A
( Beneficiary Designation for a Motor Vehicle

Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Information

Vehicle Identification Number Year Make Body Style Model

Title/Document Number (if available) License Plate State and Number (if any)

Owner Information

First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any)
Additional Owner (if applicable) First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any)
Address City State Zip

Email (optional) Phone Number (optional)

Designated Beneficiary Information — Must be complete legal name

First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix (if any)

Address City State Zip

Designated Beneficiary Government Issued Identification (ID) Information — Optional

ID Type (driver license, ID card, passport, etc.) |Jurisdiction Issuing ID ID Number ID Expiration

Certification — State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony

[J

Select one:

I, the owner(s) listed above, am designating the beneficiary listed above to whom interest of the motor vehicle
listed above will transfer upon my death, or upon the last surviving joint owner’s death. | understand this
designation does not provide the beneficiary any interest in this motor vehicle during my life or affect the interest
or right of a secured or unsecured creditor or future creditor. | understand a will does not revoke or supersede
this designation regardless of when the will is made.

I, the owner(s) listed above, am changing the beneficiary designation from the individual currently reflected on
the motor vehicle to the designated beneficiary listed above. | understand this designation does not provide the
new beneficiary any interest in this motor vehicle during my life or affect the interest or right of a secured or
unsecured creditor or future creditor. | understand a will does not revoke or supersede this designation
regardless of when the will is made.

I, the owner(s) listed above, am revoking the beneficiary designation of the designated beneficiary listed above
and am not designating a new beneficiary.

Signature of Owner Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date

Signature of Additional Owner (if applicable) Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date
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Beneficiary Designation for a Motor Vehicle

Information

An owner or joint owners may designate a beneficiary to whom interest in the motor vehicle transfers upon the death
of the owner or last surviving owner. A designated beneficiary has no interest in a motor vehicle until the owner’s (or
last surviving owner’s) death. Note: A beneficiary does not have to consent to this designation for it to be valid.

The beneficiary designation can only be applied when all the recorded owners are individuals. If any recorded owner
is an entity (such as a business or trust), the beneficiary designation cannot be applied to the motor vehicle record.

In order for a beneficiary to be designated, changed or revoked, this form must be submitted with an Application for
Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U), the $28 or $33 title application fee, and valid ownership evidence to a
county tax assessor-collector’s office before the owner’s death. This form must contain original signatures of all
owners.

Multiple Owners

In order for joint owners of a motor vehicle to designate a beneficiary, the joint owners must have entered into a
Rights of Survivorship Agreement (refer to the Rights of Survivorship Agreement for a Motor Vehicle (Form VTR-122)
for more information). Joint owners will not be able to designate a beneficiary unless they have recorded (or are also
recording) the Rights of Survivorship Agreement with the department. The Rights of Survivorship must be indicated
on the Texas title record in order to apply the beneficiary designation. The beneficiary will only have claim to the
motor vehicle after the death of the last surviving owner.

Whether adding, changing, or revoking a beneficiary designation, each owner is required to sign the same form.

Revoking/Changing Beneficiary Designation

This designation may be changed or revoked at any time without the consent of the designated beneficiary. To revoke
or change a beneficiary, this form must be completed. This completed form must be submitted with an Application for
Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U), the $28 or $33 title application fee, and the current Texas title.

Upon Owner’s Death

Upon the owner’s (or last surviving owner’s) death, the beneficiary may transfer the motor vehicle into their name if
they survive the owner (or last surviving owner) by 120 hours and the title application is submitted not later than the
180th day after the owner’s (or last surviving owner’s) death. Alternatively, the beneficiary may disclaim (decline)
interest in the motor vehicle. A beneficiary must obtain a title in their name prior to any subsequent transfer by the
beneficiary. If the beneficiary has not submitted an application by the 180th day or the beneficiary has disclaimed
interest, the motor vehicle may be transferred through heirship or must be probated. A beneficiary that claims a
motor vehicle subject to a lien (or other interest) is subject to those liens (or other interests). A release of lien from
the lienholder on record is required if the current record reflects a lien unless the lien carries forward.

To claim the vehicle, the beneficiary must submit an Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U), the
$28 or $33 title application fee, the Texas title in the deceased owner’s name listing the beneficiary, and a death
certificate. A release of lien from the lienholder on record is required if the current record reflects a lien unless the
lien carries forward. If the Texas title in the deceased owner’s name is not available, the beneficiary may obtain a
printout of the motor vehicle record at the time of title application from the county tax assessor-collector.

Note: A will does not revoke or supersede a beneficiary designation, regardless of when the will is made.
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