skip to main content

title checkwebDealerspecialty platesContinuing Education Credits
Learning Center

Annual Ready-Mixed Concrete Truck Permit

RMCTpermitTxDMV issues annual permits to ready-mixed concrete trucks operating on three axles. Trucks may exceed the allowable axle weights by a tolerance of 10 percent provided the gross weight does not exceed 69,000 pounds (maximum single-axle weight of 25,300 pounds and tandem-axle weight of 50,600 pounds). This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date.

Trucks may not exceed Texas legal size limits.

Note: Unless otherwise provided by state or federal law, a vehicle moving with this permit may operate on a state, county, or municipal road, including a load-zoned county road or a frontage road adjacent to a federal interstate highway, if the vehicle displays the permit windshield sticker and does not exceed the maximum gross weight.

How to Apply

txprosApply online
through TxPROS

 

You may also download and submit Form 1755, Annual Ready-Mixed Concrete Truck Permit Application by fax to (512) 302-2154 or by mail to the address listed on the application form.

Payment information must be provided with the permit application.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

Form 1755, Annual Ready-Mixed Concrete Truck Permit Application

Note: Permit stickers will not be available on November 1, 2013. Until stickers are available, a paper copy of the permit will show proof of permit compliance. When stickers are available they will be mailed to you.

 

Operating Authority
Requirements

This permit does not require proof of operating authority.

Fees & Payment
Information

Fees
The annual permit fee is $1,000.

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Permit Account Card (PAC) or FirstPay Account established through Frost Bank San Antonio
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (for mail applications only)

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct an error made by the Motor Carrier Division.

Escrow Accounts

Permit Movement
Conditions & Curfews

  1. It is expressly understood that the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) shall not be responsible in any way for any damage of whatever nature that may result from the movement of the described vehicle and load over Texas roads or highways. By issuing this permit, TxDMV does not guarantee that the road or highway can safely accommodate such movement.
  2. This overweight permit is issued on the condition that the permittee will comply with all laws and rules relating to the movement of overweight vehicles and/or equipment on Texas roads and highways.
  3. This permit authorizes the described three-axle ready-mixed concrete truck to exceed the maximum single-axle or tandem-axle weight limitation in Transportation Code, Section 622.012(a) by up to 10 percent, provided the gross weight of the ready-mixed concrete truck does not exceed 69,000 pounds.
  4. This permit does not authorize the vehicle to exceed the manufacturer’s tire load rating, according to 49 C.F.R. 393.75(f).
  5. This permit authorizes the operator of the described ready-mixed concrete truck to travel through any state road or highway construction or maintenance area, provided the size and weight of the vehicle do not exceed the construction restrictions available on the TxDMV website, www.TxDMV.gov. The permittee is responsible for contacting the appropriate local jurisdiction for construction restrictions on non-state maintained roadways.
  6. Movement of a permitted vehicle is prohibited when the road surface is hazardous due to rain, ice, sleet, snow, wind, or highway maintenance or construction work (see statement #5), or when visibility is less than 2/10 of one mile.
  7. It is the responsibility of the permittee to clear any overhead obstructions or utility lines. In addition, all utility companies or other entities must be contacted in advance, as required by the utility or entity, to assist in clearing the obstruction.
  8. Loads must use designated truck routes in the cities of Andrews, Crane & Kermit.
  9. Every vehicle that is issued an Annual Ready-Mixed Concrete Truck Permit will be issued a sticker to be placed on the front windshield of the vehicle. The sticker must be removed from the vehicle when the permit expires, when the lease of the vehicle expires, or when the vehicle is sold. This permit is not valid without the window sticker.
  10. Unless otherwise provided by state or federal law, a ready-mixed concrete truck may operate on a state, county, or municipal road, including a load-zoned county road or a frontage road adjacent to a federal interstate highway, if the ready-mixed concrete truck displays a sticker required by Transportation Code, Section 623.0171(e) and does not exceed the maximum gross weight authorized under Transportation Code, Section 622.012.
  11. Unless otherwise provided by state or federal law, a county or municipality may not require a permit, fee, or license for the operation of a ready-mixed concrete truck in addition to a permit, fee, or license required by state law.
  12. Use caution at all railroad crossings. Railroad crossing hotline: 1-888-877-7267.

