skip to main content

Annual Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permits

over-axel-over-grossTxDMV issues annual over axle/over gross weight tolerance permits for the movement of divisible commodities. Vehicles, alone or in combination, may exceed the allowable axle weight by a tolerance of 10 percent and may exceed the gross weight by a tolerance of five percent. Tolerances are above the maximum allowed for the particular vehicle or combination and are enforced based on the "outer bridge" distance, not the vehicle's registered weight. This permit does not exempt any owner, motor carrier, operator, or driver from complying with any statute, regulation, rule, order, or other legal requirement not specifically referenced in Transportation Code, Section 623.011 or 43 Texas Administrative Code, Section 219.30.

Vehicles and/or vehicle combinations may not exceed Texas legal size limits.

Note: Vehicles moving under this permit may travel on county roads and state-maintained roadways, excluding the Interstate Highway System, in those counties selected on the permit application.

If any segment in the State of Texas of United States Route 59, United States Route 77, United States Route 281, United States Route 84, Texas State Highway 44, or another roadway is designated as Interstate Route 69, a vehicle that could operate legally on that segment with this permit type before the date of the designation may continue to operate on that segment, without regard to any requirement under 23 U.S.C. 127(n).

Texas Size and Weight Limits

How to Apply

txprosApply online
through TxPROS

 

You may also:

  • Download and submit Form 1751, Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Application by fax to (512) 465-4257 or by mail to the address listed on the application form

Payment information must be provided with the permit application.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

1751 Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Application

Operating Authority
Requirements

Prior to being issued a permit, you must have an Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Bond in the amount of $15,000 or an Irrevocable Letter of Credit on file with TxDMV.

An original copy of the bond must be on file with TxDMV. An electronic copy will not be accepted.

1753 Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Bond

Fees & Payment
Information

The annual permit fee includes a base fee of $90 and an administration fee of $5, plus a county fee based on the number of counties applied for. See table below:

Number of Counties County Fee Total Fee
1-5 $175 $270
6-20 $250 $345
21-40 $450 $545
41-60 $625 $720
61-80 $800 $895
81-100 $900 $995
101-254 $1,000 $1,095

Fees are payable by:

  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (a service charge of 25 cents per permit plus 2.25 percent will be added.)
  • Funds deposited in a pre-established escrow account
  • FirstPay Account established through Frost Bank San Antonio (https://www.frostbank.com/business/banking/treasury-management/firstpay)
  • Personal check, business check, cashier's check or money order, payable to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (for mail applications only)

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct an error made by the Motor Carrier Division.

Escrow Accounts

Additional Requirements

You may not operate your vehicle on a load-posted bridge if the gross weight of the vehicle and load, or the axles and wheel loads, are greater than the established and posted limits, unless the bridge provides the only public vehicular access to or from your origin or destination.

TxPROS Information and Tutorials

Copyright © 2018 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731