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CHAPTER 4.

COMPLIANCE & DEALER OPERATIONS 

4.1 Codes and Rules.   Codes are statutes or laws and are known as “black letter law.” Any 
changes to the codes require action by the Texas Legislature which meets every other year.   Rules are 
the regulations that the commissions and boards of agencies pass to clarify the laws and set out the 
details as to how the law will be administered.  Rules are easier to change as they may be presented to 
the board or commission at any time.  So while the Codes may change only every other year, the rules 
may be changing at any time.  The rules are considered laws and carry the same weight as a code 
provision.  A dealer is required to keep abreast of the various laws and the changes that may occur by 
attending seminars, reading special mail-outs from the different agencies, and being familiar with the 
following codes and rules.  This is another reason why it is very important to keep the different 
agencies informed as to the dealership's current address. 

The specific codes and rules to be discussed in this manual involve the following: 

a. Texas Occupations Code.  The Texas Occupations Code (formerly the Texas Motor 
Vehicle Commission Code) historically has regulated the relationship between franchised dealers and 
their manufacturers. Since the Motor Vehicle Division acquired jurisdiction of the independent dealers 
and the general dealer law, the Occupations Code has evolved to also include independent dealers and 
is applied in transactions involving used vehicles.  Leasing of vehicles and the licensing of Lessors 
and lessees is found in this Code, as is the direction to regulate advertising. Fines under the 
Occupations Code can range as high as $10,000 per violation, per day, of a continuing violation.

b. The Texas Transportation Code. The Transportation Code is a large set of laws involving 
everything from motor carriers, driver’s licensing and traffic signals to titling of vehicles. The dealer 
law that the Motor Vehicle Division administers is Chapter 503. In this chapter, you will find the 
dealer licensing requirements and laws regarding dealer plates and temporary tags. Fines under this 
chapter can run from $50 to $5,000 if pled under the criminal penalty portion in §503.094, in addition 
to a civil penalty of $50 to $1000. However, for more serious violations of the Transportation Code, 
Section 2301.801 of the Texas Occupations Code allows a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for violations 
of §503.038(a) of the Transportation Code.

c. The TxDMV Rules.   All the rules adopted by administrative agencies in Texas are 
compiled in the Texas Administrative Code (TAC). All rules adopted by the Texas Department of 
Motor Vehicles Board along with the rules promulgated to administer Transportation Code Chapter 
503 are found in Title 43, Chapter 215 of the TAC. These rules detail the requirements of getting a 
license, premises requirements and some general operation guidelines. They also set out under what 
circumstances metal plates and tags may be used and how to fill out temporary tags.  

d. Advertising Rules. All rules promulgated by the Department regarding advertising motor 
vehicles are found at 43 TAC Subchapter H, §§215.241-215.271. These rules apply to both new and 
used vehicles unless explicitly stated otherwise in the rule. See Chapter 10 on the advertising rules for 
more information as to what is required when advertising. 
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e. Leasing Rules. In 1995, the Legislature passed a law that amended the Occ. Code requiring 
licensing of Lessors and lease facilitators. Rules adopted by the TxDMV regarding requirements for 
licenses, records and premises are found at 43 TAC Subchapter F, §§215.171-215.181. 

f. Lemon Law and Warranty Repair Rules. Warranty performance obligations are 
commonly known as the Lemon Law and which is set out in §2301.601et seq. of the Occupations 
Code. The rules that set out how the Lemon Law and Warranty Repair will be administered are found 
at 43 TAC Subchapter G, §§215.201-215.210. This is where you will find out how a vehicle qualifies 
for repurchase or repair under the Lemon Law and Warranty Repair, and how complaints of 
consumers are handled.  Section 2301.204 of the Occupations Code covers repair requirements to 
motor vehicles with defects that are reported during the term of the existing manufacturers’ warranty 
in order to maintain the vehicle in operating condition.  These cases, like the Lemon Law cases, if not 
settled informally, can be referred to an administrative law judge for hearing and the TxDMV Board 
for final decision. 

g. Other Laws. Dealers are responsible to many different agencies for many laws on the local, 
state and federal level. The Texas Finance Code, the Texas Tax Code and the Deceptive Trade 
Practices Act are just a few examples. Cities have zoning and signage ordinances. Some cities require 
additional licenses for motor vehicle dealers. Federal agencies such as OSHA and EPA have serious 
penalties for violations of emission and work place standards. 

4.2 Record-keeping Requirements. Dealers are subject to many different state and federal 
agencies record keeping requirements. Requirements for some agencies involve keeping different 
documents from those required by the TxDMV for longer periods of time. Dealers are responsible 
for complying with all record-keeping requirements.

 The TxDMV requires a dealer to keep a complete, accurate record of all vehicle purchases 
and sales (retail or wholesale) for a minimum period of 48 months. The current and previous 13 
months of records must be kept at the dealer’s licensed location and be available for inspection by a 
TxDMV representative. The remaining 35 months of records need not be kept at the dealer’s 
licensed location, but must be within the same county and readily available for inspection upon 
request of a TxDMV representative. 

  Records may be kept in an electronic format. Records, like the names, addresses, dates, 
VINs, etc. may be kept in a database, and no paper copy is required if they are available for 
inspection and are capable of being printed out for inspection by the TxDMV representative at the 
dealership location during normal business hours. Original vehicle titles in the possession of a 
dealer (not by a lien holder) should be kept in a secure but readily available location near the 
dealership if not on the premises.  If the original title is kept by the floor-planner, the dealer is 
required to keep a copy of the front and back of the title on the dealership premises in its files.

 The Occupations Code specifically allows the Department to inspect the books and records 
of a license holder in connection with the performance of its duties under the law.  An investigator 
may show up at the dealer's lot and expect to see the records there or the TxDMV may request 
copies of records by certified mail.  If the dealer does not respond to the certified mail request 
within 15 days or provide the records as requested at the dealer’s lot, a civil penalty or suspension 
or revocation of the license may be imposed.  
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 a. Wholesale transactions.  When a dealer sells to another dealer, the seller needs to be sure 
he is dealing with a legitimate dealer. A dealer can check the TxDMV database instantaneously to 
see if a person is licensed by going to the TxDMV website.  An additional way to verify a person is 
a currently licensed dealer is to ask for and make a copy of the buyer's current GDN license. 
These additional records should be kept:

1) A Purchase Record, Bill of Sale, Sales Contract, or Auction Receipt showing the date of 
purchase, vehicle identification number (VIN); name and address of seller and mileage 
statement. 

2) A photocopy of both sides of the negotiable title after reassigned to the licensed dealer 
following a wholesale transaction. 

3) Odometer Disclosure Statement if the odometer disclosure is not integrated into the title. 

4) The Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Resale Certificate is to be filled out, signed by the 
buying dealer and kept in the dealer's sales file. Do not send the completed certificate to the 
Comptroller.  When the State Comptroller audits your records, the auditor will want to see 
this form in your records.  A copy of this form (14-313) can be found on page 7-8.  (Form 
14-313 is available from the State Comptroller’s Office). 

 b.   Retail transactions.   The following records for retail transactions should be kept: 

1. Retail Installment Agreement, Sales Contract, or Bill of Sale which should include the 
date of sale; vehicle description (i.e. year, make and model); vehicle identification number 
(VIN); name and address of person purchasing the vehicle; sale price; all other fees and 
charges that are the total cost of the vehicle including trade-in, pay-off of trade-in, extended 
warranty, insurance, etc. 

2. A copy of the Application for Texas Title after filled out and signed by buyer and seller 
(Form 130-U). This form may be obtained from the Tax Collector's office, a TxDMV 
regional office or from the TxDMV website at www.TxDMV.gov. A copy of this form is 
shown on page 6-14, the Tax Collector’s receipt for title application (White Slip).  This is an 
important document which can prove you did apply for title on a sold vehicle.

3. A copy of the Buyer’s Guide, also known as the “As-is” statement. See Section 4.7.  

4. Odometer Disclosure Statement. 

5. A copy of the front and back of the negotiable title signed by buyer and seller. Also, the 
Power of Attorney (if required to complete the titling process). See more about powers of 
attorney in Chapter 6, Titling Vehicles. 

6. The TxDMV Form VTR-136, County of Title Issuance, on which the consumer elects 
which county they desire to have their vehicle registered in.  See Page 6-17.  

 c. Other Forms. Copies of other forms may be necessary depending on the type of sale and 
will need to be kept as a part of the dealer’s records.  Most of the forms may be obtained from the 
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Tax Assessor-Collector's office or your local Vehicle Titles & Registration office or their respective 
websites. VTR forms can be found on the TxDMV website. Forms involving taxes may be obtained 
from the State Comptroller's office or its website, www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/14-
forms.html.

Commonly used forms are the following: 

1. The Dealer’s Reassignment of Title for a Motor Vehicle Form (TxDMV Form VTR-
41A) should be used if all available assignments on the back of a Texas title are signed 
or the negotiable title is from another state or foreign country.  See page 6-11. 

2. Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption Certificate – For Vehicles Taken Out of 
State (Comptroller's Form 14-312 See page 7-7) is used if a vehicle is sold to someone 
who claims they are taking it out of the state or the country, whether the transaction is a 
wholesale or retail sale.  The original must be kept with the sales file with a copy filed 
with the Comptroller and a copy to the buyer. Since dealers are required to apply for 
vehicle titles, this form is an important record that proves the consumer advised the 
selling dealer the vehicle was leaving the state.  

 A motor vehicle "sales tax" is essentially an ad valorem or use tax.   Any use of the 
vehicle in the state that is not incidental to leaving the state is going to require the tax 
being collected from the buyer.  For example, a student who buys a vehicle and wants to 
take the vehicle back to his home state for registration at the next school break in two 
weeks, is using the vehicle in this state and is not taking the vehicle directly out of the 
state after purchase.  The student should be charged the tax, and the titling and 
registration needs to be performed by the dealer.  

 The buyer should be advised that it is a felony to claim this exemption if the buyer 
intends to register and title the vehicle in Texas. (Texas Tax Code § 152.101) 

3. Texas Motor Vehicle Seller-Financed Sales Tax and/or surcharge report, Comptroller 
form 14-117 which must be filed monthly by Seller-Financers.  Form is available on the 
Comptrollers website.  See Chapter 7 for more information. 

4.3 Consignment Sales. The following records for consignment sales transactions should  
be kept in: 

1. A written consignment agreement for the vehicle or a power of attorney covering the 
vehicle. A written consignment agreement should be completed by the licensed dealer 
and made a part of the sales file.  A suggested consignment form is found at page 4-30. 

2. A copy of the title should be at the dealer's licensed location for inspection by buyer or a 
TxDMV representative. It is recommended that the copy of the title be attached to the 
consignment agreement. 

3. Record-keeping requirements for the actual sale of a consignment vehicle are the same 
as those of a retail sale as listed in Section 4.2(b). 
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4.4 Blue Law.  Dealers must follow the Blue Law, which prohibits dealers from selling or 
offering to sell motor vehicles on consecutive Saturdays and Sundays. Dealers may choose to be in 
operation on either Saturday or Sunday of a given weekend, but not both. Salespersons may not 
offer vehicles on a consecutive Saturday and Sunday with the intent to sell a consumer a vehicle on 
another date.
.

4.5 Disclosures under Deceptive Trade Practices Act (DTPA).    DTPA lawsuits are 
based on “misrepresentations” (false or misleading statements). If a misrepresentation made to 
influence opinion or action was made to a consumer before the sale of the vehicle, the dealer is 
subject to DTPA action. The representation can be written or oral. Contracts or other agreements 
cannot waive the consumer’s rights under the DTPA. It does not matter that the misrepresentation 
was made unknowingly, only that it was made 

Common areas where dealers have encountered DPTA problems include the following: 

1. Odometer replaced or is non-operative. 

2. True miles are unknown. 

3. Mileage exceeds mechanical limits. 

4. Mechanical deficiencies. 

5. Electrical equipment deficiencies. 

6. Vehicle is stolen recovered, flood damaged, hail damaged, a salvage vehicle, rebuilt or 
reconditioned, etc. 

 The enforcement division does not sue dealers under the DTPA, but some business practices 
that in DTPA lawsuits by consumers will also trigger disciplinary action by the department under its 
statutory authority. Such disciplinary actions can occur before, during, or after a DTPA lawsuit by 
the consumer. 

  A note about flood-damaged vehicles:  Weather events can create a large volume of 
vehicles with flood damage that could be sold to unsuspecting consumers and dealers. If a vehicle 
has a Texas flood-damaged title brand, it will show up on the TxDMV website.  

 There is a common misconception among dealers that if vehicle damage falls below a 
certain dollar amount, then the damage does not have to be disclosed to consumers. No law or court 
decision in Texas supports this dollar limit exemption. On the contrary, if damages of any dollar
amount are not disclosed, the dealer may be in violation of DTPA.  

 4.6 New Cars - Monroney (MSRP) Sticker.  When a franchised dealer displays vehicles 
for sale, the Monroney Sticker must be displayed on the vehicle.  Failure to do so will subject the 
dealer to possible state and federal civil penalties. 

