Medals
  • Coast Guard Medal
  • Defense Meritorious Service Medal
  • Defense Superior Service Medal
  • Disabled Veteran
  • Distinguished Flying Cross Medal
  • Distinguished Service Medal
  • Legion of Merit Medal
  • Meritorious Service Medal
  • Navy and Marine Corps Medal
  • Navy Cross Medal
  • Pearl Harbor Survivor
  • Prisoner of War Medal
  • Purple Heart Medal
  • Silver Star Medal
  • Soldier's Medal
  • World War II

 

You should not assume all local and state parking will be free. Please be aware that some private and local government parking garages (for example, airports) are bound by local ordinances, and may not exempt parking fees in some situations. Some federal facilities require an ISA either on the plates or a disabled person placard be displayed.

Please call us at (512) 374-5010 if you have questions about military license plates.

 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Licensing Requirements

Motor Vehicle Dealer Licensing Requirements

In Texas anyone acting as a motor vehicle dealer (buying, selling, or exchanging motor vehicles, directly or indirectly, including by consignment) must be licensed by the TxDMV Motor Vehicle Division. For more information about dealer licensing, please visit our page.

Military benefits for Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses are extended to those applying for new or currently licensed as a dealer, converter, manufacturer, representative, lessor, lease-facilitator, or in-transit licensee. If you are current or former military, you may qualify for a reduction in fees, expedited processing, or a waiver of requirements. The table below outlines the qualifications necessary to receive these benefits.

Definitions:

Military Service Member – a current full time active duty member of the United State armed forces or an active duty member of the Texas military forces.

Military Spouse - a person who is married to a military service member.

Military Veteran – a person who has served on active duty as a Military Service Member and who was discharged or released from active duty.

If Your Status Is... Military Service Member (with or without another dealer license or previous Texas dealer license) Military Service Member, Military Spouse, or Military Veteran AND licensed as a dealer in another state Military Service Member, Military Spouse, or Military Veteran AND licensed as a Texas dealer in the last five years
What we offer you:
  • Waiver of late fees for renewals
  • 2-year extension on renewal deadlines
  • Expedited processing
  • Initial license application fee waived
  • **Eligible for discretionary waiver of application prerequisites
  • Expedited processing
  • **Eligible for discretionary waiver of application prerequisites

**If you feel you have special circumstances that are not listed, you may be eligible for a waiver of application prerequisites. Contact us at (888) 368-4689 for assistance on how to apply or provide documentation.

Refer to Occupations Code Chapter 55 for details on licensing benefits for military service members, military veterans, and military spouses.

More Information

VeteransPortal

The Texas Veterans Portal is a resource for veterans, their families, and their survivors. It is a compilation of key information from many government agencies to help you find the assistance, services, and benefits you need.

 

Photo Identification Requirements for Vehicle Title Application

When you purchase a vehicle in Texas, you must show the proper photo identification to obtain a title and registration. A list of acceptable identification documents can be found under the Forms of Identification tab.

The vehicle will be titled in the legal name shown on your photo identification.

Identification Requirements

Individuals

If purchasing a vehicle from a dealer, provide the dealer with your identification.

If purchasing a vehicle from an individual, bring your identification document and all other required application forms and fees with you to your county office when applying for your new title.

If you plan to title the vehicle in more than one name, it is only necessary for one of the owners to provide the proper form of identification.

Businesses and Organizations

Additional identification rules apply for titling a vehicle in the name of a business or organization.

Employees authorized to title a vehicle for leasing companies, government entities, organizations and private businesses must provide the following in addition to one of the acceptable forms of identification listed under the Forms of Identification tab:

  • A letter of authorization on the employer’s official letterhead, or
  • An official business card with the employer and employee’s name

Power of Attorney

If you are applying for a title on behalf of another person, you will need to have a Power of Attorney along with all the documents below:

  • Identification matching the person or employee of the entity named as power of attorney, and
  • Identification of the owner or lienholder.

If you are applying for a title on behalf of another company, you will need to have a Power of Attorney along with an official business card or letter of authorization on company letterhead that matches the identification of the employee.

Trusts

If applying for a title in the name of a trust, the identification of the trustee must be presented.

Forms of Identification

  • A driver's license or state identification certificate issued by a state or territory of the United States.
  • United States or foreign passport.
  • U.S. military identification card.
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security identification document.
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services identification document.
  • U.S. Department of State identification document.
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) identification.
  • Identification issued under a Status of Forces Agreement.