The below are curfew restrictions as of November 1, 2013.

City or County Curfew Movement Restriction Time Days
Bandera: SH16 No permit loads from 1/2 mile south of SH173 to 3/4 mile north of SH173 (Sept. - May) 7-9 a.m. & 3-5 p.m. M-F
Bandera: SH173 No permit loads from FM3240 to FM1077 (Sept. - May) 7-9 a.m. & 3-5 p.m. M-F
Carrizo Springs: FM1556 No permit loads from US83 to SH85 (Sept. - May) 3-4 p.m. M-F
Forney: FM740 No permit loads from IH20 to US80) 7-9:30 a.m. & 2-4:30 p.m. M-F
Kerrville: SH27 No permit loads from FM783 to LP534 7-8:15 a.m., 11:30 a.m.-1:15 p.m., 3:30-5:30 p.m. M-F
Kerrville: SH16 No permit loads from SH27 to LP534 7-8:15 a.m., 11:30 a.m.-1:15 p.m., 3:30-5:30 p.m. M-F
McLennan County: IH35 Frontage Roads No permit loads from FM308 to N.BU77 in Waco 7-8 a.m. M-F
Rocksprings: US377/SH55 No permit loads from west junction of US377and SH55 to east junction of US377 and SH55 7-9 a.m., 12-1 p.m., & 3-4 p.m. S-S
Whitehouse: SH110 No permit loads (Aug. 15 - June 5) 7-8:30 a.m. & 2-3:30 p.m. M-F

Annual Timber Permit

timber-haulTxDMV issues annual timber permits for the movement of unrefined timber, wood chips and woody biomass. Vehicles may have up to 44,000 pounds on a tandem axle; the gross weight of the vehicle may not exceed 84,000 pounds. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date.

Trucks may not exceed Texas legal size limits.

Note: Vehicles moving under this permit may travel on county roads and state-maintained roadways, excluding the Interstate Highway System, in timber harvest counties* selected on the permit application.
*Applicant may only select from counties named in the most recent Texas A&M Forest Service’s Harvest Trend Report.

Notification required: At least two business days prior to movement, carrier must electronically notify TxDOT and affected counties of the address or geographical area that the carrier intends to operate, including the name or number of each county or state road and the dates or duration of movement. Electronic notification is made through the TxDMV website.

Timber Permit County Notification

You may not operate your vehicle on a load-posted bridge or road if the gross weight of the vehicle and load, or the axles and wheel loads, are greater than the established and posted limits.

How to Apply

txprosApply online
through TxPROS

 

You may also download and submit Form 1756, Annual Timber Permit Application, by fax to (512) 302-2154 or by mail to the address listed on the application form.

Payment information must be provided with the permit application.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

Form 1756, Annual Timber Permit Application

Note: Permit stickers will not be available on November 1, 2013. Until stickers are available, a paper copy of the permit will show proof of permit compliance. When stickers are available they will be mailed to you.

 

Operating Authority
Requirements

Prior to being issued a permit, you must have an Annual Timber Permit Bond in the amount of $15,000 or an Irrevocable Letter of Credit on file with TxDMV.

An original copy of the bond must be on file with TxDMV. An electronic copy will not be accepted.

Timber Bond Form

Irrevocable Letter of Credit

Fees & Payment
Information

Fees
The annual permit fee is $1500.

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Permit Account Card (PAC) or FirstPay Account established through Frost Bank San Antonio
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (for mail applications only)

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct an error made by the Motor Carrier Division.

