skip to main content

Temporary Permits

TxDMV issues temporary permits for private or commercial vehicles subject to Texas registration laws, but not authorized to travel on Texas highways due to the lack of registration or lack of reciprocity with the state or country in which the vehicle is registered.

TxDMV offers the following temporary permit types:

  • temp-permits72-Hour, 144-Hour, One-Trip and 30-Day Permits
    Coming Soon!


  • vehicle-transitTransit Permit - if you buy a car or truck and the seller keeps the Texas license plates, the Transit Permit allows you to legally drive the vehicle home or to your local county tax office.

72 & 144-Hour Permits

TxDMV issues a 72- or 144-Hour Permit for the movement of a laden truck, truck-tractor, trailer, semitrailer, or a motor bus on the highways of Texas.

Purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit

You may purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit in the following ways:

Fees and Payment Information
  • 72-Hour Permit - $25
  • 144-Hour Permit - $50

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express if purchasing the permit online or at a county tax office that accepts them. A service charge may be included.
  • Certified check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Cash

Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.

You may purchase permits in advance of a proposed trip and several permits may be obtained at one time with the times of validity to run in chain-like fashion, having one permit become effective immediately upon the expiration of the preceding one.

Eligible Use

A 72-or 144-Hour Permit may only be issued to commercial vehicles and buses owned by residents of the United States, Mexico, or Canada.

These permits may be used to:

  • Operate an unregistered commercial vehicle or bus in Texas.
  • Engage in intrastate operations in Texas with out-of-state licensed commercial vehicles.

Texas residents may use these permits to operate:

  • An unregistered commercial vehicle or bus in Texas.
  • A Texas registered commercial vehicle with a heavier gross weight than registered. The heavier load may operate for only the period that the permit is valid, unless the owner purchases additional permits.
  • A vehicle registered with either Farm or Soil Conservation license plates when the vehicle is operating over the maximum weight allowed by law.

icon importantTimed Permits may not be issued to:

  • Any vehicle that has been issued a salvage or nonrepairable certificate of title
  • Any vehicle that has been apprehended

Vehicles operating with a 72- or 144-Hour Permit may operate at the maximum weight allowed under Texas registration laws.

A 72- or 144-Hour Permit is valid only in Texas.

Insurance Requirements

Applicants must show proof of liability insurance that meets the Texas minimum liability limits of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Insurance is not required for trailers and semitrailers. An insurance company authorized to write insurance in Texas must provide the coverage.

Vehicle Inspection

A vehicle displaying a 72- or 144-Hour Permit must pass the Texas Safety Inspection prior to being operated on the highways. If the vehicle displays current out-of-state license plates or the vehicle is mobile drilling or servicing equipment used in the production of gas or crude petroleum oil, a Texas Safety Inspection is not required.

Vehicles Registered in Combination

The following instructions apply when 72- or 144-Hour Permits are issued to trucks or truck-tractors with a gross weight in excess of 10,000 lbs. and semitrailers with gross weights in excess of 6,000 lbs. and the combined gross weight is greater than 18,000 lbs.:

  • A truck or truck-tractor displaying a 72- or 144-Hour Permit may not pull a semitrailer displaying a Token Trailer license plate. Token Trailer license plates are valid only when displayed on semitrailers pulled by vehicles registered with Combination, Forestry, Apportioned, or Seasonal Permit license plates for the combined gross weight of all the vehicles used in the combination. Therefore, if a pulling unit displays such a permit, each semitrailer operated in combination must also display a permit or trailer registration.
  • If a truck or truck-tractor displaying a Combination license plate pulls a semitrailer displaying a 72- or 144-Hour Permit, the pulling unit should be registered for the combined gross weight of all the vehicles in the combination. If the vehicle is not registered for a sufficient combined gross weight then the owner may increase the weight at the county, or may purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit for the pulling unit. The permit qualifies the combination for the maximum gross weight permitted under the registration laws.
  • A vehicle displaying Truck license plates cannot legally pull a semitrailer displaying a Token Trailer license plate. The semitrailer would need to display a 72- or 144-Hour Permit. This allows the owner to legally operate the combination without exchanging registration.
  • An out-of-state licensed power unit can legally pull a semitrailer displaying a Texas Token Trailer license plate. The power unit must be registered for a combined gross weight of the truck, trailer, and the load. The out-of-state vehicle must display a 72- or 144-Hour Permit on the pulling unit.
  • A properly licensed out-of-state power unit operating in Texas under the International Registration Plan may operate interstate or intrastate in Texas while pulling a semitrailer displaying a Texas Token Trailer license plate or a 72- or 144-Hour Permit. The out-of-state power unit must be registered for the combined gross weight of the truck, trailer, and the load.

