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Information 
Use this form to apply for a Certified Copy of Texas Title for a motor vehicle. The applicant (person signing this application) must be 
the owner, lienholder, or a verified agent of owner/lienholder. The “Recipient Information” section must be completed with the 
name and address of the person (or entity) receiving the certified copy of title in order to process this application. Submit this 
completed application and all required documents by mail or in person to a Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) Regional 
Service Center (see page 2 for locations). 

IMPORTANT: Current government issued photo identification (ID) is required of each owner. If the lienholder is 
the applicant, photo ID of the lienholder’s agent is required. If an applicant is not the owner or lienholder, the 
applicant’s and owner’s photo ID is required. Refer to “Acceptable Government Issued Photo Identification” and
“Applicant Guidelines” on page 2 for specific requirements. Additionally, original signature(s) from the owner
(or all owners if jointly owned), lienholder, or verified agent of the owner(s) or lienholder are required. 

Lien Information: Even if a recorded lien has been paid in full, the lien remains on the department record until an application for 
corrected title is filed to remove the lien. If the lien has not been removed, you must provide an original release of lien (see “ Lien on 
Title Record” on page 2). 

Fee: The fee is $2.00 by mail or $5.45 in person. Mailed fees must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money 
order payable to TxDMV. Do not mail cash. Credit/debit cards and temporary checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable. 

Documents: Additional documents (e.g., release of lien or court documents) submitted with this application must be original 
documents. Photocopies of court documents, releases of lien, or other official documents are not accepted. All original 
documents submitted to a TxDMV Regional Service Center will be returned. Photocopies of photo ID, employee ID, powers of 
attorney, and business cards are acceptable. 

Note: A Certified Copy of Texas Title will not be issued within 15 days of the issue date of the original Texas Certificate of Title, or 
within 30 days of a previously issued Certified Copy of Texas Title. 

Vehicle Information 
Vehicle Identification Number Year Make Body Style Model 

Title/Document Number (if unknown, leave blank) Texas License Plate Number (if unknown, leave blank) 

Certification – State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony 
I, the undersigned, hereby certify I am the recorded owner, lienholder, or verified agent of the owner or lienholder of the above 
described vehicle, and the original title issued for the vehicle has been lost, destroyed, or mutilated. 

Signature of Applicant/Owner Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date 

Signature of Additional Applicant/Owner (if any) Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date 

Recipient Information – To Whom the Certified Copy will be Released or Mailed 
First Name (or Entity Name) Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any) 

Mailing Address City State Zip 

Email Phone Number 

Department Use Only 
CCO Control Number Clerk Initials NMVTIS Checked 

☐ Yes ☐ No 
Title Superseded 

☐ Yes ☐ No 
Rejected 

☐ Yes ☐ No 
Customer ID Number ID Type Date of Birth Customer ID Expiration Date 
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Application for a Certified Copy of Title
 
Acceptable Government Issued Photo Identification 
The following are the only acceptable forms of government issued photo ID for an Application for Certified Copy of Texas Title: 
1) Driver license or state ID certificate issued by a state or territory of the U.S., 2) Texas handgun license, 3) U.S. or foreign 
passport, 4) U.S. military ID, 5) North Atlantic Treaty Organization ID, 6) ID issued under a Status of Forces Agreement, 7) U.S. 
Department of Homeland Security ID, 8) U.S. Department of State ID, 9) U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services ID document. 

All forms of ID must be valid and cannot be expired more than 12 months. If an individual other than the owner(s) is receiving 
the certified copy of title in person, that individual must also present a valid photo ID. 

Applicant Guidelines 
Individual(s) Applying 

If a vehicle is in the name of an individual(s), the individual owner(s) must each sign this application and must provide a copy 
of each owner’s government issued photo ID. 

