CHAPTER 7.

SALES TAXES, VEHICLE INVENTORY TAXES, AND STANDARD
PRESUMPTIVE VALUE

NOTE: This section is meant solely as an introduction and may not reflect the most recent law
changes as Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax is regulated by the Texas Comptroller of Public
Accounts. More detailed information may be obtained by calling 1-800-252-1382 or 512-463-
4600. For Information regarding Vehicle Inventory Tax call 1-800-252-9121. For a complete list
of motor vehicle sales and use tax forms, see www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/14-
forms.html.

7.1 Sales Tax. A sales tax, currently 6.25 percent, is levied on motor vehicle sales in
the state of Texas. For sales tax purposes, the taxable total consideration of a motor vehicle is
the sale price of the vehicle, less any trade-in allowance for a motor vehicle. It does not include
documentary fees, inspection fees, finance charges or the title and registration fees. If the tax is
submitted to the county tax assessor-collector more than 20 county working days after the sale,
a penalty of 5 percent of the sales tax due is levied. If the tax is paid more than 30 calendar
days after the date on which the tax was due, an additional 5 percent penalty is due.

7.2_Seller-financed Sales. If you are a dealer who offers consumers contracts to
finance sales, you must be licensed by the Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner. You
must apply for and hold a permit from the Comptroller’s Office. When the application for
transfer of title is submitted, the dealer’s seller-financed sales tax permit number from the
Comptroller is placed on the application to defer the tax.

Sales tax is paid on the receipts collected during each reporting period at the time of
filing the seller-financed report. The tax is paid only on the amounts collected. Sales tax on a
down payment would be due when the dealer files his seller-financed sales report to the
Comptroller. The remaining taxes would then be collected on a straight-line basis for the
remainder of the note amount. If payments stop and the vehicle is repossessed, sales tax must
be paid only on the actual payments received by the dealer. This method is preferred by most
dealers.

In the event that sales tax is paid in full when the application for transfer of title is
submitted or the sales tax is paid in full on the next seller-financed reporting period, then no
refund is available if repossession occurs.

This right to defer sales taxes is canceled in two situations. If the dealer does not
transfer title within 60 days of the sale, all the sales tax is due in the period in which the failure
to transfer the title occurs. Further, if the sales contract is sold to an unrelated third party or a
nonqualifying related third party, the full sales tax amount is due in the period in which the
note transfer occurs. The ability to defer sales tax on the transaction no longer exists.
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A seller-finance dealer may transfer a vehicle to a qualifying related finance company
without accelerating and paying the tax. However, it only applies to qualifying transfers after a
related finance company has registered with the Comptroller’s office and paid a $600 registration
fee. A qualifying related finance company is an entity that has at least 80 percent ownership
identical to the ownership of the dealer.

The application for a seller finance permit is Form AP-169 and the seller finance report is
Form 14-117. The application for a related finance company is Form AP-222.

7.3 Cash Sales and Third Party Finance Sales. The law requires the selling dealer in
all cash sales (including bank-financed sales) to collect the sales tax from the customer and to
pay it to the county tax office within 20 county working days. The failure to collect sales tax is
not an excuse for failure to apply for transfer of title in a timely manner. The dealer may not give
the title and transfer paperwork to the consumer and send the consumer to the tax office to apply
for transfer of title. The dealer must handle the transaction. Even if no cash is received from a
buyer, such as when a trade-in is used as the down payment on a replacement vehicle, the dealer
must apply to transfer title in a timely manner and pay the applicable sales tax. To this day, tax
offices statewide report dozens of dealers who do not collect the sales tax and rely on the buyer
to handle the transfer themselves. These complaints result in warning letters and civil penalties
assessed against the dealer by TXDMV. Failure to collect and pay tax may also result in actions
by the Comptroller.

7.4 Exemption/Resale Certificates.

a. Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption Certificate - For Vehicles Taken Out
of State. If the vehicle is to be transported immediately out of Texas for titling and registration, a
motor vehicle sales tax exemption certificate Form 14-312 may be completed and signed by the
buyer. To be a valid exemption, there must be no use of the vehicle in Texas other than the
immediate transportation of the vehicle out of the state. This certificate should be furnished to
the buyer and retained by the seller. The seller must also send a copy to the Comptroller’s office
and then forward a copy of that correspondence to the purchaser. A copy of the form is available
on page 7-7. The address to send the form to is:

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Business Activity Research Team

P. O. Box 13003

Austin, Texas 78711-3003

b. Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Resale Certificate -For Wholesale Sales. If the
vehicle is sold wholesale to another Texas dealer who is purchasing it for resale only, no sales
tax is due. Note that a new motor vehicle may be purchased for resale only by a dealer franchised
to sell that type of new vehicle, while a used vehicle may be purchased for resale by any dealer
holding a GDN. This form is not filed with any government agency. It is retained by the dealer as
proof that the transaction qualifies for sales tax exemption. A blanket form of the certificate may
be used if multiple sales are anticipated. See form on Page 7-8.
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c. Orthopedic handicap exemption - A dealer selling a motor vehicle may not collect
motor vehicle sales tax from a person claiming the orthopedic handicap exemption. Claim for the
exemption must be on Form 14-318 prescribed by the Comptroller, signed by the purchaser at
the time of purchase and provided to the seller. See page 7-9 & 7-10 for a copy of this form. The
Comptroller may require additional documentation by rule. The seller who obtains the required
certificate is held harmless and has no responsibility to investigate.

Other exemptions such as gift and religious organizations are claimed on the title
application.

7.5 Motor Vehicle Inventory Taxes. Since 1994, all motor vehicle dealers — except
those selling trailers and those with wholesale licenses — have had to report and pay motor
vehicle inventory taxes (VIT). This is a property tax on dealers who were in business on January
1 of a particular year. A Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Declaration (VIT Declaration) form
must be filed upon the opening of a dealership and annually thereafter, as detailed below.
Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statements (VIT Statements) detailing the prior month's
sales must be filed monthly.

a. What to File.

1. Upon Becoming Licensed. In the dealer’s first partial calendar year of business, he
or she establishes a tax rate. This is done by filing a VIT Declaration with the county
chief appraiser and sending a copy to the tax assessor-collector within 30 days of being
licensed. The Declaration informs these offices that a new dealership has been
established and a file must be started on the dealership. Thereafter, in the first partial
calendar year of business, the dealer must complete and file monthly VIT Statements,
filing the original with the county tax assessor-collector and a copy with the county
appraisal district’s chief appraiser. No VIT payments are due on these reports during the
first calendar year. The monthly VIT Statements will be used to establish the tax rate for
the following year.