The acceptable identification documents listed above must include:

  • a photo of the applicant;
  • a unique identification number; and,
  • an expiration date.

Note: “Current" is defined as not expired more than twelve months from the expiration date of the identification document for title and registration applications.

More Information

For more information about the process and documentation for buying or selling a vehicle, please visit our page.

Buying or Selling a Vehicle

 

 

Form Submission Complete

Thank You

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles appreciates your submission.

Return to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Home Page.

Forms

 

Most
Requested

Form # Title
14-317 Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer (Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Form)
VTR-34 Application for Certified Copy of Title
VTR-54 Antique Vehicle
VTR-60 Application for Replacement License Plate(s), and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker
Form 130-U Application for Texas Title and/or Registration
VTR-130-UIF Detailed Instructions for Application for Texas Title and/or Registration
VTR-130-SOF Bonded Title Application or Tax Collector Hearing Statement of Fact
VTR-146 Change of Address for Texas Vehicle Registration
VTR-214 Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate
VTR-262 Affidavit of Heirship for a Motor Vehicle
VTR-270 Vehicle Identification Number Certification
VTR-275 Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information
VTR-346 Texas Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification
VTR-420 Application for Military Veteran License Plates
VTR-424 Application for Armed Forces, Coast Guard & Civil Air Patrol License Plates
VTR-615 Application for Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards
VTR-615-I Instructions for Application for Military Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards

Title &
Registration

Form # Title
VTR-34 Application for Certified Copy of Title
VTR-34-S Application for a Certified Copy of a Texas Nonrepairable or Salvage Vehicle Title
VTR-45 Application for Soil Conservation Vehicles
VTR-50-A Application for Registration Fee Credit
VTR-52-A Application for Farm Trailer/Semitrailer, Farm Truck, or Farm Truck Tractor License Plates
VTR-52-B Application for Movement of Agricultural Products By a Nonresident
VTR-60 Application for Replacement License Plate(s), and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker
VTR-61 Rebuilt Vehicle Statement
VTR-63 Component Part(s) Bill of Sale
VTR-64 ASE Safety Inspection for Assembled Vehicles
VTR-67 Application for a Permit License Plate for Oil Well Unit/Mobile Crane
VTR-70 Junked Vehicle Purchased at a Foreclosure Sale
VTR-71-2 Application for Authority to Dispose of a Motor Vehicle to a Demolisher
VTR-71-2X Application for Authority to Dispose of a Motor Vehicle to a Demolisher
VTR-71-4 Application for Certificate of Authority to Dispose of an Abated Public Nuisance Vehicle
VTR-71-6 Application for Authority to Dispose of an Abandoned Nuisance Vehicle to a Demolisher
VTR-76 Application for Disaster Relief Vehicle License Plates
VTR-77 Application for the Registration of Water Well Drilling or Construction Machinery (Non-titled Vehicle)
VTR-122 Rights of Survivorship Ownership Agreement for a Motor Vehicle
VTR-125 Motor Vehicle Appraisal for Tax Collector Hearing / Bonded Title
Form 130-U Application for Texas Title and/or Registration
VTR-130-UIF Detailed Instructions for Application for Texas Title and/or Registration
VTR-130-SOF Bonded Title Application or Tax Collector Hearing Statement of Fact
VTR-136 County of Title Issuance / Condado de Expedicion de Titulo
VTR-141 Trailer Verification Statement of Fact
VTR-146 Change of Address for Texas Vehicle Registration
VTR-203 Salvage Vehicle Dealer Bill of Sale for a Junk Motor Vehicle
VTR-207 Inventory of Component Parts Purchased/Affidavit Bill of Sale
VTR-214 Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate
VTR-225 Logging Truck Affidavit
VTR-249 Standard Abbreviations for Vehicle Makes and Body Styles
VTR-262 Affidavit of Heirship for a Motor Vehicle
VTR-264 Repossessed Motor Vehicle Affidavit
VTR-265-FM Franchise Mechanic's Lien Foreclosure
VTR-265-L Landlord’s Lien Foreclosure
VTR-265-M Mechanic's Lien Foreclosure
VTR-265-S Storage Lien Foreclosure
VTR-265-SSF Self-Service Storage Facility Lien Foreclosure
VTR-265-VSF License Vehicle Storage Facility Lien Foreclosure
VTR-266 Prescribed Form for Release of Lien
VTR-267 Additional Liens Statement
VTR-270 Vehicle Identification Number Certification
VTR-271 Limited Power of Attorney for Eligible Motor Vehicle Transactions
VTR-275 Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information
VTR-331-INS Insurance Company Statement of Fact
VTR-331-SPO Salvage Pool Operator Statement of Fact
VTR-340 Surrendered Ownership Evidence for Vehicles to be Dismantled, Scrapped, or Destroyed
VTR-340-M Surrendered Ownership Evidence for Vehicles Permanently Destroyed
VTR-346 Texas Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification
VTR-386 Authorization for Release of Personal Information
VTR-436 Owner Retained Report
VTR-441 Application for Salvage or Nonrepairable Vehicle Title
VTR-626 Application for Seasonal Agricultural Registration
VTR-852 ASE Safety Inspection and Application for Custom Vehicle or Street Rod License Plates
VTR-901 Purchaser’s Certification of Export-Only Sale
VTR-901-A Annual Purchaser’s Certification of Export-Only Sale
VTR-902 For Export-Only Sales Record
VTR-903 Casual Sales Record