 4.7 Used Cars - “As is” Buyers Guides.   The Federal Trade Commission’s Used Car Rule 
requires dealers to post a Buyers Guide – known as an “as is” sticker – on every used vehicle 
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displayed for sale, including consignment vehicles. The rule includes light-duty trucks, light duty 
vans, and vehicles that have (1) a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 8,500 pounds; 
(2) a curb weight of less than 6,000 pounds; or (3) a frontal area of less than 46 square feet. 
Exceptions to the Rule include (1) motorcycles; (2) any vehicle sold for scrap or parts if the dealer 
submits title documents to the appropriate state authority and obtains a salvage certification; or (3) 
agricultural equipment. 

 The sticker must be prominently and conspicuously on or in a vehicle when it is available 
for sale.  This means it must be in plain view and both sides must be visible.  The Buyer’s Guide 
(Guide) may be hung from the rear-view mirror inside the vehicle or on a side view mirror outside 
the car.  The dealer may attach it to a side window or place it under a windshield wiper. It may be 
removed for a test drive, but it must be replaced as soon as the test drive is over.  A copy of this 
form is on page 4-34. 

 The Guide tells consumers: (1) Whether the vehicle is sold with a warranty or “as is”; (2) 
What percentage or repair costs a dealer will pay under the warranty; (3) To get all promises in 
writing; (4)  To keep the Buyers Guide after the sale; (5) How long the warranty is enforceable; (6) 
The major mechanical and electrical systems on the vehicle as well as some of the major problem 
problems that consumers should look out for; (7) To have the car inspected before buying and (8) 
To keep the Buyer’s Guide for reference after the sale. 

IF A DEALER CONDUCTS USED CAR DEALS IN SPANISH, A SPANISH 
LANGUAGE BUYER’S GUIDE MUST BE DISPLAYED.  These are available from the same 
sources as the English versions. 

Warranties. The Guide must show any agreed changes in warranty coverage. The Guide 
also becomes part of the sales contract and overrides any contrary provisions. For example, if the 
Guide says the car comes with a warranty and the contract says the car is sold “as-is,” the dealer 
must give the consumer the warranty described in the Guide. 

a. As is – No Warranty. “As-is” means that the buyer is assuming any risk that the vehicle 
is defective. If one buys a car “as-is” and the car breaks downs minutes later, the repair is the 
buyer’s responsibility and not the dealer’s. When a dealer offers a vehicle “as-is,” the box next to 
that disclosure on the Guide must be checked. If the box is checked but the dealer promises to repair 
the vehicle or cancel the sale if the consumer is not satisfied, that promise should be written on the 
Guide. “As-is” does not prevent a dealer from being liable under the DTPA, and also does not 
necessarily avoid disciplinary action by the TxDMV for misrepresentations made to the purchaser. 

b. Warranty.   If a vehicle is offered with an express warranty, the box next to the heading 
“Warranty” must be checked and that section of the Guide must be completed, including: 

1. What percentage of parts and labor costs does the warranty cover? 

2. What is the deductible, if any? 

3. What systems are covered?   For how long? 
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4. What manufacturer’s warranty still applies, if any? If the dealer and the consumer 
negotiate changes in the warranty, the changes must be written on the Guide. 

c. Service contract. If a vehicle is offered with a service contract, the box next to the words 
“Service Contract” should be checked.

 d. Required Disclosure.  The dealer must put the following disclosure in all used car sales 
contracts:

"The information you see on the window form (Buyer's Guide) for this vehicle is part 
of this contract. Information on the window form overrides any contrary provisions in 
the contract of sale." 

 Upon completion of a sale, the dealer must give the buyer the original or a copy of the 
Buyers Guide at the sale. The Guide must reflect all final changes. It is not required, but 
strongly suggested that the buyer sign the guide for protection of the dealer.  

More details about the Buyer’s Guide can be obtained from a dealer’s guide at the FTC 
website at http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/business/autos/bus13.shtm. The guide is available in 
English http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/resources/forms/buyers.pdf or in Spanish at 
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/resources/forms/s-buyers.pdf  or toll-free at 1-877-FTC-HELP.     On 
page 4-36 there is a very informative brochure that is reprinted from the FTC’s library that gives 
you even more information on the federal Used Car Rule. 

4.8 Metal Dealer’s Plates.   Instead of obtaining regular metal plates through the county tax 
office for a vehicle that the dealer owns, operates, or permits to be operated on a public street or 
highway in the state, the dealer may apply for metal dealer's license plates (Dealer’s Plate) for the 
vehicle if it is of the type the dealer is licensed to sell.  

 a. Expiration of Dealer Plates.  These Dealer’s Plates expire on the same day as the 
dealer's General Distinguishing Number and the full fee must be paid regardless of the date of the 
application for the plates.  Most dealers purchase Dealer’s Plates upon the renewal of their license.   

b. One Plate Issued.  Only one Dealer’s Plate is issued and the plate should be displayed 
only in the rear license plate holder of the vehicle.  Taping or propping up the plate in the rear 
window is not allowed. Though Texas law generally requires plates on the front and back of 
vehicles, law enforcement is aware that the TxDMV only issues one Dealer’s Plate. 

c. Uses of Metal Dealer License Plates.  Dealer’s Plates may be used for the same purposes 
that a Dealer’s Temporary Tag can be used such as demonstration test drives.  Additionally the 
Dealer Plate may also be displayed on vehicles that are used for personal use by the dealer, family 
or employees.  See the chart on page 4-31 for a quick reference to dealer plate usage. 

 A dealer who is licensed to sell only cars may use his dealer plate only on a car and not on a 
motorcycle or trailer.   Also, any vehicle with  Dealer’s Plates must: (1) have a current inspection; 
(2) the title must be assigned into the dealer’s name; and (3) Dealer’s Plates may be displayed on 
independent dealer service or work vehicles such as a vehicle carrying a load (such as a dealer's 
service vehicle used to haul parts or inventory back and forth); Vehicles used for towing and 
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transporting other vehicles; Rental or lease vehicles; Dealer-owned vehicles loaned to schools; or 
Any boat trailer owned by a dealer that transports more than one boat.  
 A light truck is not considered a laden commercial vehicle when mounted with a camper 
unit or when towing a trailer for recreational purposes.   

d. Metal Dealer’s License Plate Log.  The law requires a dealer to maintain a record of all 
metal dealers’ plates issued to that dealer and each vehicle assigned a license plate. The log must 
contain:

1. Assigned Metal Dealer’s License Plate number; 

2. Make of the vehicle displaying the Dealer’s Plate; 

3. Vehicle identification number (VIN); and 

4. Name of the person in control of the vehicle. 

 The dealer’s log, as well as the titles for all vehicles assigned a metal license dealer’s plate, 
must be available at the dealer’s licensed location for review by a TxDMV representative during 
normal working hours. Dealer’s Plates, not accounted for, will be voided by the TxDMV.  A sample 
of a plate log is found on page 4-32. 

4.9 Metal Plate Limits.  Dealers are limited in the number of plates they may order 
depending on the type of license issued and the number of vehicles sold.  New applicants for 
franchised motor vehicles and motorcycles are limited to five for the first year of their license.  
Franchised or independent travel trailer dealers, utility trailer or semi-trailer dealers, independent 
motor vehicle dealers, independent motor cycle dealers, and independent mobility vehicle dealers 
are limited to two for the first year.  Wholesale dealers may have one plate. 

 Upon renewal, a franchised motor vehicle dealer may obtain a total of 30 plates; a 
franchised motorcycle dealer may get a total of 10 plates; Independent motor vehicle dealers, 
independent motorcycle dealers, independent mobility vehicle dealers, franchised or independent 
travel trailer dealers, and utility trailer or semi-trailer dealers are eligible for a total of 3 plates.  
Wholesale dealers may have a total of one plate. 

 There are provisions under the plate limits rule found at 43 TAC §215.139 for dealers to 
obtain additional plates upon proof of sales.  If a dealer is selling less than 50 vehicles a year, they 
are entitled to an additional 1 plate; those selling 50 – 99 vehicles may obtain 2 additional plates; 
those selling 100 – 200 vehicles may get 5 additional plates.  Any dealer who sells more than 200 
vehicles in a year may have unlimited plates. A wholesale dealer may get one additional plate upon 
proof they are regularly and actively engaged in the business. 

 If a dealer needs even more plates than allotted under the rule, in accordance to the number 
of vehicles they sell, a request for waiver of the plate limits may be submitted stating why the 
additional plates are necessary to the continuation of the applicant’s business.  Wholesale dealers 
may not apply for waiver of the dealer plate issuance restrictions. 
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 4.10 Metal Converter's License Plates. Metal Converter's License Plates (Converter’s 
Plates) may be used only by the converter or the converter's employees on unregistered vehicles to: 
(1) demonstrate the vehicle, or cause the vehicle to be demonstrated, to a prospective buyer who is a 
franchised motor vehicle dealer or an employee of a franchised motor vehicle dealer; or (2) convey 
the vehicle or cause the vehicle to be conveyed: (A) from one of the converter's places of business 
in this state to another of the converter's places of business in this state; (B) from the converter's 
place of business to a place where the vehicle is to be assembled, repaired, reconditioned, modified, 
or serviced; (C) from the state line or a location in this state where the vehicle is unloaded to the 
converter's place of business; (D) from the converter's place of business to a place of business of a 
franchised motor vehicle dealer; or (E) to road test the vehicle. 

 Converter's Plates may be displayed only on the type of vehicle that the converter is engaged 
in the business of assembling or modifying. Converter's Plates are attached to the rear license plate 
holder of vehicles. These plates expire annually on the same day as the converter's license. 

 When an unregistered new motor vehicle is sold to a converter, the selling dealer must 
remove the dealer's temporary tag.  The selling dealer may attach a buyer's temporary tag to that 
vehicle or the purchasing converter may display a converter's temporary tag or Converter’s Plate on 
that vehicle. 

 A converter must maintain a record of each Converter Plate issued to that converter that 
contains:

1. Assigned metal plate number; 

2. Year and make of the vehicle to which the metal plate is affixed; 

3. Vehicle identification number (VIN); and 

4. Name of the person in control of the vehicle. 

 The converter's record must be available at the converter's location during normal working 
hours for review by a representative of the department. Converter metal plates that cannot be 
accounted for will be voided in the dealer's record and reported as missing to the department within 
three days of the date that the discovery is made.  After a plate is reported as missing it is no longer 
valid. 

4.11 Temporary e-Tags.   Under the new Internet based system called Vision 21, dealers 
who hold a GDN license may issue dealer temporary tags, initial buyer's temporary tags, 
supplemental buyer's temporary tags, Internet-down temporary tags, and emergency temporary tags 
for each type of vehicle the dealer is licensed to sell.  A converter may issue converter temporary 
tags only. Dealers and converters are required by law to have Internet access at their place of 
business to connect to the temporary tag database. Vision 21 will be accessed through the TxDMV 
website at https://vision21.txdmv.gov/login/login.aspx.

 Entry of false information into the Internet based system may subject the user to revocation 
of access, the TxDMV civil penalties or license suspension, and/or criminal prosecution. No 



Page 4-10

temporary tag may be placed on a vehicle without this specific number generated by the Vision 21 
database.

a. Format. Dealers and converters must issue a temporary tag with the information obtained 
from the state database (Vision 21). All tags must be printed or completed in black ink. Cardboard 
or cardboard backing material for temporary tags is no longer required except to prevent any paper 
tag from curling up in the wind. All temporary tags that are not of a water-resistant material must be 
sealed in a 2 mil clear poly bag that covers the entire tag and must be displayed in the rear license 
plate holder of unregistered vehicles. 

 Paper tags in bags should be secured with either double-sided tape on back of bag, or by 
tacking down within a plate holder to keep the tag from flapping up in the wind. 

Display in the rear windows is not allowed. All printed information on a temporary tag must 
be visible and may not be covered or obstructed by any plate holder. Homemade tags are not 
permitted. 

b. Dealer’s Temporary Tag (formerly known as the black tag). Dealer Temporary Tags 
(dealer’s tags) may be used by the dealer only to: 

1. Demonstrate the vehicle or cause the vehicle to be demonstrated to a prospective buyer; 

2. Convey or cause the vehicle to be conveyed: 

A. From one of the dealer's places of business in this state to another of the dealer's 
places of business in this state; 

B. From the dealer's place of business to a place where the vehicle is to be repaired, 
reconditioned, or serviced; 

C. From the state line or a location in this state where the vehicle is unloaded to the 
dealer's place of business; 

D. From the dealer's place of business to a place of business of another dealer; 
E. From the point of purchase by the dealer to the dealer's place of business; or 
F. To road test the vehicle;

3. Use the vehicle in parades; 

4. Use by a charitable organization; 

5. Use on vehicles loaned to customers whose vehicles are being repaired. 

 A vehicle on the streets or highway with a dealer tag is exempt from state inspection 
requirements. A dealer who holds a wholesale motor vehicle auction GDN may display its dealer’s 
tags on any vehicles that are transported to or from the licensed auction location by a bona fide 
employee or agent of the auction.