One-Trip Permit

TxDMV issues a One-Trip Permit for the temporary movement of an unladen vehicle subject to Texas registration laws. A One-Trip Permit is valid for a period of 15 days from the effective date.

A One-Trip Permit is valid for one trip only between the point of origin and the point of destination and the intermediate point as shown on the receipt.

Purchase a One-Trip Permit

You may purchase a One-Trip Permit in the following ways:

Fee and Payment Information

A One-Trip Permit costs $5 and may be purchased prior to its effective date.

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express if purchasing the permit online or at a county tax office that accepts them. A service charge may be included.
  • Certified check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Cash

Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.

Eligible Use

One-Trip Permits may be issued for:

Vehicle or Trip Type Conditions
A bus for the transit of the vehicle only  The vehicle shall not at the time of transit be used for the transportation of property or passengers, unless it is operated for charter from another state
A charter bus from another state or country May carry property and passengers
A private bus May carry property and passengers
A commercial vehicle with a camper unit mounted thereon The camper unit may be of the permanent or slide-in type
A commercial vehicle that is not transporting any passengers or property Vehicle must be empty
A passenger car May carry property and passengers
An unladen truck or truck-tractor operating in combination with an unladen trailer or semitrailer If both vehicles are unregistered, two permits must be issued, one for each unit
Park Model trailers A house trailer-type vehicle that is 400 square feet or less measured at the largest horizontal projections
A motorcycle  
A trip in which the point of origin or the point of destination is in the State of Texas  

icon importantOne-Trip Permits may not be issued for:

  • Manufactured housing - A house trailer-type device that is 8 body feet or more in width or 40 body feet or more in length.
  • A charter bus based in Texas that is transporting passengers.
  • A commercial vehicle that is transporting the owner's household goods.
  • A boat trailer that is carrying a boat.
  • A laden luggage trailer or laden utility trailer.
  • A vehicle carrying a fixed load regardless of whether the vehicle is conventional or unconventional.
  • A vehicle that has been apprehended for operating unregistered.
  • A junked, salvage, or nonrepairable vehicle.
  • A trip that originates and terminates outside Texas.
Insurance Requirements

Applicants must show proof of liability insurance that meets the Texas minimum liability limits of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Insurance is not required for trailers and semitrailers. An insurance company authorized to write insurance in Texas must provide the coverage.

Vehicle Inspection

A vehicle displaying a current One-Trip Permit is exempt from displaying a current Texas Safety Inspection.

Permit Display

The permit must be displayed in the rear window of the vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a rear window, the operator must carry the permit and receipt in the vehicle any time the vehicle is in-transit.

30-Day Permit

TxDMV issues a 30-Day Permit for the temporary movement of a vehicle subject to Texas registration laws. A 30-Day Permit is valid for a period of 30 days from the effective date reflected on the permit.

No more than three 30-Day Permits will be issued per vehicle.

Purchase a 30-Day Permit

You may purchase a 30-Day Permit in the following ways:

Fee and Payment Information

A 30-Day Permit costs $25 and may be purchased prior to its effective date.

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express if purchasing the permit online or at a county tax office that accepts them. A service charge may be included.
  • Certified check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • Cash

Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.

Eligible Use

The permit is available for passenger vehicles, motorcycles, private buses, trailers, and semitrailers with a gross weight not exceeding 10,000 lbs., and for light commercial vehicles not exceeding a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 lbs. A commercial vehicle exceeding a gross weight of 10,000 lbs. is eligible for the permit if operating unladen.

icon important30-Day Permits may not be issued for:

  • Vehicles that have been apprehended in Texas for operating unregistered or with expired license plates. In such instances, the owner must purchase registration and pay a penalty equal to 20% of the applicable fee.
  • Junked, salvage, or nonrepairable vehicles.
  • A vehicle that has been apprehended for operating unregistered.
Insurance Requirements

Applicants must show proof of liability insurance that meets the Texas minimum liability limits of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Insurance is not required for trailers and semitrailers. An insurance company authorized to write insurance in Texas must provide the coverage.

Permit Display

The permit must be displayed in the rear window of the vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a rear window, the operator must carry the permit and receipt in the vehicle any time the vehicle is in-transit.