Entity Applying 
If the vehicle is in the name of an entity, an agent representing the entity must sign the application. 
Additional Requirements: Letter of signature authority on letterhead, printed business card (containing the agent’s name), or 
employee ID connecting the signing agent to the entity (may be copies) and copy of the agent’s government issued photo ID. 

Lienholder Applying 
If the vehicle has a recorded lien, the lienholder (or an agent of the lienholder) may apply for a Certified Copy of Texas Title 
and sign the application. 
Additional Requirements: If the lienholder is an individual, a copy of the individual’s government issued photo ID.  If the 
lienholder is an entity, letter of signature authority on letterhead, printed business card (containing the agent’s name), or 
employee ID connecting the signing agent to the entity (may be copies) and copy of the agent’s government issued photo ID. 

Using Power(s) of Attorney 
If a power of attorney (POA) is being used to sign on behalf of an individual or entity, the above requirements apply to the 
individual or entity appointed as attorney-in-fact in the power of attorney. An original or copy of the POA is required. 
Additional Requirements: If the POA appoints an individual, a copy of that individual’s government issued photo ID. If the POA 
appoints an entity, a letter of signature authority on letterhead, printed business card (containing the agent’s name), or 
employee ID connecting the signing agent to the entity (may be copies) and copy of the agent’s government issued photo ID. 

Lien on Title Record 
A release of lien on lienholder’s original letterhead or on the Prescribed Form for Release of Lien (Form VTR-266) is required if there 
is a lien recorded on the record (even if the lien has been satisfied). If the release of lien is on the Form VTR-266, the lienholder’s 
agent signing the Form VTR-266 must attach a letter of signature authority on letterhead, printed business card (containing the 
agent’s name), or employee ID connecting the signing agent to the entity (may be copies). 

Application by Mail – $2.00 Fee 
Mail this application, $2.00 fee, copy of ID(s), and any other documentation to: 

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
1601-A Southwest Parkway 
Wichita Falls, TX 76302 

• Mailed applications may take up to 10 business days to 
process plus mailing time. 
• Original documentation submitted with the application 

will be returned to the person/entity receiving the title. 

Application in Person – $5.45 Fee 
ABILENE - 4210 N. Clack St., Abilene, TX 79601 
Phone (325) 674-1000 

HOUSTON - 2110 East Governors Cir., Houston, TX 77092 
Phone (713) 316-6100 

AMARILLO - 5715 Canyon Dr., Building H, Amarillo, TX 79110 
Phone (806) 467-3600 

LONGVIEW - 4549 W. Loop 281, Longview, TX 75604 
Phone (903) 237-2800 

AUSTIN - 1001 E. Parmer Ln., Suite A, Austin, TX 78753 
Phone (512) 719-6900 

LUBBOCK - 135 Slaton Rd., Lubbock, TX 79404 
Phone (806) 748-2900 

BEAUMONT- 8550 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, TX 77708 
Phone (409) 895-3200 

MIDLAND/ODESSA - 3901 East Highway 80, Odessa, TX 79761 
Phone (432) 276-4400 

CORPUS CHRISTI – 1701 S. Padre Island Dr., Bldg. 2, Corpus Christi, TX 78416 
Phone (361) 808-3900 

PHARR - 600 West Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577 
Phone (956) 784-6700 

DALLAS – 1925 E. Beltline Rd., Suite 100, Carrollton, TX 75006 
Phone (972) 478-5200 

SAN ANTONIO - 3500 N.W. Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78229-5126 
Phone (210) 731-2130 

EL PASO – 1227 Lee Trevino, Suite 100, El Paso, TX 79907 
Phone (915) 594-6000 

WACO - 2203 Austin Ave., Waco, TX 76701-1624 
Phone (254) 296-2700 

FORT WORTH – 2425 Gravel Dr., Fort Worth, TX 76118 
Phone (817) 285-1500 

WICHITA FALLS - 1601-A Southwest Pkwy., Wichita Falls, TX 76302 
Phone (940) 235-4800 
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