 Dealer tags may be displayed only on the type of vehicle for which the general 
distinguishing number is issued and for which a dealer is licensed to sell.  
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 A dealer’s tag may not be used to: 
Operate a vehicle for the personal use of a dealer or a dealer's employee.  
May not be displayed on dealer service or work vehicles or a laden commercial vehicle; 
Vehicles used for towing and transporting other vehicles;
Courtesy cars with signs on the vehicle; 
Rental or lease vehicles;
Dealer-owned vehicles loaned to schools; or
Any boat trailer owned by a dealer that transports more than one boat. 

 A vehicle bearing a dealer tag is not considered to be a laden commercial vehicle when it is 
towing another vehicle bearing the same dealer’s tags, and both vehicles are being conveyed from 
the dealer’s place of business to a licensed wholesale auto auction or from a licensed wholesale auto 
auction to the dealer’s place of business. 

 When an unregistered vehicle is sold to another dealer, the selling dealer must remove its 
dealer’s tag.  The purchasing dealer may display its dealer’s tag or dealer’s plate on the vehicle.  If a 
vehicle, not in dealer inventory, is consigned from one dealer to another, the vehicle must display 
the temporary tag of the dealer to which that vehicle was consigned. 

 A dealer’s tag may be issued by a dealer to a specific vehicle or to a dealer's agent who is 
authorized to operate a motor vehicle owned by the dealer. A dealer’s tag can be issued for any 
length of time up to 60 days.  In the case of a vehicle specific tag, only one tag per vehicle at a time 
may be issued. 

 Sometimes a dealer will allow a customer to take a vehicle with just a signed bailment 
agreement.  In this instance, no sale has taken place and the proper tag to use on the vehicle is the 
dealer vehicle-specific tag. 

 A dealer who issues a dealer’s tag to a specific vehicle must ensure that the following 
information is placed on the tag: (1) the vehicle-specific number from database; (2) the year and 
make of vehicle; (3) the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle; and (4) the month, day, 
and year of the tag's expiration. 

 A dealer who issues a dealer’s tag to an agent must ensure that the following information is 
placed on the tag: (1) the agent-specific number from the database; and (2) the month, day, and year 
of the tag's expiration. 

 Dealers should make an effort to guard the dealer’s tags.  Such tags may be stolen and used 
by criminals to prevent identification of vehicles used in crimes.
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Dealer Temporary Tag – Authorized Agent Tag 

Dealer Temporary Tag – Vehicle Specific Tag 

c. Buyer’s Temporary Tag (formerly red tag). A temporary buyer's tag (Buyer’s Tag) 
may be displayed only on a vehicle that may be operated upon the public streets and highways and 
for which a sale has been consummated.  The dealer must place a Buyer's Tag on any new or used 
vehicle sold by the dealer, except for a vehicle sold in a wholesale transaction in which the 
purchasing dealer places its own dealer temporary tag on the vehicle. If the dealer is an out-of-state 
dealer and does not have dealer tags, then a Buyer’s tag can be used. Buyer's Tags are valid for a 
period not to exceed 60 calendar days including the date the vehicle is sold and may only be 
displayed on a vehicle actually sold by the dealer. Only one Buyer’s Tag may be issued. 

 The dealer must ensure that the following information is placed on a buyer's tag that the 
dealer issues: (1) the vehicle-specific number obtained from database; (2) the year and make of 
vehicle; (3) the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle; and (4) the month, day, and year 
of the tag's expiration. 

 A dealer must provide a buyer's temporary tag receipt to the buyer of each vehicle to which 
a Buyer's Tag is issued regardless of whether the tag is issued in the ordinary course of business or 
is an Internet-down or emergency tag.  The dealer may print the image of the receipt issued from the 
database or construct the form using the same information.  The dealer must instruct the buyer to 
keep a copy of the receipt in the vehicle until the vehicle is registered in the buyer's name and metal 
plates are affixed to the vehicle. The receipt must include the following information:(1) the issue 
date of the buyer's tag; (2) the year, make, model, body style, color, and vehicle identification 
number (VIN) of the vehicle sold; (3) the vehicle-specific tag number; (4) the expiration date of the 
tag; (5) the date of the sale; (6) the name of the issuing dealer and the dealer's license number; and 
(7) the buyer's name and mailing address.  

 Lienholders are required to release liens within 10 days of payoff.  If the dealer has paid off 
a lien and cannot obtain the release of lien from the lienholder, the dealer should notify the TxDMV 
of the lienholder’s tardiness and then the dealer should obtain for the buyer a 30-day permit from 
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VTR which cost $25 and require liability insurance to be shown.   Supplemental temporary tags are 
no longer allowed. 

 If a dealer intends to transfer plates from the buyer’s old vehicle, the dealer may put the 
plates on the vehicle and put the buyer’s tag over the metal plates (See Section 4.39 for more 
information about plates to owner).  Inform the buyer that until the vehicle is registered, the 
temporary e-Tag must stay on the vehicle as the sale information will not be available in the RTS 
database for 48 hours during which time the metal plates will not be recognized by law 
enforcement.  The same holds true for those dealers who take the title application immediately and 
obtain plates to put on a vehicle before the buyer picks up the vehicle.  A temporary tag is 
temporary registration and must be entered into the state database and the $5 fee collected whether a 
temporary tag is actually put on the vehicle or not.

d. $5 fee for Buyer’s Tag.   There is a $5 fee charged to the consumer for the temporary 
registration evidenced by the e-Tag.  This fee is paid to the Tax Assessor-Collector at the time of 
titling and registration.  Since all sales must be registered in the Vision 21 database, this fee must be 
collected and paid for each sale made regardless of whether a tag is put on the vehicle or not.  The 
buyer’s tag is the only tag that requires a fee.  Exempt agencies are the only exception to collecting 
the $5 fee.  The only vehicles that do not require issuance of an e-Tag are ATVs, off-road 
motorcycles and salvage vehicles.  These vehicles are not allowed to be driven on the roads. 

Buyer’s Temporary Tag 

 e. Converter's Temporary Tags. Converter's Temporary Tags (Converter’s Tags) may be 
used only by the converter or the converter's employees on unregistered vehicles to:(1) demonstrate 
the vehicle, or cause the vehicle to be demonstrated, to a prospective buyer who is a franchised 
motor vehicle dealer or an employee of a franchised motor vehicle dealer; or (2) convey the vehicle 
or cause the vehicle to be conveyed: (A) from one of the converter's places of business in this state 
to another of the converter's places of business in this state; (B) from the converter's place of 
business to a place where the vehicle is to be assembled, repaired, reconditioned, modified, or 
serviced; (C) from the state line or a location in this state where the vehicle is unloaded to the 
converter's place of business; (D) from the converter's place of business to a place of business of a 
franchised motor vehicle dealer; or (E) to road test the vehicle. Prospective buyers who are 
employees of a franchised dealer or a converter may operate a vehicle displaying converter's 
temporary tags during a demonstration. 

 Converter's Tags may be displayed only on the type of vehicle that the converter is engaged 
in the business of assembling or modifying. A vehicle being conveyed while displaying a 
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converter's temporary tag is exempt from vehicle inspection requirements. Converter's Tags may 
not be used to operate a vehicle for the converter's or a converter's employee's personal use. 

 When an unregistered new motor vehicle is sold to a converter, the selling dealer may attach 
a Buyer's Tag to the vehicle or the purchasing converter may display a Converter's Tag or Converter 
Plate on the vehicle. 

 A Converter’s Tag may be issued by a converter to a specific vehicle or to a converter's 
agent who is authorized to operate a motor vehicle owned by the converter. Converter’s Tag must 
show its expiration date valid for a period not to exceed 60 calendar days, including the date the tag 
is issued. 

 A converter who issues a Converter’s Tag to a specific vehicle must ensure that the 
following information is placed on the tag: (1) the vehicle-specific number from database; (2) the 
year and make of vehicle; (3) the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle; and (4) the 
month, day, and year of the tag's expiration. 

 A converter who issues a Converter’s Tag to an agent must ensure that the following 
information is placed on the tag: (1) the agent-specific number from the database; and (2) the 
month, day, and year of the tag's expiration. 

Converter's Temporary Tag 

 f. Advance Numbers, Internet-down Buyer's Temporary Tags.  A dealer may obtain an 
advance supply of specific numbers in order to issue Buyer's Tags when the dealer is unable to 
access the Internet. When a dealer is unable to access the Internet at the time of sale, the dealer must 
complete and sign the dealer's copy of the buyer's receipt form and enter the required information 
on the sale into the database not later than the close of the next business day that the dealer has 
access to the Internet. The Internet-down Buyer's Temporary Tag must be in the format as described 
in Section 4.11(c) above. 
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Internet-down Buyer's Temporary Tag

 g. Assigning Vehicles to Internet Tags. In the instance of a sale occurring and a dealer 
using one of the Internet Down tags, the dealer must complete the receipt forms by hand, give one 
to the buyer and keep the dealer's copy of the receipt in their records.  These records become part of 
those records required to be kept by dealers/converters for theTxDMV inspection. Any dealer who 
uses an Internet tag must report the vehicle information not later than 24 hours after the time 
that power or communication is restored. Failure to do so will keep a dealer from getting 
additional tags and is a violation that could result in an enforcement action. 

h. Different License Types.   Licensees who have more than one license should be careful 
to use the proper license when issuing an e-Tag.  For example, trailer dealers who have other retail 
GDNs to sell used vehicles, should only use the trailer GDN to log sales of trailers, not their vehicle 
GDN or their motorcycle GDN.  

4.12 Logs for the Temporary Tags.  Temporary tags are no longer required to be logged 
with the exception of the Internet Down tags.

4.13 The 30-Day Permit.  Many times it is not the dealer's fault that a title has not appeared.  
Any time the dealer cannot get a title transferred to a buyer within the 20 working days from the 
date of sale, and there is no issue with a lienholder, the dealer usually can keep the buyer happy by 
obtaining a 30-day permit.  The permit is available from the local TxDMV office upon payment of 
$25.00 and showing of the consumer's financial responsibility (liability insurance). 

4.14 Other Restrictions On Tags And Plates.  A franchised dealer may only use 
temporary tags and metal dealer license plates on used vehicles and new motor vehicles for which 
they are licensed to sell.  A chart that summarizes for dealers the uses and prohibitions of plates and 
tags can be found at page 4-31. 

 4.15 Transported Vehicles. Each motor vehicle being transported using the full mount 
method, the saddle mount method, the tow bar method, or any combination of those methods in 
accordance with Transportation Code, §503.068(d), may have a dealer's or converter's temporary 
tag or a buyer's temporary tag, whichever is applicable, affixed to that vehicle.  If the vehicle being 
transported is unable to qualify for registration because it is of a type that is prohibited from 
operating upon the public streets and highway (i.e., off-highway vehicle or self-propelled machine), 
a tag may be displayed that states in bold letters "For Off Highway Use Only." 
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4.16 Special Exception for Auctions.  A wholesale motor vehicle auction may use dealer’s 
tags and dealer plates. The auction may use buyer’s tags on those vehicles which they have bought, 
taken assignment on and are selling for themselves at the auction.   Sometimes auctions will provide 
a ferry service for dealers to ferry vehicles to and from the auction for dealers.  In this instance, 
auctions are allowed to use their own dealer tags even though the vehicles are not in the auction's 
name. 

4.17 Manufacturer’s License Plates.  Instead of registering a new vehicle that a 
manufacturer or distributor intends to test on a public street or highway or to loan to a consumer 
during warranty repair to a consumer's vehicle, the manufacturer may apply for manufacturer's 
license plates for the vehicle.  A commercial motor vehicle with manufacturer's license plate 
attached may not carry a load.  

4.18 Public Auctions.  A dealer may sell his own inventory by way of an auction held on 
the dealer's licensed lot.  An Auctioneer licensed by the Department of Licensing and Regulation 
must conduct the auction in accordance with the Texas Auctioneer Law. The auctioneer’s name and 
license number must appear in any advertisement. 

 It is not legal for several dealers to get together and hold a public auction on one of their 
lots. This is selling off site which is prohibited by the Transportation Code. 

 Some dealers promote themselves as a public auction and hold regular auctions to sell to the 
public from their licensed lot. These dealers do not take assignment until vehicles are sold through 
their auction but must still transfer the titles to the purchaser before the 21st day after the sale. 

4.19 Wholesale Auctions.   Only a person who possesses a wholesale motor vehicle auction 
license may hold a wholesale or dealer-to-dealer auction, which must be held only at the licensed 
location to the highest bidder. Only licensed dealers, not the public may attend the auction. Out-of-
state dealers may attend if they hold a valid license in their home state. Some franchised dealers 
have a wholesale auction license and hold regularly scheduled auctions and invite dealers to bring 
their vehicles to the lot for sale to other dealers. This is legal, but the auction must be advertised in 
the dealer's name, not the name of the company that is conducting the auction. 