Transit Permit

If you buy a car or truck and the seller keeps the Texas license plates, the Transit Permit allows you to legally drive the vehicle home or to your local county tax office.

vehicle-transit Print a Transit Permit

 

Only one Transit Permit may be issued per vehicle. Only passenger vehicles and light trucks are eligible.

The Transit Permit is valid for 5 days (maximum) from date of issuance; the start date is the day the permit is printed.

If the vehicle will travel out of state, please verify that this permit is valid for operation in that state. This permit may only authorize operation of the vehicle in Texas.

 

 

 

“Two Steps, One Sticker”: Inspection & Registration Together at Last

 

Get ready for the new Texas Two Step! The State of Texas will stop issuing inspection stickers and transition to a “Two Steps, One Sticker” vehicle inspection and registration system next year. Vehicles inspected after March 1, 2015, will no longer be issued an inspection sticker.

You will no longer have to worry about having two stickers with separate expiration dates as long as you follow two simple steps:

  1. Get and pass vehicle inspection.
  2. Renew your vehicle registration.

How “Two Steps, One Sticker” Will Work

In order to register you will be required to get and pass an inspection no more than 90 days prior to the date your registration expires. After the inspection, the station will update your electronic inspection record with the results. The station will also issue you a paper copy of the vehicle inspection report (VIR).

When you go to register your vehicle, whether in person, via mail or online, your inspection record will be verified electronically to determine if your vehicle has passed inspection and is eligible for registration at that time.

Transitioning to a “Two Steps, One Sticker” process will require every vehicle’s inspection and registration dates to expire at the same time. In order to do this you will be allowed to register your vehicle if your vehicle inspection is valid the day you register.

Why You'll Love “Two Steps, One Sticker”
  • Only one date to remember
  • Prevents inspection sticker fraud and theft
  • Increases motorist visibility
  • Enhances inspection compliance resulting in safer cars on the road
  • Saves taxpayer money
  • More aesthetically pleasing to drivers

Common Questions on “Two Steps, One Sticker”
  • Are the inspection requirements changing?
    • No. The inspection station will check the same elements that are currently inspected. You will need to ensure that you receive the proper inspection for the vehicle type and the county in which your vehicle is registered.
  • Will the cost of inspection or registration increase?
    • No. However, you will pay the inspection station their portion of the fee at the time of inspection and the state’s portion of the fee will be collected at the time of registration.
  • What if my vehicle passed inspection but the computer system says it didn’t or has no record of the inspection?
    • Simply present your valid, passing vehicle inspection report (VIR) provided to you by the inspection station, and registration will be permitted.
  • Can I still renew my registration online, in-person, or by mail?
    • Yes. You will still have the option to decide how you register your vehicle.

Staying Informed on “Two Steps, One Sticker”

You can stay up to date on the “Two Steps, One Sticker” initiative and other important TxDMV news by subscribing to receive motorist updates via email or text message. Just click on the red and white envelope icon at the bottom of the page to sign up.

Water-Damaged Vehicles

 

2116263You can find out if the used vehicle you've been eying has ever been damaged by water or in a flood by going to Title Check and viewing the title history report. However, while you are out shopping, there are some signs or clues you can look for that may indicate the vehicle has water damage.

This category includes the following brands:

 

NMVTIS Brand Description Texas Brand
Flood Damaged The vehicle was damaged by freshwater flood or by flood of unknown origin. Flood Damage
Salt Water Damaged The vehicle was damaged by saltwater flood. Flood Damage
How to Spot a Water-Damaged Vehicle

The following inspection tips may help detect significant water damage on a vehicle:

  • Examine the interior and the engine compartment for evidence of water and grit from suspected submersion.
  • Check for recently shampooed carpet, and check under the floorboard carpet for water residue or stain marks from evaporated water not related to air-conditioning pan leaks.
  • Look for rusting on the inside of the car and under interior carpeting, and visually inspect all interior upholstery and door panels for evidence of fading.
  • Check under the dashboard for dried mud and residue, and note any evidence of mold or a musty odor in the upholstery, carpet or trunk.
  • Check for rust on screws in the console or other areas where water would normally not reach unless submerged.
  • Check for mud or grit in alternator crevices, behind wiring harnesses and around the small recesses of starter motors, power steering pumps and relays.
  • Complete a detailed inspection of the electrical wiring system, looking for rusted components, water residue or suspicious corrosion.
  • Inspect the undercarriage or other components for evidence of rust and flaking metal that would not normally be associated with late model vehicles.

