Registration and Title Bulletin #001-12
Date: January 11, 2012
To: All County Tax Assessor-Collectors
Subject: HB 2357 regarding: Application for Transfer of Title, Transportation Code, Section 501.145 & Title Transfer Late Fee, Transportation Code, Section 501.146
To notify you of the renumbering of statutes pertaining to title transfers and changes to title transfer requirements. These statutory changes became effective January 1, 2012; however, the changes will not be implemented until the necessary programming is available in RTS.
Section 520.031 of the Texas Transportation Code has been renumbered as Section 501.145. This statute has been amended to change the number of days in which a purchaser must file for transfer of title and registration. The period to file the application has changed from "not later than the 20th working day" after receiving required documents, to the "30th day after the date of assignment on the documents or the date provided by Section 152.069 of the Texas Tax Code." The period for active duty military or members of the reserves changes from the "60th working day after their receipt" to the "60th day after the date of assignment." Seller-financed transactions continue to have a 45-day period. The late fee now begins on the 31st day after the date of assignment on the documents. If the application is "filed after the 60th day after the date the purchaser was assigned ownership of the documents under Section 501.0721" an additional $25 for each subsequent 30-day period or portion of a 30-day period is due.
Section 520.032 of the Texas Transportation Code has been renumbered and split into two Sections. The $2.50 registration transfer fee required to be paid by the purchaser was moved to new Section 502.192 of the Texas Transportation Code.
The criteria requiring a vehicle to be currently registered was eliminated and moved to Section 501.146. Many additional applications for a transfer of title that are not filed within the 30-day time period (or applicable time period) will be subject to the late transfer fee. The late transfer fee will apply to any transfer of title for the following title types of ownership documents (regardless of whether the vehicle is currently registered):
- Manufacturer Certificate of Origin (MCO)
- Out of State Certificate of Title
- Original Texas Certificate of Title
- Certified Copy of Certificate of Texas Title
- Form 97, U.S. Certificate to Obtain Title to a Vehicle
- Government Bill of Sale
- Auction Sales Receipt
- Bonded Titles
- Court Orders
- Title Hearings
- Storage Liens
- Mechanic's Liens
No action is necessary at this time. We are currently working on the necessary programming changes and will provide you with additional information in Release Notes in early 2012.
If you have any questions, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.