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Auto Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority Reminds Drivers to Take Their Keys During Texas
Watch Your Car ® Month

Austin — Texas Watch Your Car ® month starts today to remind drivers that July is one of the highest
auto theft months of the year. As temperatures rise across Texas during the summer months, drivers
need to take extra precautions to keep their vehicle safe.

“You should think twice before leaving your keys in the ignition with your engine running in an effort to
keep your vehicle cool, even if it's just for just a few minutes” said Charles Caldwell, director of the
Texas Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA).

Drivers who leave their keys in the ignition and their vehicles running while unattended make it easier
for car thieves to steal their car. In Texas, an estimated 50 percent of the vehicles stolen have the
owner’s keys in the ignition.

“These victim-assisted auto crimes could be prevented simply by taking your keys,” said Caldwell.

If the threat of having your vehicle stolen does not make you take your keys, perhaps knowing this will:
it is illegal for Texas drivers to leave their keys in the ignition or their engine running while unattended.
Drivers could face misdemeanor fines up to $200.

To kick off Watch Your Car ® month today, ABTPA task forces across Texas will be conducting a
statewide coordinated initiative at convenience stores and gas stations to remind Texas drivers about
this program. This initiative will spread this message with “Got Your Keys?” static window cling
reminders for convenience stores, gas stations, day care centers, video stores, and other places of
business.

This morning, ABTPA task forces will be reminding drivers about the law in the following areas : Austin,
Beaumont, Corpus Christi, Coryell County, Dallas, Del Rio, Eagle Pass, El Paso, Harris County,
Houston, Jones County, Laredo, Lubbock County, Montgomery County, Paris, Pasadena, San Antonio,
Smith County, Travis County, and Victoria.

For the exact location of the task force kick-off in your area or to obtain the “Got Your Keys?” static
window clings, please contact the ABTPA office.

Got your
keys?

You can be fined §200 for leaving your vehicle
running while unattended. And $100 for leaving
your keys in the ignition! One more reason to...
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About Us

The Texas Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA), supports a statewide
network through grants, theft reduction initiatives, and public awareness/education. Since its inception
in 1991, ABTPA has funded and managed 485 grants which have reduced motor vehicle theft by 66%.
For more information on ABTPA and prevention tips, go to www.txwatchyourcar.com or call (512) 374-
5101. Fan us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

The Texas Department of Vehicles (TxDMV) is responsible for vehicle registration and titling,
issuing motor carrier operating authority, motor carrier enforcement, licensing vehicle dealers, and
awarding law enforcement agencies grants to reduce auto theft and increase public awareness. Visit
www.TxDMV.gov for more information about the state agency.
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