2. VIT Declarations. The dealer’s obligation to pay VIT payments begins on January 1
of the calendar year after the dealership is established. In January of each year, between
January 1 and 31, the dealer must file an annual VIT Declaration, summarizing sales for
the preceding calendar year.

3. VIT Statements. Each month in that first full calendar year of business the dealer
must file a monthly VIT Statement and pay any VIT payments due.

Monthly VIT Statements and annual Declarations are due whether or not any motor
vehicles have been sold. A copy of the forms may be found in this Manual on pages 7-19
through 7-22.

b. When to Report. Every licensed motor vehicle dealer in the state of Texas, with the

exception of those holding trailer dealer and wholesale licenses, is required to file the Dealer
Motor Vehicle Inventory Declaration form, which lists the total value of the dealer’s motor
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vehicle inventory sold during the previous year. This form must be filed with the county
appraisal district each year between January 1 and January 31. A copy must also be sent to the
county tax assessor-collector’s office. New dealers must file a Declaration form within 30 days
of opening their business to report their name, address and TXxDMV license information.

Motor vehicle dealers must also file with the county tax assessor-collector’s office the
Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statement, which lists the motor vehicles sold. A copy
must also be sent to the county chief appraiser’s office. The monthly VIT Statements and any
VIT payments due are required to be filed by the 10" day of each month, reporting the previous
month’s sales.

c. Pay VIT Amounts Due. Multiply the total sales prices of taxable vehicles sold by
the tax rate, called the “Unit Property Tax Factor” on the form, to calculate VIT due. Send the
original monthly VIT Statement to your county tax assessor-collector, along with the tax
payment. Send a copy of your monthly VIT Statement to your county appraisal district.

7.6 Penalties.

a. TxDMV Administrative actions. Dealers who do not file timely annual VIT
Declarations or dealers who report the sale of fewer than five vehicles in a calendar year are
reported to the TXDMV by the chief appraiser and the tax assessor-collector offices. The law
requires TXDMV to initiate termination proceedings against any dealer who fails to file a timely
annual VIT Declaration, or who reports selling fewer than five vehicles in a calendar year.
Further the tax assessor-collector offices and county appraisal districts may file administrative
complaints with DMV for failure to timely file monthly VIT Statements. For failure to file VIT
Statements and Declarations and pay VIT, administrative actions can range from warning letters
to civil penalties of $500 or more, or license cancellation. Furthermore, dealers who falsify VIT
Statements and Declarations are subject to serious penalties for falsification of government
records.

b. Failure to File a Monthly VIT Statement. In addition to the TXDMV penalties
noted above, a dealer who does not file the monthly VIT Statement in a timely manner commits
a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $100 per day until the VIT Statement is filed. A tax
lien attaches to the dealer’s business personal property to secure payment of the $100 penalty. A
dealer forfeits an additional penalty of $500 for each month or portion of the months that the
statement is not filed. Furthermore, a dealer who fails to remit the taxes due pays a 5 percent late
fee, with another five percent if not paid within 10 days.

c. Failure to File Annual VIT Declaration. In addition to the TXDMV penalties noted
above, a dealer who does not file an annual VIT Declaration in a timely manner commits a
misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500 per day until the VIT Declaration is filed. A tax
lien attaches to the dealer’s business personal property to secure payment of the penalty. A dealer
forfeits an additional penalty of $1000 for each month or portion of month that is not filed.

A very good form that explains the VIT procedure is attached to this section as an exhibit
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starting on page 7-13. Anyone wishing to download a personal copy can find the form on the
Comptroller’s website at: http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/14-forms.html

7.7 Standard Presumptive Value. The Standard Presumptive Value law (SPV) only
applies to “private-party” sales. A private-party sale does not involve a licensed motor vehicle
dealer. If a licensed motor vehicle dealer sells the used vehicle, tax is due based on the sales
price. The county does not have to check the used vehicle’s SPV if the seller is a licensed dealer.
The selling dealer’s signature on the title application is an acceptable record of the sales price.
The county tax assessor-collector, at his or her option, may request the dealer’s invoice or sales
receipt from any purchaser.

a. The law includes all motor vehicles with a few exceptions. The SPV law applies to
all types of used motor vehicles. Basically, a motor vehicle is a self-propelled vehicle designed
to transport persons or property, or a vehicle designed to carry property while being towed by
another vehicle, on the public highways. Off-road vehicles, such as dirt bikes and all-terrain
vehicles (ATVs), are not considered motor vehicles for motor vehicle sales tax purposes. They
are not subject to the SPV calculation.

b. The law excludes some sales transactions. SPV procedures are not used on these

types of transactions:

e Salvage vehicles;

e Abandoned vehicles;

e Vehicles sold through storage or mechanic’s liens;

e Vehicles eligible for classic car and classic truck license plates (whether or not the
vehicles use those plates);
Even trade of vehicles, which has a $5 motor vehicle tax, or
e The gift of a vehicle, which has a $10 motor vehicle tax;
e Governmental sales.

c. Certified Appraisals by Dealers. A purchaser who pays less than 80 percent of the
vehicle’s SPV can realize a tax savings if a certified appraisal for the used vehicle reflects a
lesser value. For example, a used vehicle may be worth less if it has substantial body damage or
needs major mechanical work. The purchaser must present the appraisal to the county on a
Comptroller form within 20 county working days from the purchase date or within 20 county
working days after bringing the vehicle into Texas.

There are two ways to get a certified appraisal: from a motor vehicle dealer licensed for
that category of vehicle or from a licensed insurance adjuster. For example, a purchaser can
request a car dealer to appraise a car, a motorcycle dealer to appraise a motorcycle or a trailer
dealer to appraise a trailer.