4.20 Wholesale Auction Procedures.  Most wholesale auctions have their own procedures 
and guidelines. A dealer should contact the different auctions in the area and inquire about the 
auction’s particular requirements.  A dealer going to an auction for the first time will generally be 
required to fill out an application, giving information about the dealer’s financial condition and that 
of the dealership.  Be prepared to present the original of your dealer license for verification.  Most 
auctions will provide the dealer with a picture ID and a list of the auction’s procedures.  The most 
common auction procedures observed by the TxDMV are: (1) All representations or guarantees are 
that of the seller. (2) All transactions are between buying and selling dealers. (3) Dealers must 
register with the auction and obtain an auction I.D. card before conducting business. (4) Some 
auctions may allow a dealer to establish a line of credit. (5) The auctions are for licensed motor 
vehicle dealers and their authorized agents only. A dealer may not take customers to an auction to 
buy a vehicle, nor can a dealer lend its GDN to an individual. The dealer/owner may be able to take 
one guest; however, this person may not buy a vehicle (check with the auction on bringing a guest). 
(6) Dealers may be able to preview vehicles before the auction begins. The hours may vary at each 
auction so check with the auction that you plan to attend. 
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The auction will announce the condition of the vehicle as told to them by the seller. This 
may be done verbally or through the use of a light system, i.e. red, green and yellow, to indicate the 
condition of the sale. Dealers should check with each auction regarding the different categories of 
the light system. 

Some auctions may have a separate “damaged and disabled” sale. This could include units 
that have frame damage, frame damage repair, flood damage, missing emissions, broken odometers, 
etc.  If a motor vehicle has a salvage title or is deemed a total loss, both the buyer and the seller 
must hold a salvage dealer license. If a dealer buys a vehicle and believes it was misrepresented, 
arbitration may be available at the auction. Check the auction arbitration policy. 

4.21 Getting a Title From the Auction.  Once a dealer is awarded the bid in an auction, the 
vehicle is released to that dealer.  In most cases, there is a 21-30 working-day policy in getting the 
title.  The TxDMV strongly advises dealers to wait until they have received the title before they sell 
that vehicle.  After the vehicle is sold, sometimes the title is lost, or the title may be a salvage title, 
or marked as a reconditioned vehicle. A dealer who has sold such a vehicle before receiving the title 
is likely to be in trouble with not only the buyer, but also with the TxDMV because that dealer has 
sold a vehicle without a title and has failed to timely apply after a sale for a title.  The dealer who 
sells a vehicle through the auction and has not provided the title in a timely manner would also be in 
violation of selling a vehicle without the title. 

 Several steps must occur before the dealer can take possession of the vehicle and sell it to a 
retail consumer: (1) The dealer’s draft must clear. (2) Lien holder and/or selling dealer is paid. and 
(3) Title is released to the auction, and the auction releases the title to the dealer. [Note: Titles are 
not reassigned to the auction. The title must be reassigned directly to the purchasing dealer.]

The auction should have a buyback policy if the auction cannot get the title to the buyer 
within the 21-30 working-day period.

 4.22 Dealer Agents.  Dealers are responsible for the actions of their employees and agents.  
Under the Dealer Agent Rule, a dealer must give anyone dealing with his employees or agents in a 
wholesale situation, a letter of written authority of that agent.  The dealer’s authorization will be 
valid until either the termination of that dealer’s license or until the dealer revokes the authority in 
writing.   Once a dealer gives such written authority, the agent may buy and sell vehicles at auctions 
and to other dealers in the name and under the auspices of the dealer’s license.  The Dealer Agent 
Rule found at 43 TAC §215.148, sets out what is required in the letter of authority.  Some wholesale 
auctions have their own forms for agent authorization.  These forms will take the place of the 
required letter on dealership letterhead if the form contains all the requirements of the rule. 

 Under the Dealer Agent Rule, an agent may not pay for a vehicle in cash as all transactions 
must be in the name of the dealer using the dealership checks, drafts through the dealership 
financial entity, or cashier’s checks drawn on the dealership accounts.  Further, auctions and other 
dealers may not give the agent the title to vehicles, but must deliver the titles to the dealer at his 
dealership.

 4.23 Motor Vehicle Shows and Exhibitions.    The general rule is that only new motor 
vehicles may be shown or exhibited away from the licensed premises and then only with the written 
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permission of the TxDMV.  As described below, there are many different rules for the different 
types of licenses held and the vehicles that can be entered in an exhibition or show.  To be 
absolutely sure of all requirements, licensees are urged to call or write the TxDMV well in advance 
of any show or exhibition to ascertain if they may participate in that particular event. Some non-
selling shows and exhibitions may be self-permitting, including some association-sponsored events.   
Forms are located online at the TxDMV website.  

 a. Used Motor Vehicles.  There is no provision in the law for used motor vehicles to be 
displayed in a show or exhibited away from the licensed premises.  Dealers of used motor vehicles 
may be approved for participation in a show, to provide contact information for their dealership and 
to advertise the various services they may provide, however, the presence of vehicles is prohibited, 
There are exceptions under the law for certain types of non-motorized vehicles like used trailers.

b. New Motor Vehicles.  There are three types of motor vehicle events where motor 
vehicles may be approved for participation:

 1. Exhibitions – A static display of motor vehicles in which one dealership 
participates, for example, a new Ford Mustang displayed at the local airport. Exhibitions 
may be approved for one day or more, but approval will not extend past the renewal date of 
a license.  No selling is permitted and personnel are not present.  For unusual exhibitions, 
permission from the TxDMV may be obtained to have personnel present. 

 2. Motor Vehicle Shows – Motor vehicle shows may include a variety of vehicle 
types. It is important to know whether or not the vehicle type being entered may be sold 
during the event.  Dealers may not sell or offer to sell new motor vehicles such as cars, 
trucks, sport utility vehicles, motorcycles, motor scooters, all-terrain vehicles, neighborhood 
vehicles and recreational off-highway vehicles in motor vehicle shows.   

Special provisions in the law for sales of ambulances, fire trucks and busses, as well as 
towable recreational vehicles, motor homes and trailers (boat, cargo, livestock, 
motorcycle/motor scooter, watercraft and semitrailers) may be approved in motor vehicle 
shows.

 3. RV Shows – When three or more RV dealers are approved for participation in a 
show that qualifies under Chapter 215.112 of the Texas Administrative Code, the event is 
considered an RV show where dealers may sell new motor homes. These regulations are for 
the sale of motor homes only. All other types of motor vehicles, as well as trailers, must 
meet the specific regulations governing the specific type of vehicle.  When there is a mixture 
of vehicle types in a motor home show, the vehicles which cannot be sold are required by 
the TxDMV to post signage on the vehicles indicating they are not for sale at the event.   

 c. Qualifications for Approval and Participation in a Motor Vehicle Show or 
Exhibition All dealers, and promoters of motor home shows, must complete the appropriate 
TxDMV authorization forms. Under state law, forms must be received by the TxDMV at least 30 
days before the show to be approved. The location of the show will be considered the market area of 
the closest dealer for each licensed line-make being entered, unless it is a motor home show. If the 
dealer is not the closest dealer, then the dealer making application must obtain waivers from any 
dealer(s) located physically closer to the event location, submitting the waiver(s) with the 
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application for participation to the Department.  Dealers must leave MSRP stickers on the vehicles 
as required by Federal law when participating in events. 

d. Untimely off-site show or exhibition requests. No exceptions for submitting an 
application past the statutory deadline required by law will be made by the TxDMV.  If a request is 
not timely and no other provision of the law would be violated, the TxDMV will simply refrain 
from approving or disapproving the application for show or display.  If the TxDMV receives a 
complaint, then the TxDMV will investigate the matter. The dealer’s attempt to file an untimely 
request will be considered in imposing sanctions arising from any complaint for not obtaining the 
TxDMV show or exhibition approval in advance.

e. Forms Required for Shows or Displays.  Depending on the type of show or display, 
participants must determine the type of form to be utilized.  Self-Authorization forms are designed 
for events where ALL PARTICIPANTS are prohibited from making sales.  The Licensee 
Participant Application is designed for events with a mixture of vehicle types being entered – those 
vehicles approved for sales and those never approved for sales at events. The Licensee Participant 
Application should be utilized if an applicant is unsure of the types of vehicles being entered in an 
event or when they know towable recreational vehicles, trailers or emergency vehicles are being 
entered into the event. REMEMBER – the Licensee Participant Application form is for events 
where some vehicle types may be approved for sales, however, new automobiles, trucks, all-terrain 
vehicles, neighborhood vehicles, recreational off-highway vehicles, motorcycles and motor scooters 
are never approved for sales in events.  Approved automobile dealer associations may submit a list 
of members in lieu of separate applications.  Each dealer that participates must be the closest dealer 
to the show site or have a signed waiver from any dealer(s) located closer than the prospective 
participant. Waivers must accompany the application for participation. If admission tickets are 
required, four tickets for admission to the show must be provided to the TxDMV so investigators 
may enter and monitor compliance.  
 The TxDMV website has information and forms available for downloading for shows 
and exhibitions.  Be sure and check this site and read the provisions carefully.  Forms for 
participation may be submitted by fax, e-mail or by mail.  Self-Authorization forms will not 
be responded to by the Department, however, applicants may call the Department to verify 
receipt.   

f. Special Rules for Motorhome Shows.  Under the law, motorhomes may be sold at 
approved shows, but there must be at least three motor home dealers, representing 3 different lines 
in the show.  No dealer located outside of a 70 mile radius of the show site representing the same 
line can participate without written permission of all like-line dealers located within the 70 mile 
radius of the show site.  The show may not last longer than 6 days, and all participating dealers must 
suspend motor home sales on the same day if the show extends over a consecutive Saturday and 
Sunday to remain in compliance with the blue law.  Dealers of motor homes MAY open their units 
on Sunday; MAY attend their units on Sunday; MAY quote a price on their units on Sunday; and 
MAY discuss finance options; but MAY NOT close sales or finalize a sale; MAY NOT enter into 
contracts; AND may not enter into letters of intention to contract. All motor home shows in the 
same county must be scheduled at least 90 days apart unless specific permission has been given for 
good cause. 
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g. Trailers. Trailers, both new and used, may be exhibited or shown and sold at shows that 
are regularly scheduled events.  There must be at least two different trailer dealers at the show to 
qualify for this type of event.

h. Fire-fighting Vehicles and Ambulances.  Fire-fighting vehicles (those vehicles meeting 
the description in the Occupations Code Chapter 2301.002 and are licensed as a fire-truck) and 
ambulances may also be sold at shows when approved by the Department.  

i. Advertising a Show.   All advertising of any motor vehicle show or exhibition must 
comply with 43 TAC §§215.241 – 215.271, the TxDMV advertising rules, which can be found on 
line at the TxDMV website.   

j. Location of the Show.   Licensees are generally discouraged from exhibiting vehicles at 
another licensees licensed location to inhibit illegal sales and the perception by the public that 
visiting vehicles may be purchased or serviced at the location where they are not licensed for sales. 
When approved for participation, vehicles from the visiting licensee must have visible and clearly 
stated signage posted on the vehicles indicating they are not for sale at the location.

4.24   Lemon Law Disclosure on New Vehicles.  When a franchised dealer sells a new 
vehicle, the dealer is required to provide the consumer the requisite Lemon Law Notice.  Such a 
notice is found on page 11-3.  The content of this form is prescribed by the TxDMV and should be 
given to the consumer at the same time the buyer signs the sales contract. 

4.25 Selling to Foreign Buyers Rule.  Any dealer who sells motor vehicles to foreign buyers 
are required to verify the identity of the buyer and stamp the title with the words "For Export Only" 
and the selling dealer's or auto auction's General Distinguishing Number  showing the vehicle as an 
exported vehicle. This rule was passed at the request of dealers.  It is designed to give the TxDMV 
one more tool to reduce curbstoning.  The rule is known as the “Foreign Buyer Rule” and is directed 
at foreign dealers and buyers who buy vehicles in Texas on the pretext of exporting to Mexico and 
other countries, but instead illegally sell the vehicles on this side of the border in unfair competition 
with Texas dealers.  Many of those Texas dealers along with a group of Tax Assessor-Collectors 
along the border proposed the procedure to the TxDMV staff that then wrote the rule and presented it 
to the Board. The rule was worded to apply to sales to any person claiming to buy vehicles for 
exporting.
   

a. Verifying Identity of Buyer.  A dealer should obtain a copy of the driver’s license, 
passport, or other picture identity of the buyer confirming the foreign residence.  These copies 
should become part of the dealer’s sales file. 

b. Stamping the Title.  A dealer should obtain a rubber stamp containing the dealer license 
number and the words “For Export Only.”  The stamp should be placed on the front of the title 
where it is not covering up any information and should also be placed on each blank reassignment 
form on the back of the title.  See Page 4-36 for a sample of the stamp and where to stamp a title. 

c. Notifying the Department.  The rules also require dealers to notify the department when 
a vehicle is sold for export.  This notification consists of checking the “vehicle for export” box 
when requesting a buyer’s e-Tag through the Vision 21 system. 
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4.26 Displaying the License.  All licensees must display their license in a manner that 
makes the license easily readable by the public in a conspicuous place in the office of each place of 
business.  If a license covers more than one location then a copy of the original license may be 
displayed in the additional locations.  