While these inspection suggestions will not detect water damage in every case, they do provide some information to protect consumers from purchasing a vehicle damaged by water, such as flood. If you are considering purchasing a vehicle that you suspect may have been damaged by water, consider having it inspected by a licensed mechanic.

 

Rebuilt Vehicles

 

manufacturerA rebuilt vehicle, also known as “prior salvage,” means it was branded “salvage” but was rebuilt to road worthiness. A rebuilt vehicle must pass safety and anti-theft inspections, and other state-mandated standards in order to return to the road.

 

Rebuilt Title Brands

Your Texas title will include the "Rebuilt Salvage" brand.

NMVTIS Brand Description
Rebuilt Vehicle was previously branded “salvage” but was rebuilt to road worthiness..
Prior Owner Retained Vehicle was previously branded "Owner Retained" and was sold. The new owner's title contains this brand.
Prior Non-Repairable / Repaired Vehicle was constructed by repairing a vehicle that has been destroyed or declared to be non-repairable but has been issued a title pursuant to state law after falling within this criterion with this brand on the face of the certificate of title.

Rebuilt Vehicle Buying Tips

When looking to purchase a used vehicle you might see one with a rebuilt title. The term “rebuilt” varies slightly from state-to-state, but is generally used to describe a salvaged vehicle that was repaired or restored. The vehicle previously carried a salvage title after it was damaged and considered totaled and inoperable. However, the vehicle was restored and title changed from salvage to rebuilt.

Considerations when looking at purchasing a rebuilt vehicle:

  • What was the extent of damage and where was the vehicle repaired? Some companies use damaged parts or cut and weld pieces together to create a replacement part.
  • Was the frame damaged and was the frame aligned properly? A misaligned frame can cause excessive wear and strain to the drive train, wheels, tires and brakes.
  • Was the vehicle examined and certified by an independent and qualified mechanic? Have an expert mechanic thoroughly inspect the vehicle. Rebuilt vehicles can cause problems that will cost more to repair than the actual value of the vehicle.
  • Can the vehicle be insured? Often rebuilt vehicles are denied insurance. Check with your insurance agent before purchasing the vehicle.
  • How much is the vehicle worth? The value of rebuilt vehicles vary. However, they will always be worth substantially less because they were salvage vehicles.
 

Salvage Vehicles

iStock 000022294884MediumA salvage motor vehicle means the vehicle was damaged to the extent that the cost for repair, which includes materials and labor, was more than the vehicle was worth before it was damaged. Insurance companies usually make this determination.

 

Salvage Title Brands

A vehicle with any of the NMVTIS brands listed below is considered a salvage vehicle in Texas. In order for this vehicle to be operated on a road again, it must first be rebuilt and inspected. Otherwise, the vehicle is only eligible for a salvage title, nonrepairable title, or for authority to dispose of the vehicle.

NMVTIS Brand Description
Fire Damage Vehicle was damaged by fire.
Owner Retained Vehicle was declared by the insurance company to be a total loss but the owner maintains possession and ownership of the vehicle.
Salvage - Damage or Not Specified Any vehicle which has been wrecked, destroyed or damaged, to the extent that the total estimated or actual cost of parts and labor to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to its pre-accident condition and for legal operation on roads or highways exceeds a jurisdiction-defined percentage of the retail value of the vehicle. Also includes any vehicle to which an insurance company acquires ownership pursuant to a damage settlement, or any vehicle that the vehicle's owner may wish to designate as a salvage vehicle by obtaining a salvage title, without regard to extent of the vehicles damage and repairs.
Salvage - Reasons Other Than Damage or Stolen Any vehicle the reporting jurisdiction considers salvage for a reason other than it was damaged or stolen. For example, this brand could be applied if an abandoned motor vehicle was towed away at the request of law enforcement, and an owner never claimed the vehicle.
Salvage Retention Vehicle is branded salvage and kept by the owner
Salvage - Stolen This vehicle was previously reported as stolen. An insurance claim was paid out on this vehicle, and the reporting jurisdiction therefore reported this vehicle as salvage. You should contact the reporting jurisdiction to ensure the vehicle is no longer considered stolen.

Salvage Vehicle Buying Tips

  • Learn the exact damage to the vehicle.
  • Consider the vehicle's insurability and resale value.
  • Have the vehicle inspected by a reputable mechanic.
  • Get a vehicle title history report and a history of the vehicle's maintenance records.
 

Subcategories

Copyright © 2014 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731