Dealer fees for appraisals are set by law and Comptroller rules. For most vehicles, a
dealer can charge from $100 to no more than $300 for a certified appraisal. A dealer’s certified
appraisal of a motorcycle can cost from $40 to $300, and a dealer appraisal of a house trailer,
travel trailer or a motor home can cost from $100 to $500.
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The law allows licensed insurance adjusters to determine the fees they charge.
Purchasers should realize that an appraisal fee may offset any tax savings. For example, tax on
$1,600 of value is $100. In other words, a $100 appraisal must reduce the vehicle’s SPV by more
than $1,600 to save money. A $300 appraisal fee would require almost a $5,000 reduction in
value to offset the appraisal cost. Comptroller Form 14-128, Used Motor Vehicle Certified
Appraisal Form, is available on Window on State Government at www.window.state.tx.us.
Select “Texas Taxes.” The Comptroller’s office provides this form to licensed motor vehicle
dealers and insurance adjusters. A copy of this form in on page 7-11 and further instructions are
on the back of the form which appear on page 7-12

7.8 Gift tax. Effective September 1, 2009, transactions that qualify to be taxed as a gift

($10) are limited to those transactions where the vehicle is given to, or accepted from, a:
e parent or stepparent;

grandparent or grandchild;
child or stepchild;
sibling;
guardian; or
Decedent’s estate.
A vehicle also qualifies to be taxed as a gift when it is donated to, or given by, a
501 (c)(3) nonprofit service organization.

Otherwise, transactions without consideration are a sale and will be subject to tax
calculated on the vehicle's standard presumptive value (industry book value).

To document a gift, the donor and person receiving the vehicle must complete a joint
notarized affidavit of fact describing the transaction and the relationship between the parties.
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o 14-312
R (Rl 12-1214)

Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption Certificate
— for Vehicles Taken Out of State

Mame of purchaser

Address (Street & number, RO, Box or route number) Phone {Area code and numben

City, state and ZIP code

|, the purchaser named above, claim an exemption from payment of motor vehicle sales tax for the purchase of the motor vehicle
described below:

Vehicle identification number I Make of vehicle Model year State or country where vehicle will be used/registered

Seller

Street address

City, state and Z|P code

| claim this exemption because the vehicle is to be transported outside this state, prier to any use in this state other than the
transportation of the vehicle out of state, for use exclusively outside this state. | understand that, if | register the vehicle in Texas,
the exemption | am claiming will be presumed invalid.

By signing below, | hereby authorize the Comptroller to provide a copy of this certificate to the state or country in which the vehicle
will be titled, registered and used. | understand that | will be liable for payment of motor vehicle sales or use taxes that may become
due if | fail to comply with the provisions of the Texas Tax Code, Chapter 152, Taxes on Sale, Rental, and Use of Motor Vehicles.

| understand that it is a criminal offense to give a Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption Certificate to the seller for a motor
vehicle that | know, at the time of purchase, will be used in a manner other than that expressed in this certificate and that the offense
is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 nor fewer than 2 years, or a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

Purchaser | Title Date

Blanket exemption certificate. A purchaser may provide a blanket Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Exemption Certificate to a seller when
purchasing motor vehicles to be used exclusively outside of Texas. The seller may rely on the blanket certificate until it is revoked in
writing. The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), make and model year are not required on this form when being used as a blanket
exemption certificate; instead, enter "Blanket Certificate.”

When this form is used as a blanket certificate, the seller must retain the following information for each transaction purchased under
the certificate, as required by Texas Tax Code Section 152.063, including:

* Vehicle Identification Number * model year
+ make of vehicle + state or country where vehicle will be usedfregistered

NOTE: This certificate does NOT require a taxpayer number o be valid.

This certificate should be furnished to, and retained by, the seller.
Do not send the completed cerificate to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.
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°:.“;1:E‘ 14-313
5) oo /
PR s (Rev. 12-95/2)

TEXAS MOTOR VEHICLE SALES TAX RESALE CERTIFICATE

Name of purchaser, firm or agency Dealer number

Address (Street & number, P.O. Box or Route number) Daytime phone (Area code and number)

City, State and ZIP code

I, the purchaser named above, claim the right to make a non-taxable purchase for resale of the motor vehicle described below:

Vehicle identification number Make of vehicle Year model

Seller

Street Address

City, state and ZIP code

Purchaser claims this vehicle is being purchased for resale purposes ONLY.

| understand that | will be liable for payment of motor vehicle sales or use taxes which may become due if | fail to comply with the
provisions of the Tax Code: Chapter 152. Taxes on Sale, Rental, and Use of Motor Vehicles.

| understand that it is a criminal offense to give a Texas Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Resale Certificate to the seller for a motor vehicle
that | know, at the time of purchase, will be used in a manner other than that expressed in this certificate and that the offense is a
felony punishable by imprisonment for not less than two nor more than five years or a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

Purchaser Title Date

herey

This certificate should be furnished to the seller. Do not send the completed certificate to the Comptroller of Public Accounts.
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Texas Motor Vehicle Orthopedically Handicapped Exemption Certificate

Complete this certificate to claim an exemption of motor vehicle sales tax for a vehicle
that will be madified for an orthopedically handicapped person or persons.

Section 1
Purchaser: Complete this certificate and provide to selling dealer or County Tax Assessor-Colfector.
Mame of purchaser Mame of eligible othopedically handicapped person

e
1]
% Furchaser makng address Furchaser phone (Amea oode sl numisen)
=
g
=1
o | ciy Stale ZIP code

Selling dealer: Retain a copy of this certificate and provide the original certificate and related required documents to the
County Tax Assessor-Collector at time of title transfer.

Hame of seller Texas dealer number
T | Mailng address
°
w

City Slate ZIF code

WMake of vehicle Vedcle dertihication Mumber (VIN]
L]
k7] [ RN N TR T TN SN TR TR T SR SN T T S S TR
g fiar madad Bady style License number

—_

|, the purchaser, claim exemption from payment of motor vehicle sales and use tax on the purchase of the vehicle
described above. The vehicle is/will be modified and will be operated primarily (80% of operating time) by or to
transport an eligible orthopedically handicapped person. | am providing [] a copy of the restricted Texas Driver
License indicating required modification; or [] a practitioner's statement below.

Definitions of eligible person and vehicle modifications are on back of certificate.

Furchaser's signatuns Date
sign
here

Section 2 - Practitioner of Healings Arts Statement

MName of practitioner Frofessional icense number

Mailing address

ity Hate ZIF code

| certify that the person named in Section 1 is orthopedically handicapped, and in order to operate or be
transported in a motor vehicle in a reasonable manner, the vehicle must be modified with qualifying adaptive
devices/modifications.

Fractiboner's signature Date
sign
here

Tax Code §152.101 provides a penalty to a person who signs a false statement. An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.