4.27 License Plate Holders.  A person may not attach an illuminated device, sticker, decal, 
emblem or other insignia that is not authorized by law and that interferes with the readability of the 
letters, or number on the plate or the name of the state in which the vehicle is registered.  Care 
should be taken when dealers affix plate holders to a sold vehicle that the edges of the plate holder 
do not obscure the name of the state, the license numbers, or other original design feature of the 
plate.  Customers will not be happy with the free plate holder you furnished if they pay a $200 fine 
because the plate holder is illegal. 

4.28 Moving the Dealership.  All licensees are required to keep the department advised of 
their most current address.  The TxDMV is to be advised within ten (10) days of any move.  Failure 
to do so may result in the failure to receive important mail from the TxDMV such as license 
renewals or important notices about changes in the law.  See §3.15 (Licensing) about amending the 
license because of moving, adding a new location or going out of business. 

4.29 Trailer Dealers and VINs.  With the advent of Vision 21, the department wants to 
start collecting VINs on trailers.  While this is not mandatory at this time, it behooves trailer dealers 
to protect their customers’ interest in the trailers they have bought by providing an identifying VIN 
on the trailers.  This may become mandatory in the future so all trailer dealers need to become 
familiar with this procedure. TxDMV has outlined the procedure for obtaining a trailer VIN in a 
Registration and Title Bulletin to the County Tax Assessor-Collectors dated September 2, 2005.  
This bulletin can be seen on page 4-34 of this section. 

4.30 Specific Violations Under Transportation Code §503.038.  The following are specific 
violations found in the Transportation Code §503.038: 

a. Falsifying or forging documents.  A dealer may not falsify or forge a title document, 
including an affidavit making application for a certified copy of a title.  

b. Filing a false or forged document. A dealer may not file a false or forged tax document, 
including a sales tax affidavit.

c. Keeping Open Titles.  A dealer may not fail to take assignment of any basic evidence of 
ownership, including a certificate of title or manufacturer’s certificate, for a vehicle the dealer 
acquires, known as an “open title.” Receiving, holding or delivering an open title is a violation and a 
very risky way to conduct business. An open title is like a blank check.

d. Not assigning titles.  A dealer may not fail to assign any basic evidence of ownership, 
including a certificate of title or manufacturer’s certificate, for a vehicle the dealer sells. 

e. Misuse of plates or tags.  A dealer may not use or permit the use of a metal dealer’s license 
plate or a dealer’s temporary tag on a vehicle that the dealer does not own or control or that is not in 
stock and offered for sale.
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f. Making Material Misrepresentations on Applications. If a person misrepresents a fact on 
any application to the department, whether it is a false statement of ownership, a false response to the 
felony question or a designation of a false place of business, a serious violation has occurred. Such 
violations could result, at the minimum, in denial of the application and possibly could result in a civil 
penalty.

g. Failing to maintain qualifications for GDN. The initial requirements to get a license must 
be maintained throughout the license period. This includes all requirements as to signs, business 
hours, office requirements, phones, allotted spaces, leases, etc. The department may deny an 
application for a license, revoke or suspend an outstanding license, impose a civil penalty or place on 
probation a person whose license has been suspended or reprimand a licensee for any of the reasons 
set forth in the Occupations Code. Civil penalties can range from $50 to $10,000 per violation per 
day.

This also includes keeping the security bond in full amount at all times.  If a claim is made on 
the bond and paid, the dealer must bring the bond back to the full amount immediately.  See Section 
Licensing Section 3.10 for more information on the bond. 

The department will cancel a dealer’s GDN if the dealer obtains the number by submitting 
false or misleading information. A person whose GDN is canceled under this chapter must surrender 
to a representative of the department each license plate, temporary cardboard tag, sticker and receipt 
issued under this chapter not later than the 10th day after the date the GDN is canceled. The 
department will direct any peace officer to secure and return to the department any plate, tag, sticker 
or receipt of a person who does not comply with this subsection.  A person whose GDN is canceled 
automatically loses any benefits and privileges afforded under Texas Transportation Code Chapter 
503 to the person as a dealer.

h. Refusal to provide evidence of being in business.  A dealer must provide satisfactory and 
reasonable evidence that the person is regularly and actively engaged in business as a wholesale or 
retail dealer within 30 days after a demand is made by TxDMV.  

i. Not Remaining Regularly and Actively Engaged in the Business. , Those persons who 
make fewer than five (5) sales per year will have their license challenged. Texas law now requires tax 
appraisal districts to turn in to the TxDMV the names of any dealers who either fail to file the annual 
VIT declaration and monthly statements or do not sell five vehicles within the calendar year. 
Wholesale transactions will count towards the required five (5) sales. 

j. Failing to Report or Pay Taxes. Although the TxDMV does not collect taxes, those dealers 
who fail to properly report and pay state sales taxes or vehicle inventory taxes, could incur additional 
penalties and revocation of licenses from this agency.  

k. Misuse of license.  Misuse of a license involves any use of the license for purposes other 
than that specifically contemplated under the dealer law. Lending license numbers to unlicensed 
entities to buy or sell vehicles, or using the dealer location for illegal purposes are examples of misuse 
of a license. 

l. Off-site Sales, Curbstoning.   Dealers are not allowed to sell vehicles from anywhere but 
their licensed premises. (43 TAC §215.136) Dealers are strictly prohibited from curbstoning, which is 
the practice of selling vehicles away from a dealer’s licensed location. Dealers are also subject to 
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penalty if they aid and abet curbstoning by selling vehicles to persons who practice curbstoning.  
Exceptions to this are the permitted shows and displays discussed in Section 4.23 of this manual. 

m. Failure to apply for title within 20 county working days of the date of sale.   The most 
common complaint received from consumers is they have not received their plates or title to the 
vehicle within 20 county working days of the purchase.  There are only two valid defenses to this 
violation. The first defense is if the consumer has misrepresented their credit history on a credit 
application. In that instance, the dealer has the right to rescind the contract. The second defense is if 
the dealer has promptly paid off the lienholder of the vehicle but the lienholder has failed to issue a 
release of lien within 10 days of the payoff.  This is known as the “lienholder excuse.”  See Section 
4.13 for more information on the 30 day permit.  A Seller-Financed sale allows 45 calendar days to 
apply for title. 

If the lienholder has failed to issue a release of the lien to the dealer after payoff, the dealer 
should notify the enforcement division of the TxDMV of such non-compliance so the dealer will not 
be held responsible.  Dealers now have 25 days to pay off a lien on a trade-in once they have the 
vehicle and proper paperwork to pay the lien. 

It is not a defense to this violation that the title is held by a prior owner or the title is lost. If a 
dealer has sold a vehicle without ascertaining where the title is, then he is responsible for purchasing 
the 30-day permit for the consumer until the dealer can locate and transfer the title. In addition, it is 
not a defense that the buyer has not come up with the tax, title and license fees. This should have been 
covered in the down payment before the vehicle was released to the consumer.  Further, lack of 
insurance on the part of the buyer is no longer an excuse since dealers are no longer required to 
provide proof of financial responsibility of the buyer. 

n. Giving the title work to the consumer.  Dealers are required to apply for the title and 
registration and not give the paperwork to consumers. The Tax Assessor-Collector offices have been 
very cooperative in turning in paperwork to the TxDMV that has been filed by the consumer who 
bought a vehicle from a dealer. Exception: If a consumer is taking the vehicle out of state 
immediately, then a dealer should have the consumer fill out the Comptroller’s Sales Tax Exemption 
Certificate for vehicles taken out of state.  This form is kept in the dealer’s sales file in case of an 
audit. Dealer has 20 working days to provide the buyer any necessary forms to register in their state.  

o. Failing to Notify the TxDMV of Change of Address. As stated prior, any change in the 
licensed entity, ownership, physical or mailing address must be reported within 10 days of the change. 
It is critical that any change of address be promptly reported to the TxDMV in order to ensure that 
dealers are provided with any and all necessary notices that could affect your operations.

p. Incomplete or No Records. Rules require records to be kept for at least 48 months.  The 
current and immediately preceding 13 months must be available for inspection at the dealer's location.  
Records from the prior 35 months may be kept either on the licensed site or off-site within the same 
county.  Failing to keep records at all or incomplete records is a serious violation. 

q. Not responding to request for records.  Not keeping records is a serious violation, but not 
producing those records when a representative appears at a dealership is even more serious.  Most 
information is requested by the TxDMV through certified mail, fax or email.  If a dealer fails to 
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respond to this request, it is a violation and the agency representative may travel to the dealership to 
inspect not only the requested information, but the general state of records overall. 

r. Forgery or Fraud. This encompasses rollbacks, title frauds and fraudulent sales of 
reconditioned vehicles. Also in this category are credit fraud or commercial fraud, floor-planner fraud 
and consignment fraud, which usually go hand in hand with these activities. In all of these instances, 
the perpetrator has made representations that have induced someone to buy a vehicle that he or she 
would not have purchased but for the fraudulent representations.  Fraud is also cited when a dealer 
files a false tax or title document. 

s. Spot Deliveries. This fraudulent practice consists of selling and delivering a consumer a car 
after signing a Retail Installment Contract and then calling the consumer back into the dealership to 
sign a new contract with higher interest, higher payments or to put more money down. This practice 
happens a lot when a dealer wants to tie the consumer to a sale but is unable to verify credit in a 
timely manner.  

If a dealer wishes to employ this practice, there are special contracts such as a bailment 
contract, also known as a conditional sale and delivery agreement, which should be entered into 
instead of a Retail Installment Contract. These contracts make it clear to the consumer that the deal is 
not final.

The Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner has approved a form that contains three 
elements:  

1.  The buyer has an option to cancel the sales contract before credit is approved;

2. The buyer can cancel with full refund and return of trade-in if financing is not approved in 
accordance with the terms described in the purchase order;  

3.  The buyer’s liability in case of cancellation is limited to rental, excessive mileage and use, 
which are items set out in the bailment contract.  

t. Dehorsing.   Dehorsing is done in conjunction with a spot delivery and occurs when the 
consumer refuses to sign a new contract and demands back their trade-in, and are told their trade-in 
has already been sold, thus forcing him or her into the new contract or a vehicle of lesser value. 

u. Parking on the Right-of-Way.  Dealers are specifically prohibited from parking or 
displaying vehicles on the right-of-way adjacent to their dealership premises unless the governing 
body having jurisdiction of the easement, right-of-way, or driveway expressly consents to such use in 
writing.  Use of right-of-way property that is part of the state highway system may only be authorized 
by a lease agreement entered into with the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).  This 
permission is given very seldom due to the nature of the safety hazard involved in allowing cars to 
obstruct the view of oncoming traffic. If a dealer wishes to inquire as to written permission, the dealer 
should call the local TxDOT office. 

v. Failing to Pay Civil Penalties. One sure way to lose a license permanently is to refuse or 
neglect to pay any civil penalties assessed against a licensee by the department.
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4.31 Odometer Rollbacks.  Dealers are strictly prohibited from fraudulently tampering with 
an odometer to reduce the number of miles indicated on the instrument.   This is a federal and state 
law with serious criminal penalties. Besides the criminal penalties, a person could be permanently 
denied a dealer license upon such a conviction.  Dealers should exercise extreme caution when 
purchasing used cars with low mileage and inspect them for signs of odometer tampering.  For the 
purposes of this law, odometer means an instrument for measuring and recording the distance a motor 
vehicle travels while in operation. This does not include an auxiliary odometer designed to be reset by 
the operator to record mileage on trips.  

Pursuant to Transportation Code §727.002, a person who commits such an offense is subject 
to:

Confinement in the county jail for not more than two years;  
A fine not to exceed $1,000; or  
Both the confinement and fine. 

 If a person is found more than once to be guilty of odometer tampering, he or she is subject 
to punishment by: 

Confinement in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than two years;
A fine not to exceed $2,000. 

Under the federal statute, some individuals found guilty of numerous practices of odometer 
tampering or related fraud have been sentenced to up to nine years in prison and fined more than 
$400,000.

4.32 Unlicensed Sales. No person, unless exempted by the Transportation Code as noted in 
Section 3.3 of this manual, may sell or offer to sell motor vehicles without having a GDN and/or 
franchised dealer license for the purposes of engaging in the business of buying, selling or 
exchanging motor vehicles, including purchasing wholesale vehicles or participating in auto 
auctions.  

Franchised dealers may be sanctioned for offering to sell or selling or transferring new motor 
vehicles for which they are not franchised. 

 4.33 Violating Any Law relating to a Motor Vehicle Sale.   Under Texas Occupations 
Code, any person who violates any law relating to the sale, distribution, financing or insuring of 
motor vehicles is subject to civil penalties, or probation, denial, suspension or revocation of their 
license and GDN by the Department.  This general prohibition is usually applied to those dealers 
who willfully defraud a consumer. 