Escrow Accounts

Permit Movement
Conditions & Curfews

  1. It is expressly understood that the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) shall not be responsible in any way for any damage of whatever nature that may result from the movement of the described vehicle and load over Texas roads or highways. By issuing this permit, TxDMV does not guarantee that the road or highway can safely accommodate such movement.
  2. This overweight permit is issued on the condition that the permittee will comply with all laws and rules relating to the movement of overweight vehicles and/or equipment on Texas roads and highways.
  3. This permit authorizes the described vehicle/vehicle combination to operate at a gross weight of up to 84,000 pounds, provided the tandem axle weight of the vehicle/vehicle combination does not exceed 44,000 pounds.
  4. This permit does not authorize the vehicle to exceed the manufacturer’s tire load rating. See 49 C.F.R. 393.75(f).
  5. This permit authorizes the operator of the described vehicle/vehicle combination to travel through any state road or highway construction or maintenance area, provided the size and weight of the vehicle do not exceed the construction restrictions. The permittee is responsible for contacting the appropriate local jurisdiction for construction restrictions on roadways that are not maintained by the state.
  6. Movement of a permitted vehicle is prohibited when the road surface is hazardous due to rain, ice, sleet, snow, wind, or highway maintenance or construction work (see statement #5), or when visibility is less than 2/10 of one mile.
  7. It is the responsibility of the permittee to clear any overhead obstruction or utility line. In addition, all utility companies or other entities must be contacted in advance, as required by the utility or entity, to assist in clearing the obstruction.
  8. Every vehicle that is issued an Annual Timber Permit will be issued a sticker to be placed on the front windshield of the vehicle.
  9. A vehicle operating with this permit and displaying a sticker may operate on a road maintained by a county and on a state highway in counties where the county and TxDOT have been notified by the financially responsible party in accordance with Texas Transportation Code, Section 623.323. Notification is not required if movement is from a storage yard to the place of first processing or from out-of-state to the place of first processing within Texas. The notification tool can be found on the Annual Timber Permit page.
  10. Travel is prohibited on the Interstate and Defense Highway System and on load-restricted bridges and load-zoned roads and highways when exceeding posted limits.
  11. Use caution at all railroad crossings. Railroad crossing hotline: 1-888-877-7267.

Below are curfew restrictions as of November 1, 2013.

City or County Curfew Movement Restriction Time Days
Whitehouse: SH110 No permit loads (Aug. 15 - June 5) 7-8:30 a.m. & 2-3:30 p.m. M-F

Annual Utility Pole Permits

UtilityPoleTxDMV issues annual utility pole permits for vehicles used exclusively for the transportation of poles required for the maintenance of electric power transmission and distribution of lines. Maximum vehicle dimensions may be up to 75' long and may not exceed other Texas legal size and weight limits.

 

Texas Size and Weight Limits

How to Apply

txprosApply online
through TxPROS

 

You may also:

  • Download and submit Form 302a, Application/Renewal for Time Permits by fax to (512) 465-3585 or by mail to the address listed on the application form, or
  • Call (800) 299-1700

Payment information must be provided with the permit application.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

302a Application/Renewal for Specific Time Permits

Operating Authority
Requirements

Prior to being issued a permit, you must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not required to have TxDMV MCR or UCR, you must have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV.

TxDMV Number

Unified Carrier Registration

Permit Surety Bonds

Fees & Payment
Information

The annual permit fee is $120.
Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Permit Account Card (PAC) or FirstPay Account established through Frost Bank San Antonio
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Cash (MUST be delivered to a TxDMV Regional Service Center)

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct an error made by the Motor Carrier Division.

Escrow Accounts

Additional Requirements

The following lighting must be displayed at all times:

  • two red lamps visible at a distance of at least 500 feet from the rear
  • two red reflectors that indicate the maximum width and are visible, when light is insufficient or atmospheric conditions are unfavorable, at all distances from 100 to 600 feet from the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of light
  • two red lamps, one on each side, that indicate the maximum overhang and are visible at a distance of at least 500 feet from the side

You are responsible for routing and obtaining current restrictions and information concerning hazardous weather-related road conditions prior to movement. Active time permit holders may use TxPROS to generate free routes for loads moving under their time permit.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

More Information

  • Night movement will be allowed for emergency movement by utility companies only to restore power. A rear escort is required for emergency night movement by utility companies.
  • Review your permit for specific curfews and conditions that apply to your load and movement.