Under Ch. 559, Govermment Code, you are entitled to review, request and correct infl ion we have on file about you, with limited exceptions in accordance with Ch. 552,
Government Code. To request information for review or to request error correction, contact the public information coordinator at the office where you submit this form.
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Farm 14-315 (Back)iRev 6-11/2)

An orthopedically handicapped person is an individual who has limited movement of body extremities and/or
loss of physical function. The physical impairment must be such that the person is either unable to operate
or be transported in a reasonable manner in a motor vehicle that has not been specially modified.

A motor vehicle is exempt from sales and use tax if:

- it has been or will be specifically modified for operation by or for the transportation of a person who is
orthopedically handicapped at the time of purchase; and

- is primarily driven by, or primarily used for the transportation of, an orthopedically handicapped person.

Eligible purchasers are individuals, partnerships, corporations or associations who may purchase vehicles
under this exemption if the requirements are satisfied. An institution, facility or retirement community is not
required to identify a particular eligible orthopedically handicapped person or to provide a practitioner’'s
statement.

A motor vehicle modified for operation by an orthopedically handicapped person is a vehicle that has
been permanently modified by altering such items as the conventional brake, acceleration system or
steering system to facilitate the operation of the vehicle by an orthopedically handicapped driver.

A motor vehicle modified for transportation of an orthopedically handicapped person is a vehicle that
has been permanently modified by the installation of such items as a wheelchair lift, hoist, attached ramp,
wheelchair hold-down clamps, raised roof or special seat restraints other than conventional seat belts to
allow for the transportation of an orthopedically handicapped person in a reasonable manner.

Primarily driven by or primarily used for the transportation of an orthopedically handicapped person
means that the motor vehicle must be driven by or used for the transportation of an orthopedically handi-
capped person at least 80 percent of the motor vehicle’s operating time.

Medifications that DO NOT qualify a motor vehicle for exemption include, but are not limited to:

installation of standard factory options, such as an automatic transmission, power seats, power windows
or adjustable pedals;

installation of weight-bearing grab bars or handicap assist handles;

installation of running boards or steps;

installation of steering wheel spinner knobs;

installation of nonelectrical carriers designed for bicycles or wheelchairs;
- installation of standard trailer hitches; or

- the addition of ramps, including bi-fold ramps, that are not permanently attached to the vehicle.

A person claiming this exemption must present to the seller or County Tax Assessor-Collector:

- a properly completed Comptroller Form 14-318, Texas Motor Vehicle Orthopedically Handicapped Exemption
Certificate; and

- a restricted Texas driver license, issued to the qualified orthopedically handicapped persen, which
requires a modification restriction on the vehicle and verifies that the orthopedically handicapped driver
is 50 physically impaired as to be unable to operate a motor vehicle that has not been modified; or

- a statement from a licensed practitioner of the healing arts that the qualified orthopedically handicapped
person requires adaptive devices and/or modifications necessary to reasonably operate or transport the
orthopedically handicapped person. This requirement is satisfied by the practitioner’s signature on the
Texas Motor Vehicle Orthopedically Handicapped Exemption Certificate.

If vou have questions or need additional information, please call (800) 252-1382 or visit the Comptroller's
website at www window. state tx. us.
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Used Motor Vehicle Certified Appraisal Form

INSTRUCTIONS

Any change to this form after completion voids the form in its entirety.

A licensed motor vehicle dealer or licensed insurance adjuster uses this form exclusively for the purposes of Section 152.0412,
Tax Code and 34 T A.C. § 3.79 concerning Standard Presumptive Value. The form must be filled out in full and be typed or
legibly printed after the appraiser views the motor vehicle in person. A dealer may only provide an appraisal for the types of
motor vehicles which the dealer is licensed to sell. The purchaser files this form with the county tax assessor-collector at the
same time of titling and registering the vehicle. Do not send the completed form to the Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Under Ch. 559, Government Code, you are entitled fo review, requesf, and correct information a gow;mmental’ body has on file about you, with limited excepfions in accordance

with Ch. 552, Gi

t Code. To request inft tion for review or to

t error

tact the county tax assessor-collector where this form is filed.

PURCHASER INFORMATION

Nams

Flone (Area code and number)

Addmss

City

Slate ZIF code

MOTOR VEHICLE INFORMATION

Year Mal a Mo dal

Cdometer readng

| |

VIN

APPRAISER INFORMATION

Maotor Viehicte Daaler or Licansed Insurance Adiustar Name
Address

Frinted Nams of Appreasar
|

City

Mator Vehicle Desler or Licenzad insurance agjuster Numbear

State ZIP coda

Fhane (Ares code and mumber)

APPRAISAL INFORMATION

o T B e o L D R R e e S D G T e b L Sy gL T

Explanation for appraised retail value (e.g., identify mechanical, appearance,

or other factors that affect the appraised retail value)

Appraisal fee. .

See the other side of this form for details on appraising and fees.

SIGNATURE

| hereby certify that | have seen this vehicle and all the statements in this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief,

Signature of Apprajser

slgn’ ‘

Date of appraizal

on this dc

If you make a false
14-128 (Rev.5-13/3)

Page 7-11

t, you could be found guilty of a
Class A misdemeanor or state jail felony under Texas Penal Code Section 37.10.




Form 14-128 (Back{Rev.5-14/3)

Motor Vehicle Tax:
Appraising Used Motor Vehicles in Private-Party Sales by
Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealers and Insurance Adjusters

Effective Cctober 1, 2006, Tax Code Section 152.0412 allows a purchaser of a used motor vehicle in a private-party sale to
get an appraisal to establish the amount of motor vehicle sales tax due. A private-party sale is one that does not involve a
licensed motor vehicle dealer. This appraisal process does not involve dealer sales.

Eligible appraisers
Licensed Texas motor vehicle dealers can appraise the categories of motor vehicles that they are licensed to sell. That
is, automobile dealers can appraise automobiles, motorcycle dealers can appraise motorcycles and trailer dealers can
appraise trailers. Licensed dealers include new and used vehicle dealers, wholesale dealers, wholesale auction dealers,
motorcycle dealers, trailer dealers and any other dealers licensed by Transportation Code, Chapter 503, Subchapter B,
but not a drive-a-way operator.

An insurance adjuster can appraise any type of used motor vehicle.

Appraisal fee
Under the new law, the Comptroller sets the fee for a certified appraisal by a licensed Texas motor vehicle dealer.
Comptroller Rule 3.79 (34 T.A.C. §3.79) states that the fee can be no less than $100 and no more than $300, except for
appraisals of motorcycles, house trailers, travel trailers and motor homes.