4.34 Brokering.  Texas law prohibits the brokering of motor vehicles among persons who 
are not licensed motor vehicle dealers.  The definition of a broker is a person who, for a fee, 
commission, or other valuable consideration, arranges or offers to arrange a transaction involving 
the sale of a new motor vehicle.  Arranging or offering to arrange a transaction has been defined to 
include soliciting or referring buyers for new motor vehicles.  Therefore, the "transaction" of 
referring a customer to a dealer for a fee, is considered brokering.  See 43 TAC §§215.84-215.85 for 
the full text of the broker rules.
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a. New motor vehicles.  Note the definition of a new motor vehicle under the Definitions 
section.  The only persons allowed to broker new motor vehicles are franchised dealers or bona fide 
employees of a franchised dealer when acting on behalf of the franchised dealer.  Representatives 
and distributors and their bona fide employees are likewise exempted from the brokering 
prohibition.  Consequently, a used vehicle dealer may not accept a fee from a franchised dealer for 
referral of a new motor vehicle customer. 

b. Used motor vehicles.  The brokering of used motor vehicles is allowed by those licensees 
possessing a valid GDN, which would include all licensed franchised and independent dealers.

c. Referral companies.  The broker rules also set out how a referral company can operate 
without violating the broker rules.  In summary, the company may operate legally if they: 

Do not offer exclusive market areas;  
Allow all dealers to participate on equal terms with no restrictions as to size, 
location or line-make;  
Charge all participants the same fee that is not based on a per referral basis or 
other transaction-related fee; 
Do not set or suggest to the dealer any price of vehicles or trade-ins; 
Do not advertise or promote their plan in the manner that implies that the buyer, 
as a customer of that program, receives a special discounted price that cannot be 
obtained unless the customer is referred through that program. 
Do not violate the advertising rules. 

d. Bird-dog fees.  Referral fees are also known as bird-dog fees and are considered to be 
broker fees.

 4.35 Vehicle Transfer Notice.  When a vehicle is taken in on trade or is sold in a casual 
sale, the vehicle owners now have the ability to notify the department that they no longer own the 
vehicle.  Vision 21 made this very easy to do with a simple form that may be filled out and 
submitted to the department electronically.  There is no charge for this service.  While the law is not 
mandatory at this time, dealers can offer to fill out this form for the customer, print it out and hand 
it to them to mail or file it direct electronically.  Delivery of this notice to the department puts a note 
in the RTS system advising queries that this vehicle is no longer owned by the person to whom the 
system reflects as the title owner.  

4.36 Choice of County to register Vehicle.  There are three locations where a vehicle may 
be titled: 

1.  The county where the vehicle was sold; 
2.  The county where the lienholder resides; 
3.  The county where the buyer resides; 

 In the past the dealer chose where he wanted to register the vehicle, but the law changed and 
it is now the buyer’s choice.  There is a simple form that the buyer fills out and signs at the time of 
sale indicating where they wish the vehicle to be registered.  This form requires that the BUYER
fill in the county of choice, in their own handwriting.  Dealers should NOT have this form prefilled. 
This form is VTR-136, County of Title Issuance and is found on page 6-15 with a Spanish version 
on page 6-16. 
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 4.37 Transfer of Vehicle Registration and Removal of License Plates.  Metal Plates 
should be removed from a vehicle taken in on trade along with the registration sticker.  The past 
owner of the vehicle may keep the plates or they may wish to have the plates put on the vehicle they 
buy to replace the trade-in.  If the owner of the vehicle wishes to have the old plates put on their 
new vehicle, then the dealer will title the vehicle and transfer the registration to the new vehicle.  If 
the owner does not buy a vehicle, then the dealer just gives the owner the old plates and the 
registration sticker.  Either way, the dealer should deliver the plates to the owner.   If the plate age is 
6 years or less, the plates may be transferred to another vehicle.  If the plate age is 7 years or more, 
the plates must be replaced due to loss of plate reflectivity.  Currently the Plates to Owner Law is 
limited to cars and light trucks one ton or less.  Plates can only be transferred to same classification 
vehicles (Car-to-car, truck-to-truck). 

 The customer is charged the same fees as current, unless customer is transferring a set of 
license plates to the newly-purchased vehicle and the additional $5 plate transfer fee would apply.  
If there are no plates to transfer, no charge replacement plates will be issued.  When the dealer takes 
the license plates and sticker off the vehicle, it doesn't affect any registration on the vehicle as the 
registration stays with the vehicle.  If a 2005 Honda is traded in and the registration expiration date 
is Aug. 2010, the person that purchases the 2005 Honda will receive new plates and sticker (no 
charge) at the time of title and will still have Aug. 2010 expiration. 

 If a dealer buys a vehicle from an auction and it does not have plates or registration sticker 
on it, the time left on the registration, if any, can be found by entering the VIN in the V21 database 
for a buyer’s tag and the registration information will appear. 

 For vehicles taken on consignment, the plates should be removed and stored, but not the 
sticker.  If the vehicle is sold, then the sticker should be removed at that time.  This is because if the 
consigned vehicle does not sell, the dealer must return the vehicle with the plates and sticker to the 
owner.

 As a courtesy to the buyers, the dealer may put the plates on the new vehicle and put the 
buyer’s temporary tag over the metal plates.  The customer needs to understand the tag should not 
be removed until the dealer sends them the registration sticker indicating that the plates are now 
registered with the new vehicle. 

4.38 Special Handling of Out-of-State & Out-of-Country Sales. Out-of-state and out-of-
country procedures differ slightly from the norm when a dealer sells a vehicle that will be leaving 
the state.  Handling titles, e-tags, and taxes can be confusing, but dealers can benefit from learning 
to recognize the differences and train employees to handle these matters accordingly. 

 a. Export Sales.  First, differentiate a “foreign” sale, as applied in the For Export Only rule, 
as pertaining to out-of-country sales, not out-of-state. The Export Sales rule can be found in the 
Admin Code at 43 TAC §215.147.  This rule sets out the requirements for dealers handling a sale to 
a foreign buyer. (See previous Section 4.25) The rule originally was passed to apply only to foreign 
dealers, but was amended in February of 2010 to include all foreign buyers, retail and wholesale. 

 The first requirement is to obtain identification of the individual who is buying the vehicle.  
The identification document must be issued by the jurisdiction where the buyer resides and may 
consist of a passport; a driver’s license; a consular identity document; a national identification 
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certificate or identity document; or other identification issued by the jurisdiction where the buyer 
resides that is able to be verified by law enforcement including the name of the jurisdiction; the 
buyer’s full name, foreign address, date of birth, photograph, and signature.  It is important to make 
a copy of the document to be kept in the records of the dealer. 

 The second requirement is to complete the Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption 
Certificate for Vehicles Taken Out of State Form 14-312. It is completed whether the vehicle is 
going to another state or another country (see form on page 7-7).  Note the new form and the 
requirements printed thereon to send the completed form to the Comptroller and advise the buyer 
you are doing so. 

 Finally, the dealer must stamp the title once on the front of the title in an area that does not 
cover any information and on the back of the title in each and every unused reassignment blank.  
The stamp must be at least 2 inches wide and have the words “For Export Only” with the dealer’s 
license number (See example on page 4-36). 

 A copy of the front and back of the stamped title, the Comptroller’s form, and the buyer’s 
identification document are all required to be kept in the dealer’s sales file as a record of the out-of-
country sale. 

b. Temporary Tags – Retail Sales.  E-Tags are another aspect of vehicles leaving the state. 
All retail sales must be registered in the e-Tag database system, regardless of whether the vehicles 
are driven out of Texas or hauled by any means.  A buyer’s tag must be affixed to a vehicle being 
driven out of the state.  Even if the vehicle is being towed or transported by carrier and not requiring 
a tag to be affixed to the vehicle, a tag must be logged in the system and given to the transporter or 
placed in the vehicle.  The $5 tag fee must be collected from all retail buyers unless the buyer is an 
exempt agency.  When preparing the buyer’s tag in Vision 21, pay special attention to the questions: 

 Is this vehicle to be exported?* Yes No

 Will this vehicle be titled/registered out of Texas?* Yes No

 c. Wholesale Sales. When selling out of state or out of country, if the transaction is a 
wholesale transaction, no e-Tag is required.  While vehicles being towed by other registered 
vehicles, and transported vehicles are not required to have a tag, some wholesale buyers may 
receive some grief from law enforcement if they are driving a vehicle with no plate or temporary tag 
on it. So it is important to let your out of state dealer know he needs to bring a dealer plate or temp 
tag from his state to put on the vehicle if he intends to drive it back to his home state because the 
selling Texas dealer may not put his dealer temporary tag on the sold wholesale vehicle.  The key is 
the transport method.  If the vehicle is “cargo,” being pulled by a registered vehicle or carried by a 
transport, then no tag is required.  The question always arises: What if the Mexico dealer has no 
dealer tag or plate?  Though the rules do not provide for this situation and law enforcement may 
stop the driver, we suggest a vehicle-specific dealer temporary tag valid for only a few days. 
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 d. Handling Titles.  If vehicles are going out of the country, Customs requires that the titles 
accompany the vehicles whether with a Bill of Lading or other documents.  Once Customs stamps 
the titles, they are returned to the owner of the vehicle.   

 If the vehicle is going out of state, you must give the title papers to the buyer within 20 
county days of the sale for registering in the other state. 

 Taxes.  As stated above, if the vehicle is going out of state or out of country, the 
Comptroller’s exemption form must be completed, signed, and sent to the Comptroller. Detailed 
instructions are found on the form.  However, there are always the “what if” questions. 

What if the buyer is not taking the vehicle immediately, but 3 months or 3 weeks later after 
their Texas summer vacation is over?  The motor vehicle tax is a “use tax” not a sales tax and if the 
vehicle is being used in Texas for any length of time, i.e. other than being immediately removed, 
then the tax is due.  The Comptroller defines this as ‘no use of the vehicle in Texas other than the 
immediate transportation of the vehicle out of the state.” If the buyer registers the vehicle in their 
state later, they may apply for a refund from the Texas Comptroller. 

What if the buyer is a Texas dad who is buying the vehicle for his OU son who is driving the 
vehicle immediately to Oklahoma?   The Texas exemption is predicated on exclusive use out of 
state. As long as the vehicle is titled and registered out of state, and remains out of state, the 
exemption would apply. Nevertheless, if the vehicle is brought back into Texas at some point, then 
Texas tax is due. If Oklahoma tax had been paid at the time of Oklahoma registration, then the 
Comptroller would allow a credit for the Oklahoma tax toward the Texas tax. This would hold true 
even if the son, who presumably is also a Texas resident, titles and registers the vehicle in his own 
name outside Texas and then brings it back into the state at some point.  Again, if the son will be 
attending school in Oklahoma but driving home to Texas on occasion, then he should pay the Texas 
tax at the time of purchase. The use will not be exclusively outside Texas.  

 There is a second consideration in this scenario.  When the father purchases the vehicle, the 
selling dealer has a responsibility to look to the issue of good faith before accepting an exemption 
certificate. A Texas home address or a Texas driver’s license is a typical “red flag” that would alert 
a dealer to the possibility that a motor vehicle is being purchased for Texas use, and the dealer 
would then have reason to question that the transaction involves a person taking the vehicle out of 
state for exclusive use. In such a case, with good faith in question, the dealer would typically collect 
the tax and then the purchaser would need to seek a refund from the Comptroller, having taken the 
vehicle directly out of state for titling, registration and exclusive use. Even in that case, the 
exemption should be sought as soon as possible, inasmuch as the person will need to prove that no 
use, other than transportation directly out of the state (i.e., no other use, such as vacation travel, etc.) 
had occurred in Texas prior to the out-of-state titling and registration. This can become a harder 
thing to demonstrate with the passage of time, particularly when trying to prove that Texas use did
not occur, because exemptions must be narrowly construed and must be proved by clear and 
convincing evidence. 

 If you have a buyer that shows up with Texas identification and has no reason for an 
exemption other than he plans on registering elsewhere, and refuses to sign the Comptroller’s form 
which has a felony for perjury admonition, you probably should err on the side of caution and 
collect the tax from him. It is always a good idea to get identification from your buyer.  In fact there 
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are other laws out there that require identification of the buyer to be obtained and kept in records, 
see Occupations Code §2305.004. 

In summary, for out-of-state sales: 
1. Either collect the MV tax or get the Comptroller’s exemption form signed; 
2. Obtain the same identification you require for in-state sales; 
3. Give the title paperwork to the buyer within 20 working days; 
4. For a retail sale, issue a buyer’s tag and collect the $5 e-tag fee;
5. For a wholesale transaction, inform your buyer he needs a tag from his state if he plans on 
driving vehicle back. 

For out-of-country sales: 
1. Either collect the MV tax or get the Comptroller’s exemption form signed; 
2. Obtain the buyer’s photo identification issued by the jurisdiction where the buyer resides; 
3. Stamp title “For Export Only” and give to the buyer. Title must accompany vehicles for 
Customs; 
4. For a retail sale, issue a buyer’s tag and collect the $5 e-tag fee;
5. For a wholesale transaction, inform your buyer he needs a tag from his country if he plans 
on driving vehicle back. 
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E-Tag Dealer Plate & Tag Usage 

DEALER’S
METAL PLATE 

CANNOT display 
signs on vehicle 

MUST have current 
inspection sticker

Uses:
1) Vehicle 

demonstration 
2) Personal use 

3) Only on vehicles 
dealer is licensed to 

sell

Only one plate is 
issued for display on 
vehicle and must be 

displayed and 
properly secured in 
rear plate holder. 