Annual Water Well Drilling Machinery and Equipment Permits

water-well-drillingTxDMV issues an annual permit for the movement of water well drilling machinery and related equipment that cannot be reasonably dismantled. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date.

Oversize or overweight water well drilling machinery and equipment operating under this permit may not exceed:

  • Maximum Width - 16'
  • Maximum Height – 14'6"
  • Maximum Length - 110'
  • Maximum Weight – maximum allowable permit weights

Note: Machinery and equipment moving under this permit may only travel on the state highway system.

Texas Size and Weight Limits

How to Apply

txprosApply online
through TxPROS

 

You may also:

  • Download and submit Form 302, Application/Renewal for Time Permits by fax to (512) 465-3585 or by mail to the address listed on the application form, or
  • Call (800) 299-1700

Payment information must be provided with the permit application.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

302 Application/Renewal for Annual Permits

Operating Authority
Requirements

Prior to being issued a permit, you must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not required to have TxDMV MCR or UCR, you must have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV.

TxDMV Number

Unified Carrier Registration

Permit Surety Bonds

Fees & Payment
Information

The annual permit fee is $270.
In addition to the permit fee, a highway maintenance fee is required for loads exceeding 80,000 pounds. Highway maintenance fees are listed in the table below: 

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee
80,001 - 120,000 $150 $270 $420
120,001 - 160,000 $225 $270 $495
160,001 - 200,000 $300 $270 $570
200,001 - above* $375 $270 $645

*Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 200,000 pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing. A vehicle supervision fee will be charged, in addition to the permit fee and highway maintenance fee, for loads exceeding 200,000 pounds.
Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Permit Account Card (PAC) or FirstPay Account established through Frost Bank San Antonio
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Cash (MUST be delivered to a TxDMV Regional Service Center)

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct an error made by the Motor Carrier Division.

Escrow Accounts

Additional Requirements

You are responsible for routing and obtaining current restrictions and information concerning hazardous weather-related road conditions prior to movement. Active time permit holders may use TxPROS to generate free routes for loads moving under their time permit.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

More Information

  • General escort and equipment requirements apply to both permitted vehicles and escort vehicles.
  • A permit may not be transferred between vehicles or permittees.
  • Review your permit for specific curfews and conditions that apply to your load and movement.

Escort and Equipment Requirements

Annual Rig-Up Truck Permits

rig-up-truckTxDMV issues an annual permit for the movement of rig-up trucks on state-maintained roads. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date.

 

Units operating under this permit may not exceed:

  • Height – Legal
  • Length - Legal
  • Weight – 25,000 pounds or 850 pounds per inch of tire width on the steer axle(s), whichever is less. All other axles must be legal weight. 

Texas Size and Weight Limits

How to Apply

txprosApply online
through TxPROS

 

You may also:

  • Download and submit Form 302, Application/Renewal for Time Permits by fax to (512) 465-3585 or by mail to the address listed on the application form, or
  • Call (800) 299-1700

Payment information must be provided with the permit application.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

302 Application/Renewal for Annual Permits

Operating Authority
Requirements

Prior to permit issuance, you must have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV.

Permit Surety Bonds

Fees & Payment
Information

Fees

The annual permit fee is $52.
Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (a service charge of 25 cents plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Permit Account Card (PAC) or FirstPay Account established through Frost Bank San Antonio
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Cash (MUST be delivered to a TxDMV Regional Service Center)

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct an error made by the Motor Carrier Division.

Escrow Accounts

Additional Requirements

  • The unit may not haul a load.
  • You are responsible for routing and obtaining current restrictions and information concerning hazardous weather-related road conditions prior to movement. Active time permit holders may use TxPROS to generate free routes for loads moving under their time permit.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

More Information

  • General escort and equipment requirements apply to both permitted and escort vehicles.
  • Night movement is allowed provided the width does not exceed nine feet.
  • Permit may not be amended.
  • Review your permit for specific curfews and conditions that apply to your load and movement.

Escort and Equipment Requirements

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731