Alicensed motorcycle dealer can charge no less than $40 and no more than $300 for a certified appraisal of a motorcycle.
For a certified appraisal of a house trailer, travel trailer or motor home, the fee can be no less than $100 and no more
than $500.

The law allows that licensed insurance adjusters set their own fees for a certified appraisal,

Appraisal form
The appraiser must use Comptroller Form 14-128, Used Motor Vehicle Certified Appraisal Form, on the other side of this
page. The form is available online at www.window.state.tx.us under “Texas Taxes.” You can also call the Comptroller's
office at 1-800-252-1382 or 512-463-4600, or write the Comptroller of Public Accounts, PO. Box 13538, Austin, TX
78711-3528.

Appraisal standards
The appraiser must view the motor vehicle in person and provide all the information requested on the appraisal form.
The appraiser should identify mechanical, appearance or other factors that affect that retail value.

The form must be filled out in full. If an item does not apply, note “not applicable.” Since any change to the appraisal form
after completion voids the form in its entirety, please refrain from using crossed-out information.

The appraiser should keep a copy of the appraisal.
Questions

If you have guestions or need more information, visit the Comptroller's website, Window on State Government, at
www.window.state. tx.us, or call the Comptroller’'s office at 1-800-252-1382 or 512-463-4600.

Publication 96-116, Motor Vehicle Sales, Use and Rental Tax, explains the law and its provisions and is available at
www window. state tx us.

Page 7-12



Susan Combs

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Motor Vehicle Dealer’s
Special Inventory

Instructions for Filing Forms and Paying Property Taxes

TR g ==
Texas Property Tax

October 2007

Page 7-13



Motor Vehicle Dealer’s
Special Inventory
Instructions for Filing Forms and Paying Property Taxes

For property tax purposes, Texas law requires that a motor vehicle dealer’s inventory is appraised based on the
total sales of motor vehicles in the prior year. Dealers must file with the county appraisal district a Dealer’s Motor
Vehicle Inventory Declararion form listing the toral value of the inventory sold in the prior vear. Also, the dealer
must file with the county tax office amonthly form — Dealer’s Motor Vebicle Inventory Tax Statement — listing the
motor vehicles sold, and prepay their property taxes for each vehicle. Instructions for ﬁling both forms follow.

Texas law permits the Comptroller’s office to act only as an advisory agency with regard to property taxes. The
Comptroller helps property owners and tax officials interpret the property tax laws. Texas law also requires the
Comptroller to adopt forms for filing the motor vehicle dealer’s inventory.

Steps to calculate, report and pay dealer’s inventory property taxes:
Step 1 - A dealer files the Dealer Motor Vehicle Inventory Declaration form.

*  file one declaraton per year;

+  file each January, between January 1 and 313

+  file with the county appraisal district and send a copy to the county tax office; and

* ifyou arc a new dealer, file a declaration form within 30 days of the issuance of the dealer’s general dis-
tinguishing number (GDN). A chief appraiser has the discretion to designate a different date.

Step 2 - A dealer reports current year’s inventory market value.

Complete the following items on the Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Declaration form:

=) b['cakdown OESHICS fD[' P['io[' yCaI (]a]]ualy oEe DCCCmbC[');
*  breakdown of sales amounts for prior year (January — December); and
+  other general information about the retail business — mailing address, name and business location.

Divide sales amounts for inventory sales by 12 for current year’s marker value:
*  the current year’s tax bills received in October will be based on this market value and the current year’s
tax rates; and
+  the inventory’s market value is not the value of the dealer’s motor vehicles on January 1 but an average

of the regular monthly inventory sales from the preceding year.

Motor Vehicle Dealer’s Special Inventory 1
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Penalties

The chief appraiser of the county appraisal district must report to the Texas Department of Transportation any

dealer thar sells fewer than five vehicles in a prior vear. The Department will begin dealer license termination
P 7 P g

prm’ccding\.

A dealer who does not file a declaration form by February 1 of each year commits a misdemeancr punishable
by a fine of up to $500 per day until filed. A tax lien can be attached to the dealer’s business personal property

to secure payment of the penalty. A dealer forfeits an additional penalty of $1,000 for each month or portion
of month that it is not filed.

Step 3 - A dealer files the Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statement:

+  file 12 statements per year;

file cach month by the 10th of the following month. For example, file |anuary inventory tax statement
by February 10th.
file with the county tax office, including a check for prepayment of taxes. Send a copy of the form to

the county appraisal district. If you de not sell a motor vehicle during the month, you must file a tax
statement indicating no sales; and

if a new dealer, file cach month, but do not send a prepayment of taxes.

Step 4 - A dealer makes a prepayment of taxes.

Calculate the unit property tax factor.

Find the aggregate tax rate by adding the preceding year’s tax rates for each taxing unit that taxes the
retail business. Look cither at the preceding year’s tax bills or call the county tax collector. Each property
is raxed h}-’ a county and IW}' a school districe. It also may be taxed b}-’ a city and \E‘L‘(idl districts (such as

a junior college and/or hospital districe, depending on where the business is locared).

Example of 2004 tax rates:

Counry tax rate = $0.40
School tax rate - $1.40
Clity tax rate - $0.60
Special diserice tax rare = $0.05
Aggregate rate = $2.45 per $100 of value

*  Divide the aggregate tax rate by 12 for a tax rate per month.

Example: $2.45/12 = $0.20417 per $100 of value.
+  Divide the aggregate tax rate per month by $100 for a tax rate per $1.00 of sales price.
Example: $0.20417/$100 = $0.0020417 rate per $1.00 (unit property tax factor).
Change the unit property tax factor each January to use the preceding year’s tax rates.

Example: Use the 2004 adopted rates to determine the unit property tax factor for January through
December 2005.

o

Motor Vehicle Dealer’s Special Inventory
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.

Multip]y the sales price of the motor vehicle by the unit property tax factor. Subtract the motor vehicle’s
manufacrurer’s rebare from the sales price, bur do nort subrract the trade-in.

Example: $20,000 x $0.0020417 = $40.83 in tax prepayment.

Apply unit property tax factor to each motor vehicle sold in a month and report to the county tax of-
fice, along with the tax prepayment. Send a copy of the monthly tax statement to the county appraisal
district. Remember, it is considered a sale, even if the motor vehicle is taken out of Texas.

Step 5 - A dealer files a report of inventory sales monthly.