CAN be displayed 
on independent 
dealer vehicle 
carrying load 

TITLE must be in 
name of or assigned 

to dealership

Does NOT need current 
inspection sticker 

TITLE must be in name of or 
assigned to dealership

CAN display signs and 
carry load on vehicle

Issued to a retail 
purchaser

If tag is stolen or lost, 
replacement is 

reprinted with original 
expiration date 

MUST keep Buyer’s 
Tag Receipt 

in vehicle until 
registered 

DEALER OR 
CONVERTER’S  

TEMP TAG -

Uses:
 Vehicle demonstration Transit 
from dealer to dealer, auction, 

reconditioning, etc. May be 
used on a loaner to a customer 
while vehicle is being repaired

CANNOT display signs on 
vehicle

Valid from 1 to 60 days 
More than one tag may be 

issued to any agent but only 
one tag may be assigned to 
any specific vehicle at a time 

BUYER’S TEMP 
TAG & RECEIPT 

MUST have current 
inspection sticker 

INTERNET DOWN TEMP 
TAG & RECEIPT 

USED when Internet is down 
as an alternate Buyer’s tag.  
Tags and receipts are pre-
printed by dealer with the 

assigned number.  Buyer and 
vehicle info is hand-printed by 

the dealer.

Dealer required to enter all info 
into E-Tag database within 24 

hours of resuming Internet 
service. 

TAG is good for 60 
calendar days (Effective 

9-1-2009)

Dealer is required to apply 
for title and registration 

within 20 working days of 
the date of sale or 45 
calendar days if Seller 

financed.

MUST be displayed and 
properly secured in rear plate 

holder

MUST be displayed 
and properly secured in 

rear plate holder 

CANNOT be used for 
carrying a load UNLESS 

vehicle is carrying another 
vehicle with a temp tag from 
same dealer on the way to or 

from the auction 

Same requirements and uses 
as Buyer’s Temp Tag Cannot be used by dealership 

personnel for personal use 
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 A SAMPLE METAL DEALER PLATE LOG: 

PLATE # VEHICLE 
MODEL 

VEHICLE 
VIN # 

DATE
ISSUED 

DATE
RETURNED

NAME OF 
DRIVER 

Dealers with a large amount of plates may also want to add columns for dates the stickers expire 
and a signature line for the driver of the vehicle. 
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CONSIGNMENT TO DEALERSHIP 

The undersigned owner of the motor vehicle described herein, hereby certifies that he has delivered on 
consignment to the dealership named below a vehicle that he legally owns and that said dealership has the 
owner's authority to offer such vehicle for sale at the dealer’s licensed location.  Owner certifies and 
guarantees that the vehicle is free and clear from any liens other than that may appear on the face of the title, 
or that he has disclosed herein. Owner has shown the dealer the title to the vehicle.  Owner further states that 
he is not a wholesale dealer. 

Dealer agrees that it will offer the herein described vehicle for sale on its legally licensed premises under the 
terms and conditions agreed to between the Owner and Dealership as set out herein.  Dealership further 
agrees that it will pay the owner any amounts owed from the sale no later than ______ days from the date of 
sale.  Dealership understands that it is responsible for registering and titling the vehicle and paying any 
Vehicle Inventory Tax due on the vehicle. 

VEHICLE Make: _____________   Year Model: _______  Body Style: ____________________ 

License Number: _________ Vehicle Identification Number: ______________________ 

DEALER Name: _______________________________________________________________ 

Licensed Address: ________________________________________________________

Phone Number: ________________  Fax: ________________ GDN: _______________ 

OWNER Name: ________________________________________________________________ 

Address: ________________________________________________________________

Daytime Phone Number: _____________ Evening Phone Number:__________________

TERMS OF CONSIGNMENT: 
This consignment begins on _______________ and terminates on __________________ 

Sales price (set amount or minimum) _________________________________________

Consignee to pay owner ___ days after the sale 

Agreed commission (set amount, percentage or over net) __________________________

Fees owner agrees to pay (if any): ____________________________________________

Liens (if any): ____________________________________________________________

___________________________________          _________________________________ 
Signature of Owner                                    Signature of Dealer 
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BUYERS GUIDE 
IMPORTANT: Spoken promises are difficult to enforce.  Ask the dealer to put all promises in writing.  Keep this 
form. 

 
________________  __________________  ______________ __________________ 
VEHICLE MAKE     MODEL              YEAR           VIN NUMBER 

 
___________________________________ 
DEALER STOCK NUMBER (optional) 
 
WARRANTIES FOR THIS VEHICLE: 

AS IS-NO WARRANTY
YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS.  The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless 
of any oral statements about this vehicle. 
 

WARRANTY
� FULL   � LIMITED WARRANTY.   The dealer will pay _____% of the labor and _____% of the parts for the 

covered systems that fail during the warranty period.  Ask the dealer for a copy of the 
warranty document for a full explanation of warranty coverage, exclusions, and the dealer’s 
repair obligations.  Under state law, “implied warranties” may give you even more rights. 

 
SYSTEMS COVERED:       DURATION: 
_________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 
________________________________ ____________________________________ 

�  SERVICE CONTRACT.  A service contract is available at an extra charge on this vehicle.  Ask for 
details as to coverage, deductible, price and exclusions.  If you buy a service contract within 90 days 
of the time of sale, state law “implied warranties” may give you additional rights. 
 
PRE PURCHASE INSPECTION: ASK THE DEALER IF YOU MAY HAVE THIS VEHICLE 
INSPECTED BY YOUR MECHANIC EITHER ON OR OFF THE LOT. 
 
SEE THE BACK OF THIS FORM for important additional information, including a list of 
some major defects that may occur in motor vehicles. 
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Below is a list of some major defects that may occur in used motor vehicles. 
 
 
Frame & Body      Brake System 
   Frame-cracks, corrective welds, or rusted through     Failure warning light broken 
   Dog tracks-bent or twisted frame       Pedal not firm under pressure (DOT spec.) 
          Not enough pedal reserve (DOT spec.) 
Engine          Does not stop vehicle in straight (DOT spec.) 
   Oil leakage, excluding normal seepage      Hoses damaged 
   Cracked block or head        Drum or rotor too thin (Mfgr. specs.) 
   Belts missing or inoperable        Lining or pad thickness less than 1/32 inch 
   Knocks or misses related to camshaft lifters and         Power unit not operating or leaking 
      push rods         Structural or mechanical parts damaged 
   Abnormal exhaust discharge 
       Steering System 
Transmission & Drive Shaft        Too much free play at steering wheel (DOT specs.) 
   Improper fluid level or leakage, excluding normal     Free play in linkage more than ¼ inch 
     seepage         Steering gear binds or jams 
   Cracked or damaged case which is visible      Front wheels aligned improperly (DOT specs.) 
   Abnormal noise or vibration caused by faulty      Power unit belts cracked or slipping 
     transmission or drive shaft       Power unit fluid level improper 
   Improper shifting or functioning in any gear       
   Manual Clutch slips or clatters    Suspension System 
          Ball joint seals damaged 
Differential         Structural parts bent or damaged 
   Improper fluid level or leakage, excluding normal       Stabilizer bar disconnected 
     seepage         Spring broken 
   Cracked or damaged housing which is visible      Shock absorber mounting loose 
   Abnormal noise or vibration caused by faulty       Rubber bushings damaged or missing 
     differential         Radius rod damaged or missing 
            shock absorber leaking or functioning improperly 
Cooling System 
   Leakage including radiator     Tires 
   Improperly functioning water pump       Tread depth less than 2/32 inch 
          Sizes mismatched 
Electrical System         Visible damage 
   Battery leakage  
   Improperly functioning alternator, generator,   Wheels 
     battery, or starter        Visible cracks, damage or repairs 
            Mounting bolts loose or missing 
Fuel System  
   Visible leakage      Exhaust System 
          Leakage 
Inoperable Accessories 
   Gauges or warning devices 
   Air conditioner 
   Heater & Defroster 
 

DEALER 
 
ADDRESS
 
 
SEE FOR COMPLAINTS 

 
IMPORTANT: The information on this form is part of any contract to buy this vehicle.  Removal of this label before 
consumer purchase (except for purpose of test-driving) is a violation of federal law (16 C.F.R. 455).  
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ILLUSTRATION OF WHERE TO PLACE "FOR EXPORT ONLY" STAMP 

FOR EXPORT 
ONLY 

P12345A 

FOR EXPORT 
ONLY 

P12345A 

Jose Diaz                  123 Matamoras                            Nuevo Laredo              Mexico 

87,654 

John Doe, Texas Autos  P67894 

Jose Diaz 

FOR EXPORT 
ONLY 

P12345A 

1/22/14 

On the front of 
the title where 
no information 

is covered 

On the back 
of the title in 
any blank 

FOR  
EXPORT 
ONLY 



Page 4-37

September 2, 2005 
Registration and Title Bulletin #094-05

Policy and Procedure 

TO: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors 
SUBJECT: Assigned Serial Numbers for Homemade/Shopmade Trailers and Semitrailers 

1.1. PURPOSE 
To clarify the requirements for owners of homemade or shopmade trailers and semitrailers to 
obtain an assigned serial number. 

DETAILS
All vehicles that are titled are required to have a serial number or vehicle identification number 
(VIN).  An assigned serial number is not required for non-titled, homemade or shopmade: 

• trailers that have an empty weight of 4,000 pounds or less 
• semitrailers that have a gross weight of 4,000 pounds or less 
• farm trailers or farm semitrailers that have a gross weight of 34,000 pounds or less, unless 

the owner chooses to apply for a title for a farm semitrailer that has a gross weight of over 
4,000 pounds and not more than 34,000 pounds  

An owner may choose to have a serial number assigned to a non-titled trailer, semitrailer, farm 
trailer, or farm semi-trailer for identification purposes and to aid in the recovery of their property in 
the event that it is stolen.  If an assigned serial number is required (titled), or the customer chooses 
to obtain an assigned serial number(non-titled), the attached procedures should be followed in 
order to obtain an assigned serial number.  If the owner of a non-titled trailer or semitrailer chooses 
to not have a serial number assigned, a Form VTR-68-A executed by law enforcement is not 
required to be submitted with the application for registration. 

The Motor Vehicle Title Manual has been revised to reflect this information and will be distributed 
at a later date. 

COUNTY ACTION 
Please disseminate this information on the requirements for assigned serial numbers for non-titled 
trailers, semitrailers, farm trailers and farm semitrailers to your offices and customers.   

CONTACT 
If you have any questions or need any additional information, please contact your local Vehicle 
Titles and Registration Division Regional Office.  You may also call me at 
(512) 465-7570.  Thank you very much. 

Sincerely,
 Mike Craig, Interim Director 
 Vehicle Titles and Registration Division 
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PROCEDURES FOR OBTAINING AN ASSIGNED SERIAL NUMBER 
FOR A HOMEMADE/SHOPMADE TRAILER OR SEMITRAILER 

• A Form VTR-68-A, Application for Assigned or Reassigned Number, must be 
completed.  The top portion must be completed by the owner and the owner’s signature 
must be notarized.  The bottom portion must be completed by law enforcement (a 
member of the Department of Public Safety,  
Motor Vehicle Theft Service, National Crime Insurance Bureau, or an established 
vehicle theft unit of a Texas law enforcement agency). 

• The owner must mail or take the completed Form VTR-68-A, acceptable evidence of 
ownership, a $2 fee, and a photograph of the trailer or semitrailer to their local Vehicle 
Titles and Registration Division (VTR) Regional Office. 

• Once approved and an assigned serial number is issued, the 
VTR Regional Office will forward a copy of the completed Form VTR-68-A and  
Form VTR-68-N, Notice of Assigned Number or Installation of Reassigned Vehicle 
Identification Number, to the owner. 

• The owner must then die stamp the assigned serial number on the trailer or semitrailer 
on the right side of a permanent part of the frame forward of the axle or tandem 
assembly.

• After the assigned number has been die stamped on the vehicle, the 
Form VTR-68-N, must be signed by the owner. 

• If the trailer or semitrailer is being titled, the copy of the Form VTR-68-A  
and the completed Form VTR-68-N must be submitted to the  
County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office with the application for title and all supporting 
documents.
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A Dealer's Guide to the Used Car Rule

Most car dealers who sell used vehicles must comply with the Federal Trade Commission's (FTC's) Used Car Rule. In fact, car 
dealers who sell more than five used vehicles in a 12-month period must comply with the Rule. Banks and financial institutions are 
exempt from the Rule, as are businesses that sell vehicles to their employees, and Lessors who sell a leased vehicle to a lessee, an 
employee of the lessee, or a buyer found by the lessee. 

The Used Car Rule applies in all states except Maine and Wisconsin. These two states are exempt because they have similar 
regulations that require dealers to post disclosures on used vehicles. The Rule applies in the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, 
the U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa. 

