
New Online Licensing System (eLICENSING) Coming Soon 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
This message contains information applicable to all motor vehicle licensees and salvage 
dealers regulated by Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). Please review and 
distribute as appropriate. 
Coming soon, you will be able to apply for, renew, or amend licenses online. The Texas 
Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) is replacing its current paper-based licensing 
system with eLICENSING, an online self-service hub for all motor vehicle and salvage 
licensees operating in Texas. 

eLICENSING will provide many user benefits, including 24-hour access to licensing 
information, the elimination of paper processing, the ability to submit license applications 
and payments online, a guided application process facilitating faster approvals, and the 
ability to track the progress of submitted applications. 

TxDMV will provide instructions and other support resources to help you access and use the 
system as the release date approaches. Licensees must have an email address on file with 
TxDMV to receive important updates and use the new system. Licensees can receive 
more information by emailing TxDMV at MVDLicensing@TxDMV.gov, calling 1-888- 
DMV-GOTX (368-4689), or visiting our website at www.TxDMV.gov/dealers. 

 
Sincerely, 

Daniel Avitia 
Daniel Avitia, Director 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Motor Vehicle Division 

 
 
 
 
 
 

(512) 465-3000 
Toll-Free (888) 368-4689 

Form available online at www.TxDMV.gov 

mailto:MVDLicensing@TxDMV.gov
http://www.txdmv.gov/dealers
http://www.txdmv.gov/
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In-Transit License Instruction Packet 

Purpose: 
This instruction packet is a companion to the Application for In-Transit License, Form LF801. LF801 is for a license to 
transport and deliver a vehicle in this state from the manufacturer or another point of origin to a location in this state 
using the vehicle’s own power or using the full-mount method, the saddle-mount method, the tow-bar method, or a 
combination of those methods. For other types of licenses visit www.TxDMV.gov/dealers or call us at (512) 465-3000 
or toll-free (888) 368-4689 

Licensing Notes: 
• All licenses are issued for a term of two years.  
• An In-Transit License is required for a drive-a-way operator who transports and delivers a vehicle in 

this state from the manufacturer or another point of origin to a location in this state using the vehicle’s 
own power or using the full-mount method, the saddle-mount method, the tow-bar method, or a 
combination of those methods. 

• Drive-a-way operators may apply for, receive, and attach metal in-transit license plates to the vehicles 
they transport. The drive-away transit license and the metal in-transit plates expire on the same date 
as the license. 

• The fee for a drive-a-way in-transit license is $100. This fee includes one in-transit plate. Additional 
in-transit plates are $10 each. 

• Chapter 215, Motor Vehicle Distribution Rules, and Chapter 503 of the Texas Transportation Code 
contain more details related to licensing. They are available online at: 
http://www.TxDMV.gov/statutes-and-rules  

• You can find more about the Dealer License Application Process and Application Tips online at: 
http://www.TxDMV.gov/dealers 

INSTRUCTIONS by Page, LF801 Page One 
 

1. APPLICANT’S NAME:  
A. For a Sole Proprietor: The business name is the owner’s name. 
B. For a Partnership: The business name is the name of each partner. 
C. For a Business Entity: The name entered for the corporation, LLC, LP, LLP, or LTD, must match your legal 

name recorded with the Secretary of State. 
 
 

Important: 
Before you begin: Please read all of this information carefully before completing and mailing 
your application. Incomplete or inaccurate information may delay issuance of your license.   
When applying for a license, PLEASE DO NOT WAIT until the last minute to file.  File early to 
alleviate delays. 
1. The following pages guide you through the application step by step. Please read the instructions 

carefully and contact us if you have any questions.  
2. A license will not be issued until an applicant has met all the requirements. 
3. Make sure that each document you submit shows your business name and DBA. 

http://www.txdmv.gov/statutes-and-rules
http://www.txdmv.gov/dealers
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2. DBA/ASSUMED NAME:   (Name under which this location will operate) 
Enter any assumed name(s) (also called DBA, for “Doing Business As”) you will be using.  

A. The assumed name(s) must be registered with the proper authority. 
(1) In Texas, the proper authority for corporations, LLCs, LPs and LLPs is the Secretary of State,  

(512) 463-5555. http://www.sos.state.tx.us/corp/  
(2) Sole proprietors and general partnerships must register with their County Clerk in the county where the 

dealership will be located. 
(3) Businesses located out of Texas should register with the appropriate authority for your state. 

B. The assumed name you put on this application must exactly match the assumed name as it is registered. 
C. Attach copies of the Assumed Name Certificates for the name(s) you will be using. Do not send your filing 

documents. 
 

3. PHYSICAL ADDRESS:   
Enter the street number and name, city, zip code, and the Texas county. This will be your licensed location where the 
office is located.   
 

4. MAILING ADDRESS:   
Enter your mailing address if it is different from your physical address. This is the address TxDMV will use to mail all 
correspondence, licenses, plates, etc. 
 

5. BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER & BUSINESS FAX NUMBER:  
Enter the phone and fax number(s) you will use for your dealership. 

A. A working telephone is required and must be listed in the name under which the dealer does business. 
B. A fax number is optional. 

 
6. BUSINESS EMAIL & WEBSITE:  

Enter the email address of the business. The website is optional. 
 