Report the following on the Dealei’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statement:

date of sale;

maodel year of motor vehicle;

make of motor vehicle;

vehicle identification number;

purchaser’s name;

type of sale:

A. MV — regular moror vehicle inventory sale — a moror vehicle is a fully selt-propelled vehicle with
at least two wheels which has the primary purpose of mansporting people or property and includes
a towable recreational vehicle. Motor vehidle does not include equipment or machinery designed
and intended for a specific work-related purpose other than transporting people or property;

B. FL— fleet sale — sales of five or more motor vehicles from the dealer’s inventory to the same buyer
within one calendar year;

C. DL dealer sales — sales of vehicles to another Texas dealer or a dealer who is legally recognized
in another state as a motor vehicle dealer;

D. §S — subsequent sales — dealer-financed sales of motor vehicles that, at the tme of sale, have
dealer financing from the inventory in this same calendar year. The first sale is reported as a motor

vehicle inventory sale, with sale of this same vehicle later in the year classified as a subscqucnt sale;
sales price — is set forth on the application for Tite, or would appear if that form was used;
unit property tax value;
total unit property tax value for each page and for the total report; and
total sales — number of vehicles for each type of sale and by total sales amounts.

‘The chief appraiser may examine the books and records of the dealer by persenally delivering a written request

to the custodian of the records at the dealer’s locatdon. The request must be delivered at least 15 days prior to

the dare of the request to view the records and must conrain a statemenr nortifying the dealer that he or she may

seek judicial relief from compliancc with the request.

File the report and payment by the 10th day of the following month.

Motor Vehicle Dealer’s Special Inventory 3
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Step 6 — On behalf of the dealer, the county tax collector pays the annual inventory taxes
from the dealer’s escrow account and bills the dealer for any additional amount due.

Receives annual property tax bills, usually in October and November:

*  taxing units send a copy of the dealer motor vehicle inventory tax bill to the county tax assessor-collector;

*  dealer pays all other tax bills to the taxing units;

® COuIlty tax H.SSCSSOr'CollCCtOI' PaYS thC inVCntOIy ax bl]l ftom thﬁ ESCTOW account — usua.lly ln Cafly
January after the dealer’s December payment — to the taxing units.

Receive tax receipt for payment and any additional tax bill from county tax assessor-collector for any
deficiency in the escrow account:

*  dealer must pay the deficiency by January 31 to aveid delinquent penalty and interesg
*  if taxes become delinquent, dealer pays each taxing unit, plus penalty and interest

* taxing units receive any excess taxes that remain in escrow account;

*  the dealer may not withdraw funds from the escrow account; and

¢ the escrow account begins with a zero balance for the next tax year’s prepayments.

Penalties

A dealer who does not file the monthly tax statement by the 10th day of the following month commits a mis-
demeanor punishable by a fine up to $100 per day until filed. A tax lien can be attached to the dealer’s business
personal property to secure payment of the $100 penalty. A dealer forfeits an additional penalty of $500 for
each month or portion of month that it is not filed. Furthermore, a dealer who fails to remit the taxes due pays
a 5 percent late payment, with another 5 percent due if not paid within 10 days.

Questions

*  Call the local county appraisal district for specific questions on the declaration form;

2 call the local county tax office for spcciﬁc qucstions on the monthly tax statement form; and

+  call the Comptrollcr’s Propcrty Tax Division Information Services Team at (800) 252-9121 for gcncra]
questions on the declaration or monthly tax statemenr forms. You may also conracr us by e-mail ar

prd(y"{'pm,\mrc.rx.u.\.

Remember

A dealer must list the property tax separately because it cannot be included in the sales price and sales
tax assessed against it.

Motor vehicle dealer’s spccial inventory laws are found in Property Tax Code Sections 23.121 and 23.122.
You may view these sections on the Comptroller’s Web site, Window on State Government at
hetp://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax/tc04/ch23b.hem.

4 Motor Vehicle Dealer’s Special Inventory
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CONFIDENTIAL o N (A CER

Property Tax

Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Declaration Forin 50-244

Year
Send Original to: Appraisal District Mame and Address Phone jarea code and number)
Send Copy to: County Tax Office and Address Phone {area code and number)

INSTRUCTIONS: If you own an inventory subject to the provisions of Sec. Z3.121, Tax Code, you must file this dealer’'s motor vehicle inventory dedaration with the chiet
appraiser and a copy with the county lax assessor-collector not later than February 1 of each year. If you were not in business on January 1, you must file this statement not
later than 30 days after starting business. Failure to file this form is a misdemeanor offence punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. Each day during which you fail to comply is
a separate offence. SEE BACK OF FORM FOR MORE INFORMATION ON FILING AND PENALTIES.

STEP 1: Provide Name and Mailing Addre Owner and ldentity of Person Preparing Application
Mame of Property Owner
Mailing Address
City, State, ZIP Code Phone {ares code and numiber)
Mame of Person Preparing this Application Title

STEP 2: Required Information about the Business

Mame of Each Business at One Location (aimeh addiional peoes if necesseary) Address of this Location (stset, number, city, state and ZIF cods) (attach additonal pages if necessary)
Mame of Each Business at One Location (sitech additional pages it necessary) Address of this Location [stret, number, city, state and ZIF cods) (attech additionsl pages if necsssary)

Property Owner's General Distinguishing Nurmbers(s) (GDN) Issued by the Texas Department of Transportation femach aduions pages if necessan)

STEP 3: Information about the Business

Appraisal District Account Mumber (if known) or attach tax bill or copy of appraisal or tax office corespondence concerning this account (attach additional pages if necessary)

Starting Date of Business (if not in business on January 1 of this year)

STEP 4: Ownership Statement

(Propery Owner's Name) is the owner of a dealer's motor vehicle inventory.

STEP 5: Breakdown of Sales and Sales Amounts

Breskdown of saes uemiber of units sold) for the previous 12-month period cormasponding to the prior we yesr If you wera not in business for the entire 12-rmonth period,
report the sales for the months you wene in business,

Met Motor Vehicle Inventory Fleet Sales Dealer Sales Subsequent Sales

Breakdown of sales amounts for the previous 12 month perlod corresponding to the prior tax year. |f you wene not in business for the entine 12-month peried, report the sakes for the menths you wene In business,
§ $ % §

Net Motor Vehicle Inventory Fleet Sales Dealer Sales Subsenuent Sales

STEP 6: Market Value of your Motor Vehicle Inventory
State the rmarket value of your motor vehicke imventory for the cument tax year, as computed under Sec. 23,121, Tax Code {total annual sales from the dealer’s mator vehicle imwentory for the previous
124month period coresponding to the prior fmx year divided by 12 equals rmerket value). 1F you were not in business for the entire 12-rmonth period, report the number of months you wens in business and the
total number of sales tor those months. The chief appraiser will caterming your inventory's market value.