This booklet defines the Rule's requirements, explains how to prepare and display the Buyers Guide, and offers a compliance 
checklist. 

You must post a Buyers Guide before you "offer" a used vehicle for sale. A vehicle is offered for sale when you display it for sale or 
let a customer inspect it for the purpose of buying it, even if the car is not fully prepared for delivery. This requirement also applies to 
used vehicles for sale on your lot through consignment, power of attorney, or other agreement. At public auctions, dealers and the
auction company must comply. The Rule does not apply at auctions that are closed to consumers. 

Previously titled or not, any vehicle driven for purposes other than moving or test driving, is considered a used vehicle, including
light-duty vans, light-duty trucks, demonstrators, and program cars that meet the following specifications: 

a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 8,500 pounds;  

a curb weight of less than 6,000 pounds; and  

a frontal area of less than 46 square feet.  

Exceptions to the Rule are: 

motorcycles;  

any vehicle sold for scrap or parts if the dealer submits title documents to the appropriate state authority and obtains a 
salvage certification; and  

Agricultural equipment.  

The Buyers Guide 

A disclosure document that gives consumers important purchasing and warranty information, the Buyers Guide tells consumers: 

whether the vehicle is being sold "as is" or with a warranty;  

what percentage of the repair costs a dealer will pay under warranty;  

that oral promises are difficult to enforce;  

to get all promises in writing;  

to keep the Buyers Guide for reference after the sale;  

the major mechanical and electrical systems on the car, as well as some of the major problems that consumers should look 
out for; and  

To ask to have the car inspected by an independent mechanic before they buy.  

If you conduct a used car transaction in Spanish, you must post a Spanish language Buyers Guide on the vehicle before you display 
or offer it for sale. 
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The Buyers Guide must be posted prominently and conspicuously on or in a vehicle when a car is available for sale. This means it
must be in plain view and both sides must be visible. You can hang the Guide from the rear-view mirror inside the car or on a side-
view mirror outside the car. You also can place it under a windshield wiper. The Guide also can be attached to a side window. A
Guide in a glove compartment, trunk or under the seat is not conspicuous because it is not in plain sight. 

You may remove the Guide for a test drive, but you must replace it as soon as the test drive is over. 

Vehicle Information 

At the top of the Guide, fill in the vehicle make, model, model year, and vehicle identification number (VIN). Write in a dealer stock 
number if you wish. 

Dealer Information 

On the back of the Guide, fill in the name and address of your dealership. Also fill in the name (or position) and the telephone
number of the person the consumer should contact with complaints. You may use a rubber stamp or preprint your Guide with this 
information.

Optional Signature Line 

You may include a signature line on the Guide and you may ask the buyer to sign to acknowledge that he or she has received the 
Guide. If you opt for a signature line, you must include a disclosure near it that says: "I hereby acknowledge receipt of the Buyers 
Guide at the closing of this sale." This language can be preprinted on the form. The signature line and the required disclosure must 
appear in the space provided for the name of the individual to be contacted in the event of complaints after the sale. 

Warranty Information 
The Buyers Guide has two versions: One says "As Is-No Warranty;" the other says "Implied Warranties only."  

As Is-No Warranty. If state law allows it, and you choose not to offer a warranty — written or implied — you must use the 
"As Is" version and check the box next to the heading "As Is-No Warranty" on the Guide.  

Implied Warranties Only. In states that limit or prohibit the elimination of implied warranties, you must use the "Implied 
Warranties Only" version and check the box next to the "Implied Warranties Only" heading if you don't offer a written 
warranty.  

Warranty. If you offer the vehicle with an express warranty, you must check the box next to the heading "Warranty" and 
complete that section of the Guide. Warranties required by state law must be disclosed in this section. Your state Attorney 
General can tell you about state warranty requirements.  

State Law: In some states, use of the "As Is-No Warranty" Buyers Guide may be legally sufficient to eliminate implied warranties. 
In other states "as is" sales are allowed only if specific action is taken or certain language is used. For example, some states may 
require you to eliminate implied warranties by using special language and/or a document other than the Guide. 

If you're not sure which version of the Buyers Guide you should use or if you have questions about state requirements, contact the
FTC or your state Attorney General.  
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Is the Warranty "Full" or "Limited"? 

For a warranty to be considered "full:" 

Warranty service must be provided to anyone who owns the vehicle during the warranty period.  

Warranty service must be provided free of charge when necessary, even for services like removing and reinstalling a 
system covered by the warranty.  

The consumer must be able to choose either a replacement or a refund if the vehicle can't be repaired after a reasonable 
number of tries.  

The consumer is not required to take any action to receive service, except to give notice that service is needed. Service 
must be rendered after notice unless the warrantor can demonstrate that it is reasonable to require consumers to do more 
than give notice.  

The length of implied warranties must not be limited.  

The warranty is considered "limited" if any of these conditions don't apply. 

What Percentage of Costs Does the Warranty Cover? 

Fill in the percentage of parts and labor costs covered by the warranty in the spaces provided. If a deductible applies to repairs made 
under the warranty, put an asterisk next to the number and explain the deductible in the "systems covered/duration" section. For
example, "*A $50 deductible applies to each repair visit." 

What Systems Are Covered? For How Long? 

There's one column to list the systems covered, and another to list the length of the warranty for each system. In the left hand column, 
you must specify each system that's covered by the warranty. The Rule prohibits the use of shorthand phrases such as "drive train" or 
"power train" because it's not always clear what specific components are included in the "power train" or "drive train." 

In the right hand column, you must state the length of the warranty for each system. If all systems are covered for the same length of 
time, you may state the duration once. 

What if the Manufacturers Warranty Still Applies? 

If the manufacturer's warranty hasn't expired, you may disclose this fact by checking the "Warranty" box and including this 
disclosure in the "systems covered/duration" section: "MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY STILL APPLIES. The manufacturer's 
original warranty has not expired on the vehicle. Consult the manufacturer's warranty booklet for details as to warranty coverage, 
service location, etc." The disclosure must be stated in the exact language quoted above. Using phrases such as "balance of factory 
warranty" are not sufficient. 

If the consumer must pay to get coverage under the manufacturer's warranty, you may not check the "Warranty" box. Such coverage
is considered a service contract. However, you may check the "warranty" box if you pay for coverage from the manufacturer and the
consumer doesn't have to pay anything more than the price of the vehicle to get the coverage. If you provide a warranty in addition to 
the unexpired manufacturer's warranty, explain the terms of your warranty on the Buyers Guide. 

Where Should Negotiated Warranty Changes Be Included? 

If you and the consumer negotiate changes in the warranty, the Buyers Guide must reflect the changes. For example, if you offer to 
cover 50 percent of the cost of parts and labor for certain repairs, but agree to cover 100 percent of the cost of parts and labor after 
negotiating with the customer, you must cross out the "50 percent" disclosure and write in "100 percent." Similarly, if you first offer 
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the vehicle "as is" but then agree to provide a warranty, you must cross out the "As Is-No Warranty" disclosure and complete the
"Warranty" section of the Buyers Guide properly. 

What About Service Contracts? 

If you offer a service contract for repairs, check the box next to the words "Service Contract." However, if your state regulates 
service contracts as the "business of insurance," you don't have to check this box. Check with your Attorney General or state 
insurance commissioner to find out if your state regulates service contracts as insurance. 

What Do I Have to Give the Buyer At the Sale? 

You must give the buyer the original or a copy of the vehicle's Buyers Guide at the sale. The Guide must reflect all final changes. If 
you include a signature line on your Buyers Guides, make sure the buyer signs the Guide that reflects all final changes. 

If you offer a written warranty, or if the manufacturer's warranty still applies, you also must comply with the Magnuson-Moss 
Warranty Act and other FTC Rules, including the "Warranty Disclosure Rule." The Warranty Act contains provisions that establish
consumers' rights with respect to written warranties. For example, the Act prohibits you from eliminating implied warranties when 
you provide a written warranty. 

The Warranty Disclosure Rule requires that you disclose certain information about the coverage of your warranty and consumers' 
rights under state law. This information must be included in a single document that is clear and easy to read. 

Can the Buyers Guide Serve As My Written Warranty? 

The warranty information you provide on the Buyers Guide is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the Warranty Disclosure 
Rule. Therefore, your written warranty and the Buyers Guide must be two separate documents. 

Another federal rule — the FTC's Rule on Pre-Sale Availability of Written Warranty Terms — requires that you display written 
warranties in close proximity to the vehicle or make them available to consumers, upon request, before they buy. 

Two publications are available to help you comply with these and other federal regulations on warranties: A Businessperson's Guide 
to Federal Warranty Law and A legal Supplement to Federal Warranty Law. Both are available from the FTC. Call toll-free 
1-877-FTC-HELP (382-4357), or write: Consumer Response Center, Federal Trade Commission, Washington, DC 20580. You also 
will find the full text of these publications at www.ftc.gov.

What Disclosures Should I Make if I Offer a 50/50 Warranty or Another Type of Split Cost 
Warranty?

Split cost warranties are those under which the dealer pays less than 100% of the cost for a warranty repair. This type of warranty 
includes 50/50 warranties where the dealer pays 50% of the cost for a covered repair and the buyer pays the remaining 50%. Another
type of split cost warranty is one under which the buyer pays a deductible amount and the dealer pays the remaining cost for the
repair. 

If you offer a split cost warranty that requires you to pay a percentage of the repair cost for covered repairs, you should include the 
following disclosures in your warranty document: 

The percentage of the total repair cost you will pay.  

The percentage of the total repair cost the buyer must pay.  
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How the total cost of the repair will be determined. For example, your warranty might state: "The total cost of a warranty 
repair will be the retail price ABC motors charges for the same job." As another example, your warranty might state: "The 
total cost of a warranty repair will be determined by adding the dealer's cost for parts to the labor cost. Labor will be billed
at a rate of ________ per hour for the actual time required to complete the repair." As a final example, your warranty might 
state: "If the work is done by an outside repair shop, total cost of a repair will be the same price ABC Motors is charged by 
the outside shop. If the work is done by ABC Motors, the total cost of the repair will be the same price ABC Motors 
charges non-warranty customers for the same job."  

If your warranty requires buyers to pay a deductible, your warranty document should disclose the deductible amount and the details
as to when and under what circumstances the deductible must be paid. 

Dealers offering split cost warranties can require that buyers return to the dealer for warranty repairs. If your warranty includes this 
restriction, however, you should provide an estimate of the total repair cost before work is started. This will allow the buyer to decide 
whether to approve the repair or have the work done elsewhere. 

Where Can I Get Copies of the Guides? 

You can get Buyers Guides from business-form companies or trade associations, or you can download the Buyers Guide from the 
FTC's Web site. You also can generate them yourself on a computer. However, you must use the wording, type style, type sizes, and 
format specified in the Rule. You are not allowed to place any other wording or symbols (including logos) on the Buyers Guide. The 
Guides must be printed in 100% black ink on white paper cut to at least 11" x 7 1/4." These requirements cannot be modified in any 
way. You may use colored ink to fill in the blanks. 

How Am I Doing? 

Do you complete a Buyers Guide properly for each used vehicle offered for sale?  

Do you post the Buyers Guide prominently and conspicuously on each used vehicle you offer for sale?  

If you choose to include a signature line for the buyer's signature, do you include the following required 
disclosure language:  

I hereby acknowledge receipt of the Buyers Guide 
at the closing of this sale. 

Do you put the following required disclosure in your sales contract: 

The information you see on the window form for this vehicle 
is part of this contract. Information on the window form overrides 

any contrary provisions in the contract of sale. 

Do you give the vehicle's Buyers Guide or a copy to the purchaser at the time of sale and make sure it states 
the final negotiated warranty coverage accurately?  

If a sale is conducted in Spanish, do you use the Spanish language Buyers Guide?  

If you offer a written warranty, do you prepare a warranty document that complies with federal law? Is the 
warranty document available for examination by potential buyers?  
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What If I Don't Comply? 

Dealers who violate the Used Car Rule may be subject to penalties of up to $11,000 per violation in FTC enforcement actions. Many 
states have laws or regulations that are similar to the Used Car Rule. Some states incorporate the Used Car Rule by reference in their 
state laws. As a result, state and local law enforcement officials may have the authority to ensure that dealers post Buyers Guides and 
to fine them or sue them if they do not comply. 

Where Can I Get More Information? 

If you have questions about the Used Car Rule, contact the FTC and request a free copy of the Rule or staff compliance guidelines for 
the Used Car Rule; both documents explain some aspects of the Rule in more detail. You also can download these documents from 
the FTC's website.

The FTC works for the consumer to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair practices in the marketplace and to provide information 
to businesses to help them comply with the law. To file a complaint or to get free information on consumer issues, visit www.ftc.gov
or call toll-free, 1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357); TTY: 1-866-653-4261. The FTC enters Internet, telemarketing, identity theft,
and other fraud-related complaints into Consumer Sentinel, a secure online database available to hundreds of civil and criminal law 
enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad. 

June 2004  