7. CONTACT NAME, PHONE, & EMAIL:   
Enter the name, phone number, and email of a person TxDMV may communicate with concerning applications and 
license(s). 
 

8. –  10. MILITARY SERVICE: 
Answer the questions and provide documentation if applicable. If you have any questions, please call TxDMV Contact 
Center at 888-368-4689. 
 

11. FEES: 
Determine the total fees required: 

A. The in-transit license fee is $100. 
B. The fee for each additional metal license plate is $10. 
C. Metal plates may be applied for with the new application, with a renewal, or any time during which your license 

is valid, but plates always expire on the same date as the license. 
D. Payment and mailing instructions are on page 5 of the application. If paying with a credit card, use page 6 of the 

application package or separate Form 2293.  

LF801 PAGE TWO 
Please enter your business name on the top of this page. (If you are typing into this form, this field should already be 
completed for you.) 
 

12. – 14. YES/NO QUESTIONS:   
A. All questions must be answered.  
B. Attach detailed explanations, as necessary. 
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15. ATTACHMENTS TO THE APPLICATION 
This is your checklist of all items that must accompany the Manufacturer/Distributor Application.  
 

A. OWNERSHIP INFORMATION: 
Use pages 3 and 4 of the application or a separate copy of Form LF601. You may duplicate page 4, as needed.   

 
B. ASSUMED NAME CERTIFICATES:   

Provide documentation that you have registered your assumed name with the proper authority. 
A. Corporations/Limited Liability Companies/Limited Partnerships/Registered Limited Liability Partnerships:  proper 

authority for registration of assumed names is the Secretary of State (or, outside of Texas, the proper authority 
in the appropriate state).  YOU MUST ALSO REGISTER THE NAME WITH THE COUNTY CLERK but the 
Motor Vehicle Division does not require the certificate from the county. 

B. For other applicants, proper authority is the County Clerk. 
C. The assumed name you list on this application must match the assumed name exactly as it is registered.  

 
C. CERTIFICATION OF INCORPORATION, MERGER, OR PARTNERSHIP.  

Attach these if applicable. We do not need copies of your corporate charter. Corporations are not required to submit a 
certificate of authority to operate in Texas. 
 

D. FEES:   
Payment can be made by Credit Card, Personal Check, Money Order, Cashier Check, or Wire Transfer. 
A. Submit this form, all fees, and attachments, to the address matching your type of payment. Failure to do so will 

result in delays. (See the Dealer Payment Information and Credit Card Payment Form (2293) for submission 
information.) 

B. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. A fee of $30 
will be charged for returned checks. 

C. If paying by credit card, you may fax the entire package (including the credit card form) to (512) 465-4190. If you 
choose to do this, do NOT mail the package. 

D. DO NOT submit the application via two methods; pick only one. 
E. If you wish to overnight your application, please note that only the U.S. Postal Service delivers overnight mail to 

post office boxes. 

16. CERTIFICATION OF RESPONSIBILITY 
The application must be signed by the applicant (owner, officer, managing partner, or authorized agent).  By signing this 
application, the applicant swears that: 

A. The applicant or an authorized agent hereby certifies that statements made above and on attachments and 
documents submitted are true and correct, and that all documents submitted with this application are complete, 
submitted in their entirety, and are accurately represented. 

B. Applicant acknowledges that the department may deny an application for a license or revoke or cancel a license 
if the applicant submits false or misleading information, makes a false statement, or refuses or fails to provide 
information requested by the department. 

C. Applicant further acknowledges that making a false statement in an application for a license may subject 
applicant to criminal prosecution. See Texas Occupations Code §2301.651, Texas Transportation Code 
§503.034 and §503.038, Texas Government Code §2005.052 and §2005.053, Texas Penal Code §37.10, and 
department rules. 

D. Applicant swears they are not at this time delinquent in any court-ordered obligation to pay child support. 
 

Application Processing and General Information: 
1. Application Processing & Time: 

A. Your application fees are processed by the State Comptroller’s Office before TxDMV may begin application 
processing.   
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B. Applications are processed in the order received. However, if more information is needed, these are noted as 
deficiencies. 

C. You can find more about the License Application Process and Application Tips (including common deficiencies) 
online at: http://www.TxDMV.gov/dealers  

2. Approving applications: 
A. When there are no application deficiencies, the license is approved. Your license is printed and mailed (along 

with your metal plates, if any). 
B. If there are deficiencies, you will be contacted by a licensing specialist. 

(1) Contact by phone or email will be attempted before a list of deficiencies is mailed. 
(2) Please correct any deficiencies and return the appropriate documentation. 

3. Metal Plates:  
A. Metal plates are valid during the license term and expire at the same time as the license. 
B. The fee is $10 per plate for the two-year license term.   
C. You may order plates with a new application or when renewing your license. You may also order new plates at 

any time during the license period by submitting an Affidavit and Application for License Plates (Form LF701), 
available on our website. The plate expiration date is the same as the license expiration date, regardless of 
when the plates were ordered. 

D. There is no grace period for an expired plate. 

4. Duplicate Licenses:  
A. To request a reprint or a duplicate license please complete form LF901.   
B. You may fax this request to (512) 465-4190 or mail to: 

TxDMV Motor Vehicle Division 
P.O. Box 26487  
Austin, TX 78755 

C. The fee for this request is $50.  

 

http://www.txdmv.gov/dealers
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