Deszler's Met Motor Vehicke Inventory Sales for Prior Yess Merket Velue for Cument Tax Yesar

STEP 7: Read, Sign, and Date

If you make a false statement on this report, you could be found guilty of a Class A misdemeanaor or a state jail felony under Texas Saction 37.10, Penal Code.

e
+
]

ere Authorized Signalure Date
he Property Tax A nee Div nts provides property tax For more information, visit our Web

eview boards, www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax
50-244 + 09-11/10

and apprais
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50-244

Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Declaration

Instructions

Filing deadlines. You must file this declaration not later than Feb-
ruary 1 each year. If you were not in business for the entire year,
you must file this declaration not later than 30 days after starting
your business. You are presumed to have started your business
on the date you were issued a dealer's general distinguishing
number. The chief appraiser, however, has discretion to designate
a different starting date. Be sure to keep a completed copy of this
declaration for your files and a blank copy of the form for next
year's filing.

Filing Places. You must file the original completed declaration
with the county appraisal district’s chief appraiser. You must file
a copy of the original with the county tax assessor-collector. The
addresses and phone numbers for both offices are at the top of
the form.

Filing penalties. Failure to file this form is a misdemeanor offense
punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. Each day that you fail to
comply is a separate offense. In addition, a tax lien attaches to
your business personal property to secure the penalty's payment.
The district attorney, criminal district attorney, county attorney,
chief appraiser, or person designated by the chief appraiser shall
collect the penalty, with action in the county in which you maintain
your principal place of business or residence. You also will forfeit
a penalty of $1,000 for each month or part of a month in which this
declaration is not filed after it is due.

GDN Termination. If you report fewer than five sales of motor
vehicles, the chief appraiser must report this fact to the Texas
Department of Transportation (TxDOT). TxDOT has authority to
view this form in auditing dealer license compliance. TxDOT must
initiate termination proceedings.

Review of records. The chief appraiser may examine your books
and records for (1) the document issued by Texas Department of
Transportation for your general distinguishing number; (2) docu-
ments to determine if this declaration applies to you; and (3) sales
records to check information on this declaration. To examine your
records, the chief appraiser must deliver personally a written
request to your records custodian. You have at least 15 days to
respond to the request, or you may seek court action for relief from
complying with the request. Failure to comply with the requestisa
misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. Each day
that you fail to comply is a separate viclation.

Step 1. Propery Owner’s name and address. Give the corpo-
rate, sole proprietorship or partnership's name, including mailing
address and telephone number of the actual business location
require by the inventory declaration (not the owner).

For more informalion,

Step 2. Required information about the business. Give the name
of the business if different from the corporation or individual's name. The
address here is the actual physical location of the business.

Step 3. Information about the business. Include your business’ account
number from the appraisal district's notice of appraised value. Give the
date your business opened if not in business January 1 of this year.

Step 4. Ownership statement. Give the owner’s name.

Step 5. Breakdown of sales and sales amounts. Complete the
boxes on number of sales and sales amounts for the preceding year. The
top row of boxes is the number of units sold in each category. The bottom
row of boxes is the dollar amount sold in each category. The categories
include:

*  Motor vehicle inventory - sales of motor vehicles. A motor vehicle
is a fully self-propelled vehicle with at least two wheels which has the
primary purpose of transporting people or property and includes a
towable recreational vehicle. Mator vehicle does not include equip-
ment or machinery designed and intended for a specific work-related
purpose other than transporting people or property.

+  Fleet sales - motor vehicles included in the sale of five or more
motor vehicles from your inventory to the same buyer within cne
calendar year.

+  Dealer sales - sales of vehicles to another Texas dealer or a dealer
who is legally recognized in another state as a motor vehicle dealer.

¢+  Subsequent sales - dealer-financed sales of motor vehicles that, at
the time of sale, have dealer financing from your motaor vehicle inven-
tory in this same calendar year. The first sale of a dealer-financed
vehicle is reported as a motor vehicle inventory sale, with sale of this
same vehicle later in the year classified as a subsequent sale.

¢« Net motor vehicle inventory - Motor vehicle inventory less fleet
sales, dealer sales and subsequent sales.

Step 6. Market value of your motor vehicle inventory. Enter the
dollar sales amount in the net motor vehicle inventory breakdown (see
Step 5, the first box in the second row) and divide by 12 to yield your mar-
ket value for this tax year. If you were not in business for the entire preced-
ing year, the chief appraiser will determine your inventory’s market value
using the sales information that you do report in Step 5.

Step 7. Read, sign, and date. Sign and enter the date if you are the per-
son completing this declaration.

www . window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax

50-244 » 09-11/10 » Page 2
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CONFIDENTIAL

Property Tax

Dealer’s Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statement Forin 50-246

See Page 3 for Instructions

S Page  ofpages
Month and Year

Send Original wilh Payment lo: County Tax Office Name and Address ~~ Phone (wea cods and number)

Send Copy lo: Appraisal District Name and Address ~~~~ Phone wea cods and number)

STEP 1: Provide Name and Address of Property Owner and Identity of Person Completing Statement

Name ol Properly Owner Phone (arsa code and numbér)
Mailing Address
Cily, Slale, ZIP CGode

Namn6[%[5&.(;6ﬁ;p‘|énr¥gé}3mrﬁ‘nn|ﬂ - — - — —— —— — .]|1|0“

STEP 2: Information about the Business

Appraisal District Account Number {if known) (or attach tax bill or copy of appraisal or tax office correspendence concerning your account)
If unavailable, give the straet address at which the property is located.

Mame of Cach Business
Accounl Mumber

'Inventé'n_.r Localion (mmfwe sf}get, c.,.r?y. ...sta.!;a, ZiP C‘m\a}

STEP 3: Provide the Following Information about Each Vehicle Sold During the Reporting Month
(continue on additional sheets as needed)

Description of Vehicle Sold Type of Sales Unit Pmperty
Sale’ Price? Tax®
Date of Model Vehicle Purchaser’s
Sale Year Make Identification Number Name (See last page for footnotes.)
The Proparty Tax Assistance Division at the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts provides proparty tax For more information, visit our website
information and resources for taxpayers, local taxing entities, appraisal districts and appraisal review boards, www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax

50.246 < 09-11/12
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AN Dcaler’'s Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statement

STEP 3: (continued)

Description of Vehicle Sold Type of Sales Unit Property
Sale’ Price® Tax®
Date of Model Make Vehicle Purchaser's
Sale Year A Identification Number Name (See last page for footnotes.)

