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In accordance with the provisions of Chapter 501, Subchapter E of the Transportation Code, the insurance company 
named below reports to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles that a claim was paid to: 
 
 

        
Insured or Claimant’s Name, Address, City, State, and Zip Code  

 
The vehicle owner of the below referenced nonrepairable or salvage motor vehicle has retained the vehicle.  Since this 
insurance company did not acquire ownership of the vehicle, this is an owner retained vehicle.  The motor vehicle record 
will indicate this is an owner retained vehicle and the registration has been invalidated. For salvage vehicles, transfer of 
title is prohibited until the owner, or lienholder, if any, has applied for a salvage or rebuilt salvage title. A salvage vehicle 
may not be operated until it has been issued a rebuilt salvage title.  A nonrepairable vehicle can not ever be registered or 
operated. 

NOTE: Transportation Code §501.093 requires an insurance company to submit this report within 31 days of the date of the 
claim payment if they do not acquire ownership of the vehicle and it is retained by the owner.  The insurance 
company must provide notice of this report to the vehicle owner and lienholder, if any, and advise the owner of the 
requirements regarding subsequent operation or transfer of ownership.  

 

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION AND DAMAGE DISCLOSURE 
(All information must be complete) 

Vehicle Identification Number (Required) 
      

Year 
     

Make 
      

Model 
      

Color  
      

License Plate No. 
      

Description of the damage to the vehicle:   

Check Reason(s) for Damage: 
   FLOOD DAMAGE    COLLISION/OTHER DAMAGE 
 

As a result of the information disclosed above, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
should not recognize subsequent transfer of ownership until either: (Check One - Required) 

 

  A Salvage Vehicle Title is Issued   A Nonrepairable Vehicle Title is Issued 
 
 

             

Name of Insurance Company Submitting Owner Retained Report  Insurance Claim Number 

      

Insurance Company's Address, City, State, and Zip Code 

             

Date of Claim Payment  Daytime Phone (Include Area Code) 

               

Signature of Authorized Agent  Printed Name (Same as Signature)  Date 

 

WARNING: A violation of the Transportation Code, Chapter 501, Subchapter E, relating to non-repairable and salvage 
motor vehicles, is an offense (Class B or C misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000, 
confinement in jail of up to 180 days, or both fine and confinement, or a state jail felony, punishable by a 
fine not to exceed $10,000, or confinement in jail for a period up to two years). 
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 INSTRUCTIONS FOR INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 

• DO NOT SUBMIT THIS FORM if the motor vehicle is not damaged to the extent that it must be classified as a 
salvage or nonrepairable motor vehicle. 

. 
• Insurance companies may not voluntarily submit this form for a motor vehicle that has sustained a lesser amount 

of damage (i.e., 100 percent or less damage). 
 

THIS FORM MUST BE SUBMITTED WITHIN 31 DAYS OF THE DATE OF CLAIM PAYMENT  
BY MAIL OR FAX. 

Mail to: Vehicle Titles and Registration Division 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Attn: Title Control Systems  

 Austin TX 78779-0001 OR 
                                              Fax to:        (512) 302-2111 
 

Owner Notification Requirements 
The owner must be advised: 

1. The vehicle was reported to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles as an owner retained salvage vehicle 
2. Prior to selling or otherwise transferring ownership of the motor vehicle the owner is  required to apply for the 

appropriate salvage ownership document 
3. Type of salvage ownership they must apply for (Salvage Vehicle Title or Nonrepairable Vehicle) 
4. The registration to the motor vehicle is no longer valid and the owner may not operate or permit operation of 

the motor vehicle on the public roads. 
5. If a non-repairable motor vehicle: 

a. the owner may not register, operate, or permit operation of the motor vehicle on the public roads; 
b. the motor vehicle may only be used as a source for used parts or scrap metal; and 
c. the motor vehicle may not be: 

i. repaired, rebuilt, or reconstructed; or 
ii. issued a regular certificate of title. 

6. If a salvage motor vehicle: 
a. the owner may not operate the motor vehicle on the public roads until it has been repaired/rebuilt, 

retitled as a rebuilt salvage motor vehicle and properly registered; and 
b. at the time of application for a Rebuilt Salvage Certificate of Title, the owner will be required to pay a 

$65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee and a full 12-months registration fee in addition to the appropriate $28/$33 
title application fee and any local fees; 

c. the owner must have the vehicle inspected at an authorized Department of Public Safety inspection 
station. 

 

NOTICE 
With a few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information TxDMV collects about you.  Texas 
Government Code § 552.021, 552.023 and 559.004 further entitle you to receive and review the information on request, 
and to request the department correct any information about you that is deemed incorrect.  Please contact the Texas 
Department of Motor Vehicles at 512/465-3000 for further details. 

 