License
Plates

Form # Title
VTR-52-A Application for Farm Trailer/Semitrailer, Farm Truck, or Farm Truck Tractor License Plates
VTR-52-F Fertilizer Truck
VTR-53 Mobile Amateur Radio Operator
VTR-54 Antique Vehicle
VTR-60 Application for Replacement License Plate(s), and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker
VTR-62-A Application for Standard Texas Exempt License Plates
VTR-62-BUS Public School Transportation Services Verification
VTR-62-E Exempt Vehicle Affidavit Driver Education
VTR-62-EMS Application for Exempt Registration for an Emergency Medical Services Vehicle
VTR-62-F Application for Exempt Registration of Certain Rescue Vehicles
VTR-62-L Leased Vehicle Affidavit
VTR-65 Application for Honorary Consul License Plates
VTR-67 Application for Permit License Plates
VTR-119 Affidavit for Regular License Plates Used on Exempt Vehicles
VTR-135 Former Military Vehicle License Plates
VTR-139 Application for Texas Guard License Plates
VTR-209 Log Loader
VTR-211 Forestry Vehicle
VTR-215 Application for Deaf Driver Awareness Specialty License Plate
VTR-228 Colleges and Universities
VTR-229 Out of State Alumni Organization
VTR-310 Professional Firefighter
VTR-311 Certified Firefighter (Volunteer)
VTR-312 Emergency Medical Services Personnel
VTR-367 Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo
VTR-406 Peace Officer
VTR-415 Application for Organizational Membership License Plates
VTR-420 Application for Military Veteran License Plates
VTR-420-UT Transfer of Military Specialty License Plates
VTR-421 Application for Military Meritorious Service License Plates
VTR-422 Application for Military Recognition License Plates
VTR-423 Application for Gold Star License Plates
VTR-424 Application for Armed Forces, Coast Guard & Civil Air Patrol License Plates
VTR-425 Surviving Spouse of a Veteran
VTR-426 Texas Constable
VTR-615 Application for Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards
VTR-615-I Instructions for Application for Military Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards
VTR-810 Application for Texas Agricultural (Go Texan) License Plates
VTR-815 Cotton Vehicle
VTR-850 Classic
VTR-852 ASE Safety Inspection and Application for Custom Vehicle or Street Rod License Plates
VTR-900 Auction License Plate Number Transfer
VTR-950 Application for Organizational Specialty License Plates (With or Without a Nominating State Agency)
VTR-996 Application for Trailer Specialty License Plate
VTR-998 Souvenir License Plate Order Form
VTR-999 Application for Specialty License Plates

Consumer
Protection

Form # Title
ENF-C1 Motor Vehicle Dealer Complaint Form
ENF-HHG-CC1 Household Goods Mover Complaint Form
ENF-HHG-MR1 Household Goods Mover Mediation Request Form
ENF-140 Lemon Law Complaint Form

 

Subcategories

phone-motorist

phone-dealers

phone-mc

Featured Program

Moving Month

SPV Calculator

SPV info

Calculate the standard presumptive value of your vehicle.

 

Calendar

August
S M T W T F S
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Copyright © 2017 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731