Totzl Unit Property
Tex this mont

Unil Froperly Tax Faclor You Used Your General Distinguishing Mumber{s) (GDNj)

STEP 4: Total Sales

Breakdown of Sales (number of units sold) for This Month

Ml Motor Vehicle Inventory Fleal Salas Daalar Salas Subsaquent Sales

Breakdown of Sales Amounts for This Month

NS'M(&GIK’G';{‘.‘M |I;'.l\fel.ﬁ(!l.\;’ ) o .Fleel..Sa.I.as . o o .ﬁ.aaler“Sa.l.es" ) - . .Subéequ.énl.éalés )

STEP 5: Sign and Date on Last Page Only

pany

Aumo":.zcd.sjénamw B B . [ [ [ S .Daw..

If you make a false statement on this report, you could be found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or a state jail felony under
Section 37.10, Penal Code.

For more information, visi 3 www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax

Page 2+ 50-246 « 19-11/12
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Dealer's Motor Vehicle Inventory Tax Statement

!
Form 50-246

Instructions

If you are an owner of an inventory subject to Sec. 23.121, Tax
Code, you must file this dealer's motor vehicle inventory tax state-
ment as required by Sec, 23,122,

Filing deadlines: You must file this statement on or before the
10th day of each month regardless of whether a motor vehicle is
sold. If you were not in business for the entire year, you must file
this statement each month after your business opens, but you
do not include any tax payment until the beginning of the next
calendar year. You are presumed to have started business on the
date you were issued a dealer's general distinguishing number.
The chief appraiser, however, has sole discretion to designate a
different starting date. However, if your dealership was the pur-
chaser of an existing dealership and you have a contract with the
prior owner to pay the current year motor vehicle inventory taxes
owed, then you must notify the chief appraiser and the county tax
assessor-collector of this contract and continue to pay the monthly
tax payment. Be sure to keep a completed copy of the statement
for your files and a blank copy of the form for each month's filing.

Filing places: You must file the original statement with your
monthly tax payment with the county tax assessor-collector, You
must file a copy of the original completed statement with the
county appraisal district's chief appraiser. Texas Department of
Transportation has authority to view this form in auditing dealer
license compliance.

Filing penalties: Late filing incurs a penalty of 5 percent of the
amount due. If the amount is not paid within 10 days after the due
date, the penalty increases for an additional penalty of 5 percent of
the amount due. Failure to file this form is a misdemeanor offense
punishable by a fine not to exceed $100. Each day that you fail to
comply is a separate offense. In addition, a tax lien attaches to
your business personal property to secure the penalty’s payment.
The district attorney, criminal district attorney, county attorney,
collector or a person designated by the collector shall collect the
penalty, with action in the county in which you maintain your prin-
cipal place of business or residence. You also will forfeit a penalty
of $500 for each month or part of a month in which this statement
is not filed after it is due.

Annual property tax bill: You will receive a separate tax bill(s) for
your motor vehicle inventory for each taxing unit that taxes your
property, usually in October. The county tax assessor-collector
also will receive a copy of the tax billis) and will pay each taxing
unit from your escrow account. If your escrow account is not suf-
ficient to pay the taxes owed, the county tax assessor-collector
will send you a tax receipt for the partial payment and a tax bill
for the amount of the deficiency. You must send to the county
tax assessor-collector the balance of total tax owed. You may not
withdraw funds from your escrow account.

Step 1: Property owner’s name and address. Give the corpo-
rate, sole proprietorship or partnership's name, including mailing
address and telephone number of the actual business location
required by the monthly statement (not of the owner). Give the
person’s name and title that completed the statement.

Step 2: Information about the business. Give the address of
the actual physical location of the business. Include your business’
name and the account number from the appraisal district’s notices,

Step 3: Information on each vehicle sold during the report-
ing month. Complete the information on each motor vehicle
sold, including the date of sale, model year, model make, vehicle
identification number, purchaser's name, type of sale, sales
price and unit property tax. The footnotes include:

Type of Sale: Place one of the following codes by each sale
reported:

MV — motor vehicle inventory — sales of motor vehicles, A
motor vehicle is a fully self-propelled vehicle with at least two
wheels which has the primary purpose of transporting people
or property and includes a towable recreational vehicle. Motor
vehicle does not include equipment or machinery designed
and intended for a specific work related purpose other than
transporting people or property. Only this type of sale has a
unit property tax value (see below).

FL — fleet sales — motor vehicles included in the sale of five
or more motor vehicles from your inventory to the same buyer
within one calendar year.

DL — dealer sales — sales of vehicles to another Texas dealer
or dealer who is legally recognized in another state as a motor
vehicle dealer.

SS — subsequent sales — dealer-financed sales of motor
vehicles that, at the time of sale, have dealer financing from
your motor vehicle inventory in this same calendar year. The
first sale of a dealer-financed vehicle is reported as a motor
vehicle inventory sale, with sale of this same vehicle later in
the year classified as a subsequent sale.

Sales Price: The price as set forth on the Application for Cer-
tificate of Title, or would appear if that form was used.

Unit Property Tax: To compute, multiply the sales price by
the unit property tax factor. For fleet, dealer and subsequent
sales that are not included in the net motor vehicle inventory,
the unit property tax is $-0-. The unit property tax factor is the
aggregate tax rate divided by 12 and then by $100. Calculate
your aggregate tax rate by adding the property tax rates for all
taxing units in which the inventory is located. Use the property
tax rates for the year preceding the year in which the vehicle
is sold. If the county aggregate tax rate is expressed in dollars
per $100 of valuation, divide by $100 and then divide by 12.
Dividing the aggregate rate by 12 yields a monthly tax rate and
by 100 to a rate per $1 of sales price.

Total Unit Property Tax for This Month: Enter only on last
page of monthly statement.

Step 4: Total sales. Provide totals on last page of statement of
the number of units and the sales amounts for vehicles sold in
each category.

Step 5: Sign the form. Sign and enter the date if you are the
person completing this statement.

For more information, visit our website: Www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax
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