Registration and Title Bulletin - #060-11
Date: December 27, 2011
All County Tax Assessor-Collectors
Subject: Self-Service Storage Facility Lien Changes as a Result of Senate Bill 690,82nd Legislative Session
To notify you of changes made by SB 690 to Section 59 of the Texas Property Code
Effective January 1, 2012, changes to the Texas Property Code Section 59.001 relating to the enforcement of self-service storage facility liens include:
- The period for a tenant to satisfy a claim for payment of charges changed from before the 15th day to on or before the 14th day.
- There is no longer a 5-day requirement for sending the first notice for a vehicle last registered in Texas; the 14-day requirement for a vehicle last registered out of state is also eliminated.Notification is now required to be sent by the 30th day after taking possession.
- Proof of notification changed from certified mail to verified mail, if applicable. Verified mail means any method of mailing that provides evidence of mailing. Proof submitted must consist of an official evidence of mailing issued by the U.S. Postal Service or a common carrier (such as receipt, copy of receipt, or website tracking printout).
- Notification can be delivered by e-mail if a written rental agreement between the lessor and the tenant contains language underlined, or in conspicuous bold print, stating that notice may be given by e-mail if the tenant elects to provide an e-mail address.
Form VTR 265-SSF will be updated to reflect these changes in law and will be available online in 2012.
If you have